We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
135 Forrest Hills Rd, Dahlonega, GA 30533-3664
E-mail hotel
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (257)
Room & Suite (104)
Videos (4)

About

#4 of 9 hotels in Dahlonega
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Visit our 140 acre resort featuring on site dining, outdoor pool, horseback riding, massage spa and more. Choose from romantic hot tub cabins, 2 bedroom family cabins, hotel rooms or group lodging. FREE WIFI, HBO & Showtime, and parking throughout. Located between Dahlonega and Amicalola Falls.
Read more
Room & Suite (104)104
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Hiking
Horseback riding
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Canoeing offsite
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
24-hour check-in
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
VIP room facilities
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
543Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 286
  • 124
  • 41
  • 49
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
TheGardeningGoddess wrote a review 6 Apr
7 contributions5 helpful votes
If you are looking for a quiet escape from your busy life, this place is it. It is not new or fancy but it is clean and peaceful. The simplicity of this place is what makes it nice. We were in the Bear Den and never heard a single soul the two days we were there. The towels were fluffy, the bed comfortable, the shower clean - what more do you want. The only negatives were the expense of the restaurant and the horseback ride. The food at the lovely restaurant was delicious but it was crazy expensive much like a gourmet restaurant in Atlanta. The horseback ride was the most disappointing part of our trip. It is the reason we chose this place but in fairness to Forrest Hills, I don't think they own Forrest Hills Corral. All in all, nice place FANTASTIC for a church retreat or business retreat.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Kraft-DeBlois, Owner at Forrest Hills Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! You are correct in that we do not own or manage the corral but sorry to hear things did not go well. They are typically very good but perhaps got overwhelmed during such a busy spring break. We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
landruu wrote a review Jul 2020
Tampa, Florida68 contributions19 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We were very concerned about travel with the virus getting worse in Florida and Georgia. But, after calling Forrest Hills, they assured me they were taking it very seriously. So, having been before and enjoying the facilities, we decided to go again. We had another wonderful 4 days there. The breakfast buffet was no longer serve yourself, but servers with masks and gloves serving the guests. Housekeeping did not come to room after the initial check in, but anything you needed was provided. The resort looked great, pool was open, flowers everywhere. Again, this place gives great value for a multiple day stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We like the lodges, but they do have dog-friendly cabins and upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
agarden10 wrote a review 2 Apr
Tierra Verde, Florida1 contribution
I hate the leave negative feedback, but I booked this resort based on the reviews and my husband and we did not enjoy our time there so I felt it was important to share our experience. If you are looking for a cabin in the woods (no views), with old bedding, uncomfortable furniture and zero housekeeping (due to COVID concerns on behalf of the staff) then this is your place. Don't get me wrong, some people may truly enjoy and that's great! The staff was not friendly, the kitchen staff had no idea what they were doing, there are no taxis, ubers, lyfts..etc. in the area so if you want to go downtown, wine tasting, etc. you need to hire a driver. These roads are curvy, no lighting at night....dangerous. Upon arrival we started to make our bed but found two large black hairs in it. Called down to front desk and asked if we could just have an extra set of sheets. We were told to come down to the office and get them ourselves.....first issue. On the second day we found what could only be described as "crud" in the hot tub. We pulled the peices out but were really grossed out so we called the front desk to ask if they would come take a look/sanitize it for us. They acted extremely put out and weren't sure if they could "legally" enter the cabin due to COVID. We assured them we felt safe and wanted to be able to use the hot tub as it was the only redeeming part of this resort. We were away for the day but we were told this issue was resolved and the tub did look clean. We did not re-enter, however......felt icky. On the last day of our stay we woke to terrible weather. Without a hot tub, without a place to eat lunch on the resort (just open on weekends) we felt at a loss. We ended up leaving that morning, losing a lot of money and feeling dissapointed with our choice of accomodations. That said, a lot of people on here seemed really happy and that's awesome. Bottom line, if you like nice (4-5 star accomodations) this is not your place. We did stay in two other GA hotels on our way to and from Forrest Hills and received excellent housekeeping service so I'm not sure if the COVID policy only applied to this resort but I am assuming so. Again, you are in the woods, there is dirt, horse poop, mud, etc. The floors of your cabin, your shower, your bed even will get dirty and housekeeping is a necessity in my opinion. I would not reccomend this to a friend nor would I return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Michele Kraft-DeBlois, Owner at Forrest Hills Resort
Responded 1 week ago
I am so sorry you were disappointed in any way. We normally hear that we have the friendliest staff around! Please contact me by phone or email at the resort as I would like to find out more information so I can look further into your situation. I am glad to hear they did reclean the hot tub as you requested.
Read more
proftype wrote a review Dec 2020
Atlanta, Georgia22 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This review is based not only on my having been a guest, but also on the fact that I am a college level instructor of management and customer service for over 30 years. The word resort can create any number of images to any given market. Often the image is not as realistic as it should be. Forest Hills is a friendly, well maintained, country-side escape. Some have described it as a place to relax and unwind. These words are indeed exactly accurate. Also, to be fair, as it is in the country you should be sure to have good boots (hiking boots) or sturdy sneakers. There will also be critters about, large, and small. Yes, this includes creepy little critters. Come on get real, okay? This place is in the forest! What are you expecting Disney World? My wife and I stayed in a cabin and we found it to be reasonably clean (a few cobwebs under bed and a backed-up bathroom sink), and in general our cabin was both cozy and pleasant. My wife is a VERY fussy sleeper, and her assessment was that the bed was particularly good, the sheets and pillows were soft. It afforded her good night’s rest. I was pleased with the look and feel of the bathroom and shower. The staff was outgoing, willing to answer questions and to assist in any way. When I asked for suggestions or recommendations, I was given good advice. Do take advantage of the activities that are offered by the resort. In addition, try to drive around the area as there are a lot of locations worth your time. Our cabin had a wood burning fireplace. The resort offers any number of other accommodations without wood burners that will suit you. My suggestion is that you talk with the representative when you call and tell them what you are looking for. I feel confident they will try to match your interests with their various accommodation styles. I made it a point to make several visits to the office or engage staff in conversations. This was on purpose to gauge their degree of customer centeredness. While I was rather chatty at times, I never felt I was being rushed away, even when other customers came in or a phone rang. Everyone was able to balance the business of the day with letting the customer know they were appreciated. It was noted that staff appeared to take a professional and caring approach to all animals on their property. The only downside we found was that GPS can be spotty at times. Please be wise and have written directions (or map) for times you venture off site so you can always have a back-up plan to get you to your destination and back on site. Main office was of help to us and I am sure they will be very helpful to you. One important thing to ask of you – please drive slowly around the property!! There are young human critters running about (of course), there are cats around and a small group of free-range chickens, not to mention the usual woodland creatures one could expect in summer, spring, or autumn. Remember the forest is where they live day in and day out – you are just visiting their back yard! Overall, high marks to the owners and staff of Forrest Hills. We plan to come back in the spring.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Marcellatoby wrote a review Dec 2020
Morristown, Tennessee7 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed in a outdated room.The beds were so clean and so comfy that I never noticed the rest.The grounds were fab.The dining was so nasty.The ok was nasty.The coffee cup looked like they had not been washed and it turned my stomach.we left without eating.The windows were filthy and needed the finger prints wiped off.We Will not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a cabin do not stat in tree top lodge..
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$116 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
forrest hills mountain hotel dahlonega, forrest hills mountain dahlonega
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaDahlonega
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Forrest Hills Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Forrest Hills Resort?
Nearby attractions include Amicalola fall (6.5 km), Amicalola Falls State Park (6.5 km), and Burt's Farm (5.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Forrest Hills Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Forrest Hills Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Forrest Hills Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Forrest Hills Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Forrest Hills Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Maple Restaurant at Amicalola Falls State Park, Forrest Hills Mountain Resort & Conference Center Restaurant, and Waters Mill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Forrest Hills Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Forrest Hills Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Forrest Hills Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Forrest Hills Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.