We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
View Deal
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.comUS$88
ZenHotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (5)
Certificate of Excellence
Overview
Drakensberg Gardens Road, Underberg 3257 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
4 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
52
17
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
52
17
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sapphire room open bathroom stayed one night sani pass tours beds were very comfortable water pressure us feel at home peace of mind southern drakensberg the river beautiful setting drakensberg gardens wonderful stay get away enjoyed our stay jude lodge
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

the guest lodge has potential, but there is no attention to detail. rooms are spacious but no airconditioner. hand basin is too small. no service at all. breakfast is basic and the staff try their best but a lot can be improved. it is not...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Go50827795359
Response from MikePieters2018, Owner at Malachite ManorResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing time with us. Would you mind contacting us directly as we did not receive any complaints at the property where we could identify when...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Service from the minimal amount of staff available was good.Management -not available nor did they once check to see how our stay was.Food - quality below average for the price.Venue-spectacular views

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Wanderer61968801433
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First impressions were great when those handling the booking were the most professional dealt with in a long time. The lodge is impressive. Beautifully decorated. Rooms are well appointed. Dinner was excellent. And our host Sibu an excellent attribute to the lodge. Unfortunately expierence was...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Sue B
Response from Carrinp, Owner at Malachite ManorResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sue B Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you suffered . Due to the heavy rain we have experienced over the last two weeks we did not realize that the water being pumped from the river being full of sediment had blocked...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very enjoyable great service and food. Good value, beautiful setting and an overall relaxing atmosphere we were looking for. It is encouraging to see further addituions to the complex are being undertaken. We can recomend Malachite Manor

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Seaside62233946030
Response from Carrinp, Owner at Malachite ManorResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Seaside Thankyou for the lovely review Hope to see you soon Regards Mike Pieterse

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It’s on a beautiful property, great views, easy to find and the staff was very welcoming and friendly. We only stayed for a night and we regretted not staying there a little longer. If you’re looking for a quiet getaway, this is it, there isn’t...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Explorer02398850513
View more reviews
About
Description
Situated in the Southern Drakensberg in Underberg, Malachite Manor is a country getaway with a touch of class. From scrumptious breakfasts in the restaurant to mouth watering dinners, enjoy a night cap at the More bar with majestic views of the country side. Enjoy a relaxing nights sleep in one of the 6 beautifully decorated rooms, each room offers an extra-length queen size bed with quality linen. your stay can be anything from business to leisure, there a wide array of activities birding, hiking, mountain climbing, and golfing available in close proximity of Malachite Manor Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Golf Course
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Price range
US$80 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Price range
US$80 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Photos
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (5)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel
166 reviews
7.42 km away
Premier Resort Sani Pass
158 reviews
7.78 km away
Sani Valley Nature Lodges
241 reviews
9.06 km away
Castleburn Leisure Resort
258 reviews
13.91 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 12 nearby restaurants
Lemon Tree Bistro
566 reviews
6.52 km away
Moorcroft Manor Restaurant
120 reviews
7.37 km away
The Olde Duck
129 reviews
2.02 km away
Stone House Cafe
47 reviews
6.56 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 24 nearby attractions
The Himeville Museum
77 reviews
6.53 km away
Drakensberg Adventures
11 reviews
6.10 km away
Pucketty Farm
18 reviews
7.93 km away
Underberg Cheesery
62 reviews
1.55 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Storyteller615654
21 November 2018|
Answer
Response from MikePieters2018 | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you for the message. We are in the process of building an Eco-pool, however it is not ready as yet. Hopefully we will have it up and running by December but we will update our website as soon as it is complete.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All the luxurious rooms are comfortable with stunning views. Not to miss."
wimpievwyk
1 Jul 2018
Read review
"I think the ground floor rooms have a better view but the upstairs room we had on our first night was HUGE!"
B1504PBericl
2 May 2017
Read review
"Get the rooms with the terraces facing the pond and meadows. They have a nice view and are airy and bright."
Fabysuzy
22 Jan 2017
Read review
"Room on the lower floor have views of the valley"
ericdsouzatravel
2 Jan 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing