We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
US$238
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/09/21
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (739)
Pool & Beach (77)
Dining (53)

About

#3 of 18 hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1,682Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,266
  • 285
  • 74
  • 34
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ash M wrote a review Yesterday
Sandton, South Africa5 contributions4 helpful votes
Fantastic Hotel right on the beach, one of the best places we have stayed in Durban. Service is great and most of all the staff are passionate. Kudos go to Lawrence and the team members at breakfast and light lunch. Will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
ShaaziaG wrote a review 2 Apr
Lenasia, South Africa35 contributions36 helpful votes
I don’t know who got paid to rate this a 5 star hotel but it undoubtedly is not one. If you are looking to stay at a 5 star hotel in Durban there is only one, The Oyster Box Hotel. Beverly Hills is outdated and run down. It is in serious need of a major revamp. The hotel has huge potential due to its excellent location. My room has a strong “old cigarette” smell. Toiletries in the bathroom are bare minimal and of cheap quality. Only 2 bottles of water are provided per room per day. The hotel does not offer a turn down service “due to corona” but I guarantee it’s just to cut their costs. If corona was such a concern for them then they would’ve provided free masks and sanitizer in the room for guests (but that would cost them money so they don’t). The bathroom is terribly small. The rooms are poorly lit. The positive have been: The location is great The staff are friendly and helpful Breakfast is well accommodated for The rooms are clean Other than that, You are basically paying ridiculous rates for a Holiday Inn standard. I implore Tsogo Sun to let go of this hotel and give it to a luxury hotel chain so that it can reach its full potential. We all know Durban desperately needs it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Michael C wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions
This place is in all honesty a 4 star hotel, rooms need a facelift. Staff are amazing! BUT that's where it ends... The downside...All night the power kept running out. so that means: -No aircon!! -TV Turns on!!!! This happened throughout the night...then the day.... Generator stopped working , no electricity... -no elevators -no internet -no toilets running -on AC Just a total 3rd world cockup. They clearly have not done what they need to do to invest in their back up Generator, which when you operate ina country with rolling blackouts, is completely unacceptable. Avoid at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: AVOID!! Run for the hills!!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Jane Doe on Vacation wrote a review Feb 2021
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa5 contributions2 helpful votes
I booked a business trip on short notice, got an incredible rate. Reception warm and welcoming. Beautiful room with all amenities needed for luxury stay. Small details would have made it better- my one bed lamp was out of order, wall paper in bathroom pulling away from the wall. Sugar Club service was exceptionally slow but the food was delicious. Building outside in need of some tlc.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John ARITHO, General Manager at Beverly Hills
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Dear Jane, Thank you very much for your feedback. We have noted the comments that fell short during your stay and I can assure yo that we have taken these with the seriousness the deserve and have duly corrected them. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards John
Read more
Tom Pullen wrote a review Dec 2020
Kempton Park, South Africa8 contributions4 helpful votes
We have been visiting this property at least once a year for the past 20 years and are staying here now (December 18, 2020) Unfortunately you can see a decline in the small details that indicate a little less attention to detail and service. We had booked earlier in the year and were subsequently called to pay immediately so as not to lose our booking? Upon checking in we were quoted a very high rate, when showing our booking they honored the original rate? No Castle Lager, no Strawberry Daiquiri? Huge noise from the room above us(can’t blame this on the hotel, they did get them to quiten down after complaints from us and another guest) General decline in state of repair and crispness of service, although the Sugar club was great. Sad to have to write this. Tom Pullen.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from John ARITHO, General Manager at Beverly Hills
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We have received your comments and can assure you that we have since done adjustments to staffing levels which have been reduced due to Covid-19 working hours and reduced staffing levels. We do have all items on stock available after sporadic shortages on certain items. My team and I do look forward to welcoming you this year again for a great stay. Kind Regards John
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$237 - US$602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
beverly hills umhlanga rocks
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalUmhlanga Rocks
NUMBER OF ROOMS
89
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Beverly Hills
Which popular attractions are close to Beverly Hills?
Nearby attractions include Mindgame Escape (0.3 km), Whalebone Pier (0.2 km), and Umhlanga Beach (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Beverly Hills?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Beverly Hills?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Beverly Hills?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Beverly Hills?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beverly Hills?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grill Room, The Lighthouse Bar, and Little Havana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Beverly Hills?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Beverly Hills have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Beverly Hills offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Beverly Hills?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Beverly Hills offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Beverly Hills?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Ramakrishna Centre of South Africa Durban (6.4 km).