We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Balmoral Hotel

Save
Share
125 Marine Parade, Beach Road, Durban, 4001, Durban 4001 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (107)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (10)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 01/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Balmoral Hotel
Updated 01/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#30 of 70 hotels in Durban
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Balmoral hotel is centrally located on Durban’s Golden Mile with the sun kissed beach on our doorstep. The hotel is a short walk away from the shopping and business district, the International Convention Centre and the uShaka Marine World which features the largest Dolphinarium in Africa. The hotel features an old-world charm as it was originally a colonial homestead. The original facade has been retained as well as many of the original furnishings. To meet the needs of the modern traveller, it has been completely refurbished with all the latest amenities yet retaining its unique charm. Whether you are in Durban for pleasure or business, certainly the best of both worlds can be found at The Balmoral hotel. Various sporting activities are on offer near including golf, squash, gymnasium, surfing, angling, sailing, scuba diving, bowling, body boarding, Transportation Metered Taxi from Durban International Airport Hotel Shuttle from Durban International Airport. (Book in advance)
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Beach
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Zulu
217Reviews3Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 26
  • 62
  • 61
  • 43
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Melanie P wrote a review Mar 2021
Alberton, South Africa2 contributions
We had a lovely 2 week stay. The staff is very friendly and was of great assistance when ever needed. Fresh linen & towels were supplied every day and the room was cleaned on a daily basis. Secure parking was available too.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Zama Dlamini, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2021
Dear Melanie Thanks for the amazing review, we're thrilled to hear you had such an outstanding stay with us! We always strive to exceed the needs of our guests, and your praise lets us know we're doing our job. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another excellent experience at Balmoral Hotel Durban! Yours Sincerely!
Read more
avir wrote a review Aug 2020
Durban, South Africa13 contributions
+1
Beautiful hotel with excellent staff, excellent view from our room, breakfast was super fresh n delicious. Restaurant menu well priced. Room was very clean and met more than our expectations. Staff were always willing to help. Thank you to Noma, Mawada, Augustus ,Sandile ,Wiseman, Mohammed and Zaheera.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Zama Dlamini, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear Mr Maharaj Thanks for the amazing review, we're thrilled to hear you had such an outstanding stay with us! We always strive to exceed the needs of our guests, and your praise lets us know we're doing our job. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another excellent experience at Balmoral Hotel Durban! Yours Sincerely!
Read more
Diamond Tehillâh Eternity wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The service rendered by Nonhlanhla Ndlovu was just impeccable. We wanted to book for our accommodation online but weren’t able to due to the fact were mugged.The online platforms were cumbersome since they needed credit card details which we didn’t have at that moment.However she allowed us to pay on arrival to save the stress.Thank you thank you for the wonderful service will surely refer others as well.I can personally vouch her for promotion.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Zama D, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear Mr Hlatshwayo Thanks for the amazing review, we're thrilled to hear you had such an outstanding stay with us! Nonhlanhla is an gem and will convey the message to her. We always strive to exceed the needs of our guests, and your praise lets us know we're doing our job. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another excellent experience at Balmoral Hotel Durban! Yours Sincerely!
Read more
MsimangaMR wrote a review Jan 2020
Harrismith, South Africa138 contributions22 helpful votes
Allowed early check-in. Check-in and check-out were smooth. We were moved to another room when we were not happy with the room that we were booked in. The room had good views of the beach. Bed was comfortable but the carpet was very old. The room was cleaned perfectly and linen was changed on daily basis. Hotel's housekeeping was one of the best I have experienced. Breakfast was good and food was fresh. The chef although she was friendly, she was very slow and we spent some time in the queue to order eggs. Hotel staff we came across was friendly and helpful. Parking space was limited and our car was parked at another location. The hotel was old, you could tell by its furniture, single slow lift and carpets.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Zama D, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for the amazing review, we're thrilled to hear you had such an outstanding stay with us! We always strive to exceed the needs of our guests, and your praise lets us know we're doing our job. Will convey your message to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another excellent experience at Balmoral Hotel Durban! Yours Sincerely!
Read more
Virginia P wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions5 helpful votes
A great old hotel on the beach. Staff are over-the-top friendly and competent. Security guards are kind and attentive. It's on the beach (across the road), and it's worth shelling out for a seaview room. Rooms spacious, bed comfortable, bathroom big and nice. Curries for dinner on the verandah were excellent. The neighbourhood is being cleaned up, but it is a bit dangerous- we sat out one night and watched drug deals and prostitutes until the wee hours. The waterfront area isn't as bad as a few streets back, which is full-on hectic. We appreciate the patience of the security guard who stood nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Zama D, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for the amazing review, we're thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience stay with us! We always strive to exceed the needs of our guests, and your praise lets us know we're doing our job. Will convey your message to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another excellent experience at Balmoral Hotel Durban! Yours Sincerely!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$47 - US$84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
balmoral hotel durban
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDurban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
95
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Balmoral Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Balmoral Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Spice Emporium, Durban (0.4 km), Egagasini (0.2 km), and Durban Art Gallery (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Balmoral Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Balmoral Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Balmoral Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lingela, California Dreaming, and Mustard Grill.
Does The Balmoral Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Balmoral Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Balmoral Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Durban.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Balmoral Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Balmoral Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Zulu.
Are there any historical sites close to The Balmoral Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Fort (1.4 km).