We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive

Save
Share
7060 Lake Dr, West Des Moines, IA 50266-2524
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Hotels.com
Expedia
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 25/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Updated 25/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 24 hotels in West Des Moines
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Discover a home on the Iowa trail at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive. Located just off I-80, our West Des Moines, Iowa hotel is within 20 minutes of the downtown central business district and visitor attractions of Des Moines, IA, such as the Bridges of Madison County and John Wayne Birthplace Museum. We are less than 25 minutes from Des Moines International Airport (DSM). Attend concerts and live sports events at Des Moines’ Wells Fargo Arena. Enjoy superb shopping at Jordan Creek Town Center, one of the largest malls in the Midwest, with stores such as Apple, Williams-Sonoma and Coach. Relax in a beautiful guest room that has clean and fresh Hampton beds®. Accessible rooms are designed for your comfort. Stay connected from the comfort of your room with free internet access throughout this West Des Moines hotel. Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Choose from 30 different items!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
821Reviews2Q+A67Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 526
  • 190
  • 79
  • 18
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rita P wrote a review Jan 2021
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin65 contributions19 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We recently stayed at this Hampton and had a great experience. Upon arrival, the gal at the desk greeted me immediately when I entered,,,sorry I don't know her name. She was helpful and courteous. The room was very nice, I asked for a room that would be quiet and not in a busy location,,,,she made that happen. Michelle at checkout was excellent,,,,efficient and knowledgeable. The gal at the breakfast line was also kind, helpful and careful with our food items. I would definitely stop here again if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Murray, General Manager at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Responded 13 Jan 2021
Hello Rita P, Thank you so much for the great 5 STAR review of your recent experience with our Hampton Inn. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time with us and that our front desk and breakfast team members made you feel welcome and comfortable. We look forward to serving your lodging needs should your travels bring you back through our area again anytime! Best regards, Tom Murray General Manager
Read more
Carlbr1 wrote a review Nov 2020
Columbia City, Indiana39 contributions9 helpful votes
This place is below standards and it all starta with the front desk. We walked in to this hotel to check in. We were first looked at and then the girl says" what do you need" and we said. We are here to check in. Ehats the name! I need a id to enter the information. Oh ok. So after we handed her the id she said the elevator is over there and points. Umm how about your manners! The first line of contact and this is how we were treated. The next morning during check out we were once again treated rudely. This hotel change was notified and all we got was a thank you we will use this for training. Wow! I travel at least once a month and i will definitely make sure this hotel chain is not on my list of places to stay. Pathetic! So dont waste your money and stay were you are appreciated!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Murray, General Manager at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Responded 15 Nov 2020
Hello and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to our hotel. I am sorry that we did not quite meet your expectations. Our staff tries very hard, every day to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us. The hundreds and hundreds of positive reviews that we receive reflect that, however, we are always looking for ways to be better. As previously communicated to you, we will use this opportunity to dig in a little deeper and find ways to be better hospitality specialists. Best regards, Tom Murray General Manager
Read more
Anne T wrote a review Oct 2020
Scottsbluff, Nebraska8 contributions2 helpful votes
Am appalled, as well as distressed, to find this hotel has allowed a large group of people to congregate in the a public area without masks. This failure goes directly against the stated policy in the hotel itself, as well as what is on their website and is Hampton policy. The desk clerk just told me they can’t enforce it because “Iowa does not have a mask mandate”, which is pathetic excuse. The Hampton has other policies that are enforced without state statute. Her advice is to “...call ahead to find out whether any hotel has a large group staying without wearing masks.” My husband and I have stayed at this hotel multiple times pre-COVID and as recently as a couple of weeks ago when it seemed in line with the policy.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Murray, General Manager at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Responded 15 Nov 2020
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience with our Hampton Inn. We appreciate your feedback and will use this to fine tune our operations and pandemic protocols. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding this and have now taken some additional steps that should help with this matter. Thank you, Tom Murray General Manager
Read more
James M wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
My wife and I decided to stay here on route back home. Normally I don’t write reviews but decided the hotel needed one. The staff was very professional and accommodating. The rooms were up to date and very clean. Breakfast included with room was awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Murray, General Manager at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Responded 1 Oct 2020
Hello and thank you so much for the wonderful 5 STAR review of your recent experience. We really appreciate you taking the time to to tell us how we are doing during these challenging times. Our team will appreciate hearing that their efforts are being recognized. We hope we will have another opportunity to host you again soon. Best regards, Tom Murray General Manager
Read more
Richatl wrote a review Sep 2020
Atlanta, Georgia4 contributions
Stayed at this hotel the night of September 19. Check in was friendly and efficient. Hotel is in a good location and room was well up to Hampton standards. However, all the coffee is kept behind the front desk and must be requested from the front desk staff. The sole morning desk employee had on no mask while she's PREPARING AND SERVING coffee to guests, talking non-stop with her head tilted down toward the coffee cup she's getting ready to hand to you. She remained maskless at checkout. In these times that is completely unacceptable and in violation of Hilton's policies and this hotel's own stated policy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Murray, General Manager at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Responded 26 Sep 2020
Hello Richatl, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that we momentarily let our guard down with regards to one of our team members forgetting to wear some protective equipment. I know that this particular front desk associate is always following safety protocols but obviously there must have been an isolated instance where she let her guard down. Thank you for pointing that out to us so that we are able to use this as an example and a coaching moment for our entire team. I can assure you and all others that our hotel takes the safety of our guests and team members very seriously during these times. We get hundreds of guest compliments monthly in person and through our guests satisfaction surveys returned to us regarding our hotel cleanliness and Covid safety protocols. We feel good about the procedures we put into place to make our guests feel comfortable but as always, we welcome good feedback such as yours. We hope to have another opportunity to host you again in the future. Best regards, Tom Murray General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton inn des moines-west hotel west des moines, hampton inn west des moines, west des moines hampton inn
LOCATION
United StatesIowaWest Des Moines
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive?
Nearby attractions include Board & Brush Creative Studio (1.2 km) and Saint Francis of Assisi Catholic Church (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive?
Conveniently located restaurants include Biaggi's Ristorante Italiano, Club Car Restaurant & Lounge, and Trostel's Dish.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Living History Farms (3.6 km) and Jordan House (6.9 km).
Is Hampton Inn West Des Moines Lake Drive accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.