We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mackaya Bella Guest House

Save
Share
137 Penzance Road Glenwood, Durban 4001 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$67
View deal
ExpediaUS$67
TripadvisorUS$67
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 27/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mackaya Bella Guest House
Updated 27/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A 4-star, modern and environmentally friendly guest house serving bed and breakfast. Located in Glenwood, Durban, overlooking a tranquil park, we are known for our friendly hospitality, comfortable rooms, tasty breakfasts and indigenous garden. Local and international guests, business people, tourists, academics and visitors are all welcome. We have 6 double rooms with en-suite DSTV, free wi-fi, study desk plus all necessary amenities, 1 family room with its own kitchen, bathroom and patio, plus 2 smaller budget rooms. These rooms just have 1 x single bed, plus a small kitchenette and ensuite.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Ironing service
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
215Reviews3Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 163
  • 47
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
robinsonmaura wrote a review Yesterday
3 contributions
Although I arrived in the evening and left early the next morning (thus only slept there and had a quick breakfast), I really enjoyed my stay! The hosts were super welcoming, friendly and helpful, the room was cozy, and the guest house's location was ideal for my purposes. Would recommend!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
makepisichonco wrote a review 7 Apr
1 contribution
I was happy with the Guest house. The service was excellent. Staff (Sli) was very helpful and warm. Food should be changed and not have same menu for the whole month. I couldn't connect my laptop on wifi.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicki Mahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House
Responded 1 week ago
Many thanks Musa. Really appreciate your review. I'm sorry you had issues with connecting your laptop, even after we called our IT guy to try help resolve them for you. We thought we offered a selection of breakfast items to choose from, so if there was something you particularly liked and we were not offering it, we would certainly have tried to get it in for you. A lot of our guests are creatures of habit and stick to the basics, but any new suggestions are always welcome. Thanks again.
Read more
Derek S wrote a review 3 Apr
1 contribution
There were hairs in bed so we knew it had been slept in with no change of linen. It was about 10h30 at night, but the linen was changed after we declined moving to another room. The aircon didn't work. Other than that, no complaints.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicki Mahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Derek, Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review and for also awarding us 3 stars considering the unfortunate start to your stay here. Once again I profusely apologise for this. Due to Covid-19 the room had not been used for over 2 months, so a few days before your stay I asked our staff to do a deep, spring clean of your whole room. The day before your arrival I also mentioned that because the linen had been on the bed for so long without being used, it might be a bit musty or have dust on it, so asked for this to be cleaned & changed as well. I was therefore moritifed when you rang me late at night to say you had found hairs on your sheets and immediately changed all the linen. However, no excuses! With regards to the air conditioner not working, as soon as you alerted me about this the next morning I immediately called our A/C service guy and although he was busy and with short notice he did say he would try to squeeze a visit in that afternoon. When it became apparent he could not make it that same day, I did offer a fan instead, but due to cool weather you said it was not necessary. Turns out the unit had to be completely re-cabled, due to load shedding, and was fixed the next day. Once again, I really, humbly offer my sincere apologies.
Read more
adriaanbester2021 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Very nice place and friendly owners. aircon in the room was a live saver. the connectivity at the guest house is propper, very important for a business and attending virtual meetings. the breakfast are 100%
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicki Mahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks so much Adriaan for the lovely review. We've worked hard to make sure the Wifi is always on and working quickly (even during load shedding), as we understand how important this is especially during Covid :) Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Nicki & Mike
Read more
seokete wrote a review Feb 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Very nice place to be. Given a far change I will go again this time around with my family. I really enjoyed my stay in here. Their break fast is so delicious and breath taking. This place is so cool you can literally breath the air from the sea.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicki Mahony, Owner at Mackaya Bella Guest House
Responded 16 Feb 2021
Thanks for the nice commentsThabo. We've never had anyone mention the fresh air from the sea, so glad that you noticed it. We would love to have you and your family come next time.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$69 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDurban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mackaya Bella Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Mackaya Bella Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Phansi Museum (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mackaya Bella Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Mackaya Bella Guest House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mackaya Bella Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mackaya Bella Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mackaya Bella Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include parc, Goundens, and Glenwood Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mackaya Bella Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mackaya Bella Guest House have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mackaya Bella Guest House offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mackaya Bella Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Are there any historical sites close to Mackaya Bella Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Fort (4.7 km).