We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District

Save
Share
32 W Randolph St, Chicago, IL 60601-3501
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Stay 2 or more nights and get 20% off
US$202
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
FindHotelUS$202
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (227)
Room & Suite (104)
Dining (31)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Updated 06/05/22

About

#106 of 218 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
It doesn’t matter whether you stay with us once a year or once a month, at the Cambria® Chicago Loop Theatre District hotel in Chicago, IL, you’re always a VIP. Our ideal location is not only across the street from the CTA Red Line which will take you to see the Chicago Cubs or the White Sox, but, also the CTA Blue Line, which will take you around the city and to O'Hare International Airport. this downtown hotel is within two blocks of all other CTA lines and also within walking distance to many theatres in the Chicago Theatre District and just steps away from Chicago's famed State Street shopping and Michigan Ave.'s Millennium Park.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!
360Reviews25Q+A53Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 166
  • 109
  • 45
  • 22
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kristin T wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
THE GOOD: The location is convenient walking distance to many attractions. The bed was comfortable. The girl behind the front desk was extremely friendly and accommodating. And that’s where it ends folks. THE BAD: Due to the location you will hear car horns and ambulance sirens morning, noon, and night making it difficult to sleep. The room itself is small and underwhelming. The refrigerator that had only one setting froze our food solid. The hairdryer provided broke on the second day of our stay. We had an iron but not an ironing board. There are zero amenities provided, not even free water. When we called down and requested water bottles we were told that only hotel members receive complimentary water and that our only other options were to pay $7 per bottle in the lobby or travel to the 9th floor to use the drinking fountain. You will wait an average of 5-10 minutes for an elevator so factor that into your timing if you have dinner reservations. Next visit to Chicago, we will definitely be skipping the Cambria.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paradise56653666087, General Manager at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate your feedback, Kristin. We're glad you appreciated our ideal location, comfortable bedding, and kind staff, but we're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. We regret that our sound insulation, amenities, and elevators failed to meet your standards. We will address your concerns with our engineering and management teams moving forward. We hope to have you stay with us again so we can share a more positive experience with you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela C wrote a review Aug 2022
13 contributions
This was an amazing spot to visit all of Chicago from. So conveniently located. It was such a pleasure to come home every day to this hotel. The staff was so nice!! The room was smaller than any other room we had ever stayed in however, it was perfect! If you are staying for 1-3 days, this is a great place. It right next door to several famous theatres and near all the shopping and transit you could ever need. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paradise56653666087, General Manager at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Thank you for this lovely review, Angela! We're thrilled to know you had such a wonderful experience at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop-Theatre District. We're also glad you enjoyed our prime location and proximity to so many of the city's best attractions. We look forward to hosting you again so we can share yet another fabulous experience with you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Юлия К wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I’d give -10 to this hotel! We stayed there for 6 nights. We got a room on the last floor, it was nice, but dirty. Beds weren’t changed (found hairs and dirty pillows, stained sheets) and didn’t have a comforter, table and windowsill weren’t wiped (had some foods, souse spills, etc), windows had large prints. I wiped everything by myself, and called to ask to change the bed. The girl was very annoyed, even didn’t say “hi” and “by”, and changed it with teen’s attitude, when you ask them to do something they don’t want to do. On the third night we (my husband, daughter and I) woke up at 4 am because of the FIRE ALARM. We ran to the hall, but the fire alarm was only in our room. We came back and foun out that our room was full of smoke and smelled very bad. We called reception, the guy who worked the night shift was polite, and gave us another room to sleep. After we woke up I went to the reception to ask for another room, hostes pretended that he didn't know about anything, after I explained to him a situation, he gave me another room, mentioned that it’ll cost $25 less, but said they can only refund half of one night's price, because it happened at 4am. I didn’t want to ruin my day by arguing with him and came back in the evening. There was another guy (he said he is a supervisor), who again pretended he didn’t know about the situation. I explained everything again, and asked him what happened in our room and asked him to send a report about it, because my daughter, and I felt bad all day, had bad headaches and coughed, and I needed something to confirm that there was an accident in this hotel. He played the game “I don’t know what happened”, and it was a lie, because a guy in the morning told me that an inspector already worked in our room. I politely asked him to call the manager. The manager AGAIN asked me to repeat what happened, because he “didn’t know”. When I said that “our room was full of smoke” he said to me “it’s what you are saying, we (“hotel”) didn't see it” and they can’t give me any report. This was the moment when I stopped being polite, and the email was sent to me 5 min after that. “Our chief engineer found the source of the smoke coming from the HAVC unit in 2208. The smoke that was seen and smelled was from the condensation hitting the wires in the HVAC” When we checked out, I asked about adjusting our room price, because the guy told us it will be $25 cheaper, so they needed to return $75. The girl who worked there that morning stopped to smile, started to talk rudely, said she can’t do it, she needs to call the manager, etc. and stared at me. I politely said that it is ok and I can wait a little while for her manager. She called him, and the manager (new one) asked me AGAIN to explain the whole situation, like he didn’t know about it. He said he doesn’t know who told me about different prices, he has to look, and they already refunded the night, etc. When I pointed out that he speaks rudely, and I don’t understand why after everything happened in this hotel with us all staff talk to us disrespectfully, rudely etc, he tried to tell me that it is not rude, and it is because of his accent (Indian?). I’m not native speaker either, I have an accent and work with people with different accents every day. I can understand what the accent is, and what the attitude is. After that he refunded me $60, LOL. You know who apologized to us in this hotel? Bartender only! He was very supportive, gave us free shots and recommended the great places to visit. No one from management or hostess never asked us how we feel and if they can do something for us, never called us. ALL STAFF HAVE TO TAKE A CUSTOMER SUCCESS AND TRAINING.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paradise56653666087, General Manager at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Escape451016. We're disheartened to hear about the challenges you experienced during your time with us and your room was not refreshed properly. We regret that our team didn't go above and beyond to accommodate your needs or to make you feel valued. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll be sure to address your concerns internally so we may avoid these issues and improve for the future. We hope to host you again soon so we can demonstrate the high-caliber service we're accustomed to sharing with our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erik E wrote a review Aug 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana4 contributions
We got the room at a reasonable rate and were happy with the choice. Located right in the middle of the theater district with easy access to public transit. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and courteous. Would recommend and stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paradise56653666087, General Manager at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Thanks for the excellent review, 945erike! We're delighted your time at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop-Theatre District was so outstanding as providing our guests with an excellent experience is very important to us. It's fantastic you appreciated our prime location and courteous staff as well as our refreshed and comfortable accommodations. That's what we like to see! We look forward to hosting you again soon for another fantastic experience. Have an amazing day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaushikdiku wrote a review Jun 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates201 contributions167 helpful votes
Nice and clean hotel, reception is on 9th floor and location of the hotel is very close to main attractions. Check-in: Very smooth and comfortable Room: Spacious and clean with a large bathroom Wifi- Good and strong connectivity Location: Next to Chicago theatre and a few blocks away from River/trump tower or Bean and fountain on another side. Recommended: Yes very much if within the budget. Special thanks: They kept our baggage for a couple of hours "Free of Cost" after checking out.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paradise56653666087, General Manager at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Thanks for the excellent review, Kaushikdiku! We're delighted your time at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop-Theatre District was so outstanding as providing our guests with an excellent experience is very important to us. It's fantastic you appreciated our central location and comfortable accommodations, as well as our amenities. That's what we like to see! We look forward to hosting you again soon for another fantastic experience. Have an amazing day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cody wrote a review Jun 2022
Ottawa, Canada2 contributions2 helpful votes
Was visiting my girlfriend and decided to stay here for 6 days of my stay. It was very clean, the room was very unique and spacious. The ceiling was very tall which gave a very large feel to the room. The bathroom was massive and came with a really nice smart mirror that had bluetooth and other capabilities. The rooms here also come with a nice Keurig and 3 flavours of coffee to choose from. The only things I would say were a downside (not even), we’re the windows, the bathroom door, room service, and front desk staff. For the windows, they are large, but smaller than they appear to be. It has a very large gap of nothingness separating the window into two rectangles instead of one big one, which looks and feels a little funny. The bathroom door is a sliding door, with (and without) a lock… The lock is on the door and is a hook, but there is no hole in the wall to hook the door. In other words, the lock is useless. It’s good if you’re staying by yourself, but a little worrisome if you’re staying with more than one person. As far as room service goes, you have to order room service 24h in advance if you want them to come to your room. The front desk worker was annoying to deal with since he was whispering the whole time during check in while there was also blasting loud music playing in the background (but this is an individual problem, not a hotel problem). Aside from those very small negatives, this is a really good hotel! There are better out there in my opinion like the EMC2 or the Talbot hotel, but if I couldn’t get one of those, I think I would go with this one again :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t come at a busy time of the year… Prices double and even triple just over any small event...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paradise56653666087, General Manager at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Thanks for the review! We are glad you had a great experience with us! We are disappointed to see some of your concerns, and we will let our team know about them. We always work very hard to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. We look forward to hosting you again for an even better experience. Thanks again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnonVirginia wrote a review May 2022
Virginia91 contributions28 helpful votes
Our girls’ theatre weekend stay at the Cambria was great! I had reserved two rooms, one for one night, and one for two nights. Julie at the front desk was VERY helpful and understanding when I showed up first, and didn’t even know the last name of the folks in the other room, as they were a friend of my adult daughter and her mom. Julie arranged to hold my bag until they arrived, and then got us into their room well before normal check-in time, so we could ditch the luggage and find some lunch. Julie came through again with a recommendation to Petterinos, which was less than a block away and very good. This hotel is all about location, being in the same building as the Nederlander Theatre, so we had to walk only about 30 feet from door to door for our first evening’s show. The Sunday matinee show we attended was a couple of blocks away at the CIBC theatre. Off-site parking was just around the corner, but worked well, and at $38 was about the going rate (nowhere near the $70+/night the Marriott had quoted). The rooms were nice, and clean. We did have to ask for extra towels, as they didn’t have enough for a 2-night stay (no housekeeping), but a quick stop at the front desk fixed that. We loved the game room, and killed some time before our matinee show playing cards there. The purpose of this review is mostly to brag on Julie, who was one of the nicest front-desk staff I’ve ever run across. The Choice Hotels website only lets you review if they invite you, and I did not receive an invitation.), so I'm writing it here. Yes, it was almost $200/night with taxes, but it was in a great location in downtown Chicago, where that price isn’t uncommon. When one factors in the price of parking, the rate is much better than similar hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor, which was fine.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paradise56653666087, General Manager at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Responded 9 May 2022
Thank you for the great review! We're happy you had a pleasant experience with us! It's lovely you enjoyed our location, clean rooms, and interacting with our team so much. That's what we like to see! However, we regret that our accommodations and services didn't meet your expectations. We endeavor to offer a top-notch experience for our guests so we'll be sure to discuss your concerns moving forward. We look forward to hosting you again soon for an even better experience!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TheExperienceX wrote a review May 2022
Gainesville, Georgia195 contributions55 helpful votes
Wanted to experience the theater district of Chicago, IL. So I decided to stay at the Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District and give it a try. The property is a historic building that appears to have been renovated and the hotel had a chic style with a flare of Chicago. Also I decided to stay here because they had a bar/lounge and 24 hour fitness center. During my check in with the front desk staff, which was a great experience. I found out the bar/lounge was closed on Monday’s. At a hotel on a Monday where the rate was over $200 a night , I was really surprised. So I went to a nearby restaurant that the front desk referred me to that had good food for dinner. I enjoyed my stay but I will have to give you 3 stars out of 5 which is average. This was due to having no hair dryer in the room and also my alarm clock didn’t work meanwhile it was covered in a white crusty material. And last but not least the lounge/bar being closed on a Monday in downtown Chicago that charges over $200 a night. I would recommend this hotel because great staff, clean accommodations and very chic Chicago style decor. Bit just beware that the bar/lounge is closed on Monday’s.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paradise56653666087, General Manager at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Responded 6 May 2022
We're happy you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our wonderful staff and overall ambiance exceeded your expectations. However, we're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. We regret that our amenities and bar hours didn't meet your expectations. We'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We look forward to hosting you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele W wrote a review Apr 2022
Streatley on Thames, United Kingdom57 contributions10 helpful votes
Location is wonderful... right beside the Nederlander Theater and walking distance to many attractions like Millenium Park and Art Institute! The Teatro ZinZanni production is IN the Cambria. It's a short 2 block walk to the CIBC theater. The Washington Metro station is 1/2 a block away... easy trip to the airport on the Blue Line. Rooms are nicely upgraded with a spacious bathroom. Beautiful mural of a map of Chicago on the wall above the bed and lots of other "theatre art" in the room. Due to short staffing, room was not made up daily.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Zgainer, General Manager at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Thanks for the wonderful review! It's fantastic you had such a lovely experience at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop-Theatre District. We're thrilled you enjoyed our prime location and proximity to so many of the city's best attractions. We're looking forward to sharing another amazing experience with you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shaul Yaakov M wrote a review Apr 2022
Bergenfield, New Jersey10 contributions15 helpful votes
Rooms and bathrooms are nice. Location is excellent. Unfortunately - the service isn't great. It was not disclosed at check in that there wasn't daily housekeeping. I got a text from the hotel asking if I needed anything cleaned. I asked them to service the room and they said they can't do it same day (then why the text)? I had to ask multiple times at points for towels to come. Also, even on the 2nd slday when housekeeping did come, they didn't refill the body wash, so I had to ask again for that too. Also, common areas weren't kept so clean. Overall, if they improved their service, it's 5 stars, but unfortunately, they aren't there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Zgainer, General Manager at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Responded 14 Apr 2022
We appreciate the feedback. We're disappointed your time with us was less than ideal. We care deeply about the satisfaction of our guests so we regret that our services and amenities didn't meet your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback. We'll be sure to address your concerns with our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$140 - US$298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Downtown / The Loop / Theater District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
199
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Which popular attractions are close to Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District?
Nearby attractions include Hamilton (0.4 km), Chicago River (0.4 km), and Drunk Shakespeare (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cherry Circle Room, Tortoise Supper Club, and The Dearborn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Cambria Hotel Chicago Loop - Theatre District?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Garfield Park Conservatory (7.3 km), The Rookery Building (0.7 km), and Macy's on State Street (0.1 km).