Petra Guest House Hotel

Petra Guest House Hotel

You cannot stay closser to Petra than this.
Traveller (1070)
una bella camera in cui tornare!
Room & Suite (270)
Dining (172)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#17 of 74 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The four stars, Petra Guest House Hotel is ideally located at the majestic city of Petra with only few steps away from the entrance. Conclude your journey of exploration and enjoy history and hospitality at the Petra Guest House Hotel. Immerse yourself in Petra's ancient landscape from the moment you arrive at the Four Stars Petra Guest House Hotel. Located right at the visitor's entrance to the Siq with only steps away from the famous archaeological sites. Enjoy the spectacular views of the mountains from our 41 well appointed guestrooms and 31 chalets tucked in stones. All of our welcoming guestrooms have mountain views and all are fully equipped with modern amenities any traveler will need from LCD TVs, safe box, mini-bar, Ironing board, Coffee/Tea Making facilities and much more. The Petra Guest House Hotel offers one lobby lounge, one main dining restaurant and one original Nabatean bar surrounded with a large Piazza.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Horseback riding
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Arabic

Location

Main Tourist Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810 Jordan
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Ovda Airport
65.8 km
See all flights
Ramon International Airport
80.2 km
See all flights
1,668Review19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 737
  • 643
  • 191
  • 56
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mark T wrote a review Oct 2022
Cardiff, United Kingdom182 contributions130 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this hotel for two nights as part of a Titan tour of Jordan. The big benefit of this hotel is its location next to the entrance of Petra which gives great flexibility on how long you can stay in Petra. Check in very efficient, our room was fairly small with two soft but comfortable beds and sufficient storage space. The hotel was fairly small with fairly limited facilities but had a nice indoor and outdoor bar areas including the cave. Breakfast was ok with a reasonable choice of food and the evening buffet was also OK with nice salad. Overall service was friendly but could be a little sparodic, some staff seemed to be inexperienced and were struggling tyo keep on top of things. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the hotel serviced as a good base for exploring Petra.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Dear Mark T Greeting From Petra Guest House Hotel Firstly, it was a great pleasure welcoming you at Petra Guest House Hotel, and we would like to thank you for taking the time advising us of your experience. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your Visit Our Hotel ,we were able to show you our commitment to hospitality. I will gladly share your feedback with my colleagues . It's something our staff takes great pride in. Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Petra Guest House Hotel in the near future. Best Regards Hotel Manager Mohammad Falahat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daydream518068 hanz wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had been recommended to Petra guest house by a friend. We tried to book the night before but could not find a room suitable for our family on the booking websites. We ended up liasing directly with the hotel and found a room available and they were very eager to accommodate us which was great.

Once we arrived the staff made us feel very welcome and ensured that we had a lovely visit. We were taken to our charming triple room, which had its own entrance and our small children enjoyed playing in it! Lovely size and standard of room.

The location of this hotel is perfect and great to just run back here when you have little kids as it's next to the entrance to enter Petra.

All the staff were lovely and my children especially enjoyed interacting with and felt spoilt from when we arrived.

After leaving Petra and arriving back in Amman we had realised that we left our children's coats there, Mohammad from the reservations desk was so kind to arrange a drive at short notice to travel to Amman and drop them to us as we were flying out the next day. All in all the service was exceptional and the staff really are a credit to the hotel. Amazing hotel, amazing location, amazing hospitality and most of all amazing staff, thank you to everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 13 Mar 2022
Dear Daydream Greeting From Petra Guest House Hotel Firstly, it was a great pleasure welcoming you at Petra Guest House Hotel, and we would like to thank you for taking the time advising us of your experience. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your Visit Our Hotel And Stay With Us ,we were able to show you our commitment to hospitality. I will gladly share your feedback with my colleagues . It's something our staff takes great pride in. Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Petra Guest House Hotel in the near future. Best Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julia a wrote a review Aug 2021
Miami, Florida569 contributions107 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Welcome at reception was ok. Room was on the 3rd floor with a beautiful view of the city across the mountain. Very comfortable, offered slippers, toiletries, safe and shower pressure was great.
Great option to stay in this city, you walk out of the hotel and you are at the main entrance of Petra
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Dear juliaa6 Greeting From Petra Guest House Hotel Firstly, it was a great pleasure welcoming you at Petra Guest House Hotel, and we would like to thank you for taking the time advising us of your experience. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your Stay with us and that we were able to show you our commitment to hospitality. Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Petra Guest House Hotel in the near future. Best Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mohammed C wrote a review Sept 2022
Corona, New York47 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very pleasant experience at Petra Guest House. The hotel is right next to the visitor's center/entrance to Petra, which after a long day of walking and hiking is a god send.

All the staff we encountered were super friendly and helpful with any questions or needs you may have. Breakfast buffet was included in our rate, and you get a nice assortment of local and western choices.

We had a regular room with a king bed bed, and it was clean, cozy, and a nice view. The property itself is very nice with a long, nice view of Wadi Musa.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 5 Sept 2022
Dear mohammedc537 Greeting From Petra Guest House Hotel Firstly, it was a great pleasure welcoming you at Petra Guest House Hotel, and we would like to thank you for taking the time advising us of your experience. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your Visit Our Hotel ,we were able to show you our commitment to hospitality. I will gladly share your feedback with my colleagues . It's something our staff takes great pride in. Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Petra Guest House Hotel in the near future. Best Regards Hotel Manager Mohammad Falahat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adgnedklgjnalr wrote a review Nov 2021
Brighton, United Kingdom36 contributions39 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was acceptable, the food is awful (dinner) Big problem with restaurant. We are not told that drinks were not included in HB. We ordered a glass of wine each, but it was undrinkable. As we assumed drinks were included, we didn’t complain or send it back, we simply left it. When we left the restaurant we were told that we had to pay £16 for two glasses of undeniable wine. I complained, but to no avail.
When leaving the hotel I complained again, even spoke to the food and beverage manager who also refused to accept the complaint, and we had to pay. It’s not even the money it’s the principle.
Principle of good management and good customer service: always admit it when you’re wrong. This they clearly do not understand.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 29 Nov 2021
Dear adgnedklgjnalr Warm greetings from Petra Guest house hotel We were regretful to learn of your concerns with regarding drinks were not included in HB and the wine undrinkable and at the beginning, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience we may have caused. We are confident that this is not a true reflection of our high level of service. We always strive to provide a pleasurable journey for each of our valued guest and your given feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve in the areas needed. We hope your latest experience with us will not tarnish your perception of Petra guest house hotel , we do hope that you give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to exceeding our guest’s expectations, looking forward to seeing you around the hotel soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
banstead wrote a review Jan 2022
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom417 contributions214 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As others have said, the situation right by the entrance and the fact the cave bar is actually a nabatean temple make this place.

The rooms are quite dated, and having a view of a solid rock face 1m away wasn't very exciting. Somewhat disappointed to find the bathroom bin hadn't been emptied from the previous guests when we arrived but otherwise the room was clean.

Breakfasts were good, although the buffet serving staff twice ignored me (as a woman I think) and went to serve someone else (male) who pushed in front and demanded their food. We didn't eat in the hotel but the cave bar was fine - although we had to pay separately and could not charge it to our room which was annoying.

We were on a private tour but the guests seem to mainly be there one night on large group tours.

And despite comments on here (and some publicity in the hotel) it is not a IHG Crowne Plaza hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 3 Jan 2022
Dear banstead Greeting From Petra Guest House Hotel Firstly, it was a great pleasure welcoming you at Petra Guest House Hotel, and we would like to thank you for taking the time advising us of your experience. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your Visit Our Hotel And Stay With Us ,we were able to show you our commitment to hospitality. I will gladly share your feedback with my colleagues . It's something our staff takes great pride in. Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Petra Guest House Hotel in the near future. Best Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny C wrote a review Nov 2022
Warwickshire340 contributions160 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The name is slightly misleading - This is quite a large hotel in an excellent location and service far exceeded what I’d expect of a guest house. Rooms were comfortable and clean though the decor was dated, especially the bathrooms.

Breakfast and dinner buffets were very good but the restaurant bar was disorganised, nobody wanted to take money for our drinks. The Cave bar outside was fantastic and service was spot on.

The hotel is situated right next to the gate to enter Petra so couldn’t be better. There are also lots of shops nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 19 Nov 2022
Dear Valued Guest Greeting From Petra Guest House Hotel Firstly, it was a great pleasure welcoming you at Petra Guest House Hotel, and we would like to thank you for taking the time advising us of your experience. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your Visit Our Hotel ,we were able to show you our commitment to hospitality. I will gladly share your feedback with my colleagues . It's something our staff takes great pride in. Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Petra Guest House Hotel in the near future. Best Regards Hotel Manager Mohammad Falahat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sophia S wrote a review Mar 2022
11 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very nice stay at the Petra Guest House. The location was truly a highlight, we were right next to the entrance and had the chance to go exploring right in front of our door. The Cave Bar was also great, our server Saleh took very good care of us. Our rooms (chalets) were spacious, clean and had a great view. Breakfast was average.

The only minus point would be the recommendations. We had a tour guide and a couple of restaurants recommended to us - we noticed all the recommendations were overpriced and in some way connected to the hotel. This was quite a shame, as we were counting on some authentic local recommendations from the staff. You’re way better off doing your own research on the area or tour guides.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2022
Dear sophiastlz Greeting From Petra Guest House Hotel Firstly, it was a great pleasure welcoming you at Petra Guest House Hotel, and we would like to thank you for taking the time advising us of your experience. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your Visit Our Hotel And Stay With Us ,we were able to show you our commitment to hospitality. I will gladly share your feedback with my colleagues . It's something our staff takes great pride in. Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Petra Guest House Hotel in the near future. Best Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BunnyDen wrote a review Mar 2023
Bournemouth, United Kingdom110 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked one night stay as we were visiting Petra, we had hired a car so the parking was free and nice and simple, and were accompanied in with a very friendly man who helped with luggage, as they do here at the speed of lightening. We checked in all ok and taken to our room,which was 114. We had view of the entrance to Petra with the visitors walking down the main path, the room was very warm so we set the air on to low and went out out adventure to Petra. We stopped for lunch along Tourist St about 5 mins away from guest house. We also right next to the visitors centre we we needed to stop at as we need to trace our tickets, and they were very helpful. After our trip into Petra we went in to the cave bar, part of the the guest house I had was very nice little bar partly inside and outside, cute and cosy, but a little expensive. On checking in we were given a voucher and told we would get 20% of food and drinks, beware this is only for food. All food and drinks (alcoholic) are taxed very high, so add at least 20% extra to anything you order.
The room upon our return was still very warm so we mentioned it to the reception, but as our previous hotel, due to it being there cold season still, it was only set to heat? However outside was nearly 30 degree!
Next day we went to breakfast where we were seated, not a massive room but still a fairly good choice of salads, cheese, and hot food were offered. The staff are reasonably polite, and gave an extra bottle of water to each guest for the day.
When we checked out, the love.y lady receptionist asked us for our review, and the only thing was the room was to warm, however they did come open our windows as the handle was broken on one the openers.
Overall a great position for visiting Petra, and pleasant stay and comfortable room despite the heat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2023
Dear Valud Guest Greeting From Petra Guest House Hotel Firstly, it was a great pleasure welcoming you at Petra Guest House Hotel, and we would like to thank you for taking the time advising us of your experience. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your Visit Our Hotel, we were able to show you our commitment to hospitality. I will gladly share your feedback with my colleagues. It's something our staff takes great pride in. Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Petra Guest House Hotel in the near future. Best Regards Hotel Manager Mohammad Falahat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Virginie P wrote a review Oct 2023
Ramsgate, United Kingdom156 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. This hotel has the perfect location: the entrance to Petra site is a few steps away and Petra museum is a 5 minutes-walk. From the hotel or the Cave, in the evenings you have a splendid and colorful view of the mountains which is ferric. Our room was good and comfortable and we really enjoyed the breakfasts as well as the dinner meals we had during our stay. The food was varied, very tasty and excellent. We loved the pancakes and omelets made by Mahdi. Everybody was very friendly and very helpful at the bar, the restaurant and also in the hotel shop . We would recommend this hotel without any doubts!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 29 Oct 2023
Dear Valud Guest Greeting From Petra Guest House Hotel Firstly, it was a great pleasure welcoming you at Petra Guest House Hotel, and we would like to thank you for taking the time advising us of your experience. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your Visit Our Hotel, we were able to show you our commitment to hospitality. I will gladly share your feedback with my colleagues. It's something our staff takes great pride in. Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Petra Guest House Hotel in the near future. Best Regards Hotel Manager Mohammad Falahat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo Ann S asked a question Nov 2021
Covington, Kentucky70 contributions14 helpful votes
Are there tour guides available for Petra and surrounding areas?
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan1 contribution8 helpful votes
Yes Sir There Is , You Can Contact Our Front Desk Team Any Time To Handle That For You . :)
Bob Danalou asked a question Feb 2021
Reno, Nevada17 contributions1 helpful vote
Do you provide transportation to and from Amman and to and from Wadi Rum?
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan1 contribution8 helpful votes
Yes we provide it and we can arrange that for you . 😊
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan1 contribution8 helpful votes
Yes All Room Are renovated
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan1 contribution8 helpful votes
Yes You Can
Darlene J asked a question Jan 2020
Toledo, Ohio4 contributions4 helpful votes
Do guests rooms have hair dryers?
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan1 contribution8 helpful votes
Yes The hair dryers Are Available in All Room
Preo wrote a tip Feb 2024
Toronto, Canada9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"People at the front entrance gate (before the hotel gate) will tell you to turn around and go to the lot - do not - just keep going to hotel"
Read full review
Kathy F wrote a tip Dec 2023
Toronto, Canada87 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sadly the tourist department and bedouins are controlling the areas to be seen in Petra today. Should be okay tomorrow"
Read full review
Louise F wrote a tip Dec 2023
14 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware of the taxes on bar prices!"
Read full review
beans107 wrote a tip Nov 2023
11 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go early morning to Petra. If you plan to go the monastery, wear comfortable shoes and clothing."
Read full review
Cathy M wrote a tip Sept 2023
Lake Geneva, United States9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Visit Petra early in the morning or early evening to avoid crowds and to get the best light for photos."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Petra - Wadi Musa area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$836 - HK$1,375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
petra guesthouse hotel petra / wadi musa
LOCATION
JordanMa'an GovernoratePetra - Wadi Musa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PETRA GUEST HOUSE HOTEL HK$663 (H̶K̶$̶9̶4̶4̶) - Updated 2024

All Petra - Wadi Musa HotelsPetra - Wadi Musa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Petra - Wadi MusaHotels near Petra Guest House Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire