We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Harbourview Hong Kong

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (881)
360
Panoramas (82)
Room & Suite (441)

View prices for your travel dates

Special rate available
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#181 of 605 hotels in Hong Kong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Harbourview is located downtown on the north side of Hong Kong island in Wanchai facing Hong Kong's famous Victoria Harbour. Just steps from Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and near celebrated shopping and sightseeing spots, it is the perfect base for conducting business and exploring the city. At The Harbourview, everyone strives to deliver quality service with a personal touch. The intimate service and the matchless location has made The Habourview the preferred accommodation choice for both business and leisure travellers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

No. 4 Harbour Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong China
Name/address in local language
The Harbourview Hong Kong
1,659Review23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 290
  • 786
  • 422
  • 95
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
mosley59 wrote a review Dec 2019
London, United Kingdom15 contributions22 helpful votes
Be very careful about which rooms you book. The back of the hotel has a concrete wall about 4 meters away. Factor in all the floors and you realise that nearly all the rooms are in permanent semi-darkness during the day. Rooms are nice and the buffet breakfast is great and plentiful. The biggest issue is that the WiFi is atrocious. After about 11am the speed slows to an unusable crawl. I stayed in 3 different rooms and found the same issue. Storage for clothes is not great due to the size of the rooms. Staff are nice and location is great for the ferry to Kowloon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 15 Dec 2019
Dear mosley59, Thank you for staying with us during your business trip in Hong Kong. We hope your trip was successful and you are happy with the fruitful results it has generated for you. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant dining experience at Harbour Restaurant and we are delighted to receive your recognition on our service and location. When we opened about 30 years ago, all our rooms had wide views of either Victoria Harbour or Wan Chai district. However, our views have changed along with the rapid development in the district and the neighbouring area. We are blessed that most of our rooms are still facing the harbour against a renowned splendid city skyline which is ever more fascinating. Please let us know if you would like a room with harbour view or a larger one when making the reservation with us. We will arrange it for you if it is available. Our guests’ WiFi experience is our priority of improvement. This year we have upgraded our WiFi service plan and increased the cable network throughout the property to cope with the ever-increasing usage. Your feedback is very important to us. We will continue to upgrade our WiFi network next year particularly when the renovation takes place. Thank you for sharing with us your review which is valuable. Please come and stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alanthebairn wrote a review Dec 2019
Falkirk, United Kingdom876 contributions428 helpful votes
+1
The Harbourview is ideally situated for public transport and the the conference centre.It currently has great views of the harbour although building work locally might change this in future. Staff are polite and friendly. But, as you will see from my photos the bathroom was truly filthy. The dirt was not recent but obviously accumulated over a long period of time. Additionally, the toilet made a whistling sound when ever flushed. The restaurant was disgraceful, I will write a separate review of it. If proper care was shown to this property it could be a very good hotel but as it stands I would avoid it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 11 Dec 2019
Dear Alanthebairn, Thank you for sharing with us your feedback and for your recognition on our location and service. The stains shown in your pictures are stubborn though we have tried removing it by detergent. In view of this, we have launched a room upgrade project since 2016. Part of our rooms have been renovated or refurbished by stages. The top four levels known as The Optimum Floor were renovated in 2016 and 2018. In 2019, most of our rooms were refurbished with new carpet, curtain, TV, etc. The next renovation will take place in 2020. We understood it had affected your stay experience and as a courtesy gesture, a complimentary room upgrade on your next visit has been offered. We are glad that you have accepted the refund of your consumption on the dinner buffet as well as the room upgrade offer. Your valuable review is appreciated and it is important to our improvement. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
georgemartinamme2018 wrote a review Dec 2019
Bergen, The Netherlands7 contributions8 helpful votes
The Harbourview Hotel in HK is a YMCA hotel, but one that doesn't make this obvious. You will see the logo if you look around, but it is a business class hotel within the YMCA group, or so I am told. It is well situated, close to the luxurious Grand Hyatt and the HK Convention & Exhibition Centre. The Star Ferry pier as well as the Wanchai MTR (Metro) station are about 15 minutes away on foot. The hotel offers a restaurant but I hardly ever eat in hotels when I'm in HK. The building dates back to a time when it did have Harbourview in most of its rooms. Today, the rooms with a view are available at a premium. The others offer views of rather dingy, moldy walls of neighbouring office blocks. The reception is basic and the staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms are not
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 9 Dec 2019
Dear georgemartinamme2018, Thank you for your detailed review on The Harbourview. We hope you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are conveniently located in the heart of Wan Chai district well-covered by a developed transport network, which enables us to become one of the most popular accommodations for travellers. Most of our rooms are facing the splendid Victoria Harbour. However, some of our rooms are blocked while rapid development in the district was taking place. We will pay more attention on the cleanliness of our room particularly on the amenities. Please feel welcome to contact our Housekeeping if the facilities in the room do not work well. We will ask our Engineering team to check and repair. If necessary, we will change the room for a better stay experience. We are grateful that our price met your expectation. We would like to recommend you to check out our official website for our room packages which offer freebies such as breakfast buffet for more value-added options. Please come and stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tony M wrote a review Nov 2019
Singapore, Singapore8 contributions12 helpful votes
Room was good and staff were very helpful. I had no problems getting a taxi each of the several times I needed one. View from the room was good. Internet worked fine. A few more signs in the general area pointing to the hotel would have been helpful. I got lost a couple of times trying to find my way back to the hotel. Luckily I had data roaming so managed to get back with the help of google maps.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 9 Dec 2019
Dear E9722OXtony, Thank you for sharing with us your stay experience at The Harbourview. We hope you had a very wonderful time with us. Our concierge are always happy to catch taxis whenever our guests requested, though sometimes it will be quite difficult during peak hours. More than that, they are also very happy to assist our guests in direction. We are not able to install signs on the road as it is subject to the decision of the government but our Concierge will be happy to share with you the simplest way of getting back to us. Please come and stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Not happy camper wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution6 helpful votes
My family and i booked a stay in Hong Kong from December 22 to December 29 through Expedia with 1 room with 1 queen bed and a 2nd room for 2 twin beds. Iris Ng insisted that i booked 2 single beds instead of 2 twin beds. I asked that i should get what i paid for but she sarcastically asked me with the question, "Can you advise us what’s your understanding about 2 twin beds? As the room is for 1 adult and 1 child, 2 single beds is enough for their accommodation." Such an insult. I said that if they don't give us the beds we asked for, we will cancel our booking with them, she replied with "Certainly, please contact Expedia for cancellation request. We will confirm with them once the request is received." Needless to say, we cancelled our booking with them. TERRIBLE CUSTOMER
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 9 Dec 2019
Dear Nothappycamper69, Thank you for your sharing. We feel sorry for the experience you have with us. We have shared your case with the Guest Service team for an investigation. We noticed that there is misunderstanding on the bedding types and hence the miscommunication. 1 Queen Bed means one single bed large enough for two persons. 1 Twin Bed means two single beds in one room, each bed for one person. We do not have room with four single beds (2 Twin Beds). We have provided training right away to improve our communication with guests and the definition on bedding types. We wish you a happy journey in Hong Kong.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HPT wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution4 helpful votes
I stayed for 5 nights in late November - thankfully, I was given a room with a 'harbour view'. Although the room itself is narrow, it serves its purpose. As some others have mentioned, the Internet access through WiFi was intermittent - it tends to be ok during the day, but becomes bad in the evening. The breakfast spread was ok - nothing much to shout about. Staff's friendliness varies - I guess it really depends on your luck. The hotel is within 5 minutes walk from the Convention Centre. In terms of dining options, once you cross the overhead bridge away from the harbour, there are plenty of local food options along Jaffe street and Lockhart street. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 9 Dec 2019
Dear THPSG, Thank you very much for staying with us during your business trip in Hong Kong. We hope your trip was successful and has generated fruitful results for you. We believe it would be a fantastic stay experience when staying in a room with beautiful view of the world renowned Victoria Harbour. We hope you enjoyed it. Our WiFi speed is always on our priority to cope with due to the ever-increasing usage. We have upgraded our WiFi service package and renewed the cable coverage recently and will continue to improve it. It’s glad for us to hear that the choice of food in our breakfast bufffet suit your appetite. We will improve our dining service as well. Our close proximity to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and chocies of restaurants nearby has made us become one of the most sought-after accommodation for both business and leisure travellers. We are always happy to make dining recommendations and to show directions for our guests. Please come and stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Philip M wrote a review Nov 2019
Lindell Beach, Canada115 contributions83 helpful votes
My wife and I just spent three days in Hong Kong, staying at the Harbourview Hotel. We found this to be a great choice for many reasons. Firstly, value for the money. Hong Kong is an expensive city! This hotel was one of few good values in the entire city! Location was awesome. Very central to downtown and great access to the subway system and ferry system to Kowloon. We paid a bit more for a view room and to be on the newly renovated floors. I had read reviews that the rooms were somewhat tired. Certainly not on the 'Optimum Floors'. Although small, which is what you must expect in Hong Kong, the room was beautifully appointed. Furniture, lighting, bathroom etc. were all more than expected. The view cannot be beat. A full, unobstructed view over Victoria Harbour to Kowloon and
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 9 Dec 2019
Dear Philip M, Your sharing is so wonderful! Thank you for making our day! We hope you and your wife will enjoy the lovely memories of your trip in Hong Kong. We are very glad that everything of us was to your satisfaction – price, location, accessibility, room decoration and amenities, service, breakfast buffet, and the splendid Victoria Harbour view from your room which we believe is the most fanstastic part of your stay experience. The Optimum Floor was renovated in 2016 and 2018 respectively, and a renovation will take place on the other couple of floors next year as part of our upgrade project. We believe we would have gained the missing star on your rating for us if our restauranty staff had provided service that meet your expectation. We will enhance our training to gain a full rating from you during yuour next stay. We are so happy that we would be your choice again. Please stay with us again soon! We look very much forward to welcoming you. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alerock wrote a review Nov 2019
Belluno, Italy2647 contributions227 helpful votes
+1
I spent 4 nights at this hotel where I had stayed many years ago. Very good location which allows you to walk to the convention centre in 5 minutes (which is really s “plus” if you’re in Hong King for an exhibition). The hotel has not been renovated except for a couple of floors (where I booked my room with harbour view). The room was small but nice, however there were no drawers where to put my clothes (except for the hangers for business suits and trousers) which I had to leave in my suitcase. Absolutely unacceptable the size of the bathroom ... ok the shower but the rest too tiny (and no place where to hang the towels) !!! Reasonable breakfast (but with a very poor offer of fruit juices ... considering we are in Asia). Quite expensive rate.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 9 Dec 2019
Dear Alerock, Thank you for staying with us again for your recent business trip to Hong Kong. We hope you have enjoyed the fruitful results your trip has generated for you. If you are looking for an accommodation near to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, The Harbourview is always one of the optimal choices in the district. You were staying on The Optimum Floor which is a renovated floor. We have marked your feedback on the lack of drawers in the room and will take it into account in the renovation of the next couple of floors next year. We have forwarded your feedbeck on juice at the breakfast buffet to our F&B Manager for his consideration. We have launched some room packages offering freebies such as free breakfast buffet. Please feel welcome to visit our official website for details. Please stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you in the near futrure. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Arthur Y wrote a review Nov 2019
12 contributions35 helpful votes
Good room attentive and friendly staff. Excellent advice on avoiding any social issues within the city. Hotel restaurant was nice . Close to a wet market and pedestrian bridges over busy roads was a bonus. Most had escalators access
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 9 Dec 2019
Dear Arthur Y, Thank you for sharing with us your feedback on your stay at The Harbourview. We hope you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful time in the city. We are always happy to assist our guests in, not only the directions but also the happenings. Your compliment has greatly encouraged us. We will continue to keep up both our guest service and dining service. Please come and stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bram W wrote a review Nov 2019
Bangkok, Thailand14 contributions32 helpful votes
The hotel is overpriced compared to other places in the area. It smells the breakfast is basic at best and the staff seems to be as uninspired as a McDonald's drive through. The worst thing is they will try to trick you in additional charges for items you have already paid for in your booking. Don't go there if you don't like a good argument over your final bill.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 27 Nov 2019
Dear Bram W, Thank you for sharing your review with us. Our prices are adjusted according to the market demand particularly during the fair period. For more alternatives, we have launched some room packages offering freebies such as free upgrade and late check-out on our official website. We always strive for improvement and we will take your feedback on your dining experience into account. Training will be provided to improve our service and communication skill on bill explanation as well. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hong Kong area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$525 - HK$1,323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
香港湾景国际酒店, 湾景国际大酒店, 湾景国际, 香港湾景国际, 湾景国际酒店, harbourview hotel hong kong, harbour view international house hong kong, harbourview hong kong
LOCATION
ChinaHong KongSouthorn Playground / Hong Kong Island / Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
320
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HARBOURVIEW HONG KONG - Prices & Hotel Reviews (China)