We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Save
Share
511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
US$224
View deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
eDreams
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (852)
Room & Suite (597)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 27/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Updated 27/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#128 of 217 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile is a sleek and upscale 4 Diamond property located in Downtown Chicago, minutes away from Michigan Avenue shopping and Navy Pier family fun. The Magnificent Mile area also features top rated restaurants and entertainment, as well as many corporate businesses. Northwestern Memorial Hospital and the University of Chicago Gleacher Center are within walking distance. There is a Whole Foods across the street and a Target and Walgreens around the corner for your convenience. The property is centrally located from both Chicago O'Hare Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MWI), and are both easily accessible from public transportation that surrounds the hotel.

The Embassy Suites Magnificent Mile has 455 spacious two-room suites that each feature a private bedroom and separate living area and includes two 48-inch TVs and a kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bowling offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Raquetball offsite
Squash offsite
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
4208Reviews87Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,890
  • 1,403
  • 543
  • 234
  • 138
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
helmgirlpippa wrote a review 3 Aug
Hamilton, Canada8 contributions
I couldn’t tell you what this hotel is like because even though I had a reservation, security said our reservation was not listed and refused to check or let us upstairs so we could check with the front desk. Told to try the other Embassy Suites in Chicago. Went there, no reservation because it was, of course at the Embassy Suites we had just been told to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Wendy C wrote a review May 2022
San Juan, Puerto Rico28 contributions20 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Location and rooms are great, will come back to this property again and will highly recommend this hotel to my friends and family!!! People at front desk were very friendly and cleaning was great !!! Undoubtedly will recommend the hotel
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Techman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Responded 27 May 2022
Thank you Wendy C for sharing your experience and the wonderful 5 star review. We hope to see you back again soon!
Read more
amysturgeon17 wrote a review 2 Aug
1 contribution
Don’t waste your money here. Room was dirty. Parking was almost $100 staff was rude. No one helped us to figure out to go Great location. Breakfast was horrible. No where to sit downstairs. Very upset to spend 530 a night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hyo Jin M wrote a review 1 Aug
Hamilton, Canada1 contribution
Disliked · I books the hotel for me and my 5 friends. When I showed up, the doorman said there is no reservation under my name and didn't let me in. I asked to check a few more times but he kept flipping the guest list and told us I probably booked the other embassy suites. I already paid parking but they didn't wave the parking fee so I had to pay $50 for staying 15 min. We went to the other embassy suites and of course there was no reservation under my name.it was almost midnight so we booked rooms there - paying more money. When I called booking.com customer service, the agent checked and told me I had the reservation and it was the hotel's mistake. The agent said he told the hotel not to charge my credit card if I end up nit staying there and also the customer service of embassy suites will contact me to fix the issue but nobody called. I called to the hotel but the front desk didn't want to take responsibility because she just started her shift and don't know what happened and Also they were about to charge the penalty on my card for not showing up. Nobody helped and it was nightmare to connect the customer service. I wouldn't recommend anyone to book that hotel for the worst service, extremely unprofessional staff and also the worst parking location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Techman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Responded 6 days ago
While Booking.com is a great partner to the hotel industry, it does make it more challenging to work with our customers as there can be delay's in receiving the reservations from their site (which is why you may not have shown up on our list when you arrived) and it makes it more challenging to refund money that you payed to booking.com and not directly to the hotel. We are sorry for the difficulties you encountered and we must own any lack of service on our part. If there is something more we can do to make it right please contact our hotel manager, Mr. Christian Michaels, at 312-836-5900.
Read more
Christina G wrote a review Jul 2022
San Antonio, Texas7 contributions5 helpful votes
We picked this hotel for a family trip to Chicago based on their website which promised connecting rooms. Be warned: that is a lie. There are no connecting rooms at this property. It’s also very noisy with lots of traffic noise.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Techman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Responded 6 days ago
ChristinaG910 we have never had connecting rooms and as a result of your comments we have audited our site to insure that nothing says that we do. We could not find anything, however there is another Embassy Suites in Chicago that does offer connecting rooms and perhaps there was some confusion when researching your stay. We apologize for any confusion and will continue to insure that the information on our website is accurate.
Read more
rek9494 wrote a review Jul 2022
Rochester, New York1 contribution
During our recent family trip to Chicago we stayed at the Embassy Suites Downtown for 5 nights. We booked 2 High Floor City View, Premier Suites (we liked the idea of having some snacks in our room since they had not concierge level) . First off because of an issue with "overbooking", we were given 2 regular suites on lower floors (without the premium snacks). Yet they wanted to charge us the same rate, only after we pointed out the room difference did they issue a credit. Then we asked if we could at least have the snack trays sent up, mine showed up after midnight and my in-laws did not receive one. Next we were told we would actually have to check out by 11am and recheck in to get our correct rooms. We were a little concerned about being able to shower and get changed as we had plans during the day and reservations at the Signature Room that night. Finally I asked to see the manager (Christian), who frankly was awesome!! First he told us he would make sure our rooms would be prioritized and we would be able to get into our new rooms in plenty of time for our dinner plans, he then proceeded to offer us a credit for the inconvenience (it wasn't huge by any means but he tried), and lastly as we were waiting in the lobby he bought all 5 of us a drink at the bar). He made sure both my brother in-law and I had his card, but alas he can't be everywhere at once and we just didn't want to call him for every little issue (he was clearly VERY busy at one point we saw him sans suit coat with work gloves on so I think he was just swamped). So long story short here are the highlights/lowlights of the rest of our stay: Charged wrong rate for 2 nights (more time at the front desk), had to call or message everyday for towels (basically one wash cloth at check in), snack tray and water only replenished once (after we called), they only did maid service on the 4th night of your stay and that included trash service (yes I understand we all have staffing issues, but no trash???). Room was a bit beat up (especially for the price point), their was dirt on the curtains, the bath tub had clearly seen better days, no water pressure and lastly the A/C was awful (on the hottest week of the summer). In the last few years I have found myself shying away from Hilton properties, this stay did not help. But again I just want to say I thought Christian (the manager) really tried to make things right, he just couldn't be everywhere.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Techman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Responded 6 days ago
rek9494 we apologize for the issues you encountered and will definitely share both your issues and your compliments for our hotel manager, Christian, with our team. We are focused on getting staff hired and trained and, to that end, we are focused on improving the overall experience and satisfaction of our guests. Travel Safe.
Read more
haleynoel92 wrote a review Jul 2022
East Bethel, Minnesota1 contribution
this hotel is on the magnificent mile ! And you pay for that exact thing. This hotel at best reminded me of a cheap hotel from Florida. Bathroom was dirty, water pressure was good. View was really nice. But the cleanliness of this hotel makes you want to never come back for the thousand dollar stay I had to pay out of pocket. Not to mention the $50 a day parking! I rented a $20 dollar movie. Fell asleep and couldn’t restart the movie. In the morning. Or rewind the movie. Only have 10 min breaks that you can pause the movie, and it won’t let you pause it more then twice. Breakfast was bland and boring and definitely NOT worth 25 dollars a day! I would have went to get breakfast for that price if I knew that was how much it was. Rather have McDonald’s. The sausages were gooey and not a good texture, bacon was dry. Eggs and hash browns were ok. I figured I would be staying at a very good hotel for the price I payed. And It definitely like a polished turd at best. A. THOUSAND DOLLAR POLISHED TURD.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Techman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Responded 6 days ago
Hmmm haleynoel92, we don't charge for breakfast, its included? So we are not sure why you paid $25 a day? Could it be that you stayed at some other hotel and not the Embassy Suites?
Read more
mollyandme wrote a review Jul 2022
Norton, Massachusetts132 contributions17 helpful votes
I was in Chicago for a work meeting and we stayed at a Courtyard Marriott that was terrible. My husband came in to join me for the weekend and I didn't have enough Marriott points to stay. Thank Goodness because it was a terrible hotel. We booked with my Hilton points at Embassy Suites which was such a great location, we walked most places. Suite was comfortable and quiet, we were on the 11th floor. It is a big hotel but the staff really knows how to accommodate you during breakfast and the manager's reception. I ordered omelets and fried eggs which were to perfection. The staff is great about keeping food stocked and tables cleaned. I would stay again. They do a great job. We walked to the river and the architectural boat tour which was great. Lovely view from the 11th floor too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: We had 1107
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Techman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Responded 6 days ago
mollyandme thank you for sharing! We love the 5 star review and will share your comments with the team. We hope to see you back again when your travels bring you to Chicago. Travel Safe.
Read more
NP wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Terrible experience with our family for vacation Not enough people to staff the hotel. Checked in via the Hilton app into a deluxe extended room. Upon entry, glad I did as the lines were crazy. App worked and was I avoided check in -and went directly to front desk afterwards to get additional keys and register parking ticket for in and out provilieges. Asked about room service and was told room service was available. That night, no one in the hotel picked up the phone. Called multiple times from the room, each time let it ring >30 times and no one answered. I got an answer once to please hold, however she never came back on. Went down to front desk again and was told by a different person here was no room service. The next am, called operator and actually got a response. I asked if food items in the deluxe room would be replenished. I was told they would be. When I came back, no housekeeping. I was told it’s an option that you now have to request at check in. I told them that l checked in through the app and there was no option. Furthermore,I went to the front desk afterwards and eve called the hotel operator. No response to her. Said she would send towels, empty trash, and refresh the snacks. Person came up with towels only and no trash pickup or refresh of included snacks. Pros: Location, Hotel cleanliness, Room size and snacks in deluxe, good breakfast Cons: Understaffed, poor operating procedures, dirty plates given for breakfast, extremely busy for allowing of staff worked, no housekeeping, no communication of that to customers, customers requests not getting filled, poor communication among staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Techman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Responded 6 days ago
Nikhil There is no excuse for poor communication. We will share your comments with our team with a focus of improving in all areas. If there is anything we can do to make things right, please do contact our hotel manager, Christian Michaels, at 312-836-5900.
Read more
wannabetraveler45 wrote a review Jul 2022
60 contributions40 helpful votes
I have mixed thoughts. I stayed here for the second time, in May 2022. The hotel is conveniently located and very central to everything...very walkable. The breakfast was awesome. Made to order omelets and a huge selection of breakfast items. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The problem, is not so much the hotel's but rather, the state of travel. The room was not as clean as I have seen in the past. I called Housekeeping and the supervisor herself came to the room, right away and cleaned the few splatters that didn't get picked up previously. The next day, I called down to housekeeping to ask them to bring extra towels when the came up to clean. They informed me that they no longer clean daily and only clean upon request. Unfortunately, the front desk did not tell me that, so that was a complete surprise. Again, this is not so much the fault of the hotel, but rather, when hotels furloughed staff due to COVID, they lost a lot of permanent staff and now, rooms just don't get cleaned that often. I would come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Techman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Responded 6 days ago
wannabetraveler45 we will address with the front desk your comment about not being told that we do not clean the rooms each day. If you had been made aware, you would be given the choice to request daily cleaning. Otherwise we clean the rooms every third day for longer stays and we always make sure there are enough towels and wash clothes to get to that third day. So happy to hear you love the breakfast and appreciate the friendliness of the staff and we will share all your comments with the team. We hope to see you back again on a future trip.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$258 - US$380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
embassy suites chicago, embassy downtown lakefront suites, chicago embassy suites
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Streeterville / Near North Side
NUMBER OF ROOMS
455
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Which popular attractions are close to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile?
Nearby attractions include Royale Society Hospitality (0.2 km), Lakefront Trail (0.4 km), and The Great Escape Room Chicago (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Capital Grille, Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab, and Do-Rite Donuts & Chicken - Streeterville.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Polish.