InterContinental Shanghai Expo

InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Traveller (637)
Basilico
Dining (37)
Presidential Suite
Room & Suite (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#57 of 2,569 hotels in Shanghai
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The InterContinental Shanghai Expo, located adjacent to the Huangpu River and Nanpu Bridge, offers 384 contemporary guest rooms, suites and villas featuring impressive river view and a Mirror TV in bathroom. The hotel is complemented by a spacious garden covering an area of 1,200 square meters, which creates a soothing and peaceful environment. The hotel also takes up the entire 4th floor for a healthy living space, including Balance Fitness, Spa InterContinental, a 25-meter swimming pool, a large whirlpool and an outdoor deck overlooking the Huangpu River. To speak of the villas, remodeled in a distillery of 1930’s, they are ideal for residence, meetings and events, where you can also explore The Liquor Factory, a British style bar with outdoor seating.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

1188 Xueye Road, Shanghai 200125 China
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 47 out of 100
47
Pu Dong Airport
29.4 km
See all flights
Hongqiao Airport
Nanpu Bridge
15 minShanghai Metro
1,008Review5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 656
  • 252
  • 64
  • 16
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
515charlie wrote a review Jul 2023
Singapore, Singapore
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very good business hotel, extremely convenient for exhibition of business near Expo / Shanghai Pudong New Area.

Checkin is very smooth, with dedicated IHG member counter. Front Desk Manager, Lucy, is very professional and polite. She gave me a Diamond member treat by upgrading me to a suit. The suite is nice, great river view, with big bath tub and nice Juta coffee machine.

Concierge is very helpful as well Mr. Hendrix, helped me to fix my Alipay issue, really let me fell very happy when a support is really needed: I wish to give me a big thumb up!

The hotel has good restaurant and bar, and it is a easy place to walk to the bank of river and a lot of restaurants there.

Overall this is a good run hotel with style and quality.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Get a room with river view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Norbert Kaliwe wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is adjacent to the Huangpu River with the charming river view in room. The staff who did the check-in for me was friendly and professional. She also gave me nice suggestion of my dinner. I strongly recommended to stay in this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ICSHEXPO-Ernst-Mayer, General Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear Noberttttttttt, Thank you so much for your review of InterContinental Shanghai Expo. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again for your review and hope to hear from you again. Kind Regards General Manager Ernst Mayer
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bookworm wrote a review Aug 2023
Oxford, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I usually stay at the nearby Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong for the night before flying from the airport, and so thought I’d give this one a try. They’re quite similar - but the Pudong version is more international, while the Expo version is more “Chinese”.

The check in team absolutely could not, at all, speak English - in fact, my terribly Chinese was better than their English, which is not a good sign! Thankfully, I was with a native speaker, and this unlocked a functional check in. If I were travelling alone, I would have been in difficulty. (The Pudong version speaks excellent English.)

Other “Chinese” factors: the a.c. level is set warmer here, as Chinese would find the cool level at the Pudong version of the hotel far too cold. As it was, this version seemed a little too warm for me - bring shorts and a t-shirt if you’re used to colder climes. The food is more Chinese in selection, and that can be a good thing.

As with the Pudong version, the rooms are quite small, as is typical for Shanghai. However, they are clean and well-kept, and we were upgraded to a room that had an astounding view of the Huangpu River, with its famous buildings on display.

In summary, it’s fine for the airport, but, if you’re a foreigner travelling alone, you’ll be more suited to the Intercontinental Shanghai Pudong, which is a similar distance drive (approx. 45 mins) from the airport.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don’t expect good tea - it’s teabags all the time way. And self service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
j c wrote a review Jan 2023
Shanghai, China
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Totally disgusted by the bad attitude and the rudest remark by a hotel gym staff. It must be the rudest and untrained staff my family and I have come across in all the hotels under IHG and other brands hotels. I reassure the gym staff my daughter would just sit and watch me work out and I promised she would not touch any equipment, which she didnt. I couldn’t leave my child in the hotel room alone as I was trying to explain to her. But the gym staff spoke in such an impolite and unprofessional manner. I was in total shock which I have never come across any service line in China. The room we were checked into was in such bad conditions too. It wasn’t equipped with a fridge and both the sliding doors to a cupboard were stuck that I couldn’t even access to the safe in the cupboard. When I called the front desk and questioned why they took extremely long time to get a fridge to my room until I have to make several calls to change another room. This was absolutely so ridiculous for a 5 star hotel who left their hotel guest with a child in a lurch with many luggages in the midst of changing room.

My family and I were so disappointed and embarrassed by these two nights stays and unhappy event at the gym. We never have issues with other intercontinental hotels but this hotel branch.

I suggest everyone not to choose Shanghai expo intercontinental for any of their business or family trips. There are way better choices of 5 stars hotels and even other brand 4 stars hotels in Shanghai which can provide much more better services and professional trained staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Spiekerman Rob, 总经理 at InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Responded 28 Jan 2023
Dear valued guest, Thank you very much for choosing stay at InterContinental Shanghai Expo. We are very sorry that you didn't experience a warm service from our hotel. I have discussed your feedback with the department heads concerned, to look into the depth of the issue and take the corrective measures. At the same time, enhance the training of the team member for overall improvement. We hope that you would treat the incident as an isolated one which does not reflect our overall service standards, and we could have the opportunity at your service again so that we could provide you with our promised service and I am confident that you would find the progress. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future. Yours sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PharoMarc wrote a review May 2014
Los Angeles, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
To start off I really hated the misleading "EXPO" in the title of this hotel, almost all expose now are held in the Shanghai new international expo center which is a long ride by taxi, take 20 to 30 minutes and traffic is pretty bad, it is even more painful after a full day of walking and meeting at the expo and then you have to wait for a taxi and endure another 30 minutes of driving to the hotel. Unfortunately for me, I mistakenly thought the "Expo" in the hotel is due to its proximity to the actual expo cite. In Shanghai finding Taxi is challenging to say the least, finding a taxi willing to take you to this hotel was a major pain, It was especially hard to convince drivers to take us to this hotel as the location is very far from city center so most taxis did not want to go there. To make matters worse the hotel is far from any metro station, it is a minimum of a 20 minutes’ walk which is not good especially with the cold rainy weather of shanghai, or the crazy hot few weeks of summer. The hotel itself is a cold business hotel, The rooms look good, but they were designed with form over function IMO. I especially hated the cramped claustrophobic shower compartment and restroom compartment. We stayed in a none smoking floor but the smell of people smoking was choking us in our room, one of the other guests next room was definitely smoking in his room and it gets in the central AC, we tried to point it out to the receptionist as we saw our "smoking” neighbor several time as just walking by his room you can smell the smoke but they never bothered to do anything. Again the breakfast restaurant and varied selection looked good, but the service and the quality of the food was mediocre. Every day of the 5 days we stayed there we never sat at a table with full set of utensils, every day we had to flag some of the staff to get us the missing fork or spoon. And good luck trying to get a refill on the inconsistent coffee. One day the coffee was insanely bitter, one day they brought us the coffee lukewarm, another day it was watered-down like someone just added some hot water to a cup that had little coffee left in it. I think even if our suppliers was paying for the hotel I would rather pay to stay somewhere else. Definitely not coming back. The one positive note is the staff was professional and spoke adequate English but at a 5 stare hotel it is not really a plus, but the minimum expectation. The hotel should provide a shuttle service to the “New Expo” location or at the very least offer some transportation to the nearest metro station. And please get a decent manager with some experience to manage the breakfast staff.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: make sure to check out the location before you book here. It is very inconvenient unless you have...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Yoyo W, General Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Responded 14 May 2014
Dear PharoMarc, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. Our hotel is located in the middle of Pudong area, 10 minutes away from Lujiazui trade zone and 20 minutes away from city center of Shanghai. We have the bus station next to our hotel with 2 minutes walk , there are bus no.1049 and no.1048. We would like to apologize for the bad experience at our outlets as it is not the norm, nor indicate of the type of service we pride ourselves at our hotel. If you would, please contact us at our hotel email via expo@ihg.com so that we can further assist you. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience all the upgrades and transformation in the near future as we know we will definitely meet your expectation the next time! Warmest Regards, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
yycflip wrote a review Feb 2019
Calgary, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been to Shanghai a few times but this was my first time staying in this property.

The check in experience was very efficient and Judy was very welcoming and friendly. My membership status was acknowledged and benefits of staying in a club room was also enumerated and explained. She also mentioned that I was given an upgrade to a suite overlooking the city skyline and the river. She also gave me the customary welcome drink coupons and another discount coupon to any of the in-house restaurants. Simon from the concierge desk helped us with our luggage and offered to give us recommendations on where to go and what to do for the Chinese New Year's Eve celebrations. He was also very friendly and very welcoming. Our luggage was brought to the room in no time at all.

The room was simply amazing and the views were indeed spectacular and tastefully decorated with amazing photos of the bygone era of Shanghai all displayed over the place, even in the bathrooms. The Shanghai skyline was perfectly framed by the floor to ceiling windows both from the living room and the bedroom. The spacious foyer was tastefully decorated and on the side was the half bath. The spacious living area had a big sofa and a lounge swivel chair that was used a few times just to admire the incredible views. The desk area was strategically tucked away on the side and it had everything that one needs to do some work if so desired. The entertainment wall system hid the coffee and tea stations with the mini bar and cups and wine glasses neatly tucked away in their own sliding drawers. The bedroom itself was massive with a few closet areas, good enough for guests to store their belongings even when staying long term. The massive bathroom had a round soaker tub, separate water closet and shower area. I love the toiletries as always but was a little bit surprised on the miniature versions, rather than the bigger version that I came to expect when staying in club room or suite, especially in China. However, it wasn't a big deal as they left enough toiletries to last us a few days.

The welcome gift of assorted fruits and nuts and pastries were already on the coffee table when we got to the room and also, the room was already turned down for the night - slippers left on both sides of the bed and robes hanging on the bathroom walls. Wow! Everything was well thought of for the guests to have a comfortable stay!

Before heading out for the night, we visited the Club InterContinental to have drinks and light meal and the food offering, although not as elaborate as the other two InterContinental properties in the city that we have stayed in before, were very good and quite satisfying. Drink selections were amazing and I had almost a bottle of champagne for myself. The lounge was massive and tastefully decorated and it has a second floor. Again, the views were simply spectacular. I could have sat still by the window to do nothing but sip champagne and admire that mesmerizing views. Ramon and his colleagues were also very efficient and helpful. We stayed for a few minutes and headed off to enjoy the festivities in Yuyuan Garden and the Bund. We came to the lounge once again before heading to bed and Ramon was still there and we chatted for a big until the lounge closed. We came back again for breakfast the next day and checked out the food offerings but we opted to go to the buffet downstairs as we wanted a little bit more selections. Although the breakfast offerings at the club lounge were plentiful, we did enjoy the massive selections at the Café 1811. We went back to the lounge once again for the afternoon tea before heading out to our next destination. Honestly speaking, this was one of my favourite Club InterContinentals because of the views and the friendly staff and of course, the ambiance. Although massive in terms of space but one can find intimate corner to have a quite conversation.

I have been to over 60 countries and a stayed in few InterContinental properties and this property is one of my favourites! Will definitely come back if I'm in the city once again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Choose a club room. The extra money is worth it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer T, Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Responded 10 Feb 2019
Dear yycflip, We loved having you here with us, and we’re thrilled to see that you perfectly enjoyed your time here in Shanghai! Thanks for your comments. We can’t thank you enough for recommending us to others, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon! Marketing Communications Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mytrips wrote a review Nov 2016
Scottsdale, Arizona
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Concierge were rude & not the least friendly. I asked to go to Hyatt on the Bund & the cab driver took me to Park Hyatt instead because the concierge had told him the wrong hotel! We asked one other concierge to take a group picture of us. He simply walked away because he was busy. One of us had to walk back to the concierge desk to ask him again to take a pic for us.
Breakfast at the cafe was good but service was inconsistent.
The Italian restaurant was alsolutely terrible. They served us bad fish. They 'found' out that the fish wasn't properly stored when we complained. But they served it anyways?? We returned the fish obviously. There was only 3 tables max when we were dining but it took forever to get our food. And no one even bothered to check in us or let alone refill our water. The restaurant was going to comp a free desert for one of the 2 guys who ordered fish & expected them to share. So we complained again and finally they gave the other guy his own free desert. I walked out to use the bathroom & complained to the manager on duty on how horrible serve was (he could not care less) & asked for more water for our table. I returned to the table and still no water!
Let's talk about the meeting space. First day we had AV issue. So I had to ask 5 times over 4 hours span for the AV guy. No one bother to tell me they were 'planning' to fix it during our lunch break. We had 3 full day meeting there and the room was bloody hot. They couldn't do much until the last day when they gave us a small fan. I was definitely not expecting such terrible service from an Intercontinental hotel. What a disappointment. Oh our contract had discounted rate 3 days pre & post conference date but we couldn't use it because the hotel was 'full'. And we thought we were going to a preferred hotel that we had business relationship with. Terrible mistake, your hotel is only interested in $ not relationship with any company. Our group was having a really long and expensive night cap at the whiskey bar. The waiter came up to me & asked me if I was responsible for the group because we racked up almost 5000 Yen. I guess he was afraid that we could not pay? I gave it 2 rating because of its close proximity to the expo center - about 5 min taxi ride but the hotel provides scheduled shuttle to the expo.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Responded 22 Nov 2016
Dear Melly T, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm so sorry that you were disappointed with us. I have already communicated with the executive management, and we will enhance the staff English training and awareness of active service, whatever for concierge or staffs in Basilico restaurant. I am so surprisedly that you had bad food in our restaurant. This situation should not be appeared in InterContinental hotel, so I am really sorry to you and InterContinental brand, and we won't have this problem anymore. I am still sorry about the interrupts during your meeting due to the AV problem. Our engineering has already repaired it so that you will not meet this problem next time. For the issue that our waiter told you that you have expended RMB 5000, I firstly apologize to you for his rudeness. He did not mean that you had no ability to pay for the bill, he just wanted to make sure who is in charge of your group in case everyone were in drunk. However, I am still so sorry about all of these problems you met when you stayed at our hotel. Thank you again for your kind feedback. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Shelley Fan Marketing Communications Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RAMB72 wrote a review May 2015
Beijing, China
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
... that makes the difference.
I left IC Expo just today after a wonderful 2 nights stay for biz trip to SHA. Decided to write this review because I've seen many other reviews on that hotel, often talking about the secluded location and the difficulty to get a cab in the morning, which I cannot fully support and is partially not fair. I have chosen this place on purpose by multiple reasons. I've never been at IC Expo before and simply want to try out, while the location of the hotel was not at all a problem in regard to the place I'm would be going to do my work. Of course I did some research before my decision to book and have been pretty aware where it is situated. I can just recommend travelers to do the same instead of just going somewhere and rate low afterwards. By the way, just in case there is a wrong impression now on the location of the hotel ... you can reach all typical sightseeing places around the bund in 15-30 minutes. No big deal for Shanghai and there is really not a problem. If someone seek for bars, huge shopping malls and pulsating life on the road right in front should indeed not select this place.
I have been upgraded at check-in, as the extremely professional, friendly and focused duty manager Mr. Wang explained to me. I really enjoyed this wonderful room and its simply overwhelming view. Check out the enclosed images.
An interesting point I need to mention here. I realized inside my IHG APP, when checking the total price info prior to settle the bill (naturally almost at the end of my stay), I've been upgraded to a Club Room which also meant I would have had Club Lounge access, but a pity this particular information doesn't reach me at check-in. There is a saying "do good and talk about it". Referring to this I would recommend to really highlight (in my case complimentary-) benefits towards the guest, otherwise he/she/me doesn't even know about and all efforts from hotel and/or group (to reward brand loyal guests for instance) run into emptiness. In my case no problem anyway since even with the knowledge on the Club access I haven't had enough time to enjoy it.
Back to my stay. I would like to particularly mention the great sleep quality I've experienced, which is an essential criteria for frequent travelers to reselect a hotel. The combination of well selected mattress, pillow, sheet and blanket made me sleep simply like in heaven.
A little soooo nice detail need to be described in this review as well. On the evening before the last night I found a little card from housekeeping team on my bed. On it some greetings and words of thank and best wishes. Things like that doesn't "change the world" but these little details let guests (at least me) feel well taken care of.
Over the entire stay I've always encountered friendly, motivated, supportive (and apparently well trained) hotel employees. Breakfast quality and selection was absolutely good, as you would expect from a 5* IC. A few words on the taxi "issue". The hotel management placed little notification cards on the desk in every room in order to inform on occasional difficulties guests may have to get a cab and to consider an earlier departure. I think this indicates the responsibility the management shows in this regard. In my case there were no problem at all to get a taxi for both days, especially to be mentioned at the second morning since the hotel has been almost fully booked.
Over-all: very good value for money, well maintained rooms, great staff and a wonderful view let me come to the conclusion as soon as work brings me back to this area in SHA I'm going to return IC Expo again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If possible take a river view room!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer T, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Responded 25 May 2015
Dear Distinguished Guest, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We're quite happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. InterContinental Shanghai Expo is located adjacent to Huangpu River and Nanpu Bridge, which is also connected with several tunnels, therefore, the transportation is quite convenient. Thanks to the location, 70% guest rooms features the impressive view of the Huangpu River. The Club Lounge is a must-try in this hotel, so it's pity that you cannot experience it last time. We highly recommend you try it when you come back next time. Thank you again for choosing us. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WorldTraveller1964 wrote a review Sept 2014
Angeles City, Philippines
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, the room/suite I finally had (2102) was good, after staying for 3 nights in a suite where the temperature went up in the middle of the night to 25.5 degrees so i woke up sweating!

Let's start at the arrival: No Acknowledgement for my colleague and me, both Royal Ambassadors. Instead, a whole discussion about why we could not have breakfast foc (which i actually always get, check my reviews about Intercontinental Paris, Singapore, Bali and Manila), so we were a bit flabbergasted and disappointed already at check in.

My initial room 901 was spacious and really nice, I must say, very nice. The complimentary fresh fruit basket for Royal was a JOKE, some small apples in a bowl, really?? All for me?? see picture of the joke.

No comment on the room at all other than that i woke up every night because the aircon in the room turned from cold, suddenly to hot in the middle of the night. From 20 to 25.5 .......... so after that first night, I asked the reception to make sure my aircon was set at a fixed 20 degrees for the coming night so I could catch up on lost sleep. No Way, they didn't do anything, so I asked engineering to come and set my aircon to 20, and they would follow up after 30 mins for the aircon to adjust, makes sense. No follow up, No cool room again!! In the morning I got really upset, and they ASSURED ME that for night number 3 it would be fixed and monitored. When I arrived that evening, the room was cool indeed, but again, at around 3 am, woke up sweating ....... 25.5 AGAIN!!! I called the reception, furious that they promised things they cannot fulfill! I didn't feel like switching room at 3.30 AM (had to get get at 6.30 everyday for my Conference) so I told them the next day I demanded another room.

When I got back that evening, they had 2102 ready so I moved there. No apology nothing it seemed like a normal happening. 2102 was perfect, the aircon even made it through the night.
Disappointing that the hotel didn't ''do'' anything to make me feel happy again after three sleepless nights ....... a mere bottle of wine could have turned me around.

Ok, there were also positive things about this hotel. only 15-20 mind to EXPO. Breakfast was ok, only if it was busy, the hotel seemed incapable of replenishing fast enough, so they regularly ran out of cold cuts n cheeses, dairy products etc, not fitting a 5 star property!!!!

A special remark about Miss Ann Wang if I'm correct, excellent service and always with a smile, she was the only one who really stood out in the whole group of staff we encountered. And she spoke English well!! The evening buffet was good, enough variation. The Chinese restaurant was very good!!!

All 'n all, I think the hotel needs to improve its service from arrival on especially for loyal ''Ambassadors'' like us. Then have rooms checked before arrival, and don't put the wrong name on the key cards (mine had a Mr. Yang on it) and please, a nice fruit basket costs nothing, better then these lousy apples, really?? The concierge desk attendants were nice too by the way, friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: try to get a room facing the river!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer T, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Responded 17 Sept 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you feel less than pleasant during your stay in our hotel. We do apologize for the inconvenience that our staffs and facilities especially the aircon brought to you and we will pass your feedback and suggestion to the Engineering and other relevant departments directly, and if you have more details to tell, you can also send an email to ihg@expo.com. As for the little apples you mentioned, they are not "apple" actually. They are a kind of local Chinese date which are tasty and nutritive. On the other hand, thank you very much for your recognition for our staff Ann Wang and comment for the Chinese restaurant. Thank you again for staying in our hotel and we do hope that you can come back again. Sincerely, Jennifer Tang Marketing Communications Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim S wrote a review Feb 2013
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well we checked in to InterContinental Expo Shanghai Tuesday last week for a staycation .

From the moment we arrived at the hotels reception, we were embraced with attention to detail by all the staff lead by the General Manager Mr James Koratzopoulos , what a fine upstanding Gentleman he is, nothing is too much of a problem for him or his team.

The arrival to the room was quick and efficient, the kids had cheese cakes on sticks which they devoured without hesitation, we had a pile of Cherries and Macaroons that were to die

The hotel was busy with plenty of people having the same plan as ours , some time out in Shanghai .

The experience we had was top notch truly 5 star and more . The kids loved the buffet, as usual food was fantastic everywhere. We were greeted by the new Executive Chef Sam Kung .. Great to see the Executive chef being involved with the staff and being hands on in a busy breakfast.

We are keen Indian Food Lovers and having lived many years in the Middle east, the Indian food has to be some of the best in Shanghai..If you like Indian food, get yourself down to cafe 1188 it is simply to die for.

Well it was sad to leave the hotel and back to our apartment in Shanghai, I can highly recommend InterContinental Expo Shanghai and a place to entertain, relax or just a causal dinner with family and friends or sneak away for the weekend and enjoy the Sunday Brunch.

Thanks to the team Mr Koratzopoulos well done, as they say in the navy you surly do run a tight Ship congratulations

Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachel L, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Responded 18 Feb 2013
On behalf of our General Manager Mr. James Koratzopoulos and our management team, we would like to thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to share your complete experience with us as well. We are pleased you had such a good time here and will be continually striving to improve our services. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future! Once again, thank you very much.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Richard D
Chicago, Illinois66 contributions48 helpful votes
Neelio45 is correct. This property is not close to the Bund.
Manish J asked a question Feb 2016
Mumbai, India76 contributions29 helpful votes
any india restaurant nearby walking distance . how far
Answer from donalmca
Carlow, Ireland324 contributions114 helpful votes
Not a lot within walking distance I'm afraid. I would imagine you will require a taxi.
megumiasa asked a question Nov 2017
Tokyo, Japan1 contribution21 helpful votes
What is the best way to get to the hotel?
reindeer2006 asked a question Mar 2016
helsinki13 contributions1 helpful vote
Kuinka kaukana Shanghai international expo?
신지원(소담) asked a question Oct 2014
Seoul, South Korea19 contributions3 helpful votes
푸동 공항에서 대중교통편은 없나요?
Bookworm wrote a tip Aug 2023
Oxford, United Kingdom188 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t expect good tea - it’s teabags all the time way. And self service."
Read full review
515charlie wrote a tip Jul 2023
Singapore, Singapore33 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room with river view."
Read full review
Stanley Leung wrote a tip Aug 2021
San Francisco, California973 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best to book a River View Room."
Read full review
Franz Joseph D wrote a tip Aug 2019
9 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great room view overlooking the river."
Read full review
tamio wrote a tip Mar 2019
The Villages, Florida62 contributions86 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Club floors are on the top"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Shanghai area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$1,000 - HK$1,679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental shanghai expo hotel shanghai
LOCATION
ChinaShanghai RegionShanghaiPudong / Nanmatou Lu (Nanmatou Road)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
384
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INTERCONTINENTAL SHANGHAI EXPO HK$875 (H̶K̶$̶1̶,̶0̶0̶0̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental Shanghai Expo?
Nearby attractions include Power Station of Art (0.7 km), Nanpu Bridge (1.0 km), and Liquor Factory at InterContinental Shanghai Expo (0.05 km).
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental Shanghai Expo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Café 1188 at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, Sheng HuiTang Restaurant, and Basilico Restaurant (Shanghai Expo Luxury Hotel).
Are there any historical sites close to InterContinental Shanghai Expo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jing'an Temple (6.2 km), Shanghai Temple Of the Town God (Chenghung Miao) (3.2 km), and Shanghai Former Provisional Government Site of the Republic of Korea (3.5 km).
All Shanghai HotelsShanghai Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ShanghaiHotels near InterContinental Shanghai Expo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire