Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel

Lilong vu de la chambre
Traveller (653)
Dining (55)
Room & Suite (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#115 of 2,566 hotels in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Great View
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

No.59 Siping Road Hongkou, Shanghai 200080 China
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 76 out of 100
76
Pu Dong Airport
32.9 km
See all flights
Hongqiao Airport
15.9 km
See all flights
Hailun Road
3 minShanghai Metro
985Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 522
  • 317
  • 85
  • 33
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ren wrote a review Aug 2020
Shanghai, China918 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Still one of the best maintained properties in the Marriott chain of Shanghai. The club lounge is full functioning now marked by its personal hospitality tradition. Special thanks to Vivien and Nancy who are absolutely making the club lounge a wonderful place to enjoy ourselves. If you are going to find a hotel with beautiful bund view plus a bargain price, this Sheraton should top the list.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Downtown83 wrote a review Jul 2023
Nanjing, China497 contributions235 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We first planned to stay three nights and then changed to another hotel, but at the end we stayed 16 nights, especially because of the great service. The hotel is close to bund and pudong, but with very good price. Breakfast could be little better, but is ok. One waiter brought us every morning after seeing us and without us ordering our drinks, very nice. Also the front desk staff was very nice and helpful at any of our issues, one of best services we experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel Sheraton, Marketing at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Responded 24 Jul 2023
Thank you for your staying in our hotel and we look forward to being at you service again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Axhaut wrote a review Jan 2020
Helsinki, Finland11 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was Our second time at same hotel. Nice safe area. Nice staff st hotel. Good Italian restaurant @ hotel. Good bed, very nice cleaning, several time every day. Good roomservice. We eat two breckfast and one lunch at own room.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caroline11_888888888, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear axhaut, Thank you for your stay Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou hotel and for taking the time to share your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. If we can be of any assistance to make your next stay more memorable, please do not hesitate to let us know. Safe travels and stay well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annobon1 wrote a review Nov 2023
Douala, Cameroon100 contributions39 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was very disappointed by the front desk staff as soon as we first got into that hotel.
At that point I had already been in 5 stars hotels in Guangzhou, and Taiyuan and received amazing welcomes that I could clearly feel the difference when I arrived at the Sheraton in Shanghai, which by the way is the only non Chinese chain I had picked for this trip in China.
Just for this unprofessional behavior of the front desk staff, I strongly do not recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Henri D wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to an event of the city, a lot of policemen & bodyguards block the main antrance of the lobby. Without any explaination of the hotel, they are very rude & asked everyone 'what are you doing?'. We were juste back to our hotel. We are clients, not guilties.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel Sheraton, Marketing at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel, and for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our Hotel Executive Management to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to preventable the issues you mentioned from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelworld1170 wrote a review Jan 2012
Shenzhen, China285 contributions152 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall solid Sheraton – but relative to some of the reviews on here important to remember that we are talking about a Sheraton in a off-center (although quite convenient) location.
As a Platinum SPG member, received early check-in and an upgrade to a beautiful large Bund & Liujiazhui (Pudong) view suite on the top room floor. View from the room was incredible – later visited other Bund and Pudong area restaurant and hotels that offered great views, and quickly realized that what we could see from the coach of our hotel room exceeded any of them. The room offered a beautiful sitting area, multiple bathrooms including a large tub with built-in TV, and a good-size workspace. This upgrade was offered by probably one of the most helpful Starwood team members I’ve encountered in several hundred nights in 70+ Starwood properties across the world. Each time we encountered him in the lobby or Club Lounge he consistently was attuned to our needs and checking on our experience – even as we were on a free SPG points reservation.
However, beyond this it there were some deficits in the overall guest experience. As someone who has spent over a year in mainland China, has spent a night in at least 25+ Chinese provinces/equivalents, and is an advanced non-native Mandarin speaker, I dismissed the reviews on here stating that there is “nothing around” prior to arrival as relatively uninformed. However, upon spending 5 nights at this hotel as well as a handful of nights at another local option, I do need to say you’d be surprised how relatively “local” you can get in terms of options within even a short distance of the Bund. Yes, I did purchase a SIM card and try out local-oriented restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but there are really few options that are likely to please a sanitation or convenience focused Western tourist or businessperson within walking distance (I guess there is a McDonald’s just up the street If that is what you are looking for). We did run to the Bund from this hotel, finding a nice loop of probably 4-5 miles to the end of the pedestrian zone, which reaches a lot of more familiar options, but lot’s not overstate this. And of course as previously mentioned you are across the street from a subway junction, but these lines will require a transfer to many of the key sights in the city (although this is relatively convenient given the overall high frequency of subways in Shanghai).
Beyond the location, which despite some of my less-positive comments was workable (just want to caution people relative to some of the I would argue excessively ebullient reviews here), there were other deficits in the hotel. I’ve spent a considerable amount of time in China, from Heilongjiang to Tibet, from Xinjiang to Guangzhou, and been in my fair share of less than wonderful Chinese public toliets with their wonderous odors. I’m exaggerating slightly, but the smell from either of our toilets in Shanghai potentially resembled these experiences more than it did the well odorless experience I’d expect from a Western-flagged hotel. I’m unsure if this was the result of limited use of this suite (were the bathrooms just closed to frequently?) but hard to say this is of the Western 4-star or Chinese 5-star standard.
Above and beyond this, various aspects of the hotel construction and attention to detail make you wonder how well it will last. As a property opened within approximately the past year, there are no issues now, but from poor painting on the wall to beams in the building with chalk still indicating construction instructions you wonder if operations are sustainable. We also encountered a number of issues with the lock mechanism for our door, where we had to have maintenance personal visit our room repeatedly during our stay to correct (?) the card door lock as we were unable to access the room. Of course this happens on occasion, but having to deal with it several times in 36 hours is kind of a pain. English was often lacking in these situations, similar to what we encountered in the club lounge outside of our experiences with the previously mentioned expat service rep.
Overall, I feel this hotel is a strong value and a good property for the near future. I would caution potential guests however that you should be realistic – this location is currently listed as a top #10 Tripadvisor property in Shanghai, but this may be a bit of a bubble. It has significant drawbacks that need to be considered – whether in location or service that trails maybe some of the more established properties in town. It’s a Sheraton – some drawbacks, but you know what you are going to get.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sheraton_Hongkou, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2012
Dear boat1021, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I do remember you since I was the person who upgraded your room and served you as well in our Club Lounge (I remember you from your jogging sessions to the Bund). I have forwarded your comments to the related department heads and I can ensure you that we will take action on it. Please contact me whenever you plan to visit us again so that I could personally assign you a wonderful room. Kind regards Nitin Abbi Guest Service Manager gsm.hongkou@sheraton.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Behnam V wrote a review Apr 2015
Montreal, Canada266 contributions230 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had an excellent experience at the hotel.
our room was big and had very nice view their staff were very helpful and hotel location is very good and close to main attraction
The only negative point was break fast,they didn't have lots of international option
I had early flight and hotel made a good breakfast package
I definitely recommend
Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jairus z, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Responded 26 Apr 2015
Dear Behnam, We were thrilled to receive such wonderful comments from you. It is very exciting to know how much you have enjoyed our large room, nice view, convenient location and helpful service. Your valuable feedback regarding our breakfast has been shared with the F&B team for better practice in the future. We are really looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Thank you. Best Regards Sky Yuan Executive Assistant Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
P O wrote a review Jul 2012
Hong Kong, China109 contributions162 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed four nights at Sheraton Hongkou recently and must admit that it was a great choice among the other hotels in the area. The hotel is really new and the furnishings and fittings would fit that of a six star suite! Needless to say, the rooms were clean and tidy. The service was great with friendly hotel staff at front desk and housekeeping. I stayed in the SPG rooms and facing Pudong. Definitely recommend this hotel and be back again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Pudong.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GiacomoD77 wrote a review Dec 2016
Berlin, Germany327 contributions11,529 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been there for several days, during a long stay on that region. Nothing to say against, except some old air conditioner that nothing work properly and/or is to noisy. Rooms are very nice and comfortable. Everything is clean. Breakfast is fantastic. Taxi are always available. Good experience!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David C, General Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Responded 3 Feb 2017
Dear GiacomoD77, Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel. We are glad to know you really enjoyed our comfortable room. Your kind comment regarding club lounge has been shared with our team. As the noisy sound, we will send our enginer to check & solve the problem timely. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, David Cao General Manager Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary Lam wrote a review Apr 2015
Hong Kong, China17 contributions48 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel location is a bit off the central business district but it is only 2 minutes from the subway station. I spent 2 nights in this hotel.

The room is clean and OK. It took me 30-min to check in. Being spent 100+ nights in different SPG hotels, it is longest check-in time I experienced so far. However, it is not the worst yet.

After returned home and checked my credit card bill, I found that they charged me another CNY126 for unconsumed mini-bar items without notify me. Credit card recorded showed that they charged me 7-minutes after I settled the room bill. I was still in the hotel restaurant for lunch. If they called me, I could settle the mysterious mini-bar items in person.

Do expect long check time and also check your credit card statement when you return home to avoid unnoticed charges.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jairus z, Manager at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Responded 3 May 2015
Dear Gary, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It's regrettable to hear how disappointed you were during your stay. We apologize for the long check time you experienced during check-in and the overcharge is away below our normal standards. As our Front Desk Manager discussed with you via telephone, we will surely refund you. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations in the future. Thank you. Best Regards Sky Yuan Executive Assistant Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from trythealea
Cheshire104 contributions56 helpful votes
Not sure of distance from cruise terminal to hotel. We were in a guided party with transport. Didn't take us long to get to the Bund. It did take quite a while (rush hour) to get from airport to hotel.
Shadishaghaghi asked a question Mar 2016
2 contributions
Hello, what kind of breakfast do you have?
Answer from lcpteck
Singapore, Singapore472 contributions51 helpful votes
I try to eat a bit of everything while trying not to stuff myself. ;)
SNH48 asked a question Jul 2021
Hong Kong, China
工作人員能夠聽懂和說粵語嗎
chrisss wrote a tip May 2023
Hong Kong, China314 contributions35 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No tooth brush in the room, need to ask for it when you check in at front desk."
Read full review
Jerry Ng wrote a tip May 2019
Puchong, Malaysia27 contributions410 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Convenient Access to Shanghai"
Read full review
mrdmzh wrote a tip Apr 2019
Zurich, Switzerland7 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for city views"
Read full review
Aleksander D wrote a tip Feb 2019
13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"higher floors better views"
Read full review
Jaime H wrote a tip Oct 2018
Campbell, California178 contributions94 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The higher floors are the best"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Shanghai area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$726 - HK$780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ChinaShanghai RegionShanghaiSichuan Bei Lu (Sichuan North Road) / Puxi (Downtown Shanghai) / Hongkou
NUMBER OF ROOMS
471
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHERATON SHANGHAI HONGKOU HOTEL

Frequently Asked Questions about Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel?
Nearby attractions include SNH48 Theater (0.3 km), Jiajie international business Plaza (0.5 km), and Kaiphone Plaza (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oceans, Central Perk, and Azzurro Italian Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jing'an Temple (5.5 km), Shanghai Temple Of the Town God (Chenghung Miao) (3.6 km), and Shanghai Former Provisional Government Site of the Republic of Korea (4.6 km).
All Shanghai HotelsShanghai Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ShanghaiHotels near Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire