We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel

Save
Share
21196 East Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (440)
Room & Suite (164)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 28 hotels in Gulf Shores
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel, a unique destination located on Alabama's Gulf Coast and part of the Gulf State Park. Our location offers all the perks of a beachfront location as well as a host of park amenities such as hiking and biking trails, a 900-acre fishing lake, nature center and outdoor classroom, interpretive center, tennis, kayaking, paddleboards, geocaching, guided nature walks, birding, and several playgrounds. Choose from a guest room or suite with beach or park views, each with a spacious tub or shower and 50-inch TV. Our suites feature a private balcony, some with bunk beds to better accommodate the entire family. Dine in or outdoors while enjoying beautiful gulf views from our onsite restaurants. Room service is available 6am - 12am daily, or relax in our Lobby coffee and wine bar overlooking the beach. Everything you need is right here. Exercise in our fitness center, or take a dip in the infinity pool.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
640Reviews59Q+A89Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 408
  • 117
  • 61
  • 31
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
joshhartzog53 wrote a review 16 Oct
Baton Rouge, Louisiana1 contribution1 helpful vote
We brought out bikes and ride them through the state park. It was very nice. We stopped and ate at Woodfire restaurant the food and environment were excellent. The hotel was very nice and clean. The views and food were amazing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lodge Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Hi joshhartzog, Sounds like a awesome getaway Josh! Thank you for your review. Guests at The Lodge have nature at their at their doorstep and we are thrilled to hear you loved biking in beautiful Gulf State Park and relaxing with a great meal and environment at Woodside Restaurant. And after returning to The Lodge, you enjoyed the incredible views and the delicious dining outlets. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
avsbe7 wrote a review Aug 2021
Apple Valley, Minnesota20 contributions14 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We loved this hotel. It is beachfront and the beach in this area is not loaded with hotels. There is a nice pool as well. There is also a pier in walking distance with fishing and food. Rooms were in great condition. The hotel is spread out - I have seen comments in reviews about walking distance. We are in our 40s with 5 kids all teen/young adult age and this was no problem at all for us. But if you have walking issues this would be something to consider. We really liked the emphasis on sustainability and the plaques around explaining things. Lobby is beautiful. There is a long porch off the lobby facing the ocean with rocking chairs that is beautiful! We would absolutely book this hotel again. We ate in Gulf Shores as a family of 7 is expensive at hotel restaurants. Gulf Shores was very easy to get around and much less congested than FL. Speaking of big groups or families - you’ll need 2 rooms. They had no rooms big enough in this hotel to fit 7 people.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lodge Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Hi avsbe, We are so thrilled that we assisted in creating such a wonderful getaway experience for you! Thank you so much for your wide ranged feedback. We are pleased to hear you loved our easy access to the uncrowded beach, relaxing pool area, modern rooms, gorgeous lobby and the deck just outside the check-in area which offers peaceful views of the Gulf of Mexico. Thank you for your additional comments regarding the spread out nature of the hotel. We agree, the walking is a matter of minutes and offers amazing views while heading to your room. Thanks again for your review. We look forward to greeting you with a smile again soon!
Read more
Ashley G wrote a review 13 Oct
16 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
The property and beach were absolutely amazing. SO many amenities, a bar, and restaurants. PROS: Free bike rentals - one bike per phone. Ping pong poolside, as well as a bar and a gift shop. Beach is not crowded and right next to Gulf State Park Pier. Pool is beautiful-infinity edge and HANDICAPPED ACCESSIBLE. Views from the room. Are incredible ( but crickets are louddddd) TOWELS SMELL AMAZING, and I mean I LOVED it. Staff was very friendly and you could TEXT them to request towels etc. Short walk to the beach. Beds were lovely. Has a fridge but NO microwave on the premises that we could fine. Ice machines Bathroom was big! CONS: pool wasn't very deep, and the lighting was terribly dark. The poolside bar closed at 6pm. Ungodly walk from your car to hotel. So unload before you head to park your car. Not within walking distance to anything- but if you know the area, you know the state park is just a walk over the bridge! I wish I could have stayed longer !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Unload luggage to your room before you park ( they allow it :) ) Pool is really dark in the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lodge Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Ashley, We are so thrilled that we assisted in creating such a wonderful getaway experience for you! We appreciate your array of compliments for our numerous amenities, including easy access to the uncrowded beach, complimentary bike share program, kids games and activities poolside, amazing views of the Gulf of Mexico and Gulf State Park, spacious bathrooms, handicapped accessible pool, our friendly and helpful staff and amazing awesome towels! We also appreciate your additional feedback. Please allow us to address your concerns: The depth of the pool allows for guests of all ages to enjoy the pool and be safe. Dragonfly Pool Bar is open until sunset in the summer months and closes a bit earlier in the Fall season. We understand your concern with parking. With parking located on the west side of the hotel grounds, no guest rooms overlook the parking lot. All guest rooms have one of two spectacular views…either the majestic Gulf of Mexico or gorgeous Gulf State Park and Lake Shelby. We do apologize if the walk seemed excessive. And finally, our ideal beachfront location inside beautiful Gulf State Park offers a relaxing and tranquil getaway for our guests, with no condo towers or other buildings on either side of the hotel. Thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to greeting you with a smile again soon!
Read more
wetlandtom wrote a review 13 Oct
Johns Creek, Georgia26 contributions23 helpful votes
Room overlooking pool was very loud because of kids playing all day and up to midnight. Would not make that mistake again. Surprised at the number of little issues that kept popping up. Outstanding staff and beautiful facilities, but there were problems in the details. Incredible poor excuse for oysters for dinner at the Food Craft...did not know it was legal to harvest oysters smaller than a nickel! Could not get temperature in room adjusted above 62 degrees for 2 nights. Handicap accessible door did not work on lobby floor going out to patio. Asked for room to be cleaned and that was ignored. Pool lights kept flashing off and on most of the night several nights and when asked for help was told that front desk did not know who was in charge of lights. And disappointed that for all my points I turned in for a couple of nights was only given discount on those two nights. But your highlight is the excellent valet staff you have. Superb!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking pool unless you want a lot of noise.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lodge Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi wetlandtom, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments for our gorgeous facilities and staff associates, however we regret to hear we did not meet your overall expectations. We understand your disappointment with fellow guests who were loud by the pool and not considerate of others. The pool closes at 10 pm, and should have had minimal noise in that area through the night. Please accept our most sincere apology regarding the temperature in your room. Thank you for letting us know. We will be sure to have engineering follow up with an inspection. We also appreciate your feedback about the handicapped door and pool lights. Thanks again for your comments and praise for our staff associates. We value hearing about the items we do well, in addition to the areas we can improve.
Read more
Lapolla wrote a review 10 Oct
Tulsa, Oklahoma78 contributions202 helpful votes
This hotel has a fabulous location on the Gulf of Mexico and a wonderful physical plant. We looked forward to three relaxing days at the property. But it is not staffed or managed to deliver services justifying the $1,600 we paid for three nights. The Food and Beverage service is a train wreck. For two of the three nights the restaurants were simply unable to seat us. They suggested we use Door Dash or pizza delivery - or take a shuttle to another restaurant. We ate snack mix on Friday night and freezer sandwiches Sunday evening. We get they have problems, but we suggest they reduce their rates - or reduce the occupancy - or both until they figure it out. Oh. Housekeeping services are by request only. Did we mention we paid $530 per night? The staff that is working, is working hard, But management has put them in a no-win situation. We wanted to give the property a five star rating. They only earned two. We check out tomorrow and will be going to Waffle House for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get the valet parking. Ask for Room 220. Make an advanced reservation for every meal you expect...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Lodge Public Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Lapolla, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you acknowledging our perfect beachfront location inside beautiful Gulf State Park. We regret to hear we did not meet your overall expectations. We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory dining experience at Foodcraft. We appreciate your suggestions for our food and beverage team and will be sure to relay your feedback. The hotel and restaurants were indeed busy over the weekend. Please accept our most sincere apology for the wait time for a table. For future visits, the hotel offers complimentary tram rides to Woodside Restaurant, a unique and popular eatery just minutes from The Lodge. Woodside features fun for the entire family, including entertaining backyard games and live local music. Also, the gift shop located adjacent to the front desk also offers snacks and beverages. During guests stay, housekeeping services are available upon request, as that is Hilton's new practice. We understand that this is a difficult time in the service industry and we strive to provide the same level of service and hospitality to all of our guest who make the choice to travel during this time. We also appreciate your additional feedback regarding rates. The hotel's rates are comparable to similar level of service hotels on the Gulf Coast. Thanks again for your comments. Your feedback helps us with training our associates and assists overall operations. We do appreciate your patronage and hope to see you on a future visit to Gulf Shores.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$171 - US$383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesAlabamaGulf Shores
NUMBER OF ROOMS
350
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gulf State Park (2.3 km), Hugh S. Branyon Backcountry Trail (6.1 km), and Pirate's Island Adventure Golf (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gulf Shores Seafood, Hope's Cheesecake, and Sunset Cork Room.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Swift- Coles Historic Home (9.1 km) and Indian Village Achuse (14.5 km).
Does The Lodge at Gulf State Park, a Hilton Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.