We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort

1,818 reviews
Save
Traveller (329)
Pool & Beach (69)
Room & Suite (58)
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good32%
  • Average19%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“enchanted forest”(173 reviews)
“starved rock”(214 reviews)
“master bedroom”(22 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,818)Write a Review
Filter reviews
1,818 results
Traveller rating
418
515
362
233
290
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
418
515
362
233
290
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenchanted foreststarved rockmaster bedroomstate parkgreat weekend
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,818 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We visited Starved Rock to view the eagles and was not disappointed, however it was bitter cold! The finish to our trip was an overnight at Grizzly Jack’s. Our room was clean, comfortable and plenty warm. The water park was fine, even for our older...More

Thank Jane T
Response from Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear ResortResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and are glad you enjoyed your trip! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 8 January 2018

Great place to take young kids for New Years and a weekend getaway from Christmas break and Winter! Kids loved the water park and arcade was great fun. New Years eve was great with DJ, bar and dinner buffet with separate pizza and desert buffets...More

Thank cvm88
Reviewed 3 January 2018

i called before reserving a room to make sure their pool was open and warm and to see if their new years buffets had food my toddler (who is tongue tied) could eat and they assured me they had everything covered in the package! i...More

3  Thank messyjessy1460
Response from Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Front Office Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear ResortResponded 7 January 2018

I would like to offer our most sincere apologies that your stay did not turn out like you had hoped it would. I will personally address the issues you had with housekeeping in your room directly. We are offering refunds for the night on January...More

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Pretty area, nice villa but lacking in maintenance and housekeeping. Bring everything you might need for yourself. Not even an extra roll of toilet paper. Some light bulbs burned out. Two fireplaces one barely working one not at all. One hair dryer not working. One...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Front Office Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear ResortResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you for your helpful review. I apologize for the unfortunate circumstances you experienced during your stay here with us. We will definitely keep this in mind going forward. We can't fix issues we don't know about, so we appreciate your feedback!

Reviewed 4 December 2017

This was our second stay and I can say this resort does not disappoint. The environment is well enveloped in the outdoor / nature theme, and the waterpark is hours of fun. Miniature golf was a touch outside with holes of varying difficulties and the...More

Thank Leigh K
Response from Grizzly_Jacks_Resort, Front Office Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear ResortResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for your kind and positive review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We look forward to seeing you back again with us soon!

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456364
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$62 - US$207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$62 - US$207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (329)
Pool & Beach (69)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (5)
Family and Play Areas (26)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kmcortese
21 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Grizzly_Jacks_Resort | Property representative |
Hello our renovations are expected to be completed around the first part of May of 2018. We are looking to be open and running as usual.
1
Vote
kmcortese
21 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Grizzly_Jacks_Resort | Property representative |
Yes we do have rooms that are accessible rooms. We also have adjoining rooms as well. However our waterpark is currently closed due to renovations. We are expected to be reopen and running by the first part of May 2018... More
1
Vote
Tiffany W
8 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Grizzly_Jacks_Resort | Property representative |
It is not a far walk at all from the cabins and villas to the waterpark at all.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12345
Room Tips
"Room 201 was closed to everything including one flight of stairs or elevator down to water park and arcade."
Read review
"super cold"
Read review
"Bring a can of Raid and some strong cleaning supplies. Maybe even your own towels!"
Read review
"Bring Bug Spray and also Bring Your Own Cleaning/Cooking Supplies."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing