We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

78on5th in Hermanus

Save
Share
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (4)
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good31%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
3 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
196
95
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
196
95
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful mountain viewself cateringnice roomlovely placenature reservefriendly ownersfamily roompleasure of stayingwarm welcomea lovely stayhome away from homeeach morninggrotto beachshort drivethoroughly enjoyed our staycomfortable bedone night stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Our room had plenty of space including a little sitting area, with a view onto the mountain behind the nature reserve. Everything in the room worked, although the kitchenette was very tiny - really only suitable for making tea or warming a ready made meal....More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clare M
Response from Jose F, Owner at 78on5th in HermanusResponded 3 days ago

Dear Clair Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback. From the bulk of your review I gather your stay with us was “not too bad”. I am so sorry to hear you couldn’t find a restaurant open due...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

While we were overall impressed there were a couple of small irritations, firstly no Rooibos tea in the room, in South Africa!! I know it could be requested, but this is inconvenient. Breakfast was rather European visitor oriented and not totally to our liking. The...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TimForshaw
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing comfy place, we enjoyed our stay from arrival to leaving. Mandy was an amazing hostess and made us feel very welcome from arrival with a huge welcoming smile. Breakfast was not a quiet one, we met another couple who joined us for a walk...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank natasha_nagel08
Response from Jose F, Manager at 78on5th in HermanusResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Natasha and Adriano, Thank you for the fabulous review. You are amazing guests. I cant wait for your return in September. And I will try and remember the cake. LOL I look forward to seeing you again. Warmest regards Mandy

Reviewed 10 July 2018

We stayed just one night in Hermanus. We were stopping over to see the whales although this trip was unfortunately canceled due to the weather. We booked a suite with one double bed and two single beds in separate rooms for four adults. The master...More

Thank RSandRS_Travels
Response from Jose F, Manager at 78on5th in HermanusResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind review. Now you have a reason to return. Summer. Your room will be waiting, and maybe you will stay longer. Warm regards Mandy

Reviewed 9 July 2018

We stayed just one night and had to be up and out early the next day. Mandy met us as we were getting ready to leave, she gave us great directions and recommendations on our route. Wish we had time to stay and appreciate the...More

Thank dmt115
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$55 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$55 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (3)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ziglet2014
16 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Len L | Reviewed this property |
Around 3.3 km (2 miles) takes 5 minutes to drive to the center of town or a 40 min casual walk from 78 on 5th. Taxies are also available at a reasonable price.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask for a room no breakfast and eat breakfast in town."
Read review
"Room 1 was the one we stayed in and nice and private being at the end of the house with mountain views."
Read review
"The first floor rooms with have the best views"
Read review
"any room, If e ground floor is ideal,hen thblems tyou have knee pro"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing