Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus

Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus

Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (25)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 22 hotels in Ames
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our valued guests will find fresh design elements and amenities that help you relax like a fitness center, business center, heated indoor pool, guest laundry facilities and vending. All guests can also enjoy free WiFi and a free hot breakfast each morning. We're conveniently located off Highway 30 near the North Grand Mall, High Trestle Trail, Seven Oaks Recreation and the Boone and Scenic Valley Railroad. Our proximity to campus makes this a great hotel for parents visiting college-age kids or taking them on their first campus tour. You’ll find plenty of other local sites, activities and attractions near our affordable Ames hotel, including the city of Des Moines, which is just a short drive away. We’re near Siemens PLM Software and Danfoss, providing convenient lodging for many business travelers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!
481Reviews2Q+A57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 328
  • 101
  • 26
  • 13
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mike K wrote a review Jan 2024
Willmar, Minnesota183 contributions50 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In a few words, this is a great place to stay! The building is clean, the rooms are comfy, friendly staff and the breakfast has a nice variety with hot items. The location is wonderful too as there are bars, restaurants and other conveniences within walking distance. I highly recommend the Ames, IA Sleep Inn!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jobinjac wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This Sleep Inn was not only a great location for my week, but was super clean and comfortable. The location allowed me access to Ames and since its right off the highway it was easy to also travel to des moines. The shower was amazing and the bed was super comfortable. Great breakfast in the morning. I highly recommend anyone stay here :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bonnie A, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for your kind and positive review! We appreciate your time out of your day to provide us the feedback. We always enjoy meeting new people and learning about your travels! We wish you all the best and hope all of your travels are perfection!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BRoyse wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We found our room to have ticks. Maybe the last guests had pets. Upon discovering this we contacted the front desk. They immediately moved us to another room. They inspected the new room with us. So with this very bad situation. The crew at this Sleep Inn showed great integrity and solved the issue quickly and professionally.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: Take a little extra time to make sure linens are clean and inspect the bed for pests. Before...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BonnieA677, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I would like to offer our most sincerest apologies for the condition of your initial room. I am very glad to hear our staff was able to correct the situation promptly for you and to your standards. We hope to see you again in the future! Again, we appreciate your time and hope you enjoyed your stay. Chelsey Schultz Front Desk Manager Sleep Inn & Suites-Ames
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CharlesWRyan wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I would make sure that the room is vacuumed before you rent it again to someone else. The staff was very kind and helpful in getting out TV problem fixed...we had to be moved to another room. Overall, it was an OK experience
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bonnie A, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Thank you Charles for being our guest. I am delighted that our staff was able to help you with the room move so you could enjoy a relaxing night! We wish you all the best in your travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
parman98 wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived they didn't have the rooms we asked and when we reminded them they just said we are sorry but nothing is now available. Took a phone call to the manager to get it straightened out. The bathroom was not cleaned, it still had used dirty towels on the floor. It would seem this hotel has gone very down hill in the last two years and they don't care about their guests and their concerns.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bonnie A, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Responded 13 Apr 2021
We apologize, your reservation did not have any mention of you requesting adjoining rooms prior to your arrival. I am delighted that the front desk agent had the AGM come up to the front desk in person that day to work with you to make the accommodations that you requested. We appreciate your patience while making that change as takes some fineness to change multiple reservations We take the care and comfort of our guests as our top priority and happy that she could see to your requests. We wish you all the best in your travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lwilson29 wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent one night early fall during pandemic. Staff very friendly, room clean enough and fairly new. Felt safe as far as pandemic goes. Pool nice— plenty of towels about, clean. Was disappointed that it’s not being well maintained. The hook on back of bathroom door in my room was broken off and missing. The security latch was broken on the hotel room door, so not sure it would have withstood an attempt to break in the room. Will try the neighboring Hilton next time I visit my daughter.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bonnie Alley, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your kind review of our staff service. We are delighted that you found our rooms clean and enjoyed our hotel. Our staff takes great pride in ensuring that our hotel is ready for our guests. I do thank you for bringing the latch issue to our attention. I did investigate this immediately as the safety of our guest is our highest priority and I found the lock and swing latch to be working properly. We wish you all the best in your travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
molson2020 wrote a review Sept 2020
Eagan, Minnesota1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had lukewarm water in our shower and out of the faucets … they tried to move us to another room, but same thing. Manager said it was fine out of their faucets downstairs. Offered to move us to the Comfort Inn, we had already moved out of our room once and didn't want to go through the hassle of doing it again .. also, the keycards never worked!! Every time we had to go into our room, we had to get them re-coded at the front desk (more than a dozen times!!) Ususally the Sleep Inn was one of our favorite hotels in Ames, iowa, but not this time. Our son goes to school at ISU so we're usually there often but will not stay at the Sleep Inn again unfortunately.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bonnie Alley, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Thank you for coming down to talk to us about the water. Anytime a guest of our's needs our help we do everything possible to make the corrections needed to ensure their happiness. The quickest way that we can see to your water issues is to have our maintenance person go into your room to see about any repairs. With COVID-19, we do need to ensure your safety and that of our staff and therefor ask our guests to move rooms so that we can take care of your needs first, and then allow for our team to make any necessary repairs. I understand not wanting to move rooms, this is why I offered the move to our Comfort location. I understand not wanting to move hotels and when asked to provide a discount, I was happy to provide a waived pet fee for your dog which is a savings of $60.00. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay and I hope that you will provide us another opportunity to be of service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cubs7201 wrote a review Sept 2020
Grinnell, Iowa1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I made a reservation on the website and had to call in to change the following week. I was unaware the rate would increase by $35 until I checked out. At no time when I was on the phone changing the reservation or when I was checking in was I made aware of the increase.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bonnie Alley, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Thank you for providing us with your review. Our rates do fluctuate and depending on how you book, there could be a promotion running or event in town. I would be happy to be more specific if you'd like to give me a call at the hotel. 515-337-1171 opt 2 and I would be happy to take your first, last name and take a look at your reservation for you. We wish you all the best in your travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
house902 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Said pet friendly and when we arrived we were told we could not leave dog in room alone whatsoever. This was after we paid when they gave me a form to sign and then when I asked for a refund to find another hotel since we were with our dog over 3 hours from home and they wouldn't work with us at all and charged me for both nights. I understand rules and policies but thought maybe one night would have been able to not be charged.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bonnie A, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Responded 25 May 2021
Hi Ceselie, We are a pet friendly hotel and love meeting the new pups that visit. Our hotel policy and pet registration that you signed upon check in states that "Pets are not allowed to be left unattended in your room at any time." We want our guests to enjoy their stay and the pups. Often, dogs get anxious in new places with new noises when left unattended for long periods of time. We are glad that you were able to receive a Choice Hotel Friends and Family discount and modifications / changes to those reservations must go through the person who provided you that discounted link.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandmedic wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was an excellent hotel at a great price. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The staff is extremely helpful. This is our first trip to Iowa and they were able to help give us directions and a map to get to and around campus as well as two other local hotspot. We even got several suggestions for meals. As it looks like our child will be attending school out there, we will definitely be booking our rooms at the sleep inn.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bonnie A, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for being our guest. We are so happy that you found your stay with us comfortable and clean. We take great pride in being one of Choice Hotels top hotels for cleanliness! Our team loves being of service to our guests and we are happy to provide you with suggestions and tips to make your stay in Ames even more special. Congratulations to your new ISU student! Go Cyclones!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota5,096 contributions988 helpful votes
No transportation to campus at the hotel but there is a CyRide City bus that stops nearby but only on weekdays. There's an airport in Ames?
khdfamily asked a question Jun 2015
Broomfield, Colorado1 helpful vote
What type of items are in the Free Breakfast?
Answer from TLUV62
Cedar Falls, Iowa11 contributions
We have waffles, a rotating hot egg item, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, cereal, pastry, muffin, bagels, hard boiled eggs, juice, milk and coffee. Hope to see you!
Inspiration733299 wrote a tip Mar 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I always ask for the top floor"
Read full review
BRoyse wrote a tip Jan 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a little extra time to make sure linens are clean and inspect the bed for pests. Before putting new linens down."
Read full review
Beth K wrote a tip Jan 2020
Spirit Lake, Iowa7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Being a plug in for your phone USB ."
Read full review
pumdab wrote a tip Nov 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very uncomfortable sofa bed!!"
Read full review
Angie wrote a tip Nov 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"clean, comfortable beds, updated, and large TV's"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ames area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$656 - HK$1,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sleep Inn & Suites
LOCATION
United StatesIowaAmes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
67
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SLEEP INN & SUITES NEAR ISU CAMPUS HK$679 (H̶K̶$̶7̶1̶8̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Which popular attractions are close to Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus?
Nearby attractions include Iowa State University (3.3 km), Reiman Gardens (3.5 km), and Brunnier Art Museum (3.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cafe, Hickory Park Restaurant, and Aunt Maude's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Farm House Museum (3.5 km).
Is Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Ames HotelsAmes Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AmesHotels near Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire