We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Plaza de Ramon Pelayo 11, 39330, Santillana del Mar Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
US$93
View deal
Booking.com
eDreams
Vio.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (251)
Dining (24)
Room & Suite (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#7 of 29 hotels in Santillana del Mar
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Finding an ideal charming hotel in Santillana del Mar does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, a nice option for travellers like you.

Close to some of Santillana del Mar's most popular landmarks, such as Torre del Merino (0.0 mi) and Torre de Don Borja (0.0 mi), Parador De Santillana Gil Blas Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

Parador De Santillana Gil Blas Hotel offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available.

The hotel offers 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features an on-site restaurant. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to paid private parking available on-site.

Santillana del Mar has plenty of Mediterranean restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like El Bisonte Rojo, EL Pasaje de Los Nobles, and Restaurante Gran Duque, which are serving up some great dishes.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Plaza Mayor de Ramon y Pelayo (0.0 mi), Calle de Juan Infante (0.0 mi), and Collegiate Church of Santillana del Mar (0.1 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel.

Parador de Santillana Gil Blas looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Santillana del Mar.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
769Reviews4Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 390
  • 255
  • 86
  • 27
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ruthhuston wrote a review Oct 2022
Huddersfield, United Kingdom77 contributions69 helpful votes
Finding the paradore was a bit of a challenge but it was an amazing place. It was like staying in a real slice of history in a medieval village. Decor, rooms, bathrooms were fabulous. Great courtyard, good choice of beer and bar meals. Breakfast was outstanding. Loved this paradore and want to return?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Carlos Campos, Otros at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Responded 29 Oct 2022
Dear ruthhusto We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We have take note of your two minor points, above all tea or coffee facilities in room We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DavidSB wrote a review Sep 2022
Heathfield, United Kingdom427 contributions204 helpful votes
Set in the heart of the magnificent medieval village of Santillana del Mar, this luxurious & atmospheric hotel captures the grandeur of the 15th century building. The staff are friendly & welcoming, and the well appointed rooms, superb restaurant & general facilities are thoroughly modern, while losing none of the charm & character. The menu is varied, generous & delicious. Although set in the mainly pedestrianised village, parking is available 100m across the main square at €8 per night. Two minor points; no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, and noisy local deliveries to the surrounding shops & restaurants start at 7am.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Carlos Campos, Otros at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Responded 24 Sep 2022
Dear DavidSB We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We have take note of your two minor points, above all tea or coffee facilities in room We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AgedMan wrote a review Jul 2022
United Kingdom566 contributions247 helpful votes
Our 5th Parador on the road trip. Only booked it because EasyJet delayed our return flights. Glad they did. Lovely hotel, bags of history and charm right on the Plaza Mayor. There is another Parador across the road but it was closed for renovation. Nice room, amazing wood floors and stone walls.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Carlos Campos, Otros at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Responded 8 Jul 2022
AgedMan First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Parador de Santillana Gil Blas. One of the fundamental values of our company is to offer a personalized and quality service to the guest. Receiving positive comments like yours gives us great satisfaction and that is why I am going to pass it on to the entire team. At the same time we are sorry that some dinner dishes were not to your liking. We have taken note of your suggestions. We will be delighted to see you again soon! Yours sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
csiegela2 wrote a review Jun 2022
Ann Arbor, Michigan51 contributions39 helpful votes
We've stayed in at least 10 paradors and this is our least favorite by far. Our room was enormous, but it was also very dark - not just because the room had tiny windows, but also because of the poor lighting. The bed was uncomfortable. There are draperies and tapestries everywhere - which just give the impression of being old and musty. The breakfast was the typical parador menu. We did not eat any other meals there. Staff were very nice and helpful. We were able to park very close by - a huge benefit in this pedestrian-only town. Hope they undertake a renovation soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask if there are any rooms with large windows.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jose Carlos Campos, Otros at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Responded 5 Jun 2022
Dear csegela2. Thank you very much for spending a few minutes of your time to assess your stay. For us, receiving opinions like yours is very important because it helps us improve. We are sorry that you did not like the Parador, taking note of her comments. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happytravellers94 wrote a review May 2022
Poole, United Kingdom676 contributions136 helpful votes
+1
This perfectly preserved medieval village is surrounded by very rural verdant rolling hills. Gil Blas sits right in the very heart of it. As you go up the wide stone staircase to your room there are huge tapestries on the wall. You really feel you are in a luxurious castle! Everything is beautifully furnished and looks pristine, most of all squeaky clean. Our room (26) was so big with lots of arched windows looking out over the square. I loved the fresh smell of professional cleaning products in the room. It’s all taken really good care of. Wi-Fi in the room was super fast. The bed was the most comfortable I’ve ever slept in, including the bolster pillow. Bed linen was superb quality. The bathroom is very large and includes a bidet. Dinner was taken in the elegant restaurant. First we were offered fresh bread and an amuse bouche of some kind of Gazpacho and buttery snack. Starter was duck foie gras with caramelised onion and tiny round toasted bites. My husband had the Avocado and strawberry and pine nut salad, it was enormous. The next two courses were a disappointment. The battered monkfish goujons were so hard and chewy. The Cod felt raw and very chewy, but the pepper sauce was enjoyable. I did not enjoy my dessert called Grandma’s special, it was very ordinary, just custard, meringue, ice cream and wafers.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Seguín Molina, Otros at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear happytravellers94 First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Parador de Santillana Gil Blas. One of the fundamental values of our company is to offer a personalized and quality service to the guest. Receiving positive comments like yours gives us great satisfaction and that is why I am going to pass it on to the entire team. At the same time we are sorry that some dinner dishes were not to your liking. We have taken note of your suggestions. We will be delighted to see you again soon! Yours sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Y298ZZjamesb wrote a review Apr 2022
Benalmadena, Spain5 contributions1 helpful vote
We always enjoy, and look forward to staying in Paradors on our journey back to the UK. Gil Blas is a very special stop. The Parador is, as always, excellent but the village is a wonderful, unique place. Staff were, as usual professional and friendly. .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Seguín Molina, Otros at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Dear Y298ZZjamesb We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarettagordon wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Santillana Gil Blas is a beautiful, historically preserved hotel and it's central location withinin Santillana Del Mar means all attractions, restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance. Our stay was very reasonably priced and we had a very quick check in/check out, with our car conveniently parked close by the hotel. A very relaxing, peaceful visit in gorgeous surroundings
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Seguín Molina, Otros at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Responded 17 Nov 2021
Dear sarettagordon We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ESVincent wrote a review Sep 2021
Hong Kong, China1146 contributions741 helpful votes
This is our sixth visit to this excellent Parador. Set in the lovely village of Santiliana ( do allow some time to wander the streets and really enjoy it) this Parador is set in an Old Mansion. Rooms are excellent, the outside terrace a delight and the food is exceptional. Staff are friendly and welcoming and we had an excellent meal on oiur first evening. Rooms are good with great views and as you would expect the breakfast are a pleasure. There is so much to like about the Parador its why we keep coming back..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Seguín Molina, Otros at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Responded 18 Sep 2021
Dear ESVincent Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas . One of the fundamental values of our company is to offer quality, personalised guest services. Receiving positive feedback such as yours gives us great satisfaction and I kindly ask for your permission to share it with all our team. We will be delighted to see you again soon! Yours sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
christianbliek wrote a review Jul 2021
Valbonne, France1 contribution
the parador is a historical building in the middle of this very nice village the people at the parador were really nice, they helped us with restaurant recommendations etc we had a very nice stay, i would recommend it...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Seguín Molina, Otros at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Responded 29 Jul 2021
Dear christianbliek, We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
441charlottes wrote a review Jun 2021
Vale do Lobo, Portugal349 contributions63 helpful votes
A wonderful location in a perfect setting, good beds, personal and nicely decorated big rooms, good food, beautiful details, safe parking. The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of Santillana del Mar
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Francisco Seguín Molina, Otros at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Responded 15 Jun 2021
441charlottesDear Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas . One of the fundamental values of our company is to offer quality, personalised guest services. Receiving positive feedback such as yours gives us great satisfaction and I kindly ask for your permission to share it with all our team. We will be delighted to see you again soon! Yours sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
parador de santillana gil blas hotel santillana del mar
LOCATION
SpainCantabriaSantillana del Mar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PARADOR DE SANTILLANA GIL BLAS - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Santillana del Mar, Spain)

Frequently Asked Questions about Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Which popular attractions are close to Parador de Santillana Gil Blas?
Nearby attractions include Plaza Mayor de Ramon y Pelayo (0.05 km), Calle de Juan Infante (0.06 km), and Colegiata de Santillana del Mar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Parador de Santillana Gil Blas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bodeguca Los Blasones, Restaurante Gran Duque, and Pizzeria Bitinia.
Is Parador de Santillana Gil Blas located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Santillana del Mar.
Are any cleaning services offered at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Parador de Santillana Gil Blas offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Parador de Santillana Gil Blas?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Casco Histórico De Santillana Del Mar (0.08 km), Casa del Aguila y la Parra (0.05 km), and Antiguo Muelle De Hinojedo (7.4 km).