Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames

water damage
Traveller (51)
destruction
Room & Suite (25)
Breakfast room sitting area
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#12 of 22 hotels in Ames
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Non-Smoking Hotel Close to Iowa State University and Stephens Auditorium Whether traveling for business or pleasure, enjoy affordable rates and warm comfort at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames hotel in central Iowa. Our recently renovated, smoke-free Ames, Iowa, hotel near Iowa State University is close to local attractions and outdoor fun. After a cozy sleep on our new bedding, look forward to free continental breakfast. Plan your day using free Wi-Fi Internet access, read your free newspaper or work out in the fitness center. Take advantage of other perks like 24-hour front desk service and guest laundry facilities. Some hotel rooms feature 32-inch flat-screen TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and sofa beds. We offer spacious suites as well as non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms at our pet-friendly Ames, Iowa, hotel. Take advantage of free parking and electrical outlets in our lot.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
768Reviews2Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 215
  • 246
  • 170
  • 83
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
40s_Couple_Midwest wrote a review Jun 2022
Minneapolis, Mn
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was very clean. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The hotel was very full, so we did hear a small amount of noise, but nothing bothersome. The sink area is pretty small outside the toilet and shower room, so if anyone was at the sink, they had to move for that door into the toilet and shower room to open. There was a large window seat. The breakfast was standard fare -- waffles, juice, pastries, cold hard-boiled eggs, breads, bananas, cereal, milk. Also coffee and tea, which was English Breakfast tea, a nice touch. The staff was friendly. The only thing we didn't like was that the air conditioner cycled off and on, but it was quieter than some others.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Dear 40s_Couple_Midwest, It is really nice to know that you liked the stay and services at our hotel during your recent visit. Thank you for your compliments on our staff, hospitality, and breakfast layout. Our ultimate ambition is to provide a five-star experience, and we are thrilled to learn that we have succeeded. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations of service and accommodations and we're all looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kacamm1 wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location and price were good. The security door, wasn't secure. Didn't need a key card to open it. The clerk seemed bothered by me checking in and especially when I said I had dogs. He grumbled and had me sign a form that I believe said $10.80 extra for dogs, although the actual charge was $43.80. Lots of new hotels going up in Ames...They should up their game a bit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Responded 16 May 2020
Hi kacamm1, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve especially with the key card. It's important for us to impress our guests and your comments will make this goal that much more attainable. It is our sincere hope that you will one day return to see how your comments have affected our direction in reaching our ultimate ambition of giving each guest a five-star experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kayleen A wrote a review Jun 2021
Bratt, Florida
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was clean, light, and had space enough for us.
The only issue was the air conditioning. It seems to have a power save. No matter how cool we set it, it would run about 2 hours and stop. So we woke up several times a night overheated and had to get up to poke the a/c to get it to run again. In several nights, we never got this sorted out. Other rooms had their windows open to sleep but we had no screen on our window so this wasn't an option.
Would have been a 5-star stay if we could have slept through the night.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Responded 7 Jun 2021
Dear Kayleen A, We are happy to that you found us a clean and nice place to stay however, I regret to hear that you are not fully satisfied during your stay due to the condition of the AC. We take the value of your report and we will act on this complaint seriously and will fix all problems as soon as possible. We take this business very seriously and assure you that management has taken all the steps to make sure that AC is working on all the rooms and our ultimate goal is to make sure each guest had a comfortable stay. Again, thank you for your time and feedback. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LisaChi24 wrote a review May 2021
Wheaton, Illinois
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel’s photos are edited glamorshots and not realistic. The room is small and dark, and the bathroom is dated — To say this is a Wyndham property is misleading. This feels like a $79 a night room, not the almost $200 a night it cost. It is clean.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Responded 10 May 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comprehensive review detailing your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel, and we apologize for the many issues that you encountered. Your review will be reviewed by our management team and will formulate a plan to ensure no future guests will experience the same. We apologize sincerely for not providing you with a better stay but I hope you'll reconsider staying with us again in the future. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dierksdane wrote a review Jul 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Pandemic is over, get some food options you cheapskate. Fresh fruit like bananas or hot food like scrambled eggs bacon or sausage. Fix your WiFi too. Pull some weeds or plant some flowers. Clean up the cigarette butts and trash in parking lot. Elevator reeks!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Dear dierksdane, Your review and rating of our hotel mean a lot to us, and we thank you for taking the time to share this experience. I am very sorry that our breakfast service and the cleanliness did not meet your standards. Your review and rating of our hotel mean a lot to us, and we thank you for taking the time to share this experience. I am very sorry that our breakfast menu did not meet your standards. We will act on this complaint seriously and will fix all problems as soon as possible. We take this business very seriously and assure you that management has taken all the steps to make sure that all the rooms are clean and our ultimate goal is to make sure each guest had a comfortable stay. Again, thank you for your time and feedback. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
xinodahsnosaj wrote a review May 2023
Overland Park, Kansas
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel was average at best. Pillows were so thin it took three stacked up to equal one normal pillow. Furniture was cheap particle board. Some of the drawers were missing, some were so misaligned you couldn't use them. Room had a musty smell. The worst part was looking at their reservations the "normal" rate for the room I stayed in is around $90. But when I stayed it was about $225 because they had jacked the room rate up due to ISU's graduation. Price gouging plain and simple! Go somewhere else in town that is nicer and steer clear of this place!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Responded 15 May 2023
Dear xinodahsnosaj, We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered in your room, cleanliness, and the inconvenience with the furniture. We can assure you that what you experienced is unacceptable by our standards. We want to reassure you we do everything possible to make sure every guest has a great experience. Our team is reviewing this situation, and we are taking extra care to avoid this in the future. We are grateful for your patience, and we would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diana R wrote a review Aug 2023
North Liberty, Iowa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
They had comfy beds, very friendly workers, very accommodating. Breakfast was good in that they had something for everybody. Nice clean room. I had a small room. I've read that people complain their room was so tiny. Understand that this is micro meaning small but not all the rooms are small. But I had a small room and I loved it and I will stay in that one again I don't need anything more you don't need a luxury room unless you're staying there for a week and you might want more but actually I stayed there 4 days and for me it was perfect I was in and out. I did ask for a room if possible not where pets were at because I'm very allergic to them and they were able to be accommodating.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Responded 12 Aug 2023
Hi Gweema, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the breakfast, and you loved our comfortable beds and thank you so much for your kind review regarding our high standards of cleanliness. We seek to give each guest a very comfortable and accommodating experience and we are thrilled to hear of our success in this ambition. It was our privilege to do business with you, and it would be our pleasure to continue serving you. We will share your kind words with our staff. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your five-star review, and we can't wait to serve you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phillip T wrote a review Sept 2022
Newcastle, Wyoming
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is a clean, helpful place to stay. They have an excellent breakfast every day, not just on weekends. They had scrambled eggs & sausage so we didn't have to eat only carbs! Their hot tub was waiting for parts, so we missed being able to use it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Responded 10 Sept 2022
Hi Phillip T, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Thank you so much for your compliments on our staff, breakfast and we were able to meet your expectations of cleanliness and service in our hotel. Our team works hard to ensure a satisfying experience for all our guests and we are pleased to hear that yours was a satisfying stay. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your review, and we can't wait to serve you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
edwardd941 wrote a review Oct 2021
Spring Valley, Illinois
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Front desk was nice. First room air wasn’t working, second room toilet flusher didn’t work. Didn’t want to move again so we made due lifting lid! Rooms we just ok. Small for a queen room. Location was good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Responded 14 Oct 2021
Dear edwardd941, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay especially with the condition of the hotel and your room. Please know, your description of your stay is highly unusual and does not represent the high standards we aim to achieve. We have addressed your comments with the appropriate departments to ensure we use your feedback to improve our operations. We are always striving to improve our offerings and that is why your input is so important. Thank you for sharing your feedback pertaining to our hotel. Your voice is very valuable to us and we hope you will return to experience the improvements that we are continuously making.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
oraleach wrote a review Jun 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hotel was very, very dirty and nasty. The 1st room we had, the air did not work, so they moved us to another room, this room had dirty towels and the micro wave did not work. It was to late to go to another hotel so we slept on top of the beds.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Responded 1 Jul 2021
Dear oraleach, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. We take the value on your report regarding the condition of our rooms and the cleanliness of our hotel. We will act on this complaint seriously and will fix all problems as soon as possible. We take this business very seriously and assure you that management has taken all the steps to make sure that all the rooms are clean and our ultimate goal is to make sure each guest had a comfortable stay. Again, thank you for your time and feedback. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ddarsie asked a question May 2016
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Do you offer shuttle service to Stephen's Auditorium on Sunda's?
Answer from Skiblzr
Mequon, Wisconsin28 contributions14 helpful votes
The Microtel in Ames, IA does not offer any shuttle services. I am unaware of any of the Ames hotels located near the Microtel that offer any sort of shuttle service.
Pq S wrote a tip Jul 2023
Chatan-cho, Japan25 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dog owners, please pick up your poo so this hotel remains dog friendly."
Read full review
usernametakenagain wrote a tip May 2019
Atkins, Iowa12 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Select any other hotel in town and thank me later."
Read full review
NotAFoodSnobFromNY wrote a tip Feb 2019
Saint Cloud, Minnesota474 contributions466 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 326, nice and quiet at the end of a hallway. Windows face I-30."
Read full review
rcomont wrote a tip Aug 2018
Aurora, Colorado12 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the suite, more room!"
Read full review
MisssouriCarrie wrote a tip Jul 2018
Missouri34 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were on the first floor and it was outstanding, there was an elevator so you didn't have to carry your suitcases up stairs."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ames area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$516 - HK$640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
microtel inn & suites ames hotel ames, microtel inn and suites ames, microtel ames, ames microtel
LOCATION
United StatesIowaAmes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MICROTEL INN & SUITES BY WYNDHAM AMES HK$531 (H̶K̶$̶5̶6̶3̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Which popular attractions are close to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames?
Nearby attractions include Iowa State University (5.6 km), Reiman Gardens (4.6 km), and Brunnier Art Museum (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cafe, Hickory Park Restaurant, and Aunt Maude's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Farm House Museum (5.4 km).
All Ames HotelsAmes Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AmesHotels near Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire