We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle de Miguel Marquez 43, 29640 Fuengirola Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Barcelo.com
US$97
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (434)
Room & Suite (129)
Dining (75)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 38 hotels in Fuengirola
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
WELCOME TO OCCIDENTAL FUENGIROLA. Situated just 25 minutes away from Malaga Airport in the heart of the Costa del Sol. The establishment is on the shores of the Mediterranean Sea, next to the beach promenade and near the town's commercial centre. The centre of Fuengirola is just 500 meters away. Our rooms are bright and spacious, and the majority offer fantastic sea views. Our location offers you 320 days of sun a year and all of the attractions of the Costa del Sol are within reach, including 52 golf courses, several marinas, a range of beaches and Andalusia's historic cities. Room features: balcony, sea views, TV with satellite channels, telephone, safety deposit box, air conditioning/heating, desk, shower, bathtub, hair dryer, free toiletries, mini-bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Coffee shop
Beach
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more
894Reviews110Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 522
  • 237
  • 89
  • 28
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
achmed2023 wrote a review 22 Jan
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1 contribution
Service is good Rooms are clean View is amazing if you sleeping high Breakfast is very very delicious You can ask them about Anything Always football tho Watch so that’s amazing Only restaurant is very poor
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Achmed, Thank you for sharing your experience. We were sorry to learn of your disappointment with your dining experience; at Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience and, therefore, would be interested in learning more about what we could have done to improve this aspect of our services. We are, nevertheless, pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated the fantastic views our hotel offers. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Fátima Marin Deputy Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
irishgal87 wrote a review 14 Jan
ireland17 contributions
+1
Stayed here after our original hotel closed the day after we were suppose to arrive. This hotel and staff are by far the most amazing we have stayed in. From we arrived we were greeted with such nice hospitality, the hotel itself was beautiful, clean, we had a beautiful room with Seaview and the hotel even left us a bottle of bubbly. The outside areas were clean, pool was lovely, breakfast was beautiful with so much variety. We did eat a pizza from the snack bar and it was beautiful My partner did use the gym and couldn't fault it. There's a supermarket right outside the front gate again it had everything you would need, beach is literally at front of hotel with a lovely stroll into busier areas. Already looking at coming back here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Our team always aim to provide a memorable experience and we are also delighted to know that we were able to help you start your day off right with our tasty breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best wishes, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David W wrote a review 10 Jan
Ilkeston, United Kingdom91 contributions132 helpful votes
Fabulous hotel BUT, stayed at this hotel 28th December till 9th January , beautiful clean hotel, great staff, beautiful rooms, you could not fault, over the years we have stayed in many Barcelo hotels and been satisfied, but we was let down by the evening meals the standard of food was cold, cheapest cuts of meats we mainly fed on soup and bread, the standard was NOT good enough for a Barcelo. The breakfast was great never had problem plenty of choice, and on New Years Eve it was the Gala Dinner, it was awful, cold cheap cuts of meats, very poor selection no party hats or anything, for the guests, water and wine served by waiters plenty water very little wine i must say absolutely no entertainment for the celebration could not believe it this is not only me that have said this a lot of people were saying it even the Spanish guests. I would suggest if you go to this hotel just go Bed and Breakfast. The next complaint is we have never ever been in a hotel that had not got tea making facilities in the rooms that is in nearly 50 years of going on holiday abroad, we payed a lot of money for this holiday and for Barcelo wanting 4 euros a night to have tea making facilities in the room and 3 euros a night for a safe that would work out another 100 euros on top of what you have already paid, it is scandalous that Barcelo have started this money grabbing gimmick, it has made my decision never to go into a Barcelo hotel again it is just prophet before people, money grabbing. I suggest the Manager of the hotel takes my comments to his senior bosses, and takes this into account, it is utter greed, such a great hotel spoilt by greed
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you book this hotel do not go evening meals or you will be disappointed
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear David, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn that your dining experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Our Executive Chefs follow a two-week menu rotation that includes a wide range of both local and international delicacies to cater to all dietary requirements and please the most demanding palates. We regret that we could not satisfy your preferences and will be addressing your comments with our team. We are also sorry that you felt the category of our hotel that regulates our facilities and services did not match your expectations. We will continue to work towards modifying this perception through our efforts and service-minded spirit. Furthermore, we regret that the amenities included in the room did not meet your needs. With the aim of providing those that are most useful to customers, we based our decision on the items that are most requested by our guests. Nevertheless, additional ones are available upon request. Nonetheless, we thank you for highlighting our high standards; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is a top priority for our guests. Our breakfasts represent healthy eating habits that have become a better way to live and when travelling. We strive to provide guests with new experiences by introducing local, natural, organic, plant-based and seasonal products and are pleased it helped start your day off right. Moreover, we are grateful for your approval of the décor that is aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DiToots wrote a review 9 Jan
4 contributions
Very clean hotel,extremely friendly,helpful staff. Comfortable bed,only issue in room was lack of hanging space for clothes. Ideally placed for beach. Room got sun on balcony all afternoon even in December. You have to pay extra for use of safe. Tea/coffee making facilities in room are also available at an extra cost (personally felt this should be included in price of room). This aside would definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We were on 8th floor,very quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you appreciated our convenient location and our team's excellent service. Our team are on hand for any extra item you may need, please don't hesitate to let us know of your requirements. We hope to welcome you back. Best wishes, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ehalst424772 wrote a review 9 Jan
Glasgow, United Kingdom1 contribution
Only minutes from the centre of town where you can get a train to Malaga Very nice and spacious hotel good breakfast choices overall brilliant stay Half an hour from Marbella and only one minute walk to the beach
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location ideal for your requirements. Furthermore, we are delighted we were able to help start your day off in the right way with our tasty buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best wishes, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andreacesarova wrote a review 5 Jan
1 contribution
We and our best friends spent last 3 days of the year 2022 here and we were all satisfied with the services of the Occidental Fuengirola. We were lucky on the weather therefore we have only positive experiences. The rooms (Junior suite with a seaside view) are spacious, clean, newly furnished, very comfortable beds and lining.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Andrea, Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Fuengirola; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. We are delighted that our location was ideal for your visit and appreciate your kind comments about our team who work hard to ensure that we deliver the best service and always meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best regards, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CB83 wrote a review 4 Jan
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates23 contributions1 helpful vote
Overall a very comfortable stay. The bed was huge! Loved the rainfall shower head. Lots of space in the room. The wifi wasn’t great in the room, we often had to go to the lobby to get service. Having to pay daily to use the safe was disappointing. Breakfast was hands-down the best breakfast buffet we’ve experienced.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Colleen, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we appreciate your kind words about our team. Your comment regarding the WiFi has been noted. On the other hand, we would like to thank you for complimenting our delicious breakfast. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions. Best regards, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
walterWales wrote a review 1 Jan
North Wales, United Kingdom157 contributions162 helpful votes
A well managed hotel conveniently situated near the sea front. About a twenty minute walk from the bus and train stations from which there is cheap transport in all directions, and plenty of taxis outside for shorter trips. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the variety and quality of food is of a high standard. Particularly mention the Xmas and New Year’s Eve dinners which were outstanding though the subsequent new year party left much to be desired.. We paid quite a supplement for a sea view which was a waste of money. Essentially the hotel is an oblong block with the only true sea views being the suites at the end. Our “sea view” was 70% looking at an apartment block and if you craned you head to the side you could see the sea.This side with odd numbered rooms also had no sun at all which might be an advantage during the heat of the summer but was miserable in the winter. We asked to be moved to the opposite side of the corridor the even numbers which had the sun from noon ,an equally good view of the sea together with unrestricted mountain views with fabulous sunsets.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: See review. Avoid odd numbered rooms in winter
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear David, Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Occidental Fuengirola.We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. A message of satisfaction from a recent guest is always a reward and incentive for our team members to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards. It's a pleasure to know that you found our location convenient. We have noted your comment about the view from our rooms, however, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WJean wrote a review Dec 2022
Rugby, United Kingdom148 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
Arrived at the occidental on Christmas Eve for a weeks stay half board, previous to our stay I emailed the hotel to request a lower floor room and on arrival this was honoured.We arrived at midday and our beautiful room was ready on the 5th floor ,safe hire was €3 euros a day .Every part of our room and hotel was spotlessly clean, The bathroom was well equipped with a walk in shower and huge .The bed was super comfortable with a thick mattress topper and also huge,going to miss all the fantastic facilities.on the half board basis we enjoyed a mixture of foods, breakfast and evening meal always something to choose.The choices for people with intolerances were also catered for .No expense spared on quantity or quality of food.Fresh honeycomb at breakfast one of the luxuries available,also cava available every breakfast meal time .bar area and lounge area always plenty of room to sit and enjoy your day /evening.Pool and sun beds spotless with plenty of sun beds .Can not express how much we enjoyed our stay and hope to return next year if we can .Right on the sea front with so many places to walk to and enjoy.Thank you everyone for a wonderful stay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Pool view side in block 1 sun on balcony all afternoon
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Wendy, Thank you for your positive feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location and high standards. Our team is always happy to help and we are thankful that you appreciated our efforts to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa P wrote a review Dec 2022
Birmingham8 contributions7 helpful votes
So much to say 95% great, lovely location 10 mins from main town shops and closer for bars and restaurants, 10 mins in the other direction the fort which is a great little adventure. Staff so friendly and the place was spotless, huge beds and everywhere smelt so lovely. Pool wasn't heated as stated but not a problem as didn't let it spoil anything. We went half board and the food was lovely something for everyone but the last night we ate out and went to the Volcano restaurant and it was AMAZING so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Only issue we had were the pillows, gave my partner a bad neck and i could get comfortable but next time we will take our own or ask to change them. But for a 4 night stay over Christmas it was wonderful and would 100% return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and no noise from outside
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Occidental Fuengirola
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Lisa, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. It is great to know that you found our location to be ideal for your requirements. It was truly a pleasure to receive your kind comments about our team members. We will be sure to pass along your compliments, and our team will be delighted to know that you acknowledged their service. We strive to uphold high standards and do carry out maintenance, whenever necessary to keep our facilities up to date. Rest assured that we have noted your comments for future improvements. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions. Best regards, Maribel Sanjuán De Caso Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Fuengirola****
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
las piramides hotel fuengirola, fuengirola hotel piramides, piramides hotel fuengirola, piramides fuengirola, las piramides fuengirola, hotel las piramides
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of MalagaCosta del SolFuengirola
NUMBER OF ROOMS
316
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCCIDENTAL FUENGIROLA - Updated 2023 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Spain)

Frequently Asked Questions about Occidental Fuengirola
Which popular attractions are close to Occidental Fuengirola?
Nearby attractions include Costa Water Park (0.2 km), Mezquita de Fuengirola (0.10 km), and Tipi Tapa (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Occidental Fuengirola?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Occidental Fuengirola?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Occidental Fuengirola?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Occidental Fuengirola?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Occidental Fuengirola?
Conveniently located restaurants include The B's Knees, Restaurante Aesgaya, and Lotus Steak & Burger House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Occidental Fuengirola?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Occidental Fuengirola?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Occidental Fuengirola offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Occidental Fuengirola?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Portuguese.