We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown

Save
Share
One South Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606
Hotel direct offer!Stay Twice & Earn a Free Night
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
eDreams
Trip.com
Snaptravel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (223)
Room & Suite (164)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 16/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#94 of 218 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown their hotel of choice when visiting Chicago. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown features 24 hour front desk, room service, and a convenience store. In addition, as a valued La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown guest, you can enjoy a fitness center and free breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to paid public parking available nearby.

Close to some of Chicago's most popular landmarks, such as 360 Chicago Observation Deck (1.3 mi) and Navy Pier (1.5 mi), La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown is a great destination for tourists.

While in Chicago, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown, including Girl & The Goat (0.7 mi), The Purple Pig (0.8 mi), and Grand Lux Cafe (1.0 mi).

Should time allow, Skydeck Chicago - Willis Tower, The Art Institute of Chicago, and The Magnificent Mile are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown as you experience all of the things Chicago has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay Twice & Earn a Free Night
1796Reviews38Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 923
  • 616
  • 155
  • 46
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
genway53 wrote a review 3 Jul
Greenwood Village, Colorado63 contributions31 helpful votes
In the wake of travel industry COVID-19 related disruptions, what passes for barely acceptable has been recalibrated. viz the 4 and 5 bubble reviews for this property. This primarily economy-conscious business traveler hotel, has cut all services and hospitality to the bone in an effort to generate margins on volume. For context this reviewer spent >90 nights year travelling domestically and internationally pre-COVID. LQI provides 2 star accommodations and service with bloated nightly rates and outrageous add-ons including an adjacent parking lot averaging $50/night (if not pre-purchasing with SpotHero app). The grumpy, intoxicated day-time front desk clerk was verbally abusive of a colleague during our check-in, could not bring themself to acknowledge or greet guests when entering or leaving and begrudgingly handed out additional toiletry supplies when requested. Consistent with many other budget hotels, room services has been ELIMINATED. And as a consequence, so has room maintenance. During a three day stay we had to request plumbing assistance on two occasions (blocked tub and sink), additional towels (2 thin and worn-out small bath towels provided on check-in) and trash removal when the single small can was over-flowing. The window blinds were partially detached resulting in streaming morning light from 5am. As noted by other recent reviewers, the limited breakfast service is a veritable disaster. Valiant efforts by a very short staffed dining hall team to cater to a drove of complaining guests in a mosh-pit of a cramped cafeteria, were to no avail. Between the tasteless prepackaged items and the coffee dregs, an Omicron super-spreader experience was all that was guaranteed. So the positives? West loop location should be a pro but for $20 more per room per night, opt for a property closer to Mag mile and the lake.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Brian B wrote a review Jun 2022
Paducah, Kentucky9 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
My family of four really enjoyed this hotel. It had, clean modern rooms. Security was good as you had to use your room key to use elevator. Could walk easily to Millenium Park, Washington-Wella subway stop, Union Station, and many restaurants especially Giordano's pizza (great deep dish pizza). Parking $50 a day. Use Uber to get around if you tire of walking - cheaper than more parking fees at other garages. Best bargsin in downtown. Hotel staff was very friendly. Study up on parking garage entrance location before arriving. There is also a pull area with turnaround between buildings for check in. Stay here!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Escape379277 wrote a review 1 Jul
Houston, Texas2 contributions1 helpful vote
Night time staff were horrible . Linens were not provide even after asking multiple times. Sofa bed quality was so bad that it seem sleeping on without mattress.when spoken to the property managers they promised refund which was not given as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kwilliams024 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Hotel staff is very nice, the accommodations are great, you can’t be the location, easy walk to everything in downtown. The only weird thing was the doors kind of slam when you close them. Other than that the place is fantastic
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
RevSoderling wrote a review Jun 2022
Vincennes, Indiana1 contribution
The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to help keep some frozen foods for us. The room was very nice and clean as was the bathroom. Was situated in the middle of where we were going to be that weekend which worked out great.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
4lakevalley wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Small poor quality towels and linens, on an alley way, noise all night long, no view, small rooms, no maid service nor freshening of toiletries in a 4 night stay. We booked several months in advance to attend our sons graduation from U Chicago Law School and this was the room we were assigned. Very disappointing stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. Firstly, I would like to apologize that you did not like our hotel's choice in linen. I also apologize if you were not made aware of our current cleaning policies prior to making your reservation. Still, due to the on going nature of Covd, our housekeeping policy is that we are not entering the rooms while the guests are checked into them. I am also saddened that you did not like your room. Due to the city's density, everything downtown is all pretty close together and the south side of the building is met with a neighboring office building. Sorry again that your experience did not meet your expectations. Regards, - Joe
Read more
awakem986255 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Sadly, our stay was ruined by the fiasco that was breakfast time. The breakfast area was nowhere near large enough to accommodate the number of guests who wanted to eat, and consequently was extremely crowded - an unpleasant experience at the best of times and during Covid a positive health risk. The restrictive two hour 7 a.m. to 9 a.m period exacerbated this situation, and the staff (who were not of the most accommodating disposition) 'shut up shop' promptly. Added to this I thought the food was unappetizing. On a positive note, the hotel's location was most convenient.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
crigou998956 wrote a review Jun 2022
Ann Arbor, Michigan1 contribution
The property claims to be pet friendly and IT IS NOT. When we got there with our dog they said they were not pet friendly and that they hadn't been for the last 3 years. They still claim to be pet friendly on the website! Also claims to have parking included in the stay but they charge separately for it, which makes a huge price difference.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I apologize that there were some discrepancies between the hotel's amenities posted online and the actual amenities offered at our property. I will make the appropriate person aware of this so they can correctly update the amenities that are posted online. Regards, - Joe Joseph Sido Front Office Manager La Quinta Downtown Chicago
Read more
rnlucy2022 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
the staff were very kind and professional. Check in was quick and simple. Room was clean and big- I didn't expect this size. breakfast was good. Its location was good- could go multiple places by walk
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
bwest2017 wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Arrived early. We were told check in was at 3pm. Went to breakfast, shopped, returned to hotel around noon. Asked about room availability. Advised not until 3 pm. Decided to wait in the lobby. Visible to employees. Guest arrive at 1:40pm. Walk to counter and are checked in- no problem. I walk over to the lady that advised of 3pm check in, who happens to be checking in guests as well. She said “I was just coming to get you”. After 3 different guests have been checked in and you know we’ve been waiting since noon to check in. How inconsiderate and disrespectful. Might I add, the group that was immediately checked in, were white. My husband and I are African American. It just doesn’t sit well with me and we will not utilize this hotel again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$211 - US$328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la quinta inn & suites chicago downtown hotel chicago, la quinta inn and suites chicago downtown, la quinta chicago
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Downtown / The Loop
NUMBER OF ROOMS
239
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Skydeck Chicago - Willis Tower (0.3 km), Room X Escape (0.3 km), and Lyric Opera of Chicago (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Giordano's, 312 Chicago, and Native Foods.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Chicago Downtown?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.