The Harbourview Hong Kong

The Harbourview Hong Kong

Harbourview premier room
Traveller (881)
Panorama at The Harbourview Hong Kong
360
Panoramas (82)
Premier Plus Harbour View Room
Room & Suite (441)

View prices for your travel dates

HK$436
Earn rewards on eligible stays
HK$407
HK$349
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#181 of 605 hotels in Hong Kong
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Harbourview is located downtown on the north side of Hong Kong island in Wanchai facing Hong Kong's famous Victoria Harbour. Just steps from Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and near celebrated shopping and sightseeing spots, it is the perfect base for conducting business and exploring the city. At The Harbourview, everyone strives to deliver quality service with a personal touch. The intimate service and the matchless location has made The Habourview the preferred accommodation choice for both business and leisure travellers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

No. 4 Harbour Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong China
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Hong Kong Intl Airport
Shenzhen Airport
54.3 km
See all flights
Wan Chai
5 minMass Transit Railway (MTR)
1,659Review23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 290
  • 786
  • 422
  • 95
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
FunkyMarshmallow wrote a review Feb 2012
Bournemouth, United Kingdom295 contributions134 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this hotel as it seemed an ideal central location for travel to the ‘touristy’ areas within Hong Kong and our choice was perfect. We purchased a 3 day tourist travel pass for HK$300 which gave us a return trip to the airport and unlimited MTR use for 72 hours. It took about 25 minutes on the MTR from the airport to Wan Chai MTR station, on arrival we took a taxi to the hotel as it was late and we didn’t want the hassle of having to find the hotel the dark, it cost HK$20 which is the minimal fare, the hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from the station.
We checked in late, the only double room left was a smoking room which suited my partner, (we were offered a non-smoking twin room) I would have preferred non-smoking as the room smelt and our baggage, clothes etc. picked up this smell during our time at the hotel, but this room was our choice so no bad reflection on the hotel .
The room was perfect for our needs, some reviews state that the rooms are small, I didn’t feel this was the case as we had no intention of spending much time in the hotel anyway, we were there to see Hong Kong not the inside of a hotel room. We also had a room with ‘restricted view’ which meant we just saw other high rise buildings however again, this was our choice; we could have paid for a harbour view room if we wanted.
The shower was fantastic, the room was clean, with fresh towels, toiletries and refreshments each day including a complimentary bottle of water and there was also a minibar and fridge. The TV had sufficient channels for the little time we spent in the hotel.
The reception staff were friendly, spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful in advising on tourist information. This hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Wan Chai MTR station and Star Ferry to Kowloon HK$2.5 so all in all the perfect location for any tourist visiting Hong Kong.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SydneyPerla wrote a review Sept 2011
Sydney632 contributions599 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel for three nights. The hotel is in a nice location but it takes a while to walk there from the MTR Station. So make sure you either get there by taxi or - if you would like to walk - to bring a small towel for this "sweaty" walk. As you have to cross streets via footbridges for several times and sometimes the escalators dont work or they work in one direction only you might have to carry your suitcases and bags up and down quite often. Nevertheless the location is really good!
The hotel staff was really friendly and welcoming. When you book make sure to get a room with a view (harbourside!) for some astonishing looks over to Kowloon.
The room was really nice. You have some extra facilties: e.g. the hotel provides an adaptor (international) and a "station" which you can use to charge your iPod or to play your own music with it. The bathroom is rather small but as you wont stay there for long it is handy enough to occur lovely.
Rooms are air-conditioned and clean with some space to put your stuff to.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oleven wrote a review Apr 2009
Billericay, United Kingdom13 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Harbourview is the best value hotel I found after trawling the internet for HK hotels, with good location and great view. We arrived at HK airport got straight on the train to Hong Kong station and then got a taxi to the hotel (known to taxi drivers as the YMCA Harbourview). The taxi was less than £4, it wasn't very far, but we had a couple of bags. I think the first thing that struck us was the sheer number of staff in the lobby alone, we were met by the porter before the taxi had even stopped! Checkin was smooth and the staff were very friendly. We had booked a standard harbour view room, the room itself was large enough for us, with a double bed, desk and a chair and table and chair. The bathroom was clean, it didn't have a bath, but it did have a lovely large shower, which had a large fixed circular shower head and a separate detachable shower head-which is just what was needed after a 12 hour flight.
On our first night the harbour was very foggy so we couldn't fully appreciate the view, we could however still see the convention centre which is quite pleasant, also the small park across the road from the hotel which Chinese people do Tai Chi in every morning. The second day the fog had lifted and I was really pleased we had spent the extra on the view as we had a beautiful view of the harbour and all the neon lit up buildings.
The hotel was a gentle 10 minute walk to Wan Chi MTR, which is clean and efficient.
We had breakfast in the hotel everyday which was reasonably priced and had plenty of variety, standard european breakfast items and rice, noodles and other Asian flavours.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
zoukee888 wrote a review Dec 2007
Malaysia48 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid HK$1450 for a room/night with an extra bed thru the HKIA Hotel Agent. I thought that it was pretty expensive for the hotel rating of 2 stars (as indicated in trip advisor hotel rating) but later I realised that it's worth it.

When I reached the hotel, I was surprised to find that the rooms were cosy small but very clean. it comes with a 20" LCD tv attached to the wall. Although the toilet was very small too but I still loved it as it's very new, modern and clean. So, I thought that this hotel should be given at least a 4 star or 5 star hotel.

The view from the hotel room was splendid at day or night as you'll be facing the harbour.

The location is near the convention centre, Central Plaza (one of the highest building in HK) and MTR but shopping mall is quite some distance away. However, you can find some good food restaurant & night market that sells good and cheap stuff just below the MTR station.

The lobby was pretty small but it's cosy with hotel staff smiling at you and greeting you. Check-in & check-out was no hassle as I'm with a 2 year old toddler.

So, I think the $ that I paid for is worth it based on my 1 night stay. I'll sure stay in Harbour View International House again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pier21 wrote a review Nov 2007
dorset651 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had been to Hong Kong 14 years ago and stayed in the dreaded Chungking Mansions. So, for this trip had a bit of a dilemma about where to stay - Kowloon or on the island. However, after looking at lots of hotels - on the Kowloon and Hong Kong island side, we eventually chose the Harbour View international House. What a great choice! We had a Premium Harbour View Room - which has a HUGE window looking out over Hong Kong harbour - particularly spectacular at night. We would come back after dinner and have a glass of wine in our room, admiring the view! The hotel was clean and very efficiently run - with armies of staff to greet you in the reception! Free safes both in the room and behind reception are available. Also - a good size bathroom (as many have complained about small bathrooms in HK). We got a good rate booking through Expedia.

Hong Kong Island was much nicer (in our opinion) than the Kowloon side - much more character and atmosphere - lots of little chinese shops selling birds nests etc, market streets, the temple on Hollywood road, the escalators!

We took the Airport Express and then a cab on arrival and departure which all went very smoothly. From the hotel it is a short walk to the MTR, or to our preferred mode of transport the fantastic Hong Kong Trams. We used these in the morning and then coming home in the evening after a few beers in the happy hours of Lan Kwai Fong. Lots of restaurants in the area - at all price ranges (including little noodle shops). A great hotel for a good price!

Get an Oyster card and then you can hop on and off of trams, ferries and trains without any worries about cash.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ricklangley wrote a review Aug 2007
Birmingham England59 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First timer in Hong Kong so didn't really know what to expect. This hotel seemed very reasonably priced considering it is on Hong Kong island itself and near the Convention Centre as well. I paid in advance and my room cost about £66 a night. I would imagine it is lot more expensive when there is a big convention on. The room was a bit on the small side but nicely furnished and had a good view over the harbour. Quite well located for the Wan Chai MTR station, though I would have said it was nearer 15 mins walk. Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Overall, an excellent experience and I would certainly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ellemary wrote a review Aug 2007
Liverpool, United Kingdom44 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Having never been to Hong Kong before i was abit on edge about what we were letting ourselves in for. We arrived at the airport an caught the express train to central which was clean and very quick. From then we got a taxi to the hotel which cost us 30 Hong Kong Dollars. Upon arriving the staff were extremly friendly and upgraded our room. A porter help us with our luggage.

The room was spacious and very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side but plently of hot water. the view was amazing. The only thing is there is some renevation work going on, but it is only during the day and starts late.

Location wise it was excellent, just 5 minutes walk form the Wan Chai tube station. The BEST way to get round Hong Kong is to buy an Octopus card form the services desk at the station which will cost you 150 HKD each and you have to pay in cash. With this you can use it on all trains (excpet the airport express) busses, the peak tram and the star ferry. The price includes a 50hkd deposit which you get back once you return the card along with any credit you didn't spend.

I would definetly retunr to this hotel. Every one was so helpfull and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not happy camper wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and i booked a stay in Hong Kong from December 22 to December 29 through Expedia with 1 room with 1 queen bed and a 2nd room for 2 twin beds. Iris Ng insisted that i booked 2 single beds instead of 2 twin beds. I asked that i should get what i paid for but she sarcastically asked me with the question, "Can you advise us what’s your understanding about 2 twin beds? As the room is for 1 adult and 1 child, 2 single beds is enough for their accommodation." Such an insult. I said that if they don't give us the beds we asked for, we will cancel our booking with them, she replied with "Certainly, please contact Expedia for cancellation request. We will confirm with them once the request is received." Needless to say, we cancelled our booking with them. TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! BE WARNED!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 9 Dec 2019
Dear Nothappycamper69, Thank you for your sharing. We feel sorry for the experience you have with us. We have shared your case with the Guest Service team for an investigation. We noticed that there is misunderstanding on the bedding types and hence the miscommunication. 1 Queen Bed means one single bed large enough for two persons. 1 Twin Bed means two single beds in one room, each bed for one person. We do not have room with four single beds (2 Twin Beds). We have provided training right away to improve our communication with guests and the definition on bedding types. We wish you a happy journey in Hong Kong.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LauraJane1992 wrote a review Aug 2019
Sydney, Australia40 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When we booked, this was roughly $240AU per night. We booked it for 3 people for.3 nights to share in the same room, and as it was rated 4 stars, we thought this was acceptable. What a disappointment the room was! Three beds were squished together, there was no room between them; the added bed was placed before the nightstand and so there was only a tiny space to pass the bed between it and the wall. There was one space for a suitcase next to the wardrobe (no room for a third), and a tiny space between the bed and the window. Definitely NOT okay to give such a room to 3 adults. I have stayed in better hostels.
The bathroom was also as tiny as can be, squished into a small room off the minuscule hallway. Not only was everything small, but the room itself was sadly in need of renovation and looked NOTHING like the images provided of the hotel on the website.
The gym was also small; the buffet and restaurant were also overpriced. Do not stay here - there are better hotels with a better location. It is still a 8-10 minute walk to Wan Chai station and nothing really around the area to do.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 12 Aug 2019
Dear LauraJane1992, Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We are disappointed that our room environment is far from your expectation. Getting 3 people in a room is quite packed in our rooms of standard size. We recommend you to stay in our large rooms. There are large rooms available on The Optimum Floor which was renovated in 2016 and 2018. Please let us know in your booking if you were to stay with us again. The room will be arranged according to our guest request if it is available. Our room rates are adjusted according to the market demand. Rates usually go up when there is large-scale conference take place nearby. We also have launched some packages including freebies on our website as an alternative for our guests. Please feel welcome to check out our website for details. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sm_art_1970 wrote a review Sept 2016
Vancouver32 contributions57 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a confirmed booking,Full harbour view, straight from the hotel website. The booking clearly stated that the room I booked had a Queen sized bed and a bathtub. I was given a room with two twin beds and no bath.
I was informed that this full harbour room was the one i had reserved. even though my confirmation stated that the room was Queen size bed and Bathtub.
I was moved the next day, into a room that matched my booking description.
The duty manager ( i think his name was Darren) was very helpful and had housekeeping provide me with a mattress pad ( Chinese beds are very hard).
At checkout, I was charged 25% more for the room that was obviously a lower standard than the room I ended up in. When i objected, the manager told me that the room I had booked (AGAIN!) was the twin bed/shower room. And that I was actually upgraded to the room that MATCHED the description in my confirmation. What I am saying, is that the hotel continuously told me I was wrong, despite the email that described my room as having a Q size bed and a bath tub....I was given a 30HKdollar discount. ( the over charge was over 500 HKDollars)
Also, the desk called me in my room at 10:30 pm to tell me I had forgotten to sign something the first night. Disturbing their customers late at night! Deceiving customers and telling them they are wrong when clearly they are not.
Unfriendly service in the restaurant at breakfast. terrible coffee. TERRIBLE!! Breakfast was just ok , but with poor service. The most pleasant person at breakfast was the nice woman who clears away the dishes. The location is excellent. the bathtub is tiny, but still, it's ok.
I would not stay here again. They have a lot to learn about the quiet and welcoming service a hotel should give it's customers. This facility is being upgraded, but they really need to upgrade the service skills of their staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Harbourview_Manager, Manager at The Harbourview Hong Kong
Responded 19 Oct 2016
Dear sm_art_1970, Thank you for staying at The Harbourview for your trip to Hong Kong, and sharing with us your comments on our service which is very important to us. We investigated your case with the Front Office Manager. We sincerely apologise for the inappropriate calling time we made to you during your stay. We have taken steps to ensure this will not happen again. Service training has been provided to our service team particularly to the staff involved in your case. Check-in procedures have been further refined based on your case to improve our communication and service. Regarding the booking, according to our investigation, the confirmation you presented upon check-in was a print out of our website screen capture of the room you booked. However, please understand that it is our standard procedure to assign the room according to the request specified in the booking we received. As there was no special request such as the required bedding type specified in your booking, and there were only twin bed rooms left for Harbour View Room you booked upon your arrival, we could only offer free upgrade to Executive Deluxe Room on the next day for the rest period of your stay. Upon check-out, we charged you the rate of Harbour View Room for your whole period of stay. We did not over charge you. We understood that you had an unpleasant check-in experience. As a gesture of courtesy, in addition to the free upgrade, we therefore also offered you a discount on minibar items. We are sorry that our dining service and food quality did not meet your expectation. We have forwarded your feedback to our F&B Department for further improvement on service and good quality, particularly the coffee. Detailed briefing will be given to the service team every morning and comprehensive supervision will be implemented through the breakfast. Thank you for your compliments on our Housekeeping service and location, despite your unpleasant stay experience with us. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We deeply value your feedback and if you have further questions or comments, please feel welcome to discuss with us by email at info@theharbourview.com.hk. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Dear janice805, The last ferry to Wan Chai from Tsim Sha Tsui departs at 22:30-22:50 according to the official website of The “Star” Ferry Company, Ltd. According to the MTR’s official website, the Wan Chai Station opening hours is 05:53-01:11, Tsim Sha Tsui is 05:54-01:09 (the last train to Central is 00:54), Admiralty is 05:55-01:15 (to Chai Wan’s direction is 01:00), and Central is 05:56-01:14 (to Chai Wan’s direction is 00:58). Please note that passenger may not pass through the entry gates less than 5 minutes before the scheduled departure times of the last train. The schedule of the last train varies at different stations and with different directions and is subject to change without prior notice. Please visit the MTR’s official website for further details and trip planning. Thank you.
JIM M asked a question Jan 2019
ARMAGH87 contributions61 helpful votes
What is best way from airport to hotel should we take the metro or a bus from airport
Answer from wernerbolt
6 contributions
The best way is to take the airport express train till Central station. From there take a taxi. Its approximately HK$ 35.-
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Dear bangbong, Thank you for your interest in staying at The Harbourview. We hope you will have a very wonderful Christmas in Hong Kong. Our rooms can accommodate one extra bed for a maximum of three persons. We recommend you to book two Premier Rooms each equipped with two single beds. We will try our best to arrange the rooms next to each other if the room occupancy condition allows. Please come and stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Dear Wen-Ling L, Thank you for your enquiry. We are pleased that you are interested in staying at The Harbourview. Hong Kong is a safe place, however, like other cosmopolitan cities, walking alone at night particularly in the back alleys or quiet areas is relatively unsafe. Wan Chai is a bustling district clustering with numerous local eateries and bistros, and bars and restaurants featuring international cuisine. Harbour Restaurant at The Harbourview provides breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets presenting an enticing array of international cuisine. The theme of the dinner buffet will be updated every 2 or 3 months. We hope you will have a wonderful dining experience in Wan Chai district and at Harbour Restaurant. Please come and stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Bernadette B asked a question Sept 2018
Chicago, Illinois157 contributions57 helpful votes
What is the deposit each night? We are staying for 3 nights, the optimum floor harbourview room.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Dear Bernadette B, Thank you for staying at The Harbourview for your upcoming visit to Hong Kong. Please be advised that one-night deposit is required if you wish to guarantee your booking. Please send your booking information to our Reservation Department. We will check the payment status of your booking for you. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for your support of The Harbourview.
Tania E wrote a tip Apr 2024
Hong Kong18 contributions21 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
" Very disappointed in this hotel for a number of reasons do not pre pay any rooms here at this hotel and do not believe the photos"
Read full review
Peter T wrote a tip Dec 2023
Sydney, Australia13 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely choose the top two floor - just let them know. "
Read full review
Bea wrote a tip Sept 2023
Sydney, Australia2,430 contributions252 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a non smoking floor as this hotel still has smoking floors."
Read full review
UD74 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Bradford, United Kingdom202 contributions266 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s a very busy hotel so if you need to book it for a few days then book it in advance so they’res no disappointments"
Read full review
Bryan F wrote a tip Feb 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Somewhere else"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hong Kong area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$453 - HK$977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
香港湾景国际酒店, 湾景国际大酒店, 湾景国际, 香港湾景国际, 湾景国际酒店, harbourview hotel hong kong, harbour view international house hong kong, harbourview hong kong
LOCATION
ChinaHong KongSouthorn Playground / Hong Kong Island / Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
320
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HARBOURVIEW HONG KONG HK$819 (H̶K̶$̶1̶,̶1̶1̶6̶) - Updated 2024

All Hong Kong HotelsHong Kong Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hong KongHotels near The Harbourview Hong Kong
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire