We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1606 South Kellogg Avenue, Ames, IA 50010
Hotel direct offer!Grand Savings Fall Sale!
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
FindHotel
Etrip
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (20)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 18/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Updated 18/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 23 hotels in Ames
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Snack bar
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Hotel links
Special Offer:Grand Savings Fall Sale!

Location

Full view
37Car recommended
Grade: 37 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
269Reviews2Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 138
  • 83
  • 29
  • 7
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
marymccann2019 wrote a review Aug 2022
Rolling Meadows, Illinois2 contributions
The gal at the front desk during our late night check in was amazing. Friendly, helpful, very positive. That is where it stops. Place is in desperate need of a refresh across the board. Dirty carpets in hallways and elevator. Bedding smelled. Breakfast is one if the most basic I’ve seen - plastic containers of cereal (didn’t see any milk), indescribably gross processed eggs and sausage. Booked this place based on price, location and reviews. However, looking back at those reviews, they don’t reflect my experience. Rating is for the positive and friendly staff and location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
FLtallguy wrote a review May 2022
Melbourne, Florida190 contributions150 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The rooms were nice (separate living room and bedroom), but only have one bed. The room also included a full size refrigerator and stovetop. The pull out sofa in the living room is not comfortable, so I wouldn't stay here again if I needed two beds. The hotel included free breakfast, but it was below average based on my experience. Another issue is the hotel is currently short-staffed (as are most businesses in Ames), so sometimes the front desk is empty
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Room has one bed. Pull-out sofa is uncomfortable
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Chuck S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Dirty dirty dirty everywhere! It was painfully obvious that cleaning was hit the middle and forget anything else. Dirty bathroom sink and shower floor with litter around the edges of the room. Heaven forbid anyone would dust the top of anything above three feet off the floor. The elevator and luggage cart where just gross. Desk help was nice but everything else was unacceptable. To top it off we needed a handicapped room which they had on the third floor. When I spoke to the front desk and mentioned that there is a big red sign saying that in the event of a fire the elevator won’t work I asked how do you get someone in a wheel chair out of the building if they are on the third floor. Got a blank stare and did not know how. To her credit she admitted it was pretty stupid putting a handicap room on any floor but the first. Would not recommend this place to anyone and certainly won’t stay in any GrandStay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
casey m wrote a review Jan 2022
Iowa1 contribution
Booked online specifically for my children to swim. Arrived and pool was closed. Asked for cancelation and refund and they would cancel but would not guarantee a refund. Needless to say the kids are pretty happy. Will wait to hear from corporate. Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kris L wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Great place! Clean, well taken care of, loved having kitchen, and a separate room for sleepy peeps. Easy to dial phone at the front desk any time of day for assistance. Would have loved a hotter whirlpool, but that was getting fixed, and is an extra perk.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anthony R wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
When we arrived, we did find the staff working and dedicated to making our stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. This property is in the process of raising their standards and making needed improvements. Management is involved in dedicated way, and treated us as their guests with significant levels of appreciation. The future of this property is very bright, especially when you treat your guests as well as they treated us.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Frenchgirl wrote a review Apr 2021
Swanzey, New Hampshire212 contributions62 helpful votes
I can't rate the hotel because they called us two days before we were due to arrive to tell us that they were doing work on several rooms and couldn't accommodate us. No "let us help you" or "we'll put you into other rooms" -- just "you'll need to book a room elsewhere". 2 days before we were to fly in for a funeral. Don't stay at this hotel, even if they give you the opportunity. You might find yourselves high and dry, too.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad Ainsworth, Owner at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Responded 23 Apr 2021
Maryann~ Thank you for taking the time to respond and leaving feedback regarding your experience. In doing research on your reservation, you were due to check-in on 4/23. Our front desk agent contacted you Tuesday to inform you of our unforeseeable repairs to your suite. During this time, we offered several other hotels with the same room layout and rate that had availability. you can assure our team worked diligently to try and resolve the issue. We apologize we did not meet your expectations and hope for another opportunity to accommodate you in the future. Kind regards, Nicole Gibbs General Manager GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames Iowa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Milah Petersen wrote a review Jul 2020
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
To the Management: No one a the front desk and i heard someone talking in the back office as I said hello. They both came out and as looking unhappy and the only words this person said when I ask for the bag of breakfast is how many do you want.. the other staff with her shook her head as she walks out the door. No good morning or whatsoever and i am expecting a greetings to be polite and I cant believed how these staff behave in a hospitality business like this, my opinion, find another front desk agent if this business owner wants to make money. This pandemic is hard enough for business alone. We are a hotel owners in Lake Geneva and if my staff behaves this way, I will fire them in a heart beat and find good people immediately. Max and Milah 308
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad Ainsworth, Owner at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Responded 7 Jul 2020
Dear Max and Milah, Thank you for taking the time to complete a guest survey after your recent stay at GrandStay Hotel & Suites. I sincerely apologize for the lack of customer service you received during your stay. This is certainly not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. Please accept our apologies. I invite you to contact m directly the net time your travels bring you to Ames, and we will ensure that you will have a better experience the next time you stay at GrandStay. Nicole G. Assistant General Manager GrandStay Hotel & Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
We have red marks on every door in our room. It was clearly not cleaned thoroughly between stays. There was food in the pull out couch and a dirty spoon. They let us get lysol wipes but they only do so much.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandStayAmes, Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Responded 12 May 2020
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to respond to a guest review. We apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the cleanliness of your room and the service you received from our staff at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Our team is working hard to ensure that our guests are comfortable and are receiving our best service. Your feedback is appreciated. We would like to extend a 40% discount on your next stay. We hope you will consider staying with us again, so that we may have the opportunity to offer you an experience that is nothing less than excellent. Warm regards, Nicole Gibbs Assistant General Manager GrandStay Hotel and Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom R wrote a review Aug 2019
18 contributions7 helpful votes
Wow! What a great place to stay. The pool could be a bit warmer and bigger, but the rooms, breakfast, customer service and facilitates are really nice and we'd definitely stay there again. Close to the freeway and all the things around ISU too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandStayAmes, Front Office Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Responded 13 Aug 2019
Tom, I wanted to thank you for your review and the wonderful scores. We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us! I'm delighted everything went well for your stay--from the customer service to our location in town--I'm glad you enjoyed it all! We hope you stay with us again soon! Kind regards, Nicole G. Assistant General Manager GrandStay Hotel & Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grandstay residential hotel ames
LOCATION
United StatesIowaAmes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Which popular attractions are close to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames?
Nearby attractions include Movies 12 (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hickory Park Restaurant, Dublin Bay Irish Pub & Grill, and Texas Roadhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Farm House Museum (3.4 km).
Is GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.