We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Star Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#16 of 31 hotels in Koror
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ocean Star Hotel has a garden, bar, a shared lounge and terrace in Koror. Among the facilities of this property are a restaurant, a 24-hour front desk and room service, along with free WiFi. The property provides a concierge service, ticket service and organizing tours for guests. The rooms comes with air conditioning, a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, a fridge, an electric tea pot, a shower, a hairdryer and a desk. The hotel has some accommodations that have a patio and garden view, and the rooms include a private bathroom and a closet. All rooms at Ocean Star Hotel come with a seating area. Guests at the accommodation can enjoy a buffet or an Asian breakfast. Couples in particular like the location – they rated it 8.3 for a two-person trip. This property is also rated for the best value in Koror! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Filipino
19Reviews2Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Lens S wrote a review Oct 2023
Palau3 contributions2 helpful votes
It was a really good experience overall, I had fun times here and It was a different view compared to the hotel beneath them. Even tho that I have stayed here for only a short while, I still liked how the cleaniness was ensured at this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
glenz67 wrote a review Aug 2019
Osaka, Japan12 contributions1 helpful vote
Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious, clean and comfortable. I just wish that the breakfast had been better. Many have mentioned that the hotel seems to cater to Chinese and while there were many Chinese guests, I don't think that the breakfast catered to anyone. I ended up eating melon and watermelon (only) every morning because all of the cooked food (served cold) was bland.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from OSH_Palau, OP at Ocean Star Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2019
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us for a couple days. We are truely greatful that you had satisfied with our spacious room as well as our cleanliness. Unfortunately, we are sorry to disappoint you with our daily buffet breakfast. However, we will try our best to improve it as we consider that this case need to improve immediately. Once again, thank you for choosing and taking time to write your review. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. Sincerely yours,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sandya-and-Erik wrote a review Aug 2019
Colombo, Sri Lanka81720 contributions430 helpful votes
Really not sure what to make of the place, after 2 nights torn between extreme feelings. Superb: spacious rooms (deluxe), with balconies, sea view and sunsets to die for. Good AC and bathroom; only minor issues, like some water spills on bathroom floor and coffee/tea cups and boiler without any coffee and tea supplied. Easily 3-4 star level. Decent: location, about 500 m from Main Street hence enough shops and restaurant Failed: breakfast. Not even worth 1 star. Hot dishes all served cold, only bread and jam, very limited fruits and juices. Also failed: reception service. Getting greeted by the Chinese assistant manager reading aloud all the small-print conditions in the room contract and pushing one to sign for reading is not how to welcome guests the Palau way. Their taxi service to/from airport (USD 10 per person) however is decent, and better than trying to get a cab from the mafia-controlled stand at airport. Finally WiFi also fails the test; connecting can take up to 15-30 minutes of trial and error, and once connected signal might or might not be good enough for VoIP calls. Also failed, but unclear whose responsibility it is: as per today Bookingcom still advertises the property on their app having a pool and gym. It is and was false advertising.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Deluxe room with balcony
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OSH_Palau, Manager at Ocean Star Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2019
Dear Mr. Erik, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are extremely sorry for any inconveniences or discomfort that you experienced during your stay here with us. and I am sorry that it has taken me so long to reply to your request. You have raised many issues and I have considered each of these points with much thought. We endeavour to do our utmost to make our guests as comfortable and happy as possible. It is only through your feedback that we can identify ways to improve our hotel, rooms and the service that we provide. For your first comment, some water spills on bathroom floor, that is because of our waterway deodorant device and it is very easy to fix it if you let us know at the first time you saw it. Second, for no any coffee and tea supplied in the room, it is unusual supply in here regarding to green earth policy but we do have many different choices of the tea bags and fresh coffee in the restaurant for the breakfast, we will seriously consider your needs and improve it. Third, for the breakfast not even worth one star, we are really sad and sorry for letting you feel so bad. As in a small island country as Palau, everything is relied on import. The level of price is much higher than many big cities such as Taipei, Taiwan and also our guests are from around the world but mostly from Asia and US. It’s not easy to satisfy vary flavors. As our efforts, every morning we provide at least four hot and delicious dishes and several salads and fruits, hot porridge, two different breads, hot coffee, hot tea, ice tea, water, etc. It is not common to get so many choices in a three-star level hotel can do in Palau since the level of price is so high and our room rate is so fair. It’s also very difficult to keep everything in hot two hours (7:00am~9:00am) since our restaurant is in an open area with beautiful ocean view. We have tried our best to keep it warm longer and yet it is obviously not enough as your feedback. We will keep trying to improve it. Fourth, for the receptionist greeting way, we are sorry for your bad impression at first. It is a policy to help guests to understand the basic concepts of the room equipment and requirement, such as 220W for the power and no smoking in room, etc. It is an intention for bringing up the attentions for helping guests to beacquainted with and enjoy our facilities in our hotel. We will try to do another way if we got the other same opinions. Five, the receptionist who was welcoming you during your arrival is a passional lady and always gets good compliments from guests because of her energy and passion. Maybe her voice was too excited and too loud to you. Thanks for your comment and we will ask her to low down the volume and read it slowly and accurately for the guests next time. Six, Wi-Fi fails the test. We know Wi-Fi is very important thing for our valued guests to enjoy the internet in their room. We do our best to improve the service, therefore, we spent a lot money to raise up the speed and cover all room areas not only just in lobby or restaurant from March. Signal disconnected should be an odd situation, we can ask our Wi-Fi supplier to take care of it immediately. It should not be the issue to waste your time to deal with it if you just simply dial “0” to let us know. Seven, about the property on booking app having a pool and gym. I believe it is a misunderstanding. It is a description on our facilities, “Pool and SPA”, we just put “sun umbrella”. It means in this option; sun umbrella is only one we have. However, it’s our fault to get let you misunderstand it. We have already taken it out immediately. Overall, guests’ satisfactions with us are always our priority goal. For improving our service, we set up a complain sheet to tract and improve our failed services. You could be more comfortable and rejoiceful to stay with us if we could haveyour complaints at once. In conclusion, I must say that we, the staff and management, enjoyed your staying with us. It was a pleasure to serve you. We treasure your inputs to us and we will do our best to improve the services and communications with all our valued guests like you. We are looking forward to seeing you again next time. Sincerely yours, Ocean Star Hotel Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ugaworldtraveler wrote a review Feb 2019
Athens, Georgia209 contributions261 helpful votes
I booked a three night stay but left after one night. It just wasn't a good choice The hotel is modern, has air conditioning, rooms nicely appointed , comfortable bed and spotlessly clean. When checking in the front desk clerk was pleasant but spoke very little English. I asked for any tourist information but all they had was in Chinese. A bit strange was that there was a $100 deposit if the guest loses the room key. All of the TV channels are Chinese. The next morning at breakfast there was nothing to eat for a western diet. The entire buffet is for their Chinese diet. There was nothing to eat for a person that enjoys a western breakfast. The hotel just wasn't a good fit and the owner understood and agreed to cancel the reservation early. The hotel does have a nice setting face the water but is about a 1000 meter walk to town where there is shopping and a good selection of restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
cspera1972 wrote a review Feb 2019
Runcorn, United Kingdom92 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
My friend and I spent 5 nights there and I must say it was ok. The room 305 is spacious and the bed is superking size and very comfortable but the decor is a little tacky for my liking. Our room has a spacious varanda overlooking the sea which is rather lovely but unfortunately it is next to the restaurant’s kitchen facilities which at breakfast and dinner’s times can be very noisy and smells cooked food - besides there’s an air con unit in our varanda which produces a constant noise in the varanda itself. The bathroom facilities is a disaster as the toilet is located inside the shower cubicle making it a hazard every time you need to use the toilet due to water from showering lingering around and risking yourself to slip over 👎🏻. The room cleanness wasn’t great either and after checking the mattress protector I spotted few filthy dirty marks which wasn’t pleasant at all!! The housekeeper didn’t turn up one day to make up our room and in another day whilst we were still in the room they just changed the towels over and collected rubbish, not even cleaned the sand on the floor and another occasion we were out all day in a tour and when we got back to our room all the dirty dishes from dinner the night before were still on the coffee table at the balcony so that goes to show the housekeeping team is letting the hotel down big time!! The hotel is located near shops, supermarket, restaurants etc in downtown like other hotels too which is very handy. The breakfast is good and tasty but mainly catered for Asians and very few options for fruits. The biggest NO-GO is that the hotel room’s does not have WiFi connection!! Really? Not sure how is that possible!! This is not an isolated and remote location hotel after all. The staff is friendly and helpful but they need to address those other problems asap. There’s pros & cons about the place but honestly speaking I’d look around for other options first before making up your mind.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bora J wrote a review Dec 2018
Seoul, South Korea33 contributions7 helpful votes
방도 넓고 깨끗하고 좋았어요. 무엇보다 직원들이 굉장히 친절하고 많은 도움이 되었으며 언제나 도움을 주려고 해주셔서 정말 감사했어요. 특히 중국인 스탭분들이 정말 잘해주셨어요. 조식은 중식스타일인데 흰죽이 참 맛있었구요, 주말 저녁엔 맛있는 바베큐 식당이 열려서 만원으로 행복을 누렸어요. 비치타월 대여도 가능하고 미리미리 챙겨주셨구요, 와이파이 카드 5달러에 구매하면 호텔방 뿐 아니라 밖에서도 와이파이 잘 쓸수있어요. 물론 호텔에서 제공하는 와이파이도 있는데 거의 로비와 식당에서만 되어요. 그리고 돼지코나 어댑터 없이 전원코드 사용가능합니다. 시내까지는 걸어서 10~15분 걸리는데 사실 그렇게 멀진 않은데 인도가 없는 구간이 있어서 조금 불편했어요. 그래도 다닐만해요. 딱히 방음이 잘될것 같은 구조는 아닌데 저희는 묶는내내 조용하게 잘 지냈어요. 직원분이 저희를 배려해서 1층에 조용한 곳으로 주신 것 같았어요^^ 다좋은데 한가지 아쉬웠던건 청소에요. 사실 바퀴벌레를 한마리 봤는데 저희방이 1층이라 밖에서 길을잃고 들어온 것 같았어요. 새로 지어진 건물이고 바퀴벌레가 서식할 환경은 아니었거든요. 화장실 머리카락 청소상태나 침구류 교환, 화장실 날벌레가 조금 아쉬웠지만 습하고 자연을 생각하는 팔라우라 어쩔수 없는 부분일 수도 있어요. 그래도 전체적으로 매우 만족스러운 숙소였습니다. 특히 직원분들 덕분에 내내 기분이 좋았어요 :) Room was spacious, Bed was extreamly comfortable, Staffs were so nice and friendly. Especially I was very impressed with the staffs. They were smart and thoughtful enough to figure out what i wanted. Things below are extra information that I got from my stay. 1. Without adapters, using 220v doesn't have any problem. 2. Buy WiFi card at the hotel only $5. unlimited internet for 2days. It works really well in my room and some cafe in the central palau. 3. Breakfast is chinese style. Rice soup was very delicious. 4. Borrow beach towels at the hotel lobby. Very useful. 5. It took about 10-15 mins to the central palau on foot. not really far but a bit uncomfortable. (no sidewalk in some sections) only one thing i was a little bit disappointed was room cleaning. (especially the bathroom) The hotel is quite good, and clean enough but if the made check the hair in the drain and pay attention to prevent insects to the room, It would be much better.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from OSH_Palau, General Manager at Ocean Star Hotel
Responded 19 Dec 2018
Dear Valued Guest, We thank you very much for giving us comment in both Korean and English thoroughly. It was quit pleasant to contact you before your arrival, where you clearly demonstrated what you prefer for your stay. As all our staff priority mission is to satisfy guests' needs and wants, we are really proud to share the message to our team that we are achieving our goals. We are also happy to see that you enjoyed our breakfast, room facilities, as well as the service. We also would like to take this opportunity to thank you for letting us know that the cleanliness is what we need to improve on. We will definitely adjust the issues you had mentioned. Again, we appreciate your review and we all welcome you back and stay with us ! Sincerely Yours, Jake Lee
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
st3vemat wrote a review Nov 2018
London, United Kingdom60 contributions8 helpful votes
This is a superb value hotel with probably the best views in Koror. I was attracted to it by the views in the reviews and they didn't disappoint as you can see from the sunset view from the hotel's restaurant that I attach below. The team will do their best to accommodate and though it mainly caters to Chinese clientele they certainly understand western service standards. The hotel was super clear, room was spacious, airport pick-up on time, silent aircon, the breakfast was served on your table and the restaurant is a good option given the limited Koror alternatives. The manager was promptly responding to my email enquiries and he was kind enough to accommodate my special requests when I was there. Overall, it was a fantastic experience and I would definitely be coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from OSH_Palau, General Manager at Ocean Star Hotel
Responded 28 Nov 2018
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Ocean Star Hotel! Thank you very much for staying with us in Palau. We are really glad that you enjoyed the view, room facility as we as the service. I would also like to take a chance to say thank you for your understanding of limited options of food in Palau. We always try our best to provide as many as we can for our guest, regrading the choice of breakfast, service and any detailed request. It had been good conversations before your check- in and we hoped that our message were helpful enough. Again, it is each of our team member's honored to meet you and we are all happy to see you had a memorable time in Palau. Please visit us in the nearly future and let us know in advance then I will arrange the trip to Kayangel in the future. Sincerely Yours, Jake Lee
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
gdg wrote a review Nov 2018
25 contributions23 helpful votes
Almost brand new and well maintained, this hotel is off the busy main road but still within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops, Right on the water - get an ocean-view room if you can. My two highlights: The staff is always ready to go the extra mile and make your stay perfect. They spent significant time finding the perfect tour for me, and organized everything. Great service! The rooftop restaurant is a great place to watch sunset and relax. Few places in Koror offer a better view!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Opt for an ocean-view room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from OSH_Palau, General Manager at Ocean Star Hotel
Responded 22 Nov 2018
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us during the past days. All our team members are glad that you had a great time enjoyed our view as well as the sunset; most importantly for us is that you truly enjoyed our outstanding hospitality. Thank you also for sharing our hotel information online to let more travelers know "Ocean Star Hotel" is the top choice of all Koror! We always welcoming you back again and please keep in touch. Sincerely Yours, Jake Lee
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kjouni wrote a review Aug 2018
Lausanne, Switzerland13 contributions10 helpful votes
lovely rooms, lovely hotel. the team is perfect, very friendly staff, rooms are clean, perfect location, beachfront but still close to the city. views are enjoyable, and the hotel can help you organize a lot in the place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ocean S, General Manager at Ocean Star Hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2018
Dear Mr. Jouni, Thank you very much for choosing us and recommending our hotel to other travelers. We hope you had a wonderful diving and snorkeling experience in Palau. We are glad that our hotel staff are helpful and you really like and enjoy our hotel. Please bring you family from Switzerland again and we will surely the experience will be as fantastic as it is. Hope to see you soon! Best Regards, Jake Lee
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Koror area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$1,096 - HK$1,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PalauKoror IslandKoror
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCEAN STAR HOTEL - Prices & Reviews (Koror, Palau)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Star Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Star Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Etpison Museum (0.5 km) and Surangel and Sons Co (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Star Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ocean Star Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ocean Star Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Ocean Star Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Star Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taj, L' Amarena Gelato Shop (Gelateria Italiana), and Coffee Berry.
Does Ocean Star Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Ocean Star Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ocean Star Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Ocean Star Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Airai Bai (8.9 km) and Airai War Canoe (9.1 km).
Does Ocean Star Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.