We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dunes on the Waterfront

Save
Share
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (182)
Pool & Beach (17)
Overview
518 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3212 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
2.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
225
46
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
225
46
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageslow tidebedroom cottageadirondack chairsogunquit riverscreened in porchlarge propertyguest roomsgrounds are beautifulheated poolquiet retreatslice of heavenyear after yearviews are spectacularstandard roommorning coffeecoffee maker
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 282 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We stayed for 2 nights in September in a queen size room The room was immaculate and the bed was comfortable - probably the 2 most important things. The bathroom was a nice size with nicely tiled shower and nice bath amenities. Due to weather,...More

Thank helenee
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked at the last minute, after a snafu at another hotel. The manager Katie and staff are super friendly and welcoming, and my superior room was extremely comfy. I loved being on the beautiful estuary (why would anyone complain about that???) and went kayaking...More

1  Thank Nancy K
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We rented two cabins for four nights in late August 2018. The location is beautiful. I've seen some complaints about the estuary, but my husband and I had almost as much fun there as in the ocean, and it's still walkable even at high tide...More

2  Thank Emma L
Response from AaronPerkins, Owner at The Dunes on the WaterfrontResponded 6 days ago

Dear Emma L, Thank you for your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you were able to experience the beauty of Ogunquit, particularly the Ogunquit River Estuary and the beach. I agree that the estuary is one of our most treasured assets. Thank...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Once again, we had an amazing visit at the Dunes. It is hard to adequately capture all that is special about the Dunes- staff, cottages, the grounds, flowers, views, pool..... Whether the sun is shining, clouds are looming or rain falling, the Dunes is an...More

1  Thank JenPil2014
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Dunes is a quiet retreat away from the crowds and traffic of Ogunquit. But if you want to join the tumult it's a 5 minute walk away. Best of both worlds. The cabins are spotless and well maintained. The beach is right there are...More

Thank Jim F
View more reviews
About
Description
Picturesque Maine cottages, suites and guest rooms overlooking the Ogunquit Tidal River and Ogunquit Beach in southern Maine. Enjoy 12 scenic and private acres, dotted with Adirondack chairs, landscaped ...More gardens, and an outdoor pool. Ogunquit's famous sandy beach is accessible by rowboat at high tide and on foot at low tide. Perfect for both families and romantic, relaxing getaways. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beachfront
Air Conditioning
Heated pool
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Wheelchair Access
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Silver level
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Silver level
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Top resorts Hotels
,
Family
,
On the Beach
,
Onsen
,
Romantic
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Silver level
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Silver level
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Top resorts Hotels
,
Family
,
On the Beach
,
Onsen
,
Romantic
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
17
Price range
US$147 - US$324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
,
The Dunes On Waterfront
,
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
Location
United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Silver level
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Silver level
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Top resorts Hotels
,
Family
,
On the Beach
,
Onsen
,
Romantic
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
17
Price range
US$147 - US$324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
,
The Dunes On Waterfront
,
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
Location
United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Photos
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (182)
Pool & Beach (17)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 35 hotels in Ogunquit
Colonial Village Resort
156 reviews
.16 km away
Captain's Quarters
148 reviews
.27 km away
Stage Run by the Sea
61 reviews
.27 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
653 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 103 restaurants in Ogunquit
Beach Plum Lobster Farm Lobster and Clam Supplier
205 reviews
.49 km away
The Omelette Factory
446 reviews
.39 km away
The Greenery Cafe
333 reviews
.60 km away
Raspberri's
181 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 45 attractions in Ogunquit
Ogunquit Beach
1,975 reviews
.97 km away
Footbridge Beach
351 reviews
.60 km away
Ogunquit Beach District
249 reviews
1.43 km away
Abacus
217 reviews
1.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
hunter217
12 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Nancy B | Reviewed this property |
Sadly, no.
0
Votes
hunter217
12 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Meryl R | Property representative |
Hi there! The Dunes is does not accept pets, with one exception this year — we're having a Doggy Weekend at the end of our season, Oct. 27-30, 2016. This is a one-time event for us, so if you'd like to bring your pup on a... More
0
Votes
Joanne F
15 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Mike R | Property representative |
Hi Joanne, The trolley does stop running in October, unfortunately — Columbus Day was its last day. We do have heat in all cottages and guest rooms, and our cottages have working wood fireplaces with individual firewood... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"cottages have kitchens but no cleaning service"
Read review
"They have cabins and house keeping partial cabins right on the estuary. All of the cabins seemed to have a..."
Read review
"Go on line and look for yourself. Thats how we did iy."
Read review
"Get a cottage on the river if you can"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing