We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilderness Camp

Mara Naboisho Conservancy | C/O Basecamp Explorer Kenya, P.O Box 43369, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Save
Lowest prices for your stay
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent94%
  • Very good3%
  • Average3%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“eagle view” (6 reviews)
“flushing loo” (2 reviews)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Concierge
Wheelchair Access
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Deals
29 Oct30 Oct
|
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
View all 0 deals
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We stayed just one night in Wilderness, but after having left commented on how great it would have been to stay longer. The guides are fantastic and have an impeccable knowledge of the area. All the staff were great and the food was delicious (we...More

Thank DariaNa27
Response from Basecamp K, Manager at Wilderness CampResponded 5 days ago

Dear Daria, Wilderness Camp is our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers, offering guests an ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast savanna, no light pollution, and close to nature and we are glad you had time to enjoy yourself. Our...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

This was the real standout of the three Basecamp camps (Maasai Mara, Eagle View, Wilderness) for us. We had a perfect stay there with our beautiful, private & simple tent and friendly, helpful service. You really feel like you are in the wilderness, but with...More

Thank kateus_almora
Response from Basecamp K, Manager at Wilderness CampResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Kateus, Thank you for your positive comments and the time you took to share your review with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Camp. With only five tents, we offer the privilege of ultimate seclusion free from...More

Reviewed 18 August 2017

We stayed at the Wilderness Camp organised by Transtrek Safaris and would thoroughly recommend staying there and doing your safari with Transtrek. I would call this 'Glamping" as opposed to camping. The beds were extremely comfortable, powerpoint for charging, ensuite bathroom with flushing loo. To...More

Thank BCo118
Response from Basecamp K, Manager at Wilderness CampResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments and the time you took to share your review with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Camp. This camp is our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers,...More

Reviewed 16 May 2017

Stayed at all three of the Basecamp Explorer camps in the Masai Mara on a great safari tour organised by Transtrek Safaris and out of all three I think this was my favourite. The camp is small with a mess tent and only five guest...More

Thank VitruvianDan
Response from Basecamp K, Manager at Wilderness CampResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Dan, Our entire team would like to thank you sincerely for finding time to write such positive remarks about Wilderness Camp. It gives us immense pleasure to know that our services met all your expectations. We are also glad to know that you loved...More

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Really breathtaking, it is an experience to live in Kenya. The team was incredibly nice and helpful. I couldn't believe my eyes. The view on the fone and the flora was stunning and the tranquility of the place was amazing. A big thank you to...More

Thank Frederic V
Response from Basecamp K, Manager at Wilderness CampResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Frederic, Thank you for your positive comments and the time you took to share your review with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Camp. This camp is our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers,...More

Boma Inn Eldoret
180 reviews
#1 of 8 hotels in Eldoret
 
Lake Bogoria Spa Resort
78 reviews
#1 of 1 hotels in Marigat
 
Enashipai Resort & Spa
861 reviews
#1 of 6 hotels in Naivasha
 
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
872 reviews
#1 of 3 hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
 
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
  • Top amenities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Hotel Amenities
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Details
  • Price range
  • US$562 - US$707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
  • Hotel class
  • Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Number of rooms
  • 5
  • Reservation Options
  • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wilderness Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
  • Location
  • Kenya >
  • Rift Valley Province >
  • Masai Mara National Reserve
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Bathroom (1)
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
harish040789
14 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Basecamp K | Property representative |
Dear Harish, Yes, you shall be required to pay Conservancy fees at Wilderness Camp. Please note that this will be an additional cost as it's not included in the cost of accommodation.
0
Votes
judithaustin
25 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Chrisorhan | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I don't know if she is still there.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"For the most privacy you could ask for the tent furthest away from the dining tent."
Read review
"All the rooms are amazing, there's a limited number of tents so it never feels crowded."
Read review
"All the rooms look out at the Mara and giraffes grazing."
Read review
"All rooms have great views"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing