Super 8 by Wyndham Ames

Super 8 by Wyndham Ames

Traveller (13)
2 Full Size Bed Rooms
Room & Suite (22)
Breakfast Area
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

2.5
#2 of 2 motels in Ames
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Ames? Then look no further than Super 8 by Wyndham Ames, a budget friendly motel that brings the best of Ames to your doorstep.

Super 8 by Wyndham Ames is a budget friendly motel offering a flat screen TV in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The motel features 24 hour front desk and room service. Plus, guests can enjoy free breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Ames. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

If you like diners, Super 8 by Wyndham Ames is conveniently located near Grove Cafe.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out an art gallery, such as Octagon Center for the Arts.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames as you experience everything Ames has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Vending machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
314Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 52
  • 85
  • 74
  • 81
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Charles P wrote a review Apr 2024
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Night attendant was very patient & friendly but the building is really old and things are falling apart. Bed was sagging & needs an upgrade. Hair Dryer & toilet seat were broken. Back entrance was not secure (door didn’t lock) & 2 homeless people living in their car were grilling by the back door. I know you get what you pay for but at $120/night it is not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames
Responded 16 Apr 2024
Dear charlespV5867BU, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Please know that we take your feedback seriously and will address these issues promptly to improve our guests' experiences. We appreciate your kind words about our night attendant and their friendly service. Regarding the condition of our facilities, we understand your concerns and are actively working on upgrades and repairs to ensure a more comfortable and secure environment for all our guests. Your comments regarding the bed, hair dryer, toilet seat, and back entrance have been noted and will be addressed by our maintenance team immediately. The safety and well-being of our guests are of utmost importance to us. We will take steps to enhance security measures, especially around the back entrance, to prevent any further issues. We apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations, and we value your feedback as it helps us improve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for an improved experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brigitte D wrote a review Nov 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The facility needs refurbishing, but the staff is trying hard to make a go of it. Toilet leaked periodically, faucet over sink dripped, but the bed was comfortable. A lot of trash behind the building and a/c grating not fixed properly to the outside walls.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames
Responded 29 Nov 2021
Hi brigittedX5148MW, Thank you for sharing your experience, and we are very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. Your very detailed negative review of our facilities and cleanliness is rough to hear because our goal and our efforts are directed to bring the opposite results from what you describe. The description of your stay is highly unusual and does not represent the level of high standards we all aim to achieve. We do hope you allow us another opportunity on a future stay to show you, how we used your overall comments to improve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie K wrote a review May 2024
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff was nice. Location good. Smelled of smoke everywhere. Also the bedding blankets were so old, torn, threadbare and stained.. you didn't even want to touch them. Carpet was stained throughout. Only there one night so was ok.. but made you not want to touch anything or be in the room. Hope they put some money into cleaning the place up.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames
Responded 19 May 2024
Dear Julie K, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you found our staff nice and appreciated our convenient location. We apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We take cleanliness and the condition of our facilities seriously, and we're disappointed to learn that the smell of smoke and the state of the bedding and carpet fell short of your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our housekeeping and maintenance teams, and we will work diligently to address these issues and ensure that our rooms are in a much better condition moving forward. We hope you might consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pat W wrote a review Jan 2020
Carthage, United States
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel is bear the interstate, was clean, comfortable, basic, but all I needed. There is a Subway/Dairy Queen closeb and a good BBQ place within a mile or so. The breakfast was basic but good: Raisin Bran or frosted flakes, yogurt, juices, toaster waffles, various breakfast breads and toppings, coffee, tea, etc.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames
Responded 16 May 2020
Pat W, Thank you so much for your compliments to our breakfast options and service. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the accommodations and service to be satisfactory. We hope you're looking forward to your next stay as much as we are!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grant B wrote a review Apr 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Don’t ever book this place. Especially if you are a high school FFA teacher. The hallways and rooms smell like smoke and pot, the sheets have pee stains, the blankets have holes, and the rooms are dirty. It’s garbage. I would rate it less than one star.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Hi X7529EJgrantb, Thank you for pointing out the issues with housekeeping so that we can work to improve upon this aspect of the guest experience at our hotel. Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we appreciate that you've informed us of a need to address housekeeping policies and procedures. We also appreciate your time in pointing out the facilities in most need of attention as we work towards updating and improving upon our accommodations. We are so sorry that you smelled smoke in your room. Unfortunately, despite our efforts to ensure that nobody smokes in non-smoking rooms, it does occasionally happen and we hope you’ll accept our sincerest apologies for the smell of smoke that you experienced. We are working to take care of all of the issues that you addressed and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jsteve735146 wrote a review Jan 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nobody should ever go to this hotel. The price is good but everything else is not. Our room was very dirty there were spiderwebs everywhere, the bed covering had cigarette burns on it and the carpet was disgusting. The room also had a very strong smoke smell even though we asked for nonsmoking. The staff is very shady and was not trustworthy, one of them was sneaking through the hallways at 2 in the morning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames
Responded 12 Jan 2023
Dear jsteve735146, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am shocked to hear about the situations you encountered and would like to deeply apologize. We take the value on your report regarding the condition of your room, beds and the cleanliness of our hotel. We will act on these complaints and will fix all problems as soon as possible. Your business is our priority and assure you that management has taken all the steps to make sure that all the rooms are clean and our ultimate goal is to make sure each guest has a comfortable stay. Again, thank you for your time and feedback. We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Art N wrote a review Jul 2021
Conroe, Texas
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Guy behind the desk is rude plase is very run down. No breakfast. They overcharged my card 100 bucks he said it’s astandard practice I’m a Wyndham platinum member never had to do this in the past !!! Hallways smell like urine stay at your own risk .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames
Responded 15 Jul 2021
14artn, Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding your most recent stay with us. We are apologizing for the rudeness that our staff showed during your stay with us. We do not tolerate such behavior from any of our staff and management. At all times we will provide an efficient, friendly and helpful service to all our customers.Breakfast is temporarily out of service this time due to the pandemic. Our Hotel is working hard to follow the CDC guidelines, and all of our local county and state recommendations when it comes to Covid-19. We are all doing the best that we can for our valued guests. We hope to be back to normal someday soon, and we thank you for your understanding.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sogcrunch wrote a review Jan 2024
Ames, Iowa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Management and staff are helpful and kind. Business rates are fantastic. Beds are better than the one i have at home. Comfortable and safe stay.
Breakfast doesn't have a large variety but there is a great pancake house next door.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames
Responded 28 Jan 2024
Dear sogcrunch, Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We're delighted to hear that our management and staff made your stay enjoyable with their helpful and kind service and liked our comfortable and safe accommodations. We have shared your feedback with our staff to ensure we continuously work on bettering our services especially breakfast. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanya M wrote a review Dec 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Used my wyndham points with my wyndham credit card for my stay and my credit card still got charged for the room. My stay should have been free bc i used my points. Also called hotel multiple times and their phone doesnt work.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames
Responded 1 Jan 2023
Hi tanyamS3198SY, I am so sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our primary goal is to provide all guests with an enjoyable experience and it is troubling to know that you faced such an unusual experience. We take this quite highly and your feedback will be shared with management so that appropriate steps can be taken. Thank you again for taking the time for sharing this experience and for your valuable business.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mmahl2021 wrote a review Aug 2021
Phillips, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at several hotels on our 7 day road trip. Super 8 Ames was among one of our favorites! The room was nice and big, plenty of amenities. We enjoyed the local resources. The front desk attendants gave excellent recommendations for places to go sight seeing. I've put this location in my phone as a favorite place to stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Hi mmahl2021, Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words regarding the five-star service and accommodations that you received during your most recent stay with us! It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with all of our services and amenities. We are overjoyed to hear that you had a great time with us and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
William M wrote a tip Jun 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here "
Read full review
BikerTim165 wrote a tip Nov 2020
Omaha, Nebraska30 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe we should give them another chance."
Read full review
Ike R wrote a tip Jun 2016
Sioux City, Iowa617 contributions63 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I believe all the rooms are good, I believe they all have window units"
Read full review
JulieTravels wrote a tip Mar 2014
Maplewood118 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were in the middle of the first floor and it was good with comfortable beds."
Read full review
TravelDebIowa wrote a tip Mar 2014
Iowa106 contributions35 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no place in this hotel that I would consider a good room based on the room we had."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ames area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$453 - HK$554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
super 8 ames, super eight ames, ames super eight, ames super 8
LOCATION
United StatesIowaAmes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUPER 8 BY WYNDHAM AMES - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Super 8 by Wyndham Ames
Which popular attractions are close to Super 8 by Wyndham Ames?
Nearby attractions include Iowa State University (5.8 km), Reiman Gardens (4.8 km), and Brunnier Art Museum (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Super 8 by Wyndham Ames?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cafe, Hickory Park Restaurant, and Aunt Maude's.
Are pets allowed at Super 8 by Wyndham Ames?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Super 8 by Wyndham Ames?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Farm House Museum (5.6 km).
Is Super 8 by Wyndham Ames accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Ames HotelsAmes Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AmesHotels near Super 8 by Wyndham Ames
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire