We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (224)
Pool & Beach (62)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lake sibaya”(32 reviews)
“local community”(20 reviews)
“ocean experience”(19 reviews)
AMENITIES
Public Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
256
52
17
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
256
52
17
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake sibayalocal communityocean experienceremote locationsea viewindian oceanour honeymoonscuba divingforest walkexcellent foodsouth africaturtle watchingnearby lakelocal staffcultural tourpiece of paradiserock pools
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

We had a lovely time in a very beautiful place. The food, service and accommodation where all of a high standard and the activities in particular the scuba diving and whale sightings where amazing. Thanks for a lovely stay enjoyed by the entire familyMore

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank svenkoenig
Response from IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Thonga Beach LodgeResponded 3 days ago

Dear svenkoenig, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your stay with us at Thonga Beach Lodge. We are delighted that you and your family so enjoyed your time there. The Scuba and whale sightings are truly amazing at this...More

Property's Favourite Review
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We stayed five nights at Thonga, arranged through Native Escapes who did our personalised trip to Kwa-Zulu Natal. We had a dream stay here; no, the weather was not perfect every day; no, the wi-fi isn't like the fibre-to-the-premises service I have at home. (Frankly,...More

1  Thank LHRA
Response from IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Thonga Beach LodgeResponded 26 February 2018

Dear LHRA, Firstly our apologies for not responding sooner to a lovely and comprehensive review on your stay with us at Thonga Beach Lodge. I am still trying to work out how it slipped past! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

The staff were always around but not in your face. You are totally dsiconnected from the world unless you really need the wifi to settle your nerves! Most relaxing break I have ever enjoyed, food was outstanding and the guides were excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank boothnicholas
Response from IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Thonga Beach LodgeResponded 5 days ago

Dear boothnicholas, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on your stay with us at Thonga Beach Lodge. We are delighted that you had enjoyed such a wonderfully relaxing time. Kind Regards Yolande Hay-Buchanan for Isibindi Africa Lodges

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our 2nd visit to this resort and which hopefully will not be our last. The location is amazing with miles of pristine beach in both directions. The food, (especially the dinners) was exceptional with every effort made by the chef Carl and his staff to...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MandyF940
Response from IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Thonga Beach LodgeResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear MandyF940, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at Thonga Beach Lodge. We are delighted that once again you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday with us. We absolutely love to welcome back return guests. Your...More

Reviewed 29 May 2018

Thank you for making our stay a wonderful experience, food was amazing with interesting dishes every night, together with peaceful and beautiful rooms. Thank you to the absolutely friendly staff who were always willing to assist especially to Michael and Layla who made our stay...More

Thank rgdf2015
Response from IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Thonga Beach LodgeResponded 30 May 2018

Dear rgdf2015, Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review on your stay with us at Thonga Beach Lodge. We are delighted that you had such a great experience and will certainly pass your compliments on to the staff. We look...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Pool
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Price range
US$480 - US$748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$480 - US$748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (224)
Pool & Beach (62)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (13)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marsden85
7 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from IsibindiAfrica | Property representative |
Hello please could you contact our Reservations Manager Kerin Bohr on+28 (0)35 474 1473 - unfortunately Trip Advisor prevents us from giving out email addresses on this forum. Kind regards Penny Rice Sales & Marketing... More
0
Votes
Smitha S
25 November 2016|
Answer
Response from DWilson1205 | Property representative |
you can call +27 35 474 1473. I cannot put the email address on this forum but you can get it off the Isibindi website.
1
Vote
Timeoutnow
15 February 2016|
Answer
Response from DWilson1205 | Property representative |
What is mentioned in your email should give you a good indication of what to bring. Don't forget sunscreen, a scarf or warm coat for the transfer as it is in a open vehicle.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Room 8 if you have kids or room 5. Wonderful views with private plunge pool."
Read review
"Room 4 was lovely and secluded. If you don't secure a room with an ocean view, you have a private beach..."
Read review
"I would suggest a sea view room if available. if not then a forest room is still excellent."
Read review
"Ocean view room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing