We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!10% off room rate
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
Snaptravel
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (776)
Room & Suite (400)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 07/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Monterey Bay Inn
Updated 07/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 58 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Beach
Business Centre with Internet Access
Massage
Newspaper
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate
1832Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,129
  • 490
  • 131
  • 49
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Allison M wrote a review May 2021
Los Angeles, California50 contributions30 helpful votes
This hotel has a wonderful location right next to San Carlos Beach, near cannery row. While the hotel is a little dated, the rooms are well appointed, the bathrooms are more modern with separate wc and dual vanity. The bed was very comfortable. Check in and check out was easy. The on site hotel parking was plentiful and safe for $24. The balcony view of the bay is wonderful. The sea lions barking on the nearby pier is a lovely novelty. Unfortunately the hot tubs were closed due to Covid, but they have great locations on the 2nd and 4th floors. Breakfast was included and delivered to my room each morning. Would definitely return to this hotel for the comfort, friendliness of staff, and location.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn
Responded 1 Jun 2021
Hi Allison, Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We're so glad to hear our staff was very helpful and that you had a comfortable time staying with us, as well as enjoyed our location, balcony views, beach atmosphere and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
Read more
Leslie S wrote a review Mar 2020
Murfreesboro, Tennessee16 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
My husband and I stayed one night at the Monterey Bay Inn as part of our 2 week trip. Our room was clean and comfortable. Loved the balcony looking out over the bay. We heard sea lions barking, which we thought was wonderful. The next morning, we were allowed to leave our car in the parking garage of the hotel after check out. This was so helpful, as it allowed us to spend the morning exploring Cannery Row and the aquarium. Lots of places within walking distance. We enjoyed walking out on the pier, which is very close to the hotel. Saw lots of seals, sea lions and otters. The landscaping and park close to the hotel are beautiful. We hope to return for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Valerie Dominguez, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn
Responded 6 Apr 2020
Hi Leslie, Thank you for the feedback. We’re glad you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to you staying with us again. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
Read more
SpiceIsland V wrote a review May 2021
9 contributions
I booked a harbor/partial ocean view room months ago for our 32nd wedding anniversary. When checking in at 4 pm I was told that the harbor view room that was left had a big side wall on the left covering the ocean so we won’t be able to see the ocean, just the harbor. I was asked by front desk if I wanted an upgrade for $60 per night for an ocean front view. Well what can we do? It was for a special occasion so I accepted. When we got to our ocean front room I found out there is an ugly wall on the left where all the cormorant birds are currently nesting. The smell is pretty nasty to be sitting on the balcony ocean front or not. So we may not be sitting in our balcony after all. We were kind of tired to ask for a better room after hours of driving. It is our bad luck I guess. We were told hotel is packed. I am disappointed for this kind of experience celebrating our anniversary that was planned months ago. I don’t know what we should have done to get a nice room. Should we come earlier? But it says checking in at 4 pm. I had thought that room assignment was assigned at the time of reservation. But maybe I am wrong. On top of spending $180 extra(we are staying 3 nights), we got a smelly room. If it was not our anniversary trip that I planned months ago I would not have been this disappointed. I am not going back to this hotel knowing the difficulty to find a good room for a celebration despite of making reservations months ago.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn
Responded 28 May 2021
Hello, Thank you for the review and comments, we have share this feedback with our team. We apologize the room was not what you had expected. Reservations are made to book a certain room type, however room assignments are not completed until the guest arrives. On the day of arrival we assign the guest to the room type that was booked and we make every attempt to grant any special room requests, however those requests are not guaranteed. Our staff does their best to assist in situations such as this, by offering room upgrades. We strive to provide each guest with an comfortable and enjoyable experience and regret that was not your case. We truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with a more positive experience. Sincerely, Management of the inns of Monterey
Read more
Travel Guy wrote a review May 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia84 contributions104 helpful votes
Very convenient hotel for exploring Monterey. Strict 4pm check in no matter what. Room was a nice size with king bed & small balcony. Our room was on the 2nd floor & there must have been a herd of elephants in the room above us, honestly do people have to stomp around in their rooms ?...so hint is to ask for a room on the 3rd floor. I know this is a tourist town but to charge $24.00 for parking is a bit much. Due to covid the hot tubs were closed & breakfast was a grab & go bag. Hotel is perfect for walking around the town.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: book a room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn
Responded 4 May 2021
Hi Raymond, Thank you for review and comments, we will share this feedback with our team. We apologize for the issues you experienced with the noise level of surrounding neighbors. Normal check-in time is 4:00pm, however a guest may check in earlier if rooms are ready and available, but it is not always guaranteed. In regard to the parking fee, this goes directly towards our efforts to create a secure environment for our guests; this includes a night security guard, security cameras, and other features that help to keep the parking lot safe and exclusive to our guests. We are glad to hear you had an overall great time staying with us and enjoyed our location. We truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
Read more
Susan L wrote a review Apr 2021
Seattle, Washington62 contributions16 helpful votes
This is a nice inn in a good location. It is about a 15 minute walk from Fisherman’s Warf so it is separated from the noisy busy area. The rooms are fine; it seems like an older building that has had cosmetic updates. The only problem with it is lack of noise insulation. We had very “busy” upstairs neighbors that kept us awake most of the night. We called the front desk and they said they would send security but nothing changed. The next day we asked to switch rooms but there were none available. The front desk was very sympathetic and took the issue seriously. He spoke to them and we were able to sleep the second night. The staff are the best thing about this hotel. The ocean view was wonderful and they are currently delivering breakfast to the rooms each morning.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn
Responded 27 Apr 2021
Hi Susan, Thank you for the review and comments, we will share this feedback with our team. We apologize for the issues you experienced with noisy neighbors, however we are happy to hear our Front Desk staff was very helpful in resolving the problem and you were able to get a good nights rest the second night. We are also happy to know you enjoyed the ocean views and breakfast. We truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$164 - US$437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
monterey bay hotel monterey
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Monterey Bay Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Monterey Bay Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Cannery Row Monument (0.4 km), Cannery Row Antique Mall (0.3 km), and California Sea Otter Game Refuge (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Monterey Bay Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Monterey Bay Inn?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Monterey Bay Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Monterey Bay Inn?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Monterey Bay Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wave Street Cafe, Crystal Fish, and Schooners Monterey.
Are there any historical sites close to Monterey Bay Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (7.8 km), Cannery Row (0.6 km), and Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (0.8 km).
Does Monterey Bay Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Monterey Bay Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.