We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
7 Avenida 15-45 Zona 9, Guatemala City 01009 Guatemala
Hotel direct offer!EXTRA 10% OFF
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Barcelo.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (731)
360
Panoramas (39)
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Barceló Guatemala City
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 83 in Guatemala City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:EXTRA 10% OFF
2682Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,416
  • 877
  • 224
  • 93
  • 72
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chr2222 wrote a review 20 May
10 contributions
We've stayed at this hotel many times in the past ten years. It's our favorite because: rooms are large and comfortable; personnel are helpful and efficient; the breakfast buffet has a large variety of international and Guatemalan items; the (two) gyms are well-equipped and available to guests without an extra charge. For those of us who require a Covid-19 test the day prior to travel, the hotel arranges for a person to come to the hotel, and test results are available in several hours. The location is good: 3-4 blocks from excellent restaurants in the Zona 10. Transport to and from the airport is easy. The hotel airport shuttle can be arranged without charge. On a slight downside, the hotel is beginning to show its age in minor details, but in my opinion these are outweighed by the hotel's many strong points.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tatiana Rodríguez, Propietario at Barceló Guatemala City
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations. We hope to see you soon at Barceló Guatemala City to enjoy all the hotel services. Best regards.
Read more
NorthStar635394 wrote a review Jul 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
This is our second time we stayed at this hotel and it is awesome! This hotel is very clean, has high security, very comfortable beds, it's close to everything . The staff are all very helpful, professional and friendly. This is a great place to stay for the value, I highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room with a balcony, facing the front entrance are nice, as they have a great view of some of the...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tatiana Rodríguez, Propietario at Barceló Guatemala City
Responded 5 Jul 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about our service and share your experience in Barceló Guatemala City Hotel, its always motivating to receive such appreciations from our guests. This will help us to keep our high service standards. We hope to see you really soon. Best regards,
Read more
stephrn01 wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York204 contributions57 helpful votes
This fantastic hotel checked every box! Perfect location. Amazing dining options (pro tip: the pizza in the sports bar-located in the main lobby will change your life), the breakfast buffet was incredible as well. COVID precautions enforced. Friendly and helpful staff. Spacious and very clean room. Pools, spa, lobby bar, every amenity that your heart could desire.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tatiana Rodríguez, Propietario at Barceló Guatemala City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing the experience of staying at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations. We hope to see you soon at Barceló Guatemala City to enjoy all the hotel services. Best regards.
Read more
Sonia S wrote a review Apr 2022
San Francisco, California52 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
I’ve received good comments on this hotel and I was so excited to finally stay at it. However, right from the start everything went so bad. When I made the reservation online I also contacted reservations to let them know my flight itinerary and to request the shuttle to pick us up at the airport. Our flight arrived at 5am and the shuttle didn’t pick us up so we had to pay for two taxis to fit all of our luggage plus my son’s wheelchair (of course we called the hotel but the operator said to call back at 8am) when we checked in at the front desk, we told the agent about the missing shuttle and he never apologized for the inconvenience and instead he told us to let them know in advance next time! Also, he tried to charge us $39 for early checking??? Even though we were paying for the day before checking… We ordered breakfast from room service and it was really nice to hear a nice and very attentive order taker. The breakfast was terrible (see pictures) Later we tried to take a shower and all the water splashes outside the glass door from the shower (see pictures) this is very dangerous as when you walk out of the shower you can easily slipped and fall… Also, we didn’t get our room cleaned even though we put the request outside our door knob and when we called front desk to let them know and to request towels the front desk agent told us that the Do not disturb sign was on the door knob and that they weren’t allowed to enter the room…hummm funny because if that was the case then why someone entered into our room and changed the fruit platter (see pictures) Lastly, we talked to the front desk agent to get a different room for the shower issues and to pay for an extra day but she rudely gave us a negative on both requests and told us to go online to make a reservation there at higher price. Which of course we declined to do and instead made a reservation at the Intercontinental Hotel which was day and night from what we experienced at the Barceló…
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tatiana Rodríguez, Propietario at Barceló Guatemala City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Barceló Guatemala City hotel, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. We want to apologize for not being able to make you feel supported, we do our best to offer a caring and personalized service giving all the possible solutions to make sure you fully enjoy your stay among us. We genuinely appreciate the time you took out of your day to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly in the future. Best regards.
Read more
CaroBee16 wrote a review Apr 2022
Gaithersburg, Maryland3 contributions2 helpful votes
We traveled to Guatemala about a week ago and spent half of our trip at the Barcelo. We had spent time researching hotels and found decent reviews for Barcelo so we chose it over others. We were so disappointed after our stay. Our room didn't have a safe or a minibar/fridge. When we asked for the items they brought us a minibar that didn't work and only replaced it the night before we left. Then they gave us such a hard time trying to validate parking for two vehicles that didn't even stay overnight, the vehicles each stayed maybe an hour tops and they refused to validate. Not only that but the food situation is super confusing, in your room they give you various menu options but then the only available option for food is ONE restaurant. Honestly, would not recommend. We'll be staying elsewhere when we visit next.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tatiana Rodríguez, Propietario at Barceló Guatemala City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, First at all, Barceló Guatemala City Hotel would like to thank you for have stayed in our hotel and share your experience in Barceló. We are sorry that during your stay you have suffered those inconveniences. Your comments will help us to continue improving our service and quality standards. Best regards.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo guatemala city hotel guatemala city, guatemala city barcelo
LOCATION
GuatemalaGuatemala DepartmentGuatemala City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
397
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Barceló Guatemala City
Which popular attractions are close to Barceló Guatemala City?
Nearby attractions include Plaza Espana (0.5 km), Parque Las Americas (0.4 km), and Monumento a Cristobal Colon de Thomas Mur (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Barceló Guatemala City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Barceló Guatemala City?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Barceló Guatemala City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Barceló Guatemala City?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barceló Guatemala City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante El Cafetal, SPARTAN Steak, and Carpaccio Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barceló Guatemala City?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Barceló Guatemala City have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Barceló Guatemala City offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Barceló Guatemala City have airport transportation?
Yes, Barceló Guatemala City offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Barceló Guatemala City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Barceló Guatemala City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.