We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn at 1252 Monterey

1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (248)
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (204)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Inn at 1252 Monterey
Updated 06/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#34 of 58 hotels in Monterey
Nestled along the breathtaking Central California coast is The Inn at 1252 Monterey. Since the 1960’s, our family business has welcomed locals and visitors alike to a perfect home away from home. Intimate, warm, friendly -- and that’s just when you enter our lobby. Whether you’re here for business or pleasure, sit back and relax in one of our clean and modernly furnished rooms. Complete with amenities like a fitness room and a year-round heated pool, our intimate hotel also offers free WIFI internet, and parking. Plus, our prime location is surrounded by the city’s hottest venues, attractions, and events, so after you enjoy a night on the town, get a full night’s sleep, then bask in the most of your well-deserved getaway. For quintessential coastal charm, book your stay today. We look forward to making your visit one to remember.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Aerobics offsite
Bowling offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Raquetball offsite
Tennis court offsite
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1056Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 315
  • 406
  • 215
  • 71
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rebecca C wrote a review 27 Sep
San Diego, California7 contributions
My daughter and I stayed one night as we drove down the beautiful coast. The inn was perfect! Clean, comfortable, and convenient. We recommend the inn to anyone staying in Monterey or just passing through.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Emily H wrote a review 16 Sep
South Lake Tahoe, California1 contribution
My town was evacuated due to the caldor fire coming in to South Lake Tahoe. Decided I might as well get some fresh air. This cute little place was a dream for me. I felt it was very clean. The employees were all very kind and accommodating. And had plenty of storage areas for the belongings I chose to bring with me. I was able to sort and organize what I chose to bring. Location was very convenient. Have nothing bad to say.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Response from Management SSO, Other at The Inn at 1252 Monterey
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind compliments and feedback Emily! We are so happy you decided to come get some fresh air in lovely Monterey. We are so sorry you were evacuated and we hope all is well for you at home. We hope you next visit to Monterey will be under less stressful circumstances! Thank you for being our guest.
Read more
Wendy wrote a review 14 Sep
Merced, California26 contributions
It was spacious, easy to find, close to the important stuff like shops, the Wharf, Cannery Row, etc. Reasonable price as well. Second floor and corner room is best . I saw other reviews about this and realized that it’s true. I did not hear any noise.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Look out for raccoons, the fridge froze my wine cans, and the AC turns on/off on its own but...
See more room tips
Response from Management SSO, Other at The Inn at 1252 Monterey
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as our guest Wlomeli. We are thrilled you had a great stay and found our second floor corner room nice and quiet. We know you have many options when visiting Monterey and we are so happy you were our guest. Please come again!
Read more
FREQUENT TRAVELER wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We booked a stay for two nights in a Family room at this property, checking in on Friday, August 20, 2021 and checking out on Sunday, August 22. 2021. According to the details we booked, features should have included: "Non-smoking•Hairdryer•Iron/Ironing board•Wireless Internet•Fridge•Air conditioned•Shower over bath•Clock Radio•Cable/Satellite TV•Alarm Clock•Television•Tea/Coffee Maker•Room Safe•Microwave Our Double Queen Bed and Single Double room is an ideal room type for those traveling as a large group or family. This room has plenty of space for everyone and can accommodate 6 guests. The Inn at 1252 Monterrey guest rooms all feature a 37” HDTV, work desk with lamp, luxury linens, black-out drapes/curtains, iron and ironing board, and a private bathroom. Guests can enjoy a private bathroom that is equipped with a full bath, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer, plush towels, and a vanity. To ensure that guests can fully enjoy Monterey, this Double Queen Bed and Single Double room includes a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee/tea maker." We checked in late, at around 7:00pm on Friday evening. Upon arrival, and entering our room, we noticed that there were candy wrappers that had not been discarded from the prior guests, and that the room had not been stocked with toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc.). It was late and we were getting ready to leave for dinner, so we tried to call the front desk, and noticed that the phone cord on the handset would not connect properly. We had to physically hold it in place in order to be able to listen to the person on the other end. We managed to hold it in place long enough to request that some toiletries be brought to the room, which your front desk employee sent to us pretty quickly. We left for dinner and returned around 9:45pm, and loaded in our belongings into the room. At this time, we noticed that the TV and the lamp in the second single queen room were not working. We again tried to call the front desk, but again, the phone cord was not working. By now it was around 10:33pm and we ended up phoning the desk from our personal cell phone to place the complaint. They told us they would not be able to address the issue that day but could send someone the following day to address the problem. We agreed to allow this and went to bed. Then on Saturday morning, we went to the front desk to express our disappointment in the room and request that we would like a discount for our troubles and would like like the issues addressed, and the front desk agreed to send someone to repair the issues. We returned to our room and as we were preparing to leave tor our activities for the day, we noted that the safe in the room was also not working. Since at this point we would not be able to safely secure our valuables, and since there were so many issues to address in the room and we were unsure of how many people would be entering our room, we did not feel safe having the issues addressed. We called the front desk again, and told them that rather than get the issues repaired, we would prefer to get a significant discount on our stay. When we checked out on Sunday morning, we related all of the problems during our stay to the front desk person and expressed to them that due to all of the issues we had experienced we thought that a fair compensation for our troubles would be to discount the stay 50% or comp one of the nights. We were told that the person at the front desk did not have the authority to make this decision and that they would relay the information to their supervisor. We immediately asked for the supervisor and were told that they were "making the rounds around the property and were not immediately available"`. They assured us that the manager would call us back before 1pm. I asked that no charges be posted to my account prior to me being able to speak to the manager, and they agreed that no charges would be posted. We phoned back several times over several days requesting to speak to a manager, and sent several emails, and still have not been contacted by one. Stay clear of this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Response from Management SSO, Other at The Inn at 1252 Monterey
Responded 24 Aug 2021
We are sorry to hear of your experience as our guest. We were happy and ready to repair any and all maintenance issues you reported, however you requested they be completed after your checked out. We honored that request and waited for your departure. In regards to compensation you did receive a discount on your stay. Please let us know if you have any questions in regards to this. We want every guest to enjoy every moment of their stay and I am sorry we failed with your visit. We wish you the best and hope your future travels are much better. Thank you for being our guest.
Read more
Lisa L wrote a review Aug 2021
Haverhill, Massachusetts5 contributions11 helpful votes
Pictures posted are not accurate. Room was dirty. Supposed to have 2 queen beds - got 2 double beds & they insisted they were queens - they were not. So bad that we left & they had our credit card info & still charged us for 2 nights. They claim to be part of Comfort Inn - they are not. The door to our room was wide open to the outside when we got there - who knows what could have gotten in there. There was mold in the bathroom. The good reviews you see on line are not accurate. The pictures you see on line are old. The hotel needs a complete renovation. The pool was half way filled and green with algae. We were supposed to get breakfast - but were told upon check in that there was no breakfast. I called the week before to make sure everything was fine - told pool was open & breakfast would be served. LIES. Couldn't go into the lobby - had to check in through a window to the outside. Said they were following covid guidelines, yet during our 12 day trip down the PC HWY - not one other hotel had these issues. Pools were open & breakfast was served at every other hotel we stayed at. Do not book here. The owner apologized to me when I posted another bad review - even apologized about the charge - yet they would not refund our money for not staying at their hotel. Then lied to the credit card when we disputed it. Said we stayed - we did not. I have proof of the other hotel we stayed at. They STOLE $344 of our money. Don't let them steal yours! Run Away FAST!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
1 Helpful vote
Response from Management SSO, Other at The Inn at 1252 Monterey
Responded 24 Aug 2021
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We were a Comfort Inn two years ago, but have since changed to The Inn at 1252 Monterey. Please accept our apologies if there was any confusion on this. We do have two pools, the smaller of which is currently closed. However, our larger pool is open and ready for use. In regards to breakfast, we do offer a grab and go breakfast every day in our lobby from 7am-10am every day. I hope the rest of your visit down PCH was a great experience full of wonderful memories. Thank you for allowing us the pleasure of being a part of your travels.
Read more
US$80 - US$271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
comfort inn monterey by the sea hotel monterey, monterey comfort inn
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Inn at 1252 Monterey
Which popular attractions are close to The Inn at 1252 Monterey?
Nearby attractions include Colton Hall Museum (0.7 km), Del Monte Shopping Center (0.4 km), and Monterey Museum of Art (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inn at 1252 Monterey?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Inn at 1252 Monterey?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Inn at 1252 Monterey?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Inn at 1252 Monterey?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inn at 1252 Monterey?
Conveniently located restaurants include Estéban Restaurant, Lalla Grill, and Pizza My Heart.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Inn at 1252 Monterey?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Inn at 1252 Monterey?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Inn at 1252 Monterey?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (5.8 km), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (5.2 km), and Cannery Row (3.1 km).
Is The Inn at 1252 Monterey accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.