Super 8 By Wyndham Story City

Super 8 By Wyndham Story City

515 Factory Outlet Dr, Story City, IA 50248-1803
Traveller (26)
Suite
Room & Suite (16)
Business Center
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#1 of 1 motel in Story City
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Super 8 Story City hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 35, offers value in a picturesque Midwestern town. Only 45 minutes north of Des Moines and 10 minutes from Iowa State University, our Story City hotel offers easy access to local attractions and restaurants, including the antique Herschell-Spillman Carousel, VF Outlet Mall, River Bend Golf Course, Pizza Ranch, Happy Chef, McDonalds, Subway, and Dairy Queen.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Convenience store
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Parking
Wifi
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

515 Factory Outlet Dr, Story City, IA 50248-1803
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
Des Moines Airport
Fort Dodge Airport
64.9 km
See all flights
207Reviews0Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 46
  • 51
  • 25
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
twolfxx wrote a review Jul 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Disappointed that a veteran discount didn’t give a better price. Hotels in general need to upgrade handicap rooms with showers, get rid of tubs. This one had heavy mold smell in lobby and breakfast area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City
Responded 26 Jul 2023
Dear twolfxx, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your insightful comments. It saddens us to hear that we failed to meet your expectations and that you found your stay unsatisfactory. Please accept our apologies for any issues you had with the condition of your room, tub, and cleanliness; we will address the concerns you raised with our team and work together on making improvements. We're grateful for your comments and wish you the very best in your future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
davidInOdessa wrote a review Aug 2022
Odessa, Texas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at half a dozen Super 8's in 2022 and this had the best kept rooms of any of them. If you are going to Ames, I recommend staying at this Super 8 instead of the one in Ames. The Story City Duper 8 is far superior to the Ames Super 8.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City
Responded 24 Aug 2022
Hi davidlnOdessa, Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words and accommodations that you received during your most recent stay with us! We seek to give each guest a very comfortable and accommodating experience and we are thrilled to hear of our success in this ambition. Your business and your recommendation is very important to us and we look forward to serving you again here at the Super 8 By Wyndham Story City.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KimE_RN wrote a review Sept 2019
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked at this hotel after discovering no rooms were available for the Iowa State-Hawkeyes game. It is a basic place to sleep and shower in a safe neighborhood. There is a continental breakfast in the morning. The front desk was polite even when checking in after midnight due to a weather-delayed football game!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City
Responded 16 May 2020
KimE_RN, Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding your most recent stay with us. It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. We hope you're looking forward to your next stay as much as we are!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rajung r wrote a review Dec 2023
cedar falls iowa
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First off, I redeemed 3000 Wyndham reward points to get our room down to around 50 for 1 night instead of near 100.
I would like my rewards back please.
Where to start?
Ice machine out of order, ok,
foot print tracked paint all over carpet
Mold in bathroom floor tile
broken tile around toilet
stained ceiling above shower
Filthy coffee maker with only one pouch of decaf coffee, no stir sticks or creamer sugar packs- no thank you!
Fridge on high barely cooled
Inside top microwave nasty food stuck on it
you can write your name in dust on end table next to bed, I made some lines.
TV kept turning off, finally shut it off and called it a night, I guess
hair near drain on tub/ shower- not mine
light breakfast consisted of 1/2 gal milk, 2 wrapped somethings? cereal with no spoons but 100 bowls, 1 yogurt, and a juice machine, not sure if it had anything in it. Went to Mc Donalds next door.
Did I mention I wasted 3000 points ?.
Slept on top of sheets / blanket, cranked up heat in room , did not want to chance what was under sheets.
Wyndham should be ashamed!
Pics to show our experience.
Room 116 , Dec 11/23
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City
Responded 15 Dec 2023
Dear rajung, Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review regarding your most recent stay. I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies for the condition of your room, ice machine, carpets, tile, ceiling, coffee maker, breakfast, cleanliness and these maintenance mishaps that you have encountered and that you did not receive immediate action regarding the necessity of correcting such issues as quickly as possible. We have raised this concern to our maintenance manager for immediate action. I apologize that your recent stay was not a good one but we hope you'll return someday to see how we're improving. We promise to deliver and match your expectations in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jesse G wrote a review Aug 2023
Dubuque, Iowa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I decided to stay at this hotel while visiting family in Des Moines since hotels in the city that weren't sold out were very expensive due to the State Fair. I put in a confirmed reservation for the hotel from August 18th to the 20th. I wasn't able to get to the hotel until after 11:00pm. The hotel wasn't able to take the electronic card I confirmed the room with and the clerk refused to take the debit card even though there was more than enough money on it to cover the stay. I left and was able to find another place elsewhere. I was fortunately able to find another hotel in Ames that had a room available and I checked in there instead. Keep in mind that all of this happened after 11:00pm. The other hotel is quite a bit more expensive than the other place but at least I wasn't left to be sleeping out in my car out alongside the road.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you have to stay at this hotel if possible arrive as early as possible so if you run into...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City
Responded 19 Aug 2023
Dear 47of74, We are truly sorry that we never had the chance to host you as well as the inconvenience you experienced with your reservation. Our primary goal is to provide all guests with an enjoyable experience and it is troubling to know that you faced such an unusual experience. We take this quite highly and your feedback will be shared with management so that appropriate steps can be taken. Thank you again for taking the time for sharing this experience and for your valuable business.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jimbo306 wrote a review Sept 2023
Prior Lake, Minnesota
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Smelly stairwell to second floor. Room very musty, as though AC filter needed replacement. Human hai on one pillow. Carpet appeared to not have been vacuumed for some time. Wish I had not liked behind dresser. Bathroom floor needed to be scrubbed, especially corners and along floor/ wall interface. Breakfast pre- packaged Walmart pastry and Walmart yogurt. Coffee not palatable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City
Responded 14 Sept 2023
Hi Jimbo306, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. We take the value on your report regarding the condition of your room, the air conditioning system, pillows, carpet, bathroom and the cleanliness of our hotel. We will act on these complaints and will fix all problems as soon as possible. Your business is our priority and assure you that management has taken all the steps to make sure that all the rooms are clean, well-maintained and our ultimate goal is to make sure each guest has a comfortable stay. Again, thank you for your time and feedback. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CaraSue2014 wrote a review May 2024
Chicago, Illinois
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is filthy! My expectation were low to begin with, but the black mold on the walls, ceiling and in the grout surrounding the tub were more than I could handle. The carpet was dingy. This was twice the cost of an AirBnB in the area; should've known better.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City
Responded 17 May 2024
Dear CaraSue2014, I am truly sorry to hear about your experience. The conditions you described are unacceptable and not reflective of our standards. We take reports of mold and cleanliness very seriously, and I will ensure that a thorough inspection and cleaning are conducted immediately. We also briefed our housekeeping staff, and we will ensure a more stringent approach from here on, especially when it comes to enhancing our regular quality checks. We would hate to lose a valued guest like you and we sincerely hope you will give us another chance to host you better.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sam wrote a review Jul 2014
Hayesville
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Well here it is. I pulled into this motel after 15 hours on the road. The lobby was shabby and the motel looked run down. There was a man in front of me trying to book rooms for a group of construction workers. I was shocked to hear him try to charge 79.00 for each room and no difference for a single. The man left and went to Comfort Inn, as I did. The rate did not affect me as I had CLC lodging. The reason I left was because this man was rude and tried to charge me fees for a registered service animal. My dog is not a pet and has paperwork and picture ID. The man said he didn't care what the law is. Refusal to allow this person stay, unless they pay extra charges is a federal civil rights violation I am sick of owners from other countries thinking they are above the law. Live here follow the laws. Another owner that gives super 8s a bad name, As I said, I did not stay here. The comfort in was the same price after the dog charge an extremely nice. Again I did not stay here but the outward appearance of the motel and the man behind the desk, leads me to believe it would not have been a good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JulesOfKansas wrote a review Jun 2016
Leavenworth, Kansas
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When making reservations several weeks ago I clearly informed the reservation person that we would have a service dog.

When checking in the clerk saw the service dog!!!
The following day the owner of this place threatened to charge me ( via my daughter who has said service dog) a 500 dollar fee due to her having a dog without telling the motel we had a dog!!!!

This place is old dirty and unkempt ..., could not turn the light on in the bathroom

The ceiling tiles in the bathroom were stained and the shower was stained !!!

Keep driving!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicky P, Manager at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City
Responded 3 Jul 2016
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I truly apologize for the miscommunication regarding your service dog and the housekeeping issues you encountered during your stay. I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention so I can take action and provide further training. Please rest assure I have addressed this issue with all the staff and owners. Once again I apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will give us another chance to serve you in your future travels to Story City. Sincerest apologizes, Nicky P
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
855janelln wrote a review Sept 2015
Colorado
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We regrettably chose this place to stay when moving our son to Ames. State fair was underway but we would've been happier elsewhere even at a higher price. Horrible beds, non-working outlets, dirty bathroom, smelly linens, and they demanded extra charge for my husband to stay but we weren't even given enough of the paper-thin towels for him.
Never again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Date of stay: August 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Jesse G wrote a tip Aug 2023
Dubuque, Iowa144 contributions24 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have to stay at this hotel if possible arrive as early as possible so if you run into reservation issues you can find something else."
Read full review
Karen K wrote a tip Aug 2018
Cheyenne, Wyoming3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"worst place ever, a dump!"
Read full review
Q4949BLdavida wrote a tip Apr 2018
sherrard4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Smoking or non. Pets or non. Singles and doubles for bed choices."
Read full review
lschmeck wrote a tip May 2017
Pewaukee, Wisconsin59 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best tip...don't stay here"
Read full review
300gem wrote a tip Sept 2016
Northfield, Minnesota173 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"second floor back"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Story City area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$484 - HK$547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
super 8 story city, super eight story city, story city super 8, story city super eight
LOCATION
United StatesIowaStory City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUPER 8 BY WYNDHAM STORY CITY - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Super 8 By Wyndham Story City
Which popular attractions are close to Super 8 By Wyndham Story City?
Nearby attractions include Story City Antique Carousel (1.0 km), Antiques Iowa LTD (0.3 km), and Storybook Orchard (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Super 8 By Wyndham Story City?
Conveniently located restaurants include KaffeGeita, Los Altos Mexican Restaurant, and Alley's Pizza.
Are any cleaning services offered at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Super 8 By Wyndham Story City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Super 8 By Wyndham Story City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire