AmericInn by Wyndham Ames

AmericInn by Wyndham Ames

Traveller (34)
AmericInn Ames
Room & Suite (20)
AmericInn Ames
Pool & Beach (4)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#7 of 22 hotels in Ames
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Welcome to AmericInn Ames, Iowa the ideal place to stay whether traveling for business or pleasure. Our staff would love the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in our comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Ames, home of the Iowa State University Cyclones. We welcome every guest with a warm smile, great service, an inviting, indoor pool, free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and a quiet night’s sleep! Relax in our spacious lobby with cozy brick fireplace. We offer a variety of room types ranging from two-queen beds to a comfortable single king bed. We also have a variety of one or two room suites featuring a whirlpool and fireplace.The AmericInn Ames is conveniently located near all the attractions and excitement in the area and is sure to be the perfect fit for you and your family.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Billiards
Board games / puzzles
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
422Reviews3Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 214
  • 100
  • 49
  • 33
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
mcdilliner wrote a review Jul 2023
Knoxville, Iowa1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in town for a wedding and wanted to find a pool, hot tub, hot breakfast and handicap room options for those in our party. You'd think in a town the size of Ames, that would be easy, but it wasn't. The handicap room was great and the walk-in shower made it so that my mom could clean up without trying to step over a tub edge and we all enjoyed the pool and hot tub. It was nice to be able to have a warm breakfast, and although the biscuits were a little tough, everything else was great. We would definitely go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jetsly wrote a review Dec 2023
Minneapolis, Minnesota1,707 contribution248 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It is obvious as you drive into the parking lot that this 2 story hotel is an aging property, and the absence of an elevator scores the point emphatically. The staff is friendly and the indoor pool and hot tub a well maintained treat; we especially appreciate the fact that the mini frig had a freezer unit for our dry ice. Still, there are negatives. Many will be inconvenienced by the lack of USB ports, and the few electrical outlets in the room are not well positioned (nothing, for example, at bedside). The AC/heat unit was clunky in the extreme, emitting a high pitched humming noise that we could only defeat by turning the unit off and letting heat bleed out of the room during the night. Breakfast was minimal in the extreme, even by mid-range standards. In sum, although $86 is not much for a hotel room these days, it's not good value if you can't get a decent night's sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janda W wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My kids and I just spent two nights at this hotel, and we had a great experience. The moment we walked in, we were greeted by the kindest smiling woman behind the counter. All staff members that we encountered were very friendly and genuinely seemed to care that we enjoyed our time there. At one point, my son left his iPad on a table in the lobby, and we didn't realize it for quite awhile. I sent him down to the lobby to check if someone had turned it in. They saw it sitting on its own and put it safely behind the counter until it was claimed. I very much appreciated that they looked out for it, rather than leaving it on the table for anyone to pick up. My boys enjoyed the pool area both nights that we stayed. I appreciated the clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and reasonable price. I would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ndt0907 wrote a review Aug 2023
Sycamore, Illinois22 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
While the gentleman I spoke to on the phone was kind and able to give us their last room the reasons for a 2 star is as follows. Our room we had a King sized bed and hot tub, but the room had a particular odor and very humid. There were little black Beatles too. Although the linens were clean the floor felt dirty and the bathroom almost a moldy smell. The towels were thin which was fine, but they didn't even dry by the morning and we only had one towel each. We paid $150 which did include a hot breakfast in the morning. It was tge standard hot breakfast and thst was fine. Kuddos to the lady who was doing the breakfast and helping people to checkout. She was exhausted doing it all. She was very nice. The Gentleman I met the day before and I presume his family were nice. The place needs more TLC. I won't go back there. Location is fine and food and stores really close. The bed for me was comfortable but my husband slept poorly. Also the smoke detector started beeping to separate times for no apparent reason except that the battery may need changing. Who wants to be woken in the middle of the night for that.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shyam Patel, Owner at AmericInn by Wyndham Ames
Responded 4 Aug 2023
Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are very sorry to learn that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay due to the issues you experienced with the room. Entire first floor AC unit got cleaned last week for cleaning so that could bring insect in room because we have forest behind property. Entire property treated after by Orkin Pest Control and cleaned well and Your feedback is taken very seriously, and rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent any future occurrence.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bookmom17 wrote a review Aug 2023
Kansas City, Missouri178 contributions98 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel for one night largely based on good reviews on travel sites. Wow, were we disappointed. We were put in a smoking room even though we had a non smoking reservation, the room smelled damp, the linens were thin, the soap was institutional feeling, the breakfast was blah, coffee was terrible. The in room fridge did not keep a cold temperature so we ended up having to throw away perishable food. We saw elementary age children cleaning rooms — it’s probably a family owned business but that still felt off. Little signs everywhere like “ice maker for in room use only” etc. It just felt unfriendly,

It was convenient to the highway, and the blackout curtains kept the room pretty dark, but that’s about all I can say for this hotel. Upon closer look a lot of the good reviews are from profiles with only one review so they’re likely fakes to boost the average. Disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Confirm you have a non smoking room if you want one
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael S wrote a review Nov 2023
North Bay, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Would definitely stay here again. Was able to upgrade to a larger room facing the parking lot for a small fee (I always like to be able to see my vehicle from the window). Great price for room but $30 pet fee was higher than most places but overall cost was comparable to other hotels. Breakfast was hot and tasty but coffee needs improvement. Lumpy pillows need replacing but bed was very comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CEO wrote a review May 2023
Coon Rapids, Minnesota96 contributions77 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the breakfast was really good, I can not say anything good about the towels. My hand towels are softer and the towels are slightly bigger than a hand towel. The beds were comfy and I slept well. However, I never did get connected to the internet.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kasey305 wrote a review Feb 2024
IOWA284 contributions158 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at this property four times in the last 5 months and I am a Platinum member of the Wyndham rewards program. The staff is friendly and recognize me each time I stay. HOWEVER, I have had issues the last two times which will result in no longer staying here.
The hotel is very clean, no smell, furniture okay, and bed comfortable. The hotel is in the process of remodeling and redecorating.
My issue in trip #3 was the lack of enforcement of rules in the pool which could have resulted in serious situations. They rent out the area for parties and even though there is a rule about NO alcohol, no beverages, and no food, this is ignored. Kids run, jump in the pool, and young kids were swimming in the hot tub and splashing other patrons and frequently bumping them ~ no parental supervision.
Trip #4 was marred by loud TV in the next room for 2 nights with no correction by the management.
SO if you are a heavy sleeper or have ear plugs feel free to stay here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shyam Patel, Owner at AmericInn by Wyndham Ames
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Hi Linda, We are very happy with the honest review. 1. We have a sign for 'NO Food and Drinks allowed in Pool" We have blocked those guests for future reservations now. 2. We informed the Guest of having the TV on at Night but due to he was sleeping he did not answer the Room phone or his Cell Phone. I also knocked on his room door but no answer. We are really sorry but we did all our best to help you out. 'Carrying for Guests" is our motto and our entire staff is dedicated for that. Again very sorry and we will give you a free stay when you come back to Ames.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacia wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was clean, spacious, and felt safe. There was a nice bar area with two chairs, a working fridge with the correct temperature (most hotels my food freezes over night), and a microwave. My only feedback on the room is it would be great to have a place to hang wet swimsuits and towels. There aren’t enough hooks in the room for bath towels and swimsuits.

The owners were very hospitable and accommodating. They were there working along side their staff with a smile on their face.

The pool and hot tub were clean. There is a bathroom in the pool area, which is great for the little ones!)

We enjoyed the breakfast and felt it a good variety. We highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavefromMinnesota wrote a review Sept 2022
Mendota Heights, Minnesota23 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was full on a busy Iowa State football weekend. The owner was there at both check-in and at check-out the next morning. He takes pride in his hotel and wanted to make sure my stay went well. The room was great! It appeared (and smelled) that the carpeting in my room was new. There are a large number of channels available on the TV so I was able to watch some stations that I do not get at home.

My experience at the Ames AmericInn was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Make sure you make a reservation way ahead of time if it's a Iowa State football weekend.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharon1719 asked a question Sept 2016
Saint Paul, Minnesota23 contributions5 helpful votes
Do you have a hot tub on the property?
Answer from AmericInnAmes
Ames, Iowa2 contributions1 helpful vote
We do! We have a pool and hot tub on site!
Answer from AmericInnAmes
Ames, Iowa2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi Mandy - Thank you for your inquiry. The pet deposit fee is $30.00. It is just a one time pet fee during your stay. Please let me know if you have any additional questions.
Answer from AmericInnAmes
Ames, Iowa2 contributions1 helpful vote
The pet deposit is $30.00 one time pet fee during your stay with us. Thank you and Safe Travels!
Maps44442412022 wrote a tip May 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stop on by!"
Read full review
Melissa P wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remember to bring your own towels!"
Read full review
Jimmy S wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for Sham, my new old friend and proud owner, if you have any concerns... he will make it right... I promise!"
Read full review
Bookmom17 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Kansas City, Missouri178 contributions98 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Confirm you have a non smoking room if you want one"
Read full review
BWOver wrote a tip Jul 2023
Moore, Oklahoma39 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would definitely pick a different hotel. Looking at reviews many people have experienced the same issues, yet someone (owner?) are lying"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ames area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$640 - HK$921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
americinn hotel ames
LOCATION
United StatesIowaAmes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMERICINN BY WYNDHAM AMES - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about AmericInn by Wyndham Ames
Which popular attractions are close to AmericInn by Wyndham Ames?
Nearby attractions include Iowa State University (5.8 km), Reiman Gardens (4.9 km), and Brunnier Art Museum (4.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at AmericInn by Wyndham Ames?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at AmericInn by Wyndham Ames?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at AmericInn by Wyndham Ames?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at AmericInn by Wyndham Ames?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to AmericInn by Wyndham Ames?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cafe, Hickory Park Restaurant, and Aunt Maude's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at AmericInn by Wyndham Ames?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Does AmericInn by Wyndham Ames have airport transportation?
Yes, AmericInn by Wyndham Ames offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at AmericInn by Wyndham Ames?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at AmericInn by Wyndham Ames?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does AmericInn by Wyndham Ames offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
All Ames HotelsAmes Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AmesHotels near AmericInn by Wyndham Ames
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire