We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg

Save
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good23%
  • Average31%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“hotel is great”(2 reviews)
“tv channels”(2 reviews)
“enjoyed my stay”(2 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
1 Star Hotel
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Cnr. Hesketh Drive and New England Rd | Hayfields, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
4.7 km to Pietermaritzburg Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
4
5
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
4
5
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel is greattv channelsenjoyed my staycyclingracereception
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a twin room for 6 nights while on a sports tour. During this time I got to know the staff and hotel well. The staff are super helpful and very attentive. Couldn't have asked for more. Unfortunately didn't get to sample the breakfast,...More

Thank Jason R
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge PietermaritzburgResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is neat, tidy and affordable, but the only problem is, although you have to check out at 11am breakfast is only served till 9 am. We were there for leisure, but missed out on the buffet breakfast, because it stopped too early.

Thank Wayne-Sarie H
Reviewed 12 April 2018

I have stayed in the Road Lodge for 1 night and I was very impressed with the place, service in reception was excellent and friendly even during the peak time with the whole reception full of people waiting to book in. the room were small...More

Thank 260gerhardb
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge PietermaritzburgResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations. It is always very rewarding to receive such a great feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 26 January 2018

Booked here, from a convenience perspective, very nicely located. The rooms are neat & tidy, staff on site very welcoming. It is small and you get exactly what you pay for. They do offer a little breakfast in the morning, it is more than enough...More

Thank Mala P
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge PietermaritzburgResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for one night day before the cycling race... was disappointed with breakfast offering last year (considering we were about to cycle 106kms 🙆) but the manager promised to look into it...ffwd to this year I made a request for few items...More

Thank M Theresho C
Response from The_CLHG_Team, The CLHG Team at Road Lodge PietermaritzburgResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. It's fantastic to hear our hotel met all your need and expectations, and your staff went above and beyond for you. We look forward to having you back.

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel class
Number of rooms
90
Price range
US$46 - US$51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Hotel class
Number of rooms
90
Price range
US$46 - US$51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Hotel class
Hotel class
Number of rooms
90
Price range
US$46 - US$51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ndumiso
23 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Grantmr | Reviewed this property |
sure R16,254.332.79 if you work for government
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Make sure you don't get the room that overlooks the pool on the first floor, A/C unit is right outside..."
Read review
"close to the N3 and close to some nice restaurants and take out places"
Read review
"This is a overnight stay not holiday accommodation."
Read review
"So far had rooms on all floors all depends who your neighbours are"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing