We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
139 Thomson Road, Hong Kong China
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (218)
Room & Suite (136)
Dining (7)


#206 of 802 in Hong Kong
Located in downtown HK and just a stone's throw from the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and tourist attractions, Wanchai 88 showcases a trendy setting and a comfortable atmosphere with thoughtfully designed lighting. Featuring spacious rooms with handy services and facilities, we offer you a pleasant stay in this metropolis where Eastern traditions blend perfectly with Western cultures
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Car hire
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Bottled water
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Filipino


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
466Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
34Attractionswithin 0.5 km
148Reviews10Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 54
  • 25
  • 5
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Aaron James wrote a review Apr 2022
Hong Kong, China59 contributions54 helpful votes
Wanted to take a moment and thank the entire staff at Wanchai 88 for being so helpful and accommodating during my recent 5-day stay earlier this month. The hotel itself is very stylish and nice, boasts an amazing location, and a very good decision for anyone within.a mid-range budget. I'd happily stay there again, or recommend it to any of my friends visiting Hong Kong who want to stay in the vibrant and colourful neighbourhood of Wanchai. It's a good time now to take advantage of excellent staycation deals due to the ongoing pandemic as well. Special mention to Simon Chen – Guest Services Supervisor who went out of his way to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. He was wonderfully responsive to all my questions and needs. Really appreciate all the brilliant effort and hospitality. Thanks again Wanchai 88!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Room Tip: 17TH Floor or above for best views!
See more room tips
Response from Duty Manager Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Wanchai 88 Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Aaron, Warm greetings from Wanchai 88 Hotel. Thank you very much for giving us an excellent comments following your recent stay with us. We would like to express our gratitude for your kind words regarding your recent stay. It is extremely important and great motivation for us to hear that you had a pleasant experience. In addition, we are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. Besides, thank you very much for your amazing compliment about the professional service from our Guest Service Supervisor - Simon Chen. This encourages our belief in striving for excellence and exceeding guest expectations, in which we will continue to ensure maintaining quality service with certainty for our guest to have the experience of home away from home. We look forward to be of service to you again soon! Should any further comments or assistance be required, please feel free to let us know, we will be most glad to assist you. Best regards Duty Manager Wanchai 88 Hotel
Read more
Carmen wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Staffs in the hotel repeatedly entering your room which is unacceptable! My boyfriend and I needed a place to stay for a week before moving into a new apartment. We switched on the ‘Do not disturb’ button as soon as we entered the room. The staffs kept ringing the bell and asking if we needed house cleaning service although the ‘Do not disturb’ button was on. (which I don’t understand what the button is there for if the staffs ignores the signal) . It could be anytime during the day and you cannot expect when they will come and start pressing the bell. They entered the room without our permission as we didn’t open the door ‘on time’, which happened 3 times during our stay when we were still sleeping. No privacy at all. Anyone who is thinking to reserve a night in this hotel should think about it and WEAR SOMETHING to sleep since you will never know who would open your door in the morning and ask if you need room cleaning. The third time someone opened our door was at 10 am in the morning! We could not hold it and went straight down the front desk looking for the manager and we got told that the manager won’t be back until 2:30pm. We complaint to the staff who was working at the front desk and told her what happened during our stay. She couldn’t explain it and asked us to wait for the manager. We waited for the whole day before our check out time and no one has ever reached to us. No explanations, no apologies.Nothing at all. We never thought something like this would happen and we have never had any problems staying with other hotels in Hong Kong but Hotel 88 Wanchai! Shameful and disrespectful!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Response from Duty Manager Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Wanchai 88 Hotel
Responded 3 Sep 2021
Dear Ms. Wong, Thanks for sharing with us your experience following your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations this time. Please accept my sincere apology for the disturbance. To ensure the safety of our hotel guests, hotel Duty manager will call to each room with DND lights on before he enters the room. This action is to ensure every guest in room is in conscious and in case of someone in coma with no one taken care of. After investigation, we have found that our Duty Manager had called your room at about 15:00 but with no one answer. Then our Duty Manager proceeded to your room, rang and knocked on your door before he opens your door. Please note this action is to ensure you were safe in room. Since we expect everyone in conscious will answer the door or at least a word from the room to rejecting our staff to open your door. At last, I think it was Mr. Hung, who went down to reception to look for our Duty Manager. Our staff were told by Mr. Hung that he will approach our Duty Manger later in the afternoon to discuss about the DND procedure. Our Duty Manager waited at reception counter until 21:00 with no sign of Mr. Hung. Then he tried to call to your room with no one pick up. So, he left a memo to reception staff and tried to reach you upon your check-out. But unfortunately, you did not approach our counter for check out. Once again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us this time. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Wanchai 88 Hotel for an improved visit. Regards, Terry Chung Duty Manager
Read more
BradJill wrote a review Jul 2021
Hong Kong, China146681 contributions24872 helpful votes
We recently spent a few nights at Wanchai88. This is an aparthotel property at the Thomson Rd and Fleming Rd. intersection in Wanchai that is offering really good rates during the pandemic. Reservation was made through booking.com. Confirmation emails for our booking were received immediately. We were well received upon check-in on the 3rd floor of the building. Check-in was a smooth and relatively quick process. They offer luggage hold service and have a nice lobby seating area near the front desk. The rooms at Wanchai88 lack aesthetic appeal compared to most midrange properties around the city. However, they are functional and spacious with an interesting office refit configuration. There is a long work station with rolling chair, large open windows facing Victoria Peak and the streets of Wanchai below. Room includes flatscreen TV, fridge, kettle, safe, ironing board, iron, small hair dryer, working A/C, fair lighting and plenty of electrical outlets. Bed was generally comfortable, didn't care for the overly soft pillows which take little shape or form. Bathroom size was fair and shower worked just fine. In short, the Wanchai88 property and rooms are a bit sterile, the property retains too much of its former commercial officeorigins. However, if you are in HK for business, rooms are functional enough, offer plenty of space and at least at the moment, they are much more affordable than pre-pandemic years.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Response from Duty Manager Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Wanchai 88 Hotel
Responded 17 Jul 2021
Dear BradJill, Thank you so much for your detailed feedback and fabulous to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Please feel free to visit our hotel website to find out more about the latest offers and hotel packages. Regards, Duty Manager Wanchai 88 Hotel
Read more
King Lam wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I have been there for a number of occasions but my last visit was however disappointing. This is because not only the room was dusty, there were also unidentifiable yellow stains on the bed sheet. When we made the complaint to them, they initially refused to change the room for us by claiming that the hotel was being fully booked. But of course, it was BS and they eventually offered us to stay in another room...it was definitely not a pleasant experience and what a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Response from Duty Manager Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Wanchai 88 Hotel
Responded 13 Feb 2021
Dear Mr. Lam, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. We are sorry that the recent experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Regards, Duty Manager Wanchai 88 Hotel
Read more
Cedez Li wrote a review Dec 2020
Hong Kong, China1758 contributions123 helpful votes
很久以前已想試這家, 終於入住, 可是, 真的沒有下次。 好處: 1. 地點好: 地鐵站走不到五分鐘就到, 附近什麼都有 2. 房間好: 很大, 雖然這次入住不是最基本房型, 但基本房型都大 3. 很冷, 要求下有提供暖爐 壞處: 1. 入住前已知道這家酒店的入住/退房時間為1500-1100, 比一般酒店都來很短。額外要求可否遲退房, 是安排了延到1200退房但那個電郵的字眼句子令人很不爽, 好像拖捨給你。 2. 房間方面: I) 說是山景房, 實際上都是看著對面的樓景, 都已經是18樓還是這樣, 只可把窗簾拉上 II) 房間不夠乾淨, 在自我清潔消毒時, 那些超髒的消毒濕紙巾可見 (見圖) III) 網站上都沒說有浴缸, 但原來是有浴缸的, 搞得沒帶浴鹽, 應該要更新各網站的資訊了吧。可是其實也沒有用, 夜想先放一缸水清潔一下再浸浴, 但那個去水的塞卻動不了.... 3. 明白疫情下有控制人流的政策, 但2100-0900 不准訪客也太長時間了吧, 病毒會下班嗎? 其他酒店有相類似政策也不會這麼久。 4. 本來朋友就晚下班, 所以我先到, 朋友後到。明白要去3樓前台登記, 但地下那個看門員卻以審犯的態度質問, 「他是誰? 沒有登記的?」讓人火大。而再出去時, 他也是從我由電梯一出來到酒店門口也是定晴地看著我! 我做錯了什麼了嗎? 跟其他朋友也討論過, 他們也被找過麻煩, 沒下次! Finally tried out this hotel… but… no next time. Good Points: 1. Location: <5 min walk from MTR. All kind of shops nearby. 2. Good Room: very spacious. Even most basic type of rooms are big. 3. A heater is provided as per my request. Bad Points: 1. The check in/out time are 1500-1100. I specially requested for late check out during my booking. They arranged a late check out at 1200 but the words in the email made me so uncomfortable, feels like charity. 2. About the room: I) It should be a mountain view room but even on the 18/F, I was facing the buildings opposite. II) The room is quite dirty as seen in the dirt on the alcohol cleaning wipe. III) The sites didn’t tell there is a tub. They should better update the information on the site. However, the tub is useless coz the plug of the tub is not working. 3. I understand under the pandemic there should be better control of people. However, this hotel didn’t allow visitor from 2100 to 0900, such a long period of time! Other hotels with similar policy didn’t have such a long period. 4. My friend off from work late and so I checked in first. When my friend arrived, the guard on the G/F spoke like interrogation. When we went out again, the guard also stared at us from the lift to the hotel door. Did I do sth wrong? I talked with other friends who went to this hotel before and they told me they also have been treated badly. No next time!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
2 Helpful votes
Response from Duty Manager Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Wanchai 88 Hotel
Responded 25 Dec 2020
Read more
US$43 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
V Wanchai 2 Hotel
ChinaHong KongHong Kong Island / Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wanchai 88 Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Wanchai 88 Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Wan Chai (0.3 km), Ophelia (0.3 km), and Lee Tung Avenue (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wanchai 88 Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, dry cleaning, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Wanchai 88 Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to Wanchai 88 Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Oyster House, Chotto Maki, and Burger Joys.
Are any cleaning services offered at Wanchai 88 Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Wanchai 88 Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Wanchai 88 Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tai Kwun - Centre for Heritage and Arts (2.2 km), Sik Sik Yuen Wong Tai Sin Temple (7.5 km), and PMQ (2.5 km).
Is Wanchai 88 Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.