Cabanas Rio Encantado

Cabanas Rio Encantado

Via Principal a Caldera a Lado del Puente del Rio Caldera, Boquete 0413 Panama
Traveller (38)
Pool & Beach (8)
Another sunset begins
Room & Suite (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 9 lodges in Boquete
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
37Reviews6Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rogier de Haan wrote a review Aug 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Most beautiful and memorable place by far during our trip through Panama. Frank is a real character; he could easily replace Harrison Ford in the next Indiana Jones movie. The other way around? I don't think so. We stayed in the treehouse and cottage 3, which has a beach at the river, with a waterfall to climb in. Very private. We only went off the property to buy groceries -be sure to rent a car! Thanks a lot Frank and José!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: tree house: no wifi (the cotteges do have wifi though), very private, but you must be able to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter H wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Without a doubt, Frank's place was the most fun I have ever had. It was even better than watching Indiana Jones robbing graves and tombs, and the atmosphere was worth the 88 hour, 4,600 mile drive. The other patrons were pleasant to be around as well.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeroen_uit_Breda wrote a review Jul 2018
The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Yes it is a few kilometres from Boguete and no, there is no breakfast included ... but this resort is no much more! This place is a small paradise and well designed. The cottages are fully equipped to prepare your own food including microwave, oven, blender, toaster and much more! You can swim in the big pool but much better, the river! It has crystal clear water and the owners created ‘Tarzan-jump’ platform that allows you to jump from the side into the river: just fab!! There is a small supermarket 1 kilometre down the road to do your groceries. Boguete is 20 minutes by taxi and cost about 12 dollars. We believe cottage 1 is the best one to book :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Faria R wrote a review Sept 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would love to say it was an amazing experience, since the grounds and architecture is beautiful and well kept, although communication and treatment was poor at best. I have traveled all over the world and have never been told you that can only reach the workers within the hours of 8am-6pm. Therefore, if one has flight or transportation delays you will not get in, even though you paid. In my case, the owner responded very rudely and annoyed since I arrive at 6:30pm. I needed help leaving the property for dinner since the key they gave me had difficulties opening the gate, he was clearly choleric.
You definitely need a car to go to this location.
One of the reasons why I decided to go to rio encantado was because in other reviews people mentioned that for a price, the bartender would make drinks or cook near the pool. That was not the case, wren I went. I was there two nights and every time they saw my family and I they walked away. The menu was on the counter of the bar, just no person was there to help us.
I have to say, the grounds are very well kept, clean and tidy. The sofa beds and pillows need some updating, since it was pretty uncomfortable.
When I went to the city, locals mentioned that there was a guy that used to work there and he was the life of the place, cooked here and there, and also prepared drinks, but he is no longer there.
Needless to say, I do not recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeepCF wrote a review Apr 2018
Coulsdon, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is like nothing you have ever seen and was such a great experience ... the cabins are better than our Canadian wood cottages more like a little house. Aircon works fans bbq full kitchen and refrigerator.. Alessandro is the best and so is the German bar tender ... it’s a place not to party but to relax.

If I were to minus points it would be because ... you need a car it’s 20mins from Boquete but not a walk ... there are no shops or places to get food near by, so stock up with everything you need.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Larke N wrote a review Mar 2018
Duncan
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This gorgeous place on the Caldera River fifteen minutes from Boquete is fabulous. Cabins or the most unique treehouse in the world to rent or go with a day pass. Swim in the pool, or the river, go ziplining, cross the suspension bridge, go bird watching or on nature hikes. Stunning tropical landscape, immaculately clean, friendly helpful staff. Onsite bar. Quiet and serene.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There is no restaurant here but you can bring your own picnic or cook your own meals if renting...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merri M wrote a review May 2016
St. Petersburg, Florida
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a full week in Cottage #2. What a fantastic place! The only thing lacking was a restaurant and bar and that is being implemented as I write - then it will get the full 5 rating. Frank and Jose have a lovely spot that is fairly close to Boquete. Once the restaurant is there, then there will be no need to leave. We swam in the river and sat under a waterfall. The pool was great. Our room was comfortable and we did not need the air conditioning at all. And the privacy was an unexpected perk. Frank and Jose are wonderful hosts.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Cottage 3 is right on the river. Cottage 2 is very private. Cottage 1 has 2 bedrooms. And the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandy D wrote a review Aug 2022
Winter Haven, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This natural Preserve was the best place ever, we had a cottage with the view of the river so you can hear the water running all night which was so calming and stress free. The staff was amazing, and Jose was always there every time we needed a taxi food or any information about the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I would stay closer to the pool so you don't have to go up or down the hill.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pickleliner wrote a review Dec 2019
Toronto, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just completed an 8 night stay at Rio Encantado. It was an incredible experience. Coffee by the river in the morning, followed by daily jungle treks. Sometimes we swam in the river in front of our cabin, other times we swam in the pool and socialized with others. In the evening we would kick back and gaze at the night sky in awe. The online pictures could never truly reflect the beauty of the awesome nature reserve. The staff was great and always available to help. The owner Frank is a beautiful soul and probably the most interesting person I have ever met. We would definitely recommend.

D&D from Canada
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kent F F wrote a review Nov 2018
Osage, Iowa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This really is a wonderful place to stay and relax. We spent 3 very enjoyable days here and really had a most pleasant stay. I will avoid repeating all the great things others have said but I will say that the owner Frank is a most colorful character and we really enjoyed the time we spent with him. He did some very nice things for us.

Do go in to Caldera just to see the village and eat at Melissa's. Simple and inexpensive meals but very good. And Melissa is very tolerant of poor Spanish. A stop there is a good way to see life in rural Panama.

All in all, no this is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the jungle in a very civilized way. Try it and you will be glad you did.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
abwindow asked a question Feb 2017
Valparaiso, Indiana
does the tree house have a refrigerator
Answer from johnP6555JW
Dominical, Costa Rica58 contributions20 helpful votes
Yes, there's a complete kitchen, rancho style, at ground level, separate of the tree house.
215pse asked a question Aug 2016
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania20 contributions6 helpful votes
morning!!! is the restaurant open yet?? and does have breakfast available?? thanks
Boquete, Panama163 contributions63 helpful votes
When we were there in Nov 2016 they were providing some meals. Best to contact them directly and see what they are offering currently.
vey2822 asked a question Sept 2018
Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica8 contributions4 helpful votes
Tienen cabañas disponible para tres personas del 6 al 9 sept...
Rogier de Haan wrote a tip Aug 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"tree house: no wifi (the cotteges do have wifi though), very private, but you must be able to stand the white noise from the river"
Read full review
Sandy D wrote a tip Aug 2022
Winter Haven, Florida7 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would stay closer to the pool so you don't have to go up or down the hill."
Read full review
Larke N wrote a tip Mar 2018
Duncan22 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no restaurant here but you can bring your own picnic or cook your own meals if renting one of the cabins."
Read full review
Matteo wrote a tip Apr 2017
Berlin, Germany14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"in the middle of the nature, for adventurous people"
Read full review
Bernie S wrote a tip Mar 2017
Thunder Bay, Canada17 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is not a hotel but rather cottages and may not be suitable for children under 12 years old."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Boquete area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$703 - HK$851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PanamaChiriqui ProvinceBoquete
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CABANAS RIO ENCANTADO

Frequently Asked Questions about Cabanas Rio Encantado
Which popular attractions are close to Cabanas Rio Encantado?
Nearby attractions include The Zapadora (5.8 km), Caldera Hot Springs (5.4 km), and Faro Panama (5.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cabanas Rio Encantado?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Cabanas Rio Encantado?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cabanas Rio Encantado?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, a poolside bar, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Cabanas Rio Encantado?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cabanas Rio Encantado?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Cabanas Rio Encantado have airport transportation?
Yes, Cabanas Rio Encantado offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cabanas Rio Encantado?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Boquete HotelsBoquete Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BoqueteHotels near Cabanas Rio Encantado
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire