Hop Inn

Hop Inn

36 Mody Road 5/F Lyton Building, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong China
Traveller (455)
Panorama at the Hop Inn
360
Panoramas (8)
THe small Room nr 7 in Hop Inn Carnavon Road
Room & Suite (399)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#6 of 146 hostels in Hong Kong
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor's CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2019 - 2012 Tripadvisor's TRAVELER'S CHOICE 2013 / 2012 WINNER Top 20 Bargain Hotels in China Tripadvisor's TRAVELER'S CHOICE 2012 WINNER - TRENDIEST HOTEL Most Popular Hong Kong Hostel 2012 by Hostelworld Voted the No.1 HONG KONG HOSTEL 2012 / 2011 / 2010 By Hostelworld ~ Recommended hostel by Lonely Planet / Fodor’s / Petit Fute ~ Centrally located in TST nestled among 5-star hotels, each living space is unique – designed and transformed into living artwork by a different talented artist or illustrator. Private ensuite room / Dormitory / Spacious Communal Space with rooftop terrace makes HOP INN a perfect base in town. Long stay discount or Monthly rate also available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Game room
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Vending machine
Video game console
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Oven
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

36 Mody Road 5/F Lyton Building, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong China
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Hong Kong Intl Airport
26.2 km
See all flights
Shenzhen Airport
53.2 km
See all flights
East Tsim Sha Tsui
3 minMass Transit Railway (MTR)
573Reviews6Q+A83Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 223
  • 260
  • 63
  • 14
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
dgm727 wrote a review Dec 2017
Vancouver, Canada
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff was pleasant and friendly.

The location was good, very close to the harbor.

This is a youth hostel! Please note this before booking. The hotel description did not mention this. Oh wait this is not a hotel!

The room size was standard for Hong Kong. The room and amenities are in dire need of refurbishment. Everything looked old and dirty.

Our room was located just around the corner from the reception desk. This made it noisy, conversations and the ringing telephone could be heard.

I would not recommend this property.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kinger76 wrote a review Jul 2013
Oak Park, Illinois
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Yes, it says on the website there are rooms with no windows, but it was a great shock given how small the room was to have no window as well. I am not claustrophobic, but I could not stay in the room. Unfortunately, all the others were booked and nothing could be done...except me paying for the room due to the cancellation policy and finding somewhere else to stay.

Also, this was the location on Hankow St which does not have a common room. I thought perhaps I would just relax in the common room, and then sleep in the windowless room, but the common area is at another location about a 10 minute walk away.

So be sure to ask if your room has a window!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
getehem_7 wrote a review Apr 2012
Manila, Philippines
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 4 nights from 12 to 16 of april 2012 in HOP INN on Carnavon Road, with my wife.
The very positive side is the location near Nathan Road and the MTR.
The price of the room is not really a bargain at 690 HK$ ( i.e. 89 US$). There are other places in the area which are cheaper and at least similar if not better.
1. The room is very small, what you can expect when it goes about Hong Kong. But not only the room, the bed as well is too small: 120 cms for a double bed is definitely not comfortable. Furthermore, the furniture is limited to this small bed, one side table, a TV set ( without any english language news channel ) and 3 plastic hangers on the door...There is also a bathroom ( see my pictures) with a shower , sink and toilet bowl. All together, less than 10 square meters. Clean, yes. It is clean. SInce the Inn is located on the 9th level, don't expect however to get always water in the toilet flush....better to know it before experiencing it!
2. The building is currently in renovation, and is wrapped into a kind of fishing net sustained by bamboo scaffoldings. As a result, don't be surprised if you see workers right in front of your window while you are in the bed...don't forget to close the curtains....
3. The access to the HOP INN is rather difficult to find : a dirty corridor between the Seven/Eleven and another shop. At the end, a lift for the 9th level. Not so easy to find the first time you come there.
4. The service : well, this is a " bed without breakfast"....don't expect anything else but a small place to sleep...
5. The management : I am a smoker. I don't book any room in any hotel claiming they get a non-smoking strict policy . That's why I carefully read the webpage of the Hop Inn before booking. No one mention about this issue. So I was quite surprised that I coun't find any ashtray in the room. Since we arrived very late ( about 11 pm) I decided to smoke one of my cigarillos and to water its end before throwing it in the garbage bin. The next evening at 11.20 PM, while we were already asleep, somebody knocked at the door ; I t was a " manager" who told me that the room maid found that I smoked in the room and that it was not allowed. I tried to tell him that I never requested a no smoking room and that I was ready to move to another room. He was becoming somehow rude and unpleasant : " No way. You don't smoke in the room. You want to smoke, you go outside in the street. Is it well understood?". I closed the door....
I can't accept such an attitude since there had not been any prior notice about smoking and since when I rent a room, I am the sole and only to decide how I use it for the time I rent it.
The rude and impolite attitude of this managerial member of staff has been very shocking to me.

So for us, this Hop Inn could be an average place to sleep ( and only that) provided that the management should acquire some educational skills.
Anyway, we won't " hop in" anymore......
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hopinn, Owner at Hop Inn
Responded 1 May 2012
First of all, I would like to express my apology for making you felt offended that evening. Sorry but I must clarify that I didn't use the words as you describe in your comments. For causing any misunderstanding & inconvenience, please kindly accept my apology. For your info, under the "Service & Facilities" page on our website, we did mention Hop Inn is a non-smoking environment. For every booking, we would include the House Rules in the booking confirmation highlighting the enforcement of our strictly no smoking policy in all area of the premises. As the management, I am sorry for the confusion had caused leading to the unpleasant stay of yours. We will review our method on how to impose the no smoking policy more clearly & effectively. Simon Hop Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amir L wrote a review Sept 2014
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed there for 2 nights
The room was extremely small, with 2 square meters of "bathroom" which included toilets, tiny sink and a shower. Walls and ceiling were not in a good conditions. So were the towels and the sheets. The towels had holes and the sheets had stains.
With all the above you can maybe manage, BUT not with the thin walls over there. EVERY person that walks in the corridor sounds like it's in your room and wakes you up, even if someone opens the door. This is horrible and ruined our nights.
The only good thing there is the charming and helpful staff and the location.
All in all, I do not recommend to go there,
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zeva2010 wrote a review Aug 2013
Worldwide
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked in for five nights here and I was much looking forward to checking in after seeing all the reviews and the photos of the hostel. The rooms looked absolutely adorable. After arriving into HK in rainy conditions, rather than wait in a lobby for another 30 mins, I decided to head out with my luggage cases in tow to find the hostel. it is only typical it stopped the heavy downpour when I found the building I was looking for.

As soon as I arrived I was greeted by the guard by the elevators. He immediately told me that I should take the lift up to, if memory serves me correctly, floor 6. I went up and proceeded to ring on the bell and waited for about 5 minutes to no avail. I head back down and the guard told me it was odd that nobody opened up and that I should try again. By this point, all wet and having just got off a 16 hour flight, I was tired, hungry and very irritated.

I went up again and rand the bell, someone did go in the door, but I figured they were a guest, they didn't pay no mind to me. Nobody opened the door. Finally after 5 minutes. I came back down and left.

I emailed Hopp Inn that night (I was homeless by the way) and they didn't seem fit to reply until the next day around midday. They refused to give me a refund for the deposit I had paid them.

Disappointed is an understatement. I just can't seem to find a decent or reliable place to stay in HK unless it is with a family member or friends!!

If they didn't want me to stay, they shouldn't have taken my money and I would have booked somewhere else that would have let me in the door!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hopinn, Owner at Hop Inn
Responded 24 Aug 2013
First of all, we are very sorry to learn about your bad experience. Hop Inn owns 2 premises. Our Hankow branch is located on 2/F whereas our Carnarvon branch is located on the 9/F. Hop Inn offers 24 hours reception at both branches. Your booking was made at the Hankow branch. All of our booking confirmation included a direction map with hostel address & phone no. One day prior to your arrival, you requested for the direction map again & we've sent it to you on the same morning. There are 2 unlicensed guesthouses in our building & both are located on the 6/F. I believed you were misled by the guard & went there instead. After receiving your email claiming your arrival & demanding a refund, we checked our security camera & saw no one arriving at our door at your said period. That is why we refused to refund the deposit as this would appear to us as no-show. Simon Hop Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rain T wrote a review Feb 2012
Singapore
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed @ Hop inn on hankow for 2 nights last month. Room clean, wifi functioning, quiet, accessible, service staff friendly. Everything was ok about the room, except for the smell that permeated into my room each night. It was the smell coming up from the restaurant at the ground floor. The smell lingered in the room throughout the night, despite having the aircon and fan running at full. Informed the reception about the problem, but there was nothing that it could be done to rectify the problem. As a result, my sleep was interrupted and I had to wear a face mask while I was in the room. The smell even lingered on my clothes and hair. For that, I would give it a poor score.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lies N wrote a review Jun 2011
indonesia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay in Hong Kong for one week, and decided to try the hospitality of a hostel for the first time. From the review I've red, this is the number one hostel in HK, and very recomended also clean. But what happen there is not as what I've expected.

This is not the owner fault, as they welcome us very well, and I didn't have problem with the policy or so on. The problem begin when we found out the bunk bed room is way too small for us. My wife is pregnant and my weight is almost 90kg, so I'm afraid I will wreck their bed if I sleep on the top of the bed.

On the first night after several hours trying so hard to sleep, I come to the receptionist and found the most snobish person I've ever met.
I've asked about whether we can move to the triple room, because that night around 2 AM nobody is coming. The reception a middle aged man, with long hair, and Tshirt, said that somebody is coming. And when my wife asked him again (around 3 AM) he's shouted angrily and said that he was very busy ( I look at his PC & I thought he was busy facebooking).

My wife said, it's only because we couldn't sleep that's she has to asked for the second time, there's no need to be rude. I know it's not their fault, but it's not like I'm doing that in purpose either.

The next morning we move to Hankow Hotel, just a few step from the Hostel and decided to move. The Hostel owner offer to sell our room to another person that might come by, and at the end of our 4 nights stay, only one person come and rent our bunk bed (she move on the next morning too).

We've paid 5500 HKD and lost around 4000 HKD (I've rent one bunk bed & one triple room for 4 night) . This is not about the money, because I understand their policy and I respect it. But the owner might consider to pay a staff who has more emphaty, than a rubbish like that man.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hopinn, Owner at Hop Inn
Responded 25 Jun 2011
Dear Doni, I am very sorry for making your stay an uncomfortable one. For the inconvenience & any negative feelings caused, please kindly accept my apology once again. On your first night, please understand that we really could not have released the other room to you. The room has been reserved & we've the responsibility to keep the room for the other guest despite his/her late arrival (the guest did came very late that night). Nevertheless, I am really sorry for how we've communicated about the situation. We shall seek improvement on our guest service. Once again, I am sorry for the bad feeling caused. Best regards, Simon Owner of Hop Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ole M wrote a review Jun 2017
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is great but the elevator is not at the floor. You need to always take a stair up. Imagine if you have troller or big luggage, very inconvenient.

Common room is nice. Most staffs are friendly but not all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lou_Dallas wrote a review Nov 2010
Dallas TX
2.0 of 5 bubbles
With prior direction to the hotel (next to Addidas shop and accross from HMV store), we crossed the hotel entrance four times to finally realized Hop Inn's entrance is a little door, sandwiched between a Camera Shop and a Traditional Medicine shop.

Entering the hallway gave me a little uncomfortable feeling as it is very small and worn out with old desk, security camera, water pipes and airducts... Not a very good first impression at all.

Heading up second floor via the elevator, we can easily spot Hop Inn sign. We rang the bell and entered another tiny hotel loby. Wilson greeted us and gave us a speedy check in at 11:30AM. Had to fully paid for all 3 nights in advance though.

We had room #4 for triple. This room also gave me an uneasy feeling with old fixtures, airducts, pipes and a window that could not be tightly shut which took in the cooking odor from the downstairs restaurant.

What I like about Hop Inn is the location, services, free wifi, free water.

I dont like the hard bed (I felt like sleeping on a box spring), the cooking odor, the noises that we could hear from outside street as well as our neighbor in room #2, the slamming door sounds... through out the night. The bathroom style with shower/toilet/sink combination is not my favorite either.

I also dont like the toilet floor with some dark moldy spots and the cimented hallway that looks like we are in a haunted hotel.

Bottom line is: I would not want to come back to Hop Inn (even for HKD650/nite ~85USD) and I would definitely not recommend my friends and family to come here.

The last nite at Hongkong, we went to Rambler Oasis Hotel in Tsing Yi. It was heavenly nice. I had a good nite sleep, finally.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
leon565 wrote a review May 2013
Singapore, Singapore
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very unpleasant stay, to everyone who is planning to stay in this hostel, please think twice.

Hop Inn is located in a very old building, not easily to locate. Based on this, do not expect top notch quality, even with the reviews given by others. We are assigned the worst room of Hop Inn Carnavon.

On arrival, we are assigned a room next to the common room (it's the room where people can mingle around) that I can say its the worst of all. Guest voice was so loud that you will have difficulties sleeping. To everyone, hop inn sell ear plug over the counter, you can guess why they sell them!

On the first night, there's a breakdown of flashing of toilet bowl. I am told to pour the water from the shower head to the toilet bowl water container and flash the toilet bowl! What is this service???

The counter lady told me that it is temporally and it will be ready by midnight. Guess what, that's her end of her midnight shift and a young chap took over her duty when I made a complaint at 11:45pm. The service level at this hostel is that bad, pushing the blame to other service crew! Till 4am it's still not working.

Aircon condenser is very noisy, it is just beside your sleeping bed and light sleeper will not be able to sleep.

Next, shower head water pressure is very low.

Overall, the price I pay, I rather give a bit more for a better stay in nearby Nathan hotel or predential hotel. Think twice before booking this HOSTEL!! You never know what kind of room you will be assigned, esp the service attitude of the staff!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hopinn, Owner at Hop Inn
Responded 22 May 2013
First of all, we are very sorry for bringing you an unpleasant stay. Regarding the temporarily suspension of toilet water on your first night arrival, we are very sorry for the inconvenience had caused. The suspension was caused by the street water pipe breakdown where all buildings along the block was affected. During the time, our front desk staff was contacting both the building management & the water department trying to get the latest updates on the maintenance progress. Both parties advised that toilet water supply would be resumed by midnight. Unfortunately, the supply wasn't resumed until 4am at last. Again, we are very sorry for the inconvenience had caused & we shall seek improvement on how to handle this kind of emergency in future. Thank you for your kind understanding. Simon Hop Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Ziggystardust
9 contributions21 helpful votes
yeah, you could. they also allow you to leave your luggage even after you've checked out and come back for them later on.
Answer from althearhea
27 contributions9 helpful votes
There is a mosque (Kowloon Mosque and Islamic Centre) near the Tsim Sha Tsui Station/Haiphong Road which is more or less a 10-minute walk from Hop Inn. For the room, I think they now have large rooms in their Hankow branch but you should confirm this with them since large rooms are usually booked in advance.
Answer from pinklady55
Taguig City, Philippines19 contributions22 helpful votes
At Hop Inn Hankow, cooking is not allowed as well. I suppose, even at Hop Inn Mody Road, they don't allow you to cook too.
Matthias asked a question Aug 2014
Reutlingen, Germany19 contributions37 helpful votes
What is the best way to get to Hop Inn on Carnarvon from Hong Kong International Airport?
Answer from Hop Inn
Hong Kong, China1 contribution
FROM AIRPORT : Airport bus A21 > Get off at Cameron Road Stop (bus stop no. 13) & walk south (right) on Nathan Road > turn east (left) at the 2nd intersection onto Humphreys Ave > Cross the 4-way intersection & go straight onto Hart Ave > The hostel entrance is in the building next to 7-eleven. Airport Express to Kowloon Station > Take the free shuttle (K3) to Hyatt Regency Hotel > Take the lift to G/F entrance > Turn northwest (left) onto Hanoi Road > Turn northeast (right) onto Carnarvon Road > Turn east (right) onto Hart Ave > The hostel entrance is at the opposite side of the road in the building next to 7-eleven.
Iván González wrote a tip Feb 2020
Morelia, Mexico291 contributions74 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"This hostel is unconsciousness"
Read full review
jodyc06 wrote a tip Nov 2018
Denver, Colorado67 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"M3 is brighter and wider for a double room."
Read full review
Cleveland_Holly wrote a tip Jan 2018
Cleveland, Ohio55 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"don't take P1 near the elevator and common room, too noisy"
Read full review
Ady K wrote a tip Dec 2017
73 contributions48 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"stay on a private room..."
Read full review
BudgetPaik wrote a tip Apr 2017
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia275 contributions98 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I always ask for the lower bunk bed. Feels more cosy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hong Kong area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$344 - HK$617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hop hotel hong kong
LOCATION
ChinaHong KongKowloon / Yau Tsim Mong District / Tsim Sha Tsui
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOP INN HK$430 (H̶K̶$̶5̶7̶0̶) - Updated 2024

All Hong Kong HotelsHong Kong Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hong KongHotels near Hop Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire