We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Origin Ubud

Save
Share
Jalan Tirta Tawar Kutuh, Ubud 80571 Indonesia
Hotels.com
Expedia
eDreams
Booking.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (197)
Room & Suite (90)
Dining (43)

About

#66 of 394 hotels in Ubud
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Modern, uncluttered design in a great neighborhood setting. Origin Ubud offers spacious, private villas, all equipped with private swimming pools and free WIFI. A perfect place to unwind and yet only a 5-minute stroll away from downtown Ubud. Origin Ubud is set amidst a great neighborhood with Balinese temples, rice paddies, walking and cycling routes plus easy access to the complimentary fitness center. Only a 15-minute walk from Antonio Blanco Museum, 18-minute walk from Monkey Forest and a 10-minute drive from the beautiful rice terraces of Tegalalang. The property is reachable by a 1.5-hour car ride from Ngurah Rai International Airport. Featuring modern design and architecture, all air-conditioned villas are appointed with king-size beds, comfortable indoor sofa seating, an oversized hammock suspended over the swimming pool, spacious outdoor terrace with seating and a garden. Amenities include flat-screen satellite TV’s, safety deposit boxes and mini bars with tea-making facilities. Some units feature a private air-conditioned living room with an oversized, comfy daybed and dining table. Each unit has a private bathroom with indoor showers, (sunken) bathtub, “His & Hers” vanity with a full range of spa amenities, towels and a hair dryer. In-villa spa treatments, motorbike and car rentals, concierge-led excursions, laundry and babysitting services are offered onsite. Other conveniences include complimentary shuttle service to downtown Ubud and airport shuttle.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian
199Reviews4Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 165
  • 22
  • 10
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Jason D wrote a review Mar 2020
Austin, Texas6 contributions20 helpful votes
Staying at the Origin was one of the best experiences I have ever encountered. Being it was my first time in Bali I had no idea what to expect. Upon arrival, it was a little late and gosh I wish I remembered names, but EVERYONE was so delightful and so helpful. Staying at the Origin for 3 nights we got to really experience Ubud and what the small town has to offer. The villas are close to all attractions and super yummy restaurants. Mornings at Origin were my favorite to wake up to. The breakfast is absolutely out of the world. You can even have a floating breakfast in your private pool villa wich I found absolutely mind-boggling. SO CUTE! I did have to chance to meet the manager who is also very amazing all their English was understandable! Thank you Origin, we will be back to stay, but this time we will be back for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Aria_ubud, Manager at Origin Ubud
Responded 29 Mar 2020
Hi Jasonatx11, Thank you for delighting us with this lovely review and really enjoyed having you as a guest in our Villas. Your comments on the service provided by our staff and our breakfast are most gratifying, it will be shared with the whole team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another couple’s getaway anytime. Regards, Wayan Budiawan and Origin Ubud Team
Read more
himeyumi wrote a review Mar 2020
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
If you are looking for solitude retreat, l recommend you this place. The design are minimalistic. Their services were excellent with friendly and helpful staffs especially Mr. Ida Bagus Gede Kresna Wirayudha. 👍 Spa massage was done in our villa accompanied by chillout balinese music. Shuttle service provided. Beautiful landscape. Clean pool. Delicious breakfast provided and served in the villa everyday. They provide kueh everyday in the afternoon and some notes when we were away. Only for nature lover 💚 Thank you for the wonderful hospitality Origin Ubud till we meet again. Rated 5/5
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aria_ubud, Manager at Origin Ubud
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Hello Himeyumi, Thank you so much for your kind words. It makes us happy that you enjoyed our villa and facilities. Hence many thanks for acknowledging Ida Bagus genuine hospitality service. On behalf of everyone, I would like to wish you a safe journey, and all of us are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Budi and Origin Ubud Team
Read more
Imogen O wrote a review Feb 2020
Castlemaine, Ireland1044 contributions145 helpful votes
Where to start? There is so much that is lovely about this place but for our visit the negatives far outweighed the positives. The most disappointing aspect was the fact that there is a multistorey hotel being built opposite the resort looking directly into the so-called private pool, garden and room. Construction starts at 7am and goes through until at least 6pm every day, no exceptions. NO PRIVACY at all and continuous noise. We would see the workmen and they could see us. I’ve no idea what the resort is planning to do about this in the future but any pending guests be warned. As for the rest… Positives 1. The staff are uniformly lovely and keen to provide optimal service…there’s just a bit of a mismatch about what this means when the resort promotes itself as a luxurious retreat… 2. The bed is comfortable and spacious 3. The bathroom is equally spacious and well-kitted out with standard amenities (shower, bath gel, conditioner) all in large side pump packs. However, there are no other amenities such as ear buds, razor etc. 4. Each room has two golf umbrellas at door as well as a supply at main entrance – much needed during the off-season when we were staying. 5. The reservations team do pay attention to notes re if a special occasion – this was part of our wedding anniversary holiday so first night we were presented with a plate with a cake and inscription in chocolate wishing us happy anniversary. 6. Gym access is provided at Ubud Fitness centre which is an easy stroll away, down the road and in a side street. [The fact we had to ask for this instead of it automatically being provided contributed to the series of not-quite-right, ‘small omissions’ that contributed to an overall dissatisfaction but still brilliant that provided.] 7. Welcome drinks described as an inclusion on arrival and were much needed due to issues with locating the resort (will describe further below) however we ended up having to ask for same once in room. They may well have turned up without asking but for other resorts, a welcome drink is what you’re handed when you sit down to fill out the check-in paperwork and photocopying of passport… 8. Package included a 15-minute complementary massage each. Again, had to ask. Didn’t happen 1st day. Asked again 2nd day & was confirmed for between 11am and 1pm. Didn’t happen. 3rd day, received a WhatsApp message saying staff would be onsite and what time would we like. Booked and confirmed. Girls arrived promptly but turns out the massage is a foot massage only – not the next and shoulders we were hoping to be able to have. The therapists were very good and provided a 30 min foot/calf massage each with the resort offering to extend it to an hour to apologise for our room not being made up earlier that day but we declined. When the massage is only for the lower limb, half an hour is more than adequate but a gracious gesture nonetheless. 9. There was no coffee provided in room – we only hoped for instant as in any other place – but once queried the team went out & bought back 3 different types of instant coffee. Well & truly above & beyond (unfortunately all varieties included sugar in their mix but really touched that they tried) 10. The complimentary shuttle service was terrific and they didn’t stick to their very odd timetable (see attached). However, we only needed to use the first evening (pouring rain) because once orientated to our area, we could walk to the centre of town in less time than it took the shuttle as Ubud is a town riddled with one-way streets and massive traffic congestion even now during off-season. If you do use the shuttle, don’t expect fancy – we were informed it was a new bus but still only has a bench seat (padded) each side, no aircon and sliding windows left open but fabulous driver and very responsive service to pick up (there is just the one drop-off and pickup point) 11. Location, location, location. Once we became accustomed to navigating the very busy narrow road, we were within walking distance to everything that Ubud had to offer. Negatives 1. Very difficult to locate, even for our local driver and using navigation. The map would say we had arrived but could not find any signage. This situation was compounded by the fact the road is two-way but not even single lane width with no verges and very limited opportunities to pullover or drive slowly. When I say ‘busy’ I mean the road was literally swarming with mopeds, motorbikes, cyclists, cars, foot traffic. It took four, FOUR drive pasts and two phone calls from our driver to the resort - and then staff coming out and waiting for us before entry was located. It’s not like we could just turn around when missed – as the marker on the navigation imprecise, by the time it had moved to show we had passed resort, there was nowhere to even vaguely turn around so each ‘miss’ meant driving a few further km before being able to turn around and try again. A situation that would readily be fixed by hanging a shingle out and changing the giant Origin sign on the side of the building from the current black metalwork (on dark grey background) to something that stands out. The irony is that once found it is really easy to describe location by simply saying once on the street, when you reach the 1st road to the right, immediately pull into the 1st indent on the left literally adjacent to that street & the giant temple on the corner! 2. Whilst the staff are keen, it became very hit & miss what was remembered and what wasn’t. in terms of recalling guest preferences (bear in in mind only 4 villas occupied during our stay). It became exhausting having to request things that anywhere else would either happen automatically or be remembered. Being willing doesn’t counteract the act of constantly having to ask – our request for milk WAS remembered & was supplied daily without any further request but other things not so great... Examples: A, full complement of towels face washers etc. on check in. Next day, face towels removed and not replaced. Rang housekeeping & supplied. Same again following but we just gave up & used the hand towels as a substitute. B. Shower cap used and not replaced. Had to ask,2nd & when still not replaced 3rd day, gave up asking. C. No ice available in room nor self-service access so 1st rang and requested. After ten minutes went and asked up at the backroom near reception and provided. This detail not recalled so each day thereafter at around the same time, I had to call and request delivery. D. I used the notepad up and requested replacement. Promptly provided but when I went to use it was actually devoid of paper so had to request again. E. The compendium details to use the ‘do not disturb’ sign if not wanting to be disturbed. We did this once and restored to usual. However, we went out 2nd day for 4 hours during which time we had a WhatsApp communication with the team where we mentioned we were in town. Returned to room exhausted at 2pm to discover it had not been made up and breakfast dishes still sitting there. Rang to request and was told that they didn’t know we were out. I explained re the WhatsApp communication and more to the point why hadn’t housekeeping even attempted when there was no do not disturb sign? This was unable to be answered. Housekeeping team did come and do our room but later we discovered absence of face towel and teaspoons not replaced. This is not an exhaustive list but just examples of a series of minor issues that collectively meant staying here was not relaxing - especially when you add in the unrelenting construction noise. 3. Despite the compendium asking guests to leave their room key at reception when they go out for any reason, there is NO reception! Nor a phone there to use if needing to make contact. Needless to say, we didn’t abide by this request. However, even had there been a phone supplied in this lounge/entry area, we found on two occasions (still daylight hours) when we rang “reception” (dial 0) no one answered necessitating me walking up and poking my head into the only open door to seek assistance. 4. In-room slides are supplied (too short for his feet and too wide for both our feet) but no bathrobes. Two lengths of fabric are supplied on hangers in the wardrobe which could have been beach towels or very heavy sarongs but that’s it. Most odd when even lower-end hotels seem to supply bathrobes. 5. Finally – and this ended up becoming the most disappointing – things left behind apparently are chucked out! We only left one item in the bathroom – but it was an expensive, travel ‘wash bag’ which is able to be used to wash clothes swiftly & efficiently yet is able to be compressed very small for packing. I had rinsed it out and left to dry behind the sink taps in bathroom but as was also white/cream like the wall it was resting against, both my husband & I missed it. Unfortunately, we then did not notice until went to use it at our next destination. In response to my email query re same, all I got was a statement staying the team would keep an eye out! Erm, no. we should have been alerted as soon as room cleaned that we had left this item behind.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aria_ubud, Manager at Origin Ubud
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear Lincatm, Thank you for staying at Origin Ubud. We do apologize for the inconvenience you had experienced due to the construction work. This, however, is an externality that is out of our control. We do value your input on this matter, and will look for possible solution together with the construction manager such as installing a cover so each side has privacy. We do appreciate for the positive comments on comfortable bed, bathroom, gym, and our reservation team. We will keep up the good work and follow up on every missing aspect that you had experienced to improve our service. As for the negative feedbacks, we do apologize for things that make your vacation unpleasant, such as: late welcome drinks and massages, lack of our attention to detail when cleaning your room, lack of towels, notepad and shower cap turnover, our lack of attention to your routine during your stay, unclear hotel signs, and the availability of coffee in the room. We are sorry for these experiences while you should have relaxed and had mind-free during your vacation instead. The management team and I have put this as our priority and have mentored our staff to ensure that all standards are upheld. We also will have a weekly review for this improvement. We will take your advice into consideration in terms of Origin sign and availability of coffee in the room as these are valuable input for improvement. All teams of Origin love what we do and we would be more than happy to have you back, to provide you with our sincere service and to show you the true positive atmosphere of Bali. If you find yourself wanting to return and to feel all the improvements, please drop an email budi@originubud.com. Best regards, Budi and Origin Ubud Team
Read more
Monkey_MS wrote a review Feb 2020
26 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
The place itself did not deserve a four stars out of a five but the staff over there were the additional “Star”. They were being super helpful through out our stay from the issue with the room ( smelly toilet everyday)to our personal request ( help to explain us things in Indonesian and arrange “shuttle bus” to nearby, not the scheduled drop off point). Once again, thank you so much to make my stay wonderful!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aria_ubud, Manager at Origin Ubud
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Monkey_MS Thank you for staying at Origin Ubud and we do appreciate your compliment for addressing our staff as additional “Star”, despite our shortcomings that you had experienced such as smelly toilet, and misunderstood your personal request which we took immediate action on. Thank you for your input on this matter. We have found the cause of the smelly toilet and cleaned it by using an appropriate cleanser in order to relieve the smell. We ensure this cleaning method is done regularly. As for the misunderstanding issue, we have mentored our staff to pay more attention to guest needs and to practise their English way more often by actively communicating with guests whenever necessary. We will have a weekly review for this improvement to ensure that all standards are upheld. If you find yourself wanting to return and to feel all the improvements, please drop an email at budi@originubud.com. Thank you, Budi and Origin Ubud Team
Read more
TCDHK wrote a review Feb 2020
Hong Kong, China235 contributions99 helpful votes
I had a couple of nights in Ubud where I travel often for meetings and thought I'd try something new. The Hotel looked enticing but was a bit of a disappointment. The rooms are super minimalist and hard to feel comfortable in. Sadly, maintenance is lacking and towels need changing (all coming apart at the seams). The grass in the 'garden' is more weed than grass. The shower was clogged so water went all over the bathroom. There is a huge building site opposite where it seems a new Hotel is going up. Workers looking at you or in your room all the time. The location is quite convenient as you can walk to town, but for the money charged for a Hotel with '0' facilities I will stay in my usual haunts again next time. With some attention by the owners this could be a great place, but missing the love.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: furthest down by the river
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aria_ubud, Manager at Origin Ubud
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear TCDHK, Thank your for your recent stay and sorry for making your Ubud stop in accordance with your expectations. Thank you for your input for towels and grass in the garden that is most covered by weed that we took immediately action on it. For towels, we have started to replace them and from garden side at your villa we have cleaned it. We will make sure this is schedule, for inventory and regular treatment. One last ting, for the construction next door we have discussed with the project manager so that the front of them is plant with trees. Once again, thank you very much for your input, this has become a matter for us to improve. Since you are seen frequently coming to Ubud, please allow us to serve you once again and deliver you our Balinese hospitality and please send email me personally at budi@originubud.com Best regards, Budi and Origin Ubud Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$163 - US$466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliGianyar RegencyUbud
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Origin Ubud
Which popular attractions are close to Origin Ubud?
Nearby attractions include Spirit Bali Tours (0.4 km), Ubud Shopping (0.3 km), and Round Bar Cafe (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Origin Ubud?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Origin Ubud?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Origin Ubud?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Origin Ubud?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Origin Ubud?
Conveniently located restaurants include Warung Titi, Lemongrass Warung, and Gangga Coffee Roastery Ubud.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Origin Ubud?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Origin Ubud have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Origin Ubud offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Origin Ubud have airport transportation?
Yes, Origin Ubud offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Origin Ubud located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Ubud.
Are any cleaning services offered at Origin Ubud?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.