We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Save
Share
Traveller (918)
Room & Suite (176)
Dining (136)
Overview
R40, Hazyview 1242 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (1,231)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveller rating
469
294
92
31
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
469
294
92
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant whispers the river riviera tour kruger national park hippos grazing cultural show double shower ceiling fan special thanks cape town stayed nights couple of nights thatched roof tour group our honeymoon south africa panorama route
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 904 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We didn't stay in the hotel but had 2 days diner in the restaurant. Reservation is needed. We had good service. You can enjoy diner while viewing the hippos when they come out of the water at night. Nice place!More

Thank WesGee
Response from Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country EstateResponded 3 days ago

Dear WesGee, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinners with us. We are happy that you were able to see our lovely hippos. We hope that you will visit us again...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

A once in a life-time dinner experience saw us seated on the bridge overlooking the Sabi River. An intimate grouping of diners, we were shown to our seats at sunset on the bridge, after which we were treated to a superb menu of fine dining....More

1  Thank Dana M
Response from Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country EstateResponded 3 days ago

Dear Dana M, Thank you for taking the time to review us on ourTripAdvisor page. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with us. We pride ourselves to provide an unique dining experience along with a beautiful setting and good food and efficient service....More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Lovely stay in glorious surroundings. Beautiful terrace. Hippos on the lawn. Breakfast was excellent with really friendly service. Very well located for our visit to Kruger. Our room was cosy and very clean. Thank you to everyone there.More

1  Thank Basil1960
Response from Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country EstateResponded 3 days ago

Dear Basil1960, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you here with us. We are happy that you saw our lovely hippos. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place is very pleasant, the view, the breakfast, and the staff as well. But some mistakes disappointed me. First of all, I asked a book for sunset safari at the desk, and at the day of safari I was running a lot so I...More

Thank Rochelle J
Response from Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country EstateResponded 3 days ago

Dear Rochelle J, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and staff. We are sorry that you did not have a good experience with your activities.It was fortunate that we had...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a decent 3 star establishment good for a 2 night stay near Kruger Park. It's quiet, clean and safe. Room is very basic with outdated furnishings but all is in good shape. The restaurant has good service, food variety and tasty food. The...More

Thank lasalle s
Response from Zandile-HH, Front Office Manager at Hippo Hollow Country EstateResponded 3 days ago

Dear lasalle s, Thank you for taking the time to review us on our TripAdvisor page. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your two night stay with us. We are happy that you found the room adequate and that you enjoyed the food along with...More

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Air Conditioning
Banquet Room
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Room Service
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Romantic
,
Family
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Romantic
,
Family
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
91
Price range
US$107 - US$253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
,
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview
Location
South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Romantic
,
Family
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
91
Price range
US$107 - US$253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
,
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview
Location
South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Photos
Traveller (918)
Room & Suite (176)
Dining (136)
Pool & Beach (45)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 nearby hotels
Perry's Bridge Hollow
495 reviews
.69 km away
Sabi River Sun Resort
1,117 reviews
1.11 km away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
236 reviews
2.20 km away
Machai Lodge
1 review
2.27 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 24 nearby restaurants
Kuka Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge
1,362 reviews
.64 km away
Topolino's Italian Restaurant
558 reviews
.68 km away
In-Da-Belly
125 reviews
.55 km away
Running Brave Spur Steak Ranch
97 reviews
1.45 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 33 nearby attractions
Elephant Whispers
824 reviews
1.40 km away
Elephant Sanctuary Hazyview
404 reviews
5.03 km away
Perry's Bridge Reptile Park
163 reviews
.67 km away
Shangana Cultural Village
69 reviews
2.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anthony J
22 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from KJames29 | Reviewed this property |
All separate but I would imagine you could arrange one via hotel. Also there are various safari offers early morning start for full or half day. Then evening safari and night ones using spot lights. Private guides and groups... More
2
Votes
overend94
5 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Naima M | Reviewed this property |
We were there the end of July. There were no nets and we didn’t need any anti- malaria meds. However it was winter. So I’m not 100% sure about the summer months.
0
Votes
Anit Y
16 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Naima M | Reviewed this property |
I don’t believe so. I didn’t see any area that would allow for this.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All rooms would be good here."
trek4cs
2 weeks ago
Read review
"Chalets looked awesome, but standard rooms also good"
TravellersAuz
31 Aug 2018
Read review
"River Chalets are very nice"
cowenevett
24 Aug 2018
Read review
"River view rooms are great"
DSinghtin
25 Jul 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing