Petra Guest House Hotel

Petra Guest House Hotel

Traveller (1070)
una bella camera in cui tornare!
Room & Suite (270)
Dining (172)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#17 of 75 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The four stars, Petra Guest House Hotel is ideally located at the majestic city of Petra with only few steps away from the entrance. Conclude your journey of exploration and enjoy history and hospitality at the Petra Guest House Hotel. Immerse yourself in Petra's ancient landscape from the moment you arrive at the Four Stars Petra Guest House Hotel. Located right at the visitor's entrance to the Siq with only steps away from the famous archaeological sites. Enjoy the spectacular views of the mountains from our 41 well appointed guestrooms and 31 chalets tucked in stones. All of our welcoming guestrooms have mountain views and all are fully equipped with modern amenities any traveler will need from LCD TVs, safe box, mini-bar, Ironing board, Coffee/Tea Making facilities and much more. The Petra Guest House Hotel offers one lobby lounge, one main dining restaurant and one original Nabatean bar surrounded with a large Piazza.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Horseback riding
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Arabic

Location

Main Tourist Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810 Jordan
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Ovda Airport
65.8 km
See all flights
Ramon International Airport
80.2 km
See all flights
1,669Review19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 738
  • 643
  • 191
  • 56
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jacqui B wrote a review May 2021
15 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you’re coming to Petra as a tourist the Petra guest house is ideal location only a few steps away from entrance to Petra. The hotel has very nice bathrooms equipped with robes slippers iron toiletries big soft towels, beds are comfortable big and well made with room service everyday, outdoor patio restaurant is the best location in Petra to sit at sunset or anytime in the afternoon with the shade and classical music playing and a reasonably priced food and drink menu. Outstanding service in all the restaurants, waiters going out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Buffet dinner and breakfast included in the stay was worthwhile, with the fish curry for dinner being one of the best fish curries I’ve had in a while. Also the coconut slice desert and bread and butter pudding. A great two nights!
We were three friends from Dubai travelling for Eid break.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 15 May 2021
Dear jacquib Thank you for giving us a magnificent review and rating. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful hotel and you found it very convenient to visit Petra. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and services provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectation. we looking forward to welcoming you at Petra guest house in future . Best regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelonly2013 wrote a review Feb 2020
Paris, France133 contributions48 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was conveniently located at 2 min walking distance from tourist center and the entrance of Petra. They start breafast at 6am, which gives you enough time to by your tickets at be at the entrance of Petra by 7am.
The hotel is comfortable, room needs a bit more attention to cleaning but nothing major (i.e. mirror had some traces, dust on furniture).
The staff was super helpful, the restaurant "The Cave" fair enough but expensive for no reasons.
Some rooms are accessible only using stairs so mention upfront if you have disabilities.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Issam A, Front Office Manager at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 6 Jul 2020
Dear sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Petra Guest House Hotel. We thank you again and look forward to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Issam Alaya Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tojal75 wrote a review Feb 2020
Paris, France35 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Petra Guest House is a nice place. The staff are welcoming and the service is very professionnal.
The food could be much better, the quality seems there but its a bit "average".
The morning buffet offers a large choice and the evening buffet is convenient because it is fast, but it is not highly gastronomique.
Rooms are clean and well organised, bathroom could be slightly cleaner and the one we had probably needed a little refreshing.
The location is calm and silent and we really loved the bar in the nabatean tomb.
Globaly a positive experience with a good team taking care of us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
moumou199 wrote a review Jan 2020
Hong Kong, China428 contributions113 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is inside the gate of Petra; its super convenient if you plan to start exploring Petra early in the morning. The room was good. I don't understand why housekeeping threw away the barely used soap and shampoo every night. Its not environmental friendly but I guess it's the standard in Jordan?? The breakfast was nice with plenty of choices and the restaurant staff was super friendly and helpful. We didn't visit the cave bar but it seems very cool. We stayed on the 2nd level and there was a nice communal area by the elevator lobby. The city view from the foot bridge was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James C wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Guest House two times in January, once for two nights with an organized tour, and another three nights on our own during independent travel three weeks later. There is no beating the location and the rooms are nice, particularly the chalets (beware the Chalets' many steps at the end of a long day of climbing throughout Petra!). The Cave Bar is a pleasant place to spend the evening after a day's exploration and meals are relatively inexpensive compared to the buffet, about 15 USD p/p, but, of course, the beer is about the same price.

Our only caveat is to beware of the check-in where the receptionist ran our credit card and automatically charged the room in USD rather than JOD, with a nearly 10% upcharge. When we questioned this and asked to be charged in JOD, we were told okay, and we then circled the JOD amount and crossed out the USD charge before signing the bill. Ultimately, we learned when we got home that we had been charged in USD at a nearly $35 premium. Our mistake for not making sure they rerang the charge in our presence, but their's for automatically processing it in USD without the customary opportunity for us to choose a currency on the credit card reader. The hotel has not responded to our complaint about this and has not provided a copy of the signed charge bill.

Petra was fantastic, though, and we most greatly enjoyed completing a full loop to the High Place of Sacrifice and taking advantage of the low "end-of-day" prices for a donkey ride back to the Treasury from the Nymphaeum.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Chalets have a nice view of the hills beyond, but require climbing 20 - 80 steps to get to the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
grandmummy8 wrote a review Feb 2020
Red Deer, Canada60 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very spacious chalet room. Largest king bed I have ever seen. Robes were there which is a nice touch. Our room was high up and not great if you had to deal with large and heavy suitcases but the staff helped both checking in and checking out. Breakfast was very good! I was a little disappointed when I wanted a coffee while I waited for our driver and was told that I would be charged as I had already had breakfast. I guess it makes sense but hadn’t happened In other hotels. All in all it was a very nice place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BS4242 wrote a review Jul 2022
Cologne, Germany591 contributions135 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights and can recommend this hotel to everyone with main focus to visit petra, especially, if you want to visit Petra for more then just a couple of hours. The location is more then perfect, it is literally right beside the entrance to Petra historical site. Even the visitor center is further away. If you have a two day ticket, you can get up early on the second day and walk into Petra as soon as 6 am, were the ticketing counters in the visitor center are not yet open. you can walk to the treasury and have it all to yourself. The hotel features a bar, which is a magical place, at it is acutally located in a 2600 year old nabatean tomb. This bar, the location and the super friendy service are the points, that really made the Guest house a highlight on our trip. The rooms are quiet and clean, but somewhat outdated, could need some renovation. But we just used it to sleep and take showers, the rest of your time you want to spend in the archeological site anyway. Food at the bar was good (not great), but on the second day there was a BBQ buffet offering great food for a fair price. If you come to Wadi Musa, of course there is a big choice of Hotels, but you will soon see, that some of them are quite far from the visitor center and the roads to go anywhere are always quite steep, it is not easy to walk arround in the city, so the location really makes a difference.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are quite small, probably it´s better to take a chalet room, they...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Dear Valued Guest Greeting From Petra Guest House Hotel Firstly, it was a great pleasure welcoming you at Petra Guest House Hotel, and we would like to thank you for taking the time advising us of your experience. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your Visit Our Hotel And Stay With Us ,we were able to show you our commitment to hospitality. I will gladly share your feedback with my colleagues . It's something our staff takes great pride in. Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Petra Guest House Hotel in the near future. Best Regards Hotel Manager Mohammad Falahat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lucia wrote a review May 2020
Chicago, Illinois86 contributions33 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the misfortune of having a reservation when Jordan closed its land borders in March due to the pandemic (my reservation was 3/12-3/13/2020. Thus I was unable to cross the border back into Jordan (from Israel) and had to cancel this reservation as well as other reservations in other locales in Jordan. When I called Petra Guest House I was assured that money would be refunded because it was Jordan who had closed it borders. After waiting 30 days still no refund and I called the hotel numerous times without success. Then I reached out to Expedia. Expedia contacted the hotel and was were told that I had shown up and used the reservation, thus would not receive a refund. When I provided proof that I was in Israel (and had to make alternate arrangements to fly home from Israel) the hotel then responded and now said they would simply not refund the money, period.
It was deceiving of them to assure me they would refund my money and then represent to Expedia that I had shown up. The truth was revealed when confronted with proof that I could not have been there when they claimed I was... Do not do business with this hotel, they do not honor their word and make false claims.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Issam A, Front Office Manager at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 6 Jul 2020
Dear Sir/Madam, Good day, Please note that you booked through Expedia by non-refundable advance payment and you have to cancel your booking through them as you made your booking , but you didn't do that so the cancellation fees was apply as per our contract with them.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
spelizam wrote a review Feb 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom91 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Right next to the entrance to Petra, this hotel has chalet style rooms set on a hillside overlooking Wadi Musa. Our room was huge and well appointed, the staff were lovely, the food was good and plentiful (both breakfast and dinner are buffet style). We enjoyed a drink in the Cave Bar after a hard day’s walking in Petra.

Breakfast is served from 6am, and that along with the proximity to the entrance to Petra meant that we could get into the site before the crowds - an amazing experience!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HMTravel1 wrote a review May 2021
Arequipa85 contributions76 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Most are in the area to visit Petra, and location is this hotel's selling point. It is directly next to the park entrance. You will not find a more convenient location. The place is clean. It is quiet. I like that it had a safe box to store my smaller valuables. The free parking was also nice. I attempted using google maps to find the hotel. It got me close, but not directly to the front door. I had an issue with the food. This is the only hotel I have been to since onset of the pandemic that still offers self-serve buffet dining. Most hotels have done away with this given the need for enhanced safety precautions. Staff was on standby at all times doing surveillance of the food stations. So I am not sure why they have not adopted the lower risk, staff-served buffet model. It may not be an issue for some, but it was an issue for me. Also the food was kept on the buffet line in heated containers that produced lots of steam. So the already cooked foods steam-cooked more while on the buffet. The end result was many of the foods being overcooked and dehydrated.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Petra Guest House Hotel , Other at Petra Guest House Hotel
Responded 8 May 2021
Dear HMTravel1 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor . your comments about the restaurant buffet are taken seriously In order to avoid it in futures. I hope it will be a pleasure to welcome you if your travel plans take you back to Petra. Best regards. hotel manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo Ann S asked a question Nov 2021
Covington, Kentucky70 contributions14 helpful votes
Are there tour guides available for Petra and surrounding areas?
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan1 contribution8 helpful votes
Yes Sir There Is , You Can Contact Our Front Desk Team Any Time To Handle That For You . :)
Bob Danalou asked a question Feb 2021
Reno, Nevada17 contributions1 helpful vote
Do you provide transportation to and from Amman and to and from Wadi Rum?
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan1 contribution8 helpful votes
Yes we provide it and we can arrange that for you . 😊
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan1 contribution8 helpful votes
Yes All Room Are renovated
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan1 contribution8 helpful votes
Yes You Can
Darlene J asked a question Jan 2020
Toledo, Ohio4 contributions4 helpful votes
Do guests rooms have hair dryers?
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan1 contribution8 helpful votes
Yes The hair dryers Are Available in All Room
Preo wrote a tip Feb 2024
Toronto, Canada9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"People at the front entrance gate (before the hotel gate) will tell you to turn around and go to the lot - do not - just keep going to hotel"
Read full review
Kathy F wrote a tip Dec 2023
Toronto, Canada84 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sadly the tourist department and bedouins are controlling the areas to be seen in Petra today. Should be okay tomorrow"
Read full review
Louise F wrote a tip Dec 2023
16 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware of the taxes on bar prices!"
Read full review
beans107 wrote a tip Nov 2023
11 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go early morning to Petra. If you plan to go the monastery, wear comfortable shoes and clothing."
Read full review
Cathy M wrote a tip Sept 2023
Lake Geneva, United States9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Visit Petra early in the morning or early evening to avoid crowds and to get the best light for photos."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Petra - Wadi Musa area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$719 - HK$945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
petra guesthouse hotel petra / wadi musa
LOCATION
JordanMa'an GovernoratePetra - Wadi Musa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PETRA GUEST HOUSE HOTEL HK$758 (H̶K̶$̶9̶4̶5̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Petra Guest House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Petra Guest House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Petra Museum (0.1 km), Petra Kitchen (0.4 km), and Obelisk Tomb (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Petra Guest House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Petra Guest House Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Petra Guest House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Petra Guest House Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Petra Guest House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cave Bar, The Petra Kitchen, and Aloe Vera Restaurant.
Is Petra Guest House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Petra - Wadi Musa.
Does Petra Guest House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Petra Guest House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Petra Guest House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Petra (2.2 km), Al-Khazneh (1.5 km), and The Royal Tombs (1.8 km).
Does Petra Guest House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Petra - Wadi Musa HotelsPetra - Wadi Musa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Petra - Wadi MusaHotels near Petra Guest House Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire