Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa

Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa

Traveller (5943)
 International Satellite TV, Water Kettle and private bar
Room & Suite (854)
Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#6 of 20 resorts in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Immerse yourself in the captivating beauty of Arabia at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort, where unique experiences await at every turn. Discover the perfect blend of relaxation and excitement between our resort’s luxury comforts and endless possibilities for adventure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Archery
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Valet parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Bicycles available
Horseback riding
Archery offsite
Bicycle tours
Darts
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Walking tours
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Arabic and 3 more

Location

Opposite Endurance City, Dubai 00000 United Arab Emirates
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 36 out of 100
36
Dubai Airport
50.3 km
See all flights
Dubai World Central - Al Maktoum International Airport
12.6 km
See all flights
4,149Reviews110Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,159
  • 627
  • 211
  • 81
  • 72
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Val B wrote a review Jan 2024
19 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely loved our stay here. We have been so well looked after. Such a friendly and attentive team in all areas of the hotel.
The gym and spa are excellent.
Good choice of dining options (although we recommend a la carte rather than half board which is a limited buffet). We stayed 6 nights and could easily have stayed longer but our next destination awaits!
I celebrated my birthday here and we were thoroughly looked after.
Definitely recommend Al Hadheera for an amazing experience with an amazing selection of local cuisine, cooking stations and entertainment!
Hany and Yassar looked after us so well - 5 star treatment. We also loved the show!
Some great activities too - horse riding nearby (recommended sunset ride!).
All in all - you can’t go wrong with this resort which is an hour away from the hustle and bustle of Dubai.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Weekends are busy with lots of people escaping Dubai. Better in the week.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jacques Le Roux, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Responded 28 Jan 2024
Dear Val B, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us and for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort. We would like to thank you for your positive feedback on the resort, dining facilities, selection of activities and services. Thank you for highlighting your dining experience at our signature restaurant Al Hadheerah. The team consistently strive to deliver the best of care and will be appreciative of your kind comments. We take note of your remarks on the half-board package and certainly regret any shortcomings experienced on this occasion. Rest assured we have addressed your feedback in detail with the team to ensure such is reviewed accordingly. Once again, we would like to thank you for your trust and patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards, Bab Al Shams Desert Resort Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrFalkone wrote a review Aug 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates310 contributions138 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was not our first stay at the Bab Al Shams, we came to visit several times during the last 10 years and still love the resort.

It starts with the driveway to the resort through the dunes, passing the entrance gates of the hotel and a welcome with a smile. You immediately feel like on holiday before you even check in.

Due to the covid safety measures there is currently no valet parking, however it's fine, the parking lot is very close by and I got shuttled back by a golf cart to the reception.

As all the times before there were no problems during check in, no unnecessary waiting and very friendly staff.

Currently all rooms are sealed to indicate they were sanitized prior to your arrival. There are several stations for hand sanitation and of course you have to wear a mask in the main areas. However it did not feel too intimidating and it was fine. We felt safe at any time.

The rooms were charming as always, the huge massive double bed always impresses me again and again when i enter the room. This time we had an upgrade to a junior suite, so we had a small seating area in the same room as well, good for about 8 people which is great if you want to entertain some friends while not sitting outside.

The bathrooms are spacious, especially the extra big bath tub is super nice. In the earlier years the bathroom amenities were branded Bab Al Shams and did match the color and charm of the bathroom style, which is not anymore the case. That is a small detail I was missing.

Usually the rooms feature a well equipped minibar, however at the moment they remain empty. Not sure if that is part of the restrictions as well, we did not ask, we just got them manually refilled by room service.

We did not use our room terrace too much due to the heat this time. Maybe the hotel should see if there is a possibility not to house too many pigeons in the garden areas as they can create quite a mess. However the hotel seems aware of it and tried their best every day to keep it very clean for us.

Currently are only 2 restaurants open with 2 types of cuisine - Indian and international. We dined at both places while my personal preference is the Indian restaurant. Service was fine, it can get a bit slower during peak times.

During the day the pool bar is open, also serving tasty food served to your sunbed. Don't mix this up with the swim up bar situated inside the pool - due to the restrictions it remains closed for now, but it is not the end of the world, we still had a great time at the pool. Of course there are spacing measures in place allowing you social distancing.
Currently drinks are not allowed inside the pools, which is understandable, but maybe specifically the life guards could be a bit more friendly to convey that message.

Of course the pool itself is open and invites you for a swim to enjoy the nice view of the desert.

I can conclude that we had a great weekend get away again and we fur sure can recommend the place.
If you are thinking if it is worth it even in summer then I can definitely promise you will have a great time there!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ziad Sleiman, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Dear MrFalkone, Thank you for always choosing Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa as your preferred accommodation in Dubai and we are delighted having you with us. We appreciate your continued patronage and trust. We are indeed very pleased with the way you described your experience at the resort and such commendable remarks make us extremely proud of the kind of service we cater to our discerning guests. Thank you for appreciating our hospitality, food, facilities and services. Thank you so much for your valuable recommendation. We hope that on your next staycation, Bab Al Shams will remain your preferred choice as we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ziad Sleiman | Hotel Manager Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nermeen_10 wrote a review Mar 2020
Cairo, Egypt128 contributions78 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Bab el Shams for a couple of days for business. The resort is 1 hour away from Dubai, tucked in the desert which provides serenity and relaxation. The rooms are clean with all required facilities, comfortable beds, however a bit dark, felt I needed more light in the room.
The breakfast and lunch are great and dinner at Hadirah restaurant was perfect.
The team are attentive and friendly.
Would be great if there are more timings for the shuttle bus to Mall of Emirates or to Dubai in general. If we need a taxi, we have to order it 1 hour in advance.
Overall, great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ziad Sleiman, Other at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear Nermeen, We are very pleased to read your positive review from your recent visit at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and recommend us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you had a relaxing experience in our resort mainly because of its serene environment, complete amenities in our guest rooms, selection of culinary delights and most of all the quality of our service. It is gratifying to note that our team made a great impact to your overall experience. We will be sure to share your feedback with them and to the entire team. They love knowing that guests appreciate their service. Once again, thank you for having chosen chosen to stay at Bab Al Shams. It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Ziad Sleiman | Executive Assistant Manager - Operations Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa T: +971 4 809 6191 M: +971 56 226 7124 Email: Ziad.Sleiman@meydanhotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
halilozay wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had 2 nights at Bab Al Shams, I highly recommend to make the booking via hotel web site for the additional 20% discount
Staff is very attentive and helpful and the facilities are spotless clean. on our first night, we actually saw 2 gazelles wondering on the desert next to the green field of Forsan restaurant.
the rooftop for sunset is truly an excellent chillout place, though I recommend booking to get a good spot.

We will definitely be visiting again shortly
Halil
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ziad Sleiman, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Responded 25 Oct 2020
Dear Halilozay, Thank you for providing us with a perfect rating and sharing your excellent experience here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that we have surpassed your expectations in all aspects of your stay particularly with the overall cleanliness and outstanding customer service we offer. We greatly appreciate your kind recommendation of Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa to other travelers. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ziad Sleiman | Hotel Manager Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The Traveling Aquarius wrote a review Aug 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates237 contributions89 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When my husband and I want to go on a staycation that is not too far away from Dubai but gives you the feeling that you have been transported to a magical place, we head to Bab al Shams. Having stayed several times before Covid we were expecting some things to be different this time around and they were but overall our standards were somewhat met. We visited with 6 friends for 3 nights and yes there were a few small hiccups and some things took some time but hey you are on holiday, at least this is how we felt.

We stayed in a Junior Suite which was very spacious and really comfortable. We tried out the in-room dining which was really good, I had the sea bream and the hubby had a steak which he said was top notch. I also had the crab sliders by the pool and they were amazing!

Masala did not disappoint, it is one of the best Indian restaurants in the UAE and we sometimes take a drive just to dine there. So glad it was open and we were able to dine there twice during this visit.

The pool staff were on the ball, with an influx of guests because of the long weekend and absolutely all of them by the pool because their is no beach they managed incredibly well. Despite the heat, grumpy guest and everyone wanting to place an order at the same time they always were always friendly and happy to serve.

A big thank you to the service staff that you could see working tirelessly in the heat with their masks to please guests, with most hotels letting go of half of their employees guest need to take this into consideration. I am really happy that this gem of a resort is holding on to make it through this challenging time and we look forward to my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ziad Sleiman, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Responded 4 Aug 2020
Dear TravellingAquarius, Thank you for choosing Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa as your preferred accommodation in Dubai and we are delighted having you with us. We are indeed very pleased with the way you described your experience at the resort and such commendable remarks make us extremely proud of the kind of service we cater to our discerning guests. Thank you for appreciating our hospitality, facilities and most of all, our jewel, the team members. Thank you so much for your valuable recommendation. We hope that on your next staycation, Bab Al Shams will remain your preferred destination as we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ziad Sleiman | Hotel Manager Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen M wrote a review Feb 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom31 contributions64 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Since my Auntie was visiting from the UK I decided to book us a special treat. Having lived in Dubai for almost 3 years I was keen to visit Bab al shams as I had heard many positive things about it from friends and colleagues. So I booked an overnight stay mid week. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. I am not exaggerating when I say every staff member is genuinely friendly, polite and eager to learn that you are enjoying your stay. The resort is worthy of its 5 star rating on staff alone before even mentioning the facilities. Many pools make the place feel less crowded and two pool bars ensure there is ample opportunity to buy food and drinks. I was pleasantly surprised to see staff circulating the pool areas offering fresh fruit in the afternoon and even face sprays to cool you down. The lunch we had (prawn and mango baguette and fries) was delicious. We also had a drink at al sarab rooftop bar before heading to al hadeerah where Hoshem was the perfect host, recommending dishes and asking what we would like to eat and drink. The buffet is vast and great value for money, and the show which lasts for hours makes for a great evening of entertainment. The buffet breakfast at al Forsan was plentiful and enjoyable in the outdoor setting. We stayed most of the following day, being so relaxed sunbathing and dipping in and out of the pool whilst enjoying the desert views, we both didn’t want to leave. Our only regrets were that we had not booked for two nights. I had been recommended Masala, the Indian restaurant, and I would have loved to had a spa treatment also. Guess I will need to go back, and I intend it to be sooner rather than later!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ziad Sleiman, Other at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear helenmN6470EM, We are delighted you had a memorable stay at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa. Thank you so much for your comments on our facilities, dining venues and quality of service providers. Our associates are indeed the life and soul of our resort - with their genuine care and warmth ensure that every interaction with our guests is a wonderful moment. We are fortunate to have such an amazing team and your kind praises will further inspire them in their pursuit of excellence. Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to share your experience online. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Bab Al Shams and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ziad Sleiman | Executive Assistant Manager - Operations Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa T: +971 4 809 6191 M: +971 56 226 7124 Email: Ziad.Sleiman@meydanhotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Varshee wrote a review Aug 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates187 contributions76 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as 2 couples over Eid Al Adha long weekend for 2 nights and it was great! There was all appropriate precautions taken with COVID (temp checks at all entries, sanitizer available) which was good to see.

Only 2 restaurants are open at the moment but the food and service at both are amazing. The rooms are quaint n cute. We had king terrace room 139 which has a nice terrace with desert and palm views. Our room was better than our friends room 161 which had a terrace but no view. The only small thing was that check in was at 3pm but our room was not ready until 4pm. Also my friends room was not made up and when she called reception to ask they said it was due to her not asking for it. I think that’s fine but they should mention that at check in.

The pool is lovely, it kept us cool in the 50degree heat!

Overall I highly recommend this hotel for a nice break at a desert resort.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ziad Sleiman, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Responded 4 Aug 2020
Dear Varshee, Thank you for providing us with an online review and sharing your excellent experience in details. We are pleased to read that we have surpassed your expectations in most aspects - from our safety and cleanliness procedures to our unique, authentic guest rooms to the dining and pool facilities and most of all to the quality of service that we offer. We greatly appreciate your kind recommendation of Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa to other travelers. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Ziad Sleiman | Hotel Manager Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunil N wrote a review Nov 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates42 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Its a premium 5 star resort with Arabic theme,rooms are good and upto expectations, staff is courteous,most importantly the resort takes pride in its safety and sanitisation measures during this pandemic times which make us feel secure.Many recreational activities which keeps you and your kids busy with fun and adventure.
Breakfast at Al Forsan restaurant satisfying, its cuisine is mostly mix of various culture and dinner at Masala an Indian cuisine was delicious, staff of Masala restaurant are good especially Anthony who has been helpful.
We are enjoying the stay and its relaxing and funfilled.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ziad Sleiman, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Responded 28 Nov 2020
Dear 346suniln, It was a pleasure having you at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa. Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and products that we provide. Your kind words related to our restaurants and their services and culinary offerings are very much appreciated, our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager will be delighted to share your personal recognition. Moreover, we are pleased to read your flattering remarks towards the attention to detail and exceptional service provided by each member of our team. They are very much committed to serve with sincerity, care and passion in order to ensure each guest will have a memorable stay and amazing experience. It was a pleasure for us to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, Ziad Sleiman | Hotel Manager Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mustapha Ezd wrote a review Dec 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates139 contributions26 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our 3rd stay in this beautiful desert resort, we have always enjoyed the beautiful Arabian architecture and room design of the resort. In addition they offer a variety of activities such as Camel rides, Falcon Show, guided hikes ...
This year they are also hosting a Christmas market so much fun for true whole family.

Then came the shock, the following morning we headed to the breakfast area. The hostess asks everyone to put on a mask going on, but;
- the food is layer out in a buffet setting
- self service (what!!!!! During covid)
- many many guests not wearing their masks while self serving from the buffet

I couldn’t hold back, I actually told couple of guests that they had to put masks on, then went and asked to the manager (Hany) who started complaining to me on the difficulty of getting people to put their masks on while going around the buffet. I told him I do not feel safe in this environment and that this is the hotel’s problem. I saw him going around asking guests to put masks on, but I also saw many people walking around without masks later that day.

For this reason, and given it is the most important reason this time around, this is a unwavering 1 star review!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ziad Sleiman, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Responded 21 Dec 2020
Dear MustaphaEzd, First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting us again for the third time. We are glad that you have been enjoying our beautiful setting, architecture and room design, as well as the desert activities that we offer. However, we are truly sorry to read that we could not live up to your expectations during your last visit. I have personally discussed your comments with the concerned departments to ensure that these will be looked into on urgent basis and do the necessary measures. Please allow me to thank you for the time you have taken to bring this to our attention, guests like your good-self who engage with us and support us in improving our products and services, are of great value. Your detailed feedback will definitely assist us in achieving the goal we set forth for this unique property. Once again, while we regret the inconvenience your experience has caused you, we sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back trusting that you will be served better next time. Kind regards, Ziad Sleiman | Hotel Manager Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reginald wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing hotel ,this is our second visit and it did not disappoint.The pool is amazing with a lot of free beds and umbrellas. The service we received poolside was the best service I’ve received whilst living in Dubai. We were served by a friendly gentleman by the name of Tharwat and he brought us complimentary iced water without even asking. He was very vigilant to our needs and helped us make a very good choice of food for lunch. Highly recommend and I’ll definitely be coming back again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ziad Sleiman, General Manager at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Responded 5 Jul 2021
Dear Reginald, We are delighted you had a memorable stay at Bab Al Shams. Thank you so much for your comments on our facilities and services. Your kind praises on our colleague Tharwat are greatly appreciated. Our staff are indeed the life and soul of our resort - with their genuine care and warmth ensure that every interaction with our guests is a wonderful moment. We are fortunate to have such an amazing team and your kind praises will further inspire them in their pursuit of excellence. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience online. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Bab Al Shams and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ziad Sleiman | Hotel Manager Bab Al Shams Desert Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Sue V
Farnham, United Kingdom71 contributions57 helpful votes
We stayed in November .. there is music at the weekend as seems to attract the ex-pat on day passes to the hotel but to be honest music wasn’t too loud it was the fact the pool area was very busy. The new spa is open and that was amazing - room 113 is stunning with garden and sun all day if that helps? Perhaps follow them on Instagram and you can see they do have guest DJs but if you’re staying midweek should be fine. If you want a peaceful out of Dubai City experience try the Oberoi in Ajman
Sunny F asked a question Sept 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates6 contributions1 helpful vote
Any idea when will bab Al shams re open ?
Answer from Krish G
1 contribution
Bab al sham is currently opened I was there for the past 2 days
Rak Gohil asked a question Aug 2020
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom466 contributions172 helpful votes
Is shisha available?
Answer from Gilles Sohier
Dubai, United Arab Emirates11 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear RakGohil, Thank you for your interest to Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa. Please note that shisha is currently not available in the resort however kindly note that we are already working on the necessary requirements to have this back very soon, hopefully in a week or two. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to Bab Al Shams. Kind regards, Ziad Sleiman Hotel Manager
Answer from Gilles Sohier
Dubai, United Arab Emirates11 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Jessica, Thank you for your interest to Bab Al Shams Desert Resort & Spa. Please be informed that we do have three types of pool (Infinity Pool, Family Pool and Kids' Pool) which are located next to each other. You may approach our leisure hub counter upon arrival at the pool area and mention your preferred location for your sunbed and they will be happy to assist you. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to Bab Al Shams as we reopen our door this coming 12th July. Regards, Ziad Sleiman Hotel Manager
nosa85 asked a question Dec 2019
Dubai, United Arab Emirates126 contributions68 helpful votes
any rooms with connecting doors?
Answer from Ziad S
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Yes , sure
A C wrote a tip Yesterday
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Helpful Tips for Future Travelers to Bab Al Shams Best Time to Visit: Winter is an ideal time to visit Bab Al Shams to enjoy the cooler wea"
Read full review
Trip28130787509 wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just prepare to be impressed."
Read full review
allahditta Khan wrote a tip Apr 2024
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please book early before you check in, cause they are very popular."
Read full review
Yvette R wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Yes, book in sunset time for amazing pictures and weather for the desert experience."
Read full review
ploy wrote a tip Mar 2024
Thailand8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best to visit in January - March for the best weather."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dubai area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$1,984 - HK$3,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bab al shams desert hotel dubai, bab al shams desert resort and spa
LOCATION
United Arab EmiratesEmirate of DubaiDubai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
115
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAB AL SHAMS DESERT RESORT AND SPA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Madeena AlRemal Tourism (7.9 km), Arabian Vista Tourism LLC (7.9 km), and The Tallest Block of Dubai Marina (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Anwā Sunset Lounge, Al Hadheerah, and Bab Al Shams Dining & Bars.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Russian, Hindi, Arabic, Filipino, and Urdu.
All Dubai HotelsDubai Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DubaiHotels near Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire