We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU

Save
Share
2609 University Blvd, Ames, IA 50010-8624
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Its Go Time!
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
FindHotel
Etrip
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (33)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU
Updated 02/06/22

About

#6 of 23 hotels in Ames
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located just off Highway 30, Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center at ISU lies two miles from Iowa State University, less than a mile from the ISU Research Park and five miles from I-35. Guests can borrow a complimentary bicycle, helmet and bicycle lock through the Cy-Bikes program to reach campus or the research park. If you're traveling for work, enjoy easy access to dozens of local businesses and world-class research facilities like the National Centers for Animal Health and Ames Laboratory. Complete your visit by cheering on the Cyclones at Jack Trice Stadium or experiencing a touring Broadway production at the Iowa State Center.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Iron
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:Its Go Time!
581Reviews0Q+A87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 265
  • 207
  • 67
  • 27
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
bradest2022 wrote a review Sep 2022
Wayzata, Minnesota1 contribution
We traveled to Ames to visit our son at ISU and take in a football game. The room quality was not great for $300 per night, and we will look to stay in another location next time. Not worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Katilia wrote a review Jul 2021
Los Angeles, California12 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I just came back from a 3-night stay at the Radisson Hotel & Conference Center. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is spotless. The room has all the amenities any traveler would need (including really good coffee!). The front desk staff is friendly and professional. If you’re coming to Ames primarily to visit Iowa State, the hotel is maybe a 5-minute drive from the campus. It’s a lovely area. I plan to visit the area several times in the next few years and the Radisson will be my #1 choice.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TravelingSoccerLoon wrote a review Sep 2022
Saint Paul, Minnesota1668 contributions675 helpful votes
Older hotel and rooms needing some updating but the place is clean, beds are comfortable, noise level was fine and front desk was welcoming. No breakfast included. Only 8 minute drive to ISU campus or 22 minute walk to Jack Trice Stadium although bus to campus stops near the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
alexH3787NI wrote a review Sep 2022
London, Canada1 contribution
Really dark and unsafe parking lot that was completely unlit. my female co worker felt unsafe. Breakfast was only served after most business travellers have to leave for work and the room was not made up once during 3 night stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from TERRI BEAULIEU, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU
Responded 3 weeks ago
We would like to apologize that your stay was not what you expected or deserved. We recently took over management of this location and are in the process of making improvements. We do have a contractor who has ordered new light fixtures and will be installing them once they arrive. Your room should have been serviced on the third day of your stay. Thank you for letting us know so we can address that with our housekeeping team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jenean2022 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
When we arrived, there was no one at the front desk for quite awhile. Long enough that we shouted out for someone. My room was missing the closet door and had a light bulb out above the sink. The air conditioner quit working in the middle of the night. The next day we went down to breakfast at 7:00 a.m. because we had a conference to attend by 8:00 a.m. The man taking our order told us the cook was detained. I explained that we had a deadline and if we couldn't get breakfast before that time, we would go elsewhere. He assured us the cook would be there soon and gave us a cold stale pastry. We had a cup of coffee and waited. After we couldn't wait any longer for breakfast we left. I reported the light bulb out and the A/C not working to the front desk before leaving. When we arrived back to the room, the A/C appeared to be working, but the light bulb was still out. In the middle of the night the A/C quit working again. Some of the staff were doing their jobs. Others were not. I'm a City Clerk and we have a conference in Ames every July. We will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
michaelvan2022 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
An overall great experience. The staff was great, the room and all facilities were perfect. I needed to do some unexpected business there so I needed their fax machine and they had all the capabilities to support what I needed to do.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
m0biusace wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
Wifi is unacceptable at a business style/conference center hotel. Capped at 5mbps down, 1.5mbps up. Seems like they have DSL and are trying to segment their users into 2005-era speeds. DSL in 2022?? Completely worthless. My phone or even the local starbucks provides 25x the speeds as this place. This was tested on three different devices at multiple locations throughout the property. If you need to upload large attachments or videos AVOID this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
brownmalan wrote a review Nov 2021
Firth, Nebraska1 contribution
The Ames Radisson was clean and comfortable, although it would have been nicer if other restaurants or stores were nearby. Aside from Iowa State being very nearby, it was otherwise in the middle of nowhere.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Angie S wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Website is not up to date. The pool has been under renovatation for over 6 months and there are no onsite food amenities (restaurant or breakfast). The TV didn't work in one room and the phone didn't work in another. One room had no heat and no maintenance available so we left but the manager, Seth Porter, is still going to charge us for two rooms, full night rates, though we were only in the hotel for three hours. This hotel is not recommended, period.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melanie Molina, Other at Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU
Responded 29 Nov 2021
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We are saddened to know that your experience was anything less than satisfying due to the concern you had with the website, the availability of some facility amenities and breakfast as well as the condition of the TV and phone at that time. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience, we are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. We hope that you will reconsider and give us another chance to provide you an experience that is truly excellent in all aspects.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Drew H wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I'm not sure if I stayed at the same hotel as a lot of these positive reviews? This hotel is in bad shape. We had 3 rooms over the weekend - the first one smelled like cigarettes so bad we requested to move. In all of them the showers were moldy, the bathroom tile was loose and crunchy under your feet, the drywall is cracked and in poor shape in some spots, the shower valve plate was broken and loose, the shower curtain rod was broken and sagging. It's as if they bought a run down Super 8, slapped some grey paint on it and put in some new carpet and called it good. Not what I was expecting when paying a premium to stay at a Radisson. Needless to say I won't be staying here again when there are so many other options nearby. I highly recommend skipping this place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Radisson Hotel Ames, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU
Responded 30 Sep 2021
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of the entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will use your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again should your travels bring you back to Ames. If I can provide further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 515-268-8808. Sincerely, Craig Hulford General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn ames hotel ames, ames holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At ISU
LOCATION
United StatesIowaAmes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU
Which popular attractions are close to Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU?
Nearby attractions include Iowa State University (2.8 km), Reiman Gardens (1.4 km), and Brunnier Art Museum (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cafe, Hickory Park Restaurant, and Aunt Maude's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Radisson Hotel Ames Conference Center At ISU?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Farm House Museum (3.1 km).