We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810 Jordan
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (244)
Dining (41)
Room & Suite (3)

About

#4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Under new management (Atef and Jane from Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp), the Rocky Mountain Hotel is an informal and basic family run hotel very close to the town center and offers its guests spectacular views. There is a free shuttle service to the Petra Visitors Centre and free Wi-Fi. Traditional breakfast is included in the price of the room and dinner is available at night on the arabic style rooftop terrace. Snacks are available during the day and lunch boxes need to be ordered the night before.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Rooftop terrace
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
Arabic
515Reviews16Q+A67Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 220
  • 195
  • 64
  • 18
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kate m wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Don't be fooled by the cheap price of this hotel. We got lost on on way back from Petra, and needed to check out an hour and a half later than planned. The hotel insisted on charging us 75% of our original booking on top, citing that they had to downgrade another customer because they didn't have any other mountain view rooms, even though the hotel was completely empty during our stay, and when they showed us the booking form, there was several other rooms available. Disappointed in the poor customer service and how this was handled. Trying to squeeze money out of customers any way they can.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lots of other reasonably priced hotels around here.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jane Sheldon, Owner at Rocky Mountain Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We did charge you for late check out 3 hours and this is not our problem if you get lost in Petra , we have guest who booked Mountain View , and this is my first time I know people can get lost in Petra , Petra have sign in side the site , you should let us know by email or by what’s up Petra site in side have free WI-FI and this is every where hotels policy if you don’t check out on time you get charge Have good day next time you should be honest in conveying informations in trip advisor
Read more
Tourist29388703165 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
excellent welcome. very kind owner. excellent breakfast in a typical environment and with a fantastic view......in short, recommended!.not far from the lower town where you can find restaurants and shops,.........................
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
callumclose wrote a review Apr 2022
13 contributions5 helpful votes
The best views of Wadi/Musa and an amazing sunset from the rooftop terrace and balconies. The rooms are basic but functional, and contained a plug adapter which fits every kind of plug. Hot water is limited to the morning and evening, which is fine as you are out for most of the day. Breakfast is basic but standard for Jordan and coffee/tea is 24/7. The wifi was a bit patchy but the staff service was second to none. The staff went over and above to assist and made me feel extremely comfortable whilst there. An excellent hotel for anyone wishing to visit Petra, with only a 20min walk to the visitor centre and near the downtown restaurants (albeit it’s an up hill walk back after a day of hiking).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Freddie wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Rocky Mountain is beautifully run. Our room had a king size bed (very comfortable) and plenty of warm bedding (it was below freezing during our visit). There is a great communal upstairs area. Walls and floors are carpeted which makes it feel cosy. Excellent value for money and a great place to stay on a low budget while visiting Petra.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Nickyyw wrote a review Oct 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands14 contributions7 helpful votes
We visited Rocky Mountain hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is well priced and the staff is really nice. We really liked the common room were you have a stunning view over wadi musa and can watch the sunset after a long day walk in Petra. The hotel is runned by a family and they are all very kind and helpful. They offer lunch boxes for during the trail in Petra, which are great. Also close to the hotel is a fruit/vegetable store nearby uphill.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Cindy J wrote a review Jun 2021
Jacksonville, United States2 contributions
This hotel is very clean and the staff is second to none. They are very attentive but not too much. The room was extremely clean and the bed was super comfortable. The view from our balcony was outstanding. There are lots of places nearby to eat, experience true Jordanian food and especially the coffee. This hotel exhibits true Jordanian hospitality and I felt right at home. I will definitely be staying here again. I actually chose this hotel to house my wedding party and it was the best decision I made. Thank you for a truly wonderful experience. I cannot wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I had a room with a terrace and a beautiful view of the mountains.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
rayatkinson wrote a review Mar 2020
Stockport, United Kingdom414 contributions105 helpful votes
Stayed one night to visit Petra. The hotel is high above Wadi Musa and does have good views over the town. However it is somewhat run down and basic. The bed was comfortable, breakfast good and staff/owner very helpful. Free shuttle down to the town and Petra visitor centre. Plenty of restaurants a short walk away. Wifi was hit and miss - OK when it worked. All in all this hotel served its purpose, although it was expensive for what it was. But then as a tourist hot spot, all the hotels are very expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ilovestagbeetles wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom3 contributions
Good helpful friendly staff but otherwise very poor. Room very shabby and tired bathroom very cramped and difficult to use. Hot water on a timer so not available all day. Very dim dark damp depressing room that did't want to spend any time in. Initial room that we were shown window wouldnt lock so not secure. Also couldn't take credit card. Based on online reviews had expected much better.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
kaz3108 wrote a review Mar 2020
london33 contributions60 helpful votes
Hotel is on the hill with great views of the mountains. Was nice to sit on balcony and watch the sunset. Room was nice and sosvioys with quirky decor. Roof floor terrace and restaurant were nice. Staff were really helpful and they even cleaned a room quickly so I could check in as I was exhausted. Free shuttle service to and from Petra - not really walkable. Taxi from Petra only 3JD. Restaurants within a 10 minute walk downhill - I chose to get a taxi back up. Supermarket is over the road. Quick WiFi. Only downside was no hot water early mornings which I found odd as all buses out of Petra leave super early and most people get to Petra quite early. There are some quite negative reviews on here which I don't understand. It's not 5 star accommodation, but it's nice and clean with lovely staff and comfortable beds. What more do you need when you've been walking around and exploring Petra all day??
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Pieter M wrote a review Feb 2020
26 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed in the hotel in February. Upon arrival, hot water was not working (it was broken, but fixed the same evening). The next day, the wifi was not working anymore. The room smelled very moist and there was some fungus on the ceiling (otherwise it would be 3 stars) The rest was ok; personnel was friendly, and breakfast was reasonable (nescafe coffee, no fruits, nice labneh and hummus). The hotel should be more clear in stating that warm water is only available in the morning and 17.00 and 22.00 (which is not really nice if you arrive at 16.00 after a long day petra, because getting early at Petra is a must).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$32 - US$37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JordanMa'an GovernoratePetra - Wadi Musa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rocky Mountain Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rocky Mountain Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Town Bazaar (0.3 km), Jordan Tourist Guide - Driver - Fixer (0.5 km), and Temple of the Winged Lions (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rocky Mountain Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Rocky Mountain Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Rocky Mountain Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rocky Mountain Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zawaya Restaurant & Cafe, Reem Beladi Restaurant, and Beit Al-Barakah Restaurant.
Does Rocky Mountain Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Rocky Mountain Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Rocky Mountain Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Rocky Mountain Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Rocky Mountain Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Petra (3.8 km), Al-Khazneh (3.0 km), and The Royal Tombs (3.3 km).
Does Rocky Mountain Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.