We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thompson Chicago

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (784)
Room & Suite (512)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#78 of 207 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Imagine your own luxe studio in the skies overlooking the hip Gold Coast neighborhood's leafy streets, with sweeping views of the Chicago skyline and Lake Michigan daring you to look away. Parking available for additional fee per night.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Safe
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Lithuanian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Member Rate
3501Reviews55Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,677
  • 535
  • 144
  • 74
  • 71
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kelsey K wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Such a cute hotel in a very convenient location. It is walking distance from tons of upscale shopping, restaurants and bars. They were extremely accommodating and responded quickly to my multiple requests. Natalie at the front desk was especially helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Irena Rietveld, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Chicago
Responded today
Dear T296KEkelseyk, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found our location convenient for exploring the nearby upscale shopping, restaurants, and bars. We're thrilled to hear that you found our team accommodating and responsive to your needs, and we'll be sure to pass your compliments along to Natalie at the front desk. Providing excellent service to our guests is our top priority, and it's always rewarding to receive such positive feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future for another enjoyable stay. If there's anything we can assist you with in the meantime, please don't hesitate to reach out. Warm regards, Irena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
victorgiansante wrote a review Jun 2022
Ribeirao Preto, SP7 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Thompson has the best location in Chicago, right in the heart of Gold Coast where the best restaurants, stores and rooftops are. Also really close to Michigan Av. Book a room with a lake view and high floor.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darius Cristwell, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Chicago
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Victorgiansante, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We were delighted to read your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. It definitely put a smile on our face to read that you enjoyed our location and the surrounding area. Thank you so much for your feedback and we trust that we will see you again in the future. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
karocoff wrote a review 20 Feb
1 contribution
Great hotel and perfect location! The bed was super comfortable. Front staff upgraded our room without us asking and allowed for early check in. The bathroom was amazing and the hair and body products were great. My husband and I even got a great workout in their gym. They have pendleton bikes and access to the work out app. Hotel is in a great area near all high end shopping. Conveniant parking across the street as well. Definately will stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Irena Rietveld, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Chicago
Responded today
Dear Karocoff, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Thompson Chicago and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We're thrilled to hear that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed our hotel's great location and amenities. It's wonderful to know that you found our bed super comfortable and that our front staff went above and beyond to upgrade your room and accommodate your early check-in. We're also delighted that you enjoyed the amenities in our bathroom and made use of our gym facilities, including the Pendleton bikes and workout app. We're glad to hear that our convenient parking options and proximity to high-end shopping added to the enjoyment of your stay. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future. If there's anything we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know. Warm regards, Irena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
seekritsuz wrote a review 19 Feb
2 contributions
If what you’re looking for are accommodations with warped cheap laminate flooring, water damaged walls with mold and smeared paint, bugs in the baseboards, and loud popping from inside the walls- this is your place! You can have a suite that reminds you of a cheap air bnb in the city for the price of a premium hotel. But here you get the bonus of completely being dismissed by in person staff rather than communicating through an app. You can also push your cart of luggage to your room yourself when you arrive late in the evening. We’ve stayed here many times over the years and it’s been declining steadily- I think we may be at the bottom for the class of hotel it claims to be.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Irena Rietveld, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Chicago
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Seekritsuz, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, although we are truly disheartened to hear about your recent experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. Your feedback regarding the condition of your room is deeply concerning, and we take such matters very seriously. We have immediately addressed these issues with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure that they are rectified promptly. It is certainly not the standard of quality we aim to deliver to our valued guests. Additionally, we are disappointed to hear that you felt dismissed by our staff. Providing attentive and responsive service is at the core of our values, and we apologize if we fell short in meeting your expectations in this regard. We truly value your loyalty as a returning guest, and it is disheartening to learn that your recent experiences have not reflected the high standards we strive to maintain. Your feedback will be instrumental in helping us improve our services and facilities for all our guests. We sincerely hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. Thank you once again for bringing these matters to our attention, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a much-improved experience. Warm regards, Irena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John P wrote a review 19 Feb
11 contributions3 helpful votes
Is there a better location for a hotel in the city, quiet at night and close to the best shopping and restaurants. We will be back, looking forward to the new restaurant at the hotel. The views are great, The rooms was super clean and smelled great. We like the art in the rooms!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Irena Rietveld, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Chicago
Responded 3 days ago
Dear John P, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us on Trip Advisor! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Thompson Chicago and that our location, amenities, and cleanliness met your expectations. It's wonderful to know that you appreciated our prime location, which offers both tranquility and easy access to the city's vibrant shopping and dining scene. We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the views from your room, found it impeccably clean, and appreciated the unique artwork in our rooms. We are equally excited about the upcoming opening of our new restaurant and can't wait to welcome you back for another fantastic experience. Should you need any assistance with your future reservation or have any special requests, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Once again, thank you for choosing the Thompson Chicago, and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Warm regards, Irena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Traci B wrote a review 19 Feb
1 contribution
This was mine and my boyfriend’s first time going on a vacation, just the two of us, and it was also our first time staying at such a nice hotel. I just want to say that this first impression will be hard to beat, largely due to the wonderful workers at the front desk, Alex G and Irena. The power duo was super helpful when it came to suggestions around the area, service to the room, and good conversation. Their approachable and friendly manner made it easy for this place to feel like a second home. I would highly recommend the Thompson to anyone as the room and view we had was wonderful, the amenities were top notch, and the staff was the absolute best. While Chicago seems endless in the amount of things to do, it’s the place that you retire to at the end of a long day that makes or breaks a trip, and the Thompson hotel and staff truly made our trip. Thank you, Alex G and Irena :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Irena Rietveld, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Chicago
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Tracib975, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Thompson Chicago on TripAdvisor! It was truly a pleasure to have you and your boyfriend as our guests for your first vacation together, and I am thrilled to hear that we were able to make it a memorable one. I am delighted to hear that Alex G and I were able to exceed your expectations with our service at the front desk. Providing exceptional service and ensuring our guests feel at home is our top priority, and it warms my heart to know that our efforts made your stay special. Your kind words about our approachable and friendly manner mean a lot to us, and I will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team. We take great pride in providing comfortable accommodations, breathtaking views, and top-notch amenities, and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and the services we offer. Your recommendation means the world to us, and I cannot thank you enough for your glowing review. It was a pleasure being a part of your first vacation together, and we would be honored to welcome you back to the Thompson Chicago for many more memorable stays in the future. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know. Warm regards, Irena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
otabba1 wrote a review 15 Feb
1 contribution
My wife and I stayed at the Thompson for an early Valentine’s Day celebration. We parked in the lot across the street for $40; valet is $75. At check-in the staff was kind and fast. The room was spacious enough, with a soft bed, and a great view. Gibson’s Steakhouse is across the street. There’s a well-stocked minibar but no fridge. We let the front desk know, and they quickly had one brought up. The gym has what you need, and the “secret stairway” is worth checking out. I would stay at the Thompson again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Irena Rietveld, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Chicago
Responded 6 days ago
Dear otabba1, Thank you for choosing Thompson for your early Valentine’s Day celebration, and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our team could contribute to making your visit memorable. It's wonderful to know that you found our staff kind and efficient during check-in and that you appreciated the spacious room, comfortable bed, and great view. We're delighted that we could promptly address your request for a fridge and that you found our minibar well-stocked. We're also glad you had a chance to explore our gym and discover the "secret stairway." We always strive to provide our guests with unique experiences, and we're pleased that you enjoyed this feature. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thompson Chicago for another exceptional stay. If there's anything else we can assist you with in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. Warm regards, Irena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bob E wrote a review 11 Feb
Niagara Falls, Canada19 contributions5 helpful votes
Not enough light to read a book or even to run the coffee machine. Hotels are expected to provide a bed, a bathroom, heating and hot water. The Thompson Chicago did that. But Thompson did not provide light in either of the rooms we rented (which by the way were on separate floors. The hotel did not provide an extra lamp that we asked for (in our two night stay) The hotel also had no restaurant or bar OF ANY KIND
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: stay away unless you bring a Carman portable lamp
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Irena Rietveld, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Chicago
Responded 1 week ago
Dear bobe930, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay at the Thompson Chicago. It is disappointing to learn that the lighting in your rooms did not meet your expectations and that we were unable to provide an extra lamp upon your request. Please know that we take such feedback seriously, and we will address this issue with our team to ensure that necessary improvements are made. Regarding the absence of a restaurant or bar during your stay, we regret any inconvenience this may have caused. Due to unforeseen circumstances, our restaurant and bar were temporarily closed, and we apologize for not communicating this effectively prior to your arrival. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities, and we appreciate your patience and understanding. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with the exceptional experience that you deserve. If you have any further concerns or if there is anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Warm regards, Irena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
robinphillips0403 wrote a review 5 Feb
Chicago, Illinois2 contributions
Location is great, staff was very friendly. Only negative was the bathtub spout was broken and didn't work. Unable to enjoy the bathtub. Rooms were big and bed was very comfortable. Restaurant is closed due to construction.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Irena Rietveld, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Chicago
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear robinphillips0403, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you found our location convenient and that our staff provided you with friendly service. However, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the broken bathtub spout. Please rest assured that we have taken note of your feedback and will address this issue promptly to ensure that all our facilities are in top condition for our guests. We regret that you were unable to enjoy the bathtub during your stay and understand how disappointing this must have been. Regarding the restaurant closure due to construction, we apologize for any inconvenience this caused. We are working diligently to complete the construction as soon as possible to enhance our guests' dining experience. On a positive note, we are glad to hear that you found our rooms spacious and our beds comfortable. Your comfort and satisfaction are important to us, and we appreciate your understanding during this transitional period. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more seamless and enjoyable stay in the future. If you have any further feedback or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Warm regards, Irena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
leobend1010 wrote a review 4 Feb
New York City, New York1 contribution
Nothing special here. I didn't like the quality of service in this hotel. Room is nice and clean. No place for breakfast or something to eat in the hotel. You can only order order to the room.(I didn't see it written anywhere before) If you want early check in like 12 instead of 1pm you need to pay 50 dollars extra.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Irena Rietveld, Guest Services / Front Office at Thompson Chicago
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear leobend1010, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Thompson Chicago. I appreciate your honest review and would like to extend my apologies for any shortcomings you experienced during your visit. I'm pleased to hear that you found the room to be nice and clean, but I am truly sorry to learn that the overall quality of service did not meet your expectations. Your feedback regarding the lack of clear information about breakfast options and the additional charge for early check-in is valuable, and I will ensure that these concerns are addressed with the relevant teams to improve our communication and services. At Thompson Chicago, we are committed to providing an exceptional experience for our guests, and I regret that we fell short of this commitment during your stay. Please know that your comments are taken seriously, and we will use them to identify areas for improvement. I understand the importance of a seamless and enjoyable stay, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. If you have any further details or specific suggestions you would like to share, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Thank you for choosing Thompson Chicago, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved experience in the future. Warm regards, Irena
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chicago area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$1,345 - HK$3,339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Gold Coast / Near North Side
NUMBER OF ROOMS
247
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THOMPSON CHICAGO - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (IL)

Frequently Asked Questions about Thompson Chicago
Which popular attractions are close to Thompson Chicago?
Nearby attractions include Fourth Presbyterian Church (0.4 km), Oak Street Beach (0.3 km), and Water Tower Place (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Thompson Chicago?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Thompson Chicago?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Thompson Chicago?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Thompson Chicago?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thompson Chicago?
Conveniently located restaurants include Doc B's Restaurant + Bar, Velvet Taco, and Hugo's Frog Bar & Fish House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Thompson Chicago?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Thompson Chicago?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Thompson Chicago?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Thompson Chicago offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Thompson Chicago?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Lithuanian.