We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Convento Boutique Hotel

Save
Share
2a. Avenida Norte # 11, Antigua 03001 Guatemala
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (529)
Room & Suite (138)
Dining (47)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#16 of 114 in Antigua
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
El Convento Boutique Hotel welcomes visitors to an oasis of elegance and unparalleled comfort.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Rooftop terrace
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
839Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 631
  • 127
  • 48
  • 15
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
lovetotravel00 wrote a review 22 May
Atlanta, Georgia62 contributions25 helpful votes
We were celebrating my daughter’s wedding in April, and many guests stayed at this hotel as it was very conveniently located. The rooftop terrace was beautiful and very serene; we sat there for breakfast almost every day and also at night after a long day. I would suggest making it more of an attraction at the hotel by setting out flowers, candles, etc to make it feel more of a spot to get some respite after a long day. The pool is not really a great swimming pool, but more of a visual enhancement for the beautiful gardens on the main level. We scheduled a lovely brunch for our guests on Saturday; the food was very nice and though we had to provide our own floral centerpieces, they set up the tables perfectly. I would agree that the rooms are dark; however, this is, in part, the architecture that was popular at the time this was built. Perhaps as Antigua becomes a more sought-after destination for tourism this hotel will be able to update and renovate. But the courtyard and foliage is unparalleled, and service was wonderful. Thanks to Diego and his staff!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which was huge and convenient to get to
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Brolo, General Manager at El Convento Boutique Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
For us it was a pleasure to have the visit of all of you and to be able to support you with the brunch for your daughter's wedding. We are delighted to know that everything was very good in the rooms and that you were able to enjoy our beautiful terrace. We have also taken note of your comments in areas of opportunity to improve and offer a much better service, the whole team strives every day to improve and offer a better experience every day. We hope to be able to count on your valuable visit again, we will always be with open arms to welcome you and serve you, making you feel at home. It was a pleasure!
Read more
357mtischler wrote a review Apr 2022
San Juan, Puerto Rico6 contributions11 helpful votes
The hotel is a Gem super elegant classy and great decoration in all ways amazing food service. Gisela is the best of the best. Transportation was great the chofer was super helpful and gave us great recommendations to visit Guatemala its was amazing .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Brolo, General Manager at El Convento Boutique Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
We greatly appreciate your time in sending us your comments and especially knowing that your stay was pleasant and that your expectations were exceeded. We hope to always have the pleasure of having your visit on your next trip to Antigua Guatemala. Sincerely
Read more
Jimmy-k130 wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom42 contributions21 helpful votes
I was very excited about my stay at this hotel but was let down as soon as I arrived. Staff: - When I arrived there was no one to help me with my bags at the front entrance until I got through the door. - The check in staff Cesar didn’t even make any small talk to acknowledge my arrival. He and many of the other staff seem miserable and not accommodating. - Levels of English are poor, which is surprising for a hotel full of Americans and some Europeans. Room: - I was in a Jnr Suite which was dark. The bathroom had no window and it felt cold rather than cosy. - Beds are comfortable but make some squeaking noises. - The cupboard was difficult to get to in the twin queen bed room. Restaurant: - Slow, took about 15 mins to order a drink when sat in the ‘bar’ area. It wasn’t busy (1 other table) - Ordering room service took a long time to even get the order acknowledged Facilities: - Pool is more like a cold pond - Hardly any loungers/seating - No gym Overall disappointing and would have LOVED to stay in Villa Bokeh instead.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Brolo, General Manager at El Convento Boutique Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jimmy, We appreciate the time you have taken to send us your comments, they are very important to us. As a company dedicated 100% to service, we are very concerned about this type of situation, which is not usual in our hotel, since we work hard so that our guests have a very excellent experience during their visit, so I wish you express our most sincere apologies. In our constant efforts to provide excellent service to our guests, we will strengthen our procedures in each area mentioned. Once again, receive our most sincere apologies for these events causing discomfort to your person and we hope to be able to count on your valuable visit again and be able to serve you as you deserve.
Read more
Seaside757906 wrote a review Apr 2022
14 contributions
+1
For what I pay I was expecting the suite to be more clean .The hotel is very nice I think if the staff is more friendly and they make sure that the rooms are 100% clean it can be a great hotel. If they don't clean the air-conditioning buttons I doubt they sanitize the remote controls . Patio seats had bird poop.The patio curtains were really dirty . I thing the manager of the hotel should go and take a look at the Master suite number 13 to see I'm not lying . There was no phone for room service I was told I had to use WhatsApp to place an order the problem was I was told the second day of my stay .I would not stay here again .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Diego Brolo, General Manager at El Convento Boutique Hotel
Responded 9 Apr 2022
The time you have taken to provide us your feedback is very valuable, we are very grateful for that. Thanks to your comments we can get better on our opportunity areas and to be able to improve the service to our guests every day. We have taken note and worked on the specific points mentioned, so situations like this dont happen again, situations that are not usual in our hotel. Once again we greatly appreciate your time and your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of having your visit again and to be able to offer a better service in the future.
Read more
Ashli W wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
My good friends were getting married in Antigua and as a part of their contract with El Convento, the after party for the wedding was to be set on the rooftop from 9pm- 2am. Nearly every room in the hotel was occupied by a guest of the wedding (with the exception of 2). The hotel was well aware and contractually agreed to allow the rooftop to be utilized by the bride and groom. However, around 10-11pm they shut off the lights and power in an effort to get us to leave even though we were allowed to be there. They then proceeded to call the police to forcibly have the party removed. They treated the patrons and customers of their own hotel like criminals despite the facts that they contractually agreed for the space to be used until 2 am. Our large wedding party was in town and staying at El Convento for approximately 5 days and spent an obscene amount of money only to be reduce to being treated as common criminals. It’s unacceptable. They have no respect for their customers and they do not honor their contracts. I find this extraordinarily unprofessional and I do not recommend booking here, especially not for weddings. They will ruin your event. Book anywhere else. This place is not worth the headache.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Azur, General Manager at El Convento Boutique Hotel
Responded 15 Mar 2022
Dear Ashli,   The team and I appreciate your recent feedback regarding the hotels terrace at Ezekiel's and Tiffany's afterparty reception. Unfortunately, you have been given incorrectly the facts so please allow me to comment briefly. The terrace was never under contract for the afterparty especially considering the hour as well the police are concerned, they were called by the hotels neighbors after my staff received several calls from them which provoked us to ask the participants to lower the music and voices to no avail. The lights you mention was purely coincidental as they are on a time switch which coincided with the timing of the incident. The team and I take great pride in serving our guests and with never intentionally act in the manner you described in your review. Please accept my apologies for this regrettable incident and inconvenience on such a special occasion for the bride and groom, alongside their wedding guests which we were honored to host.   Sincerely   Laura Castro Interim General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$151 - US$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel el convento boutique
LOCATION
GuatemalaSacatepequez DepartmentAntigua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about El Convento Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to El Convento Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Casa del Jade (0.3 km), Antigua Foodie Tours (0.3 km), and Casa Santo Domingo Museums (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at El Convento Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at El Convento Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at El Convento Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at El Convento Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Convento Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wachuma, La Bruja, and Canela Antigua.
Are there opportunities to exercise at El Convento Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does El Convento Boutique Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, El Convento Boutique Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at El Convento Boutique Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at El Convento Boutique Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at El Convento Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.