We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Rey Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 4 inns in Belmopan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Small property with a big heart.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

23 Moho Street, Belmopan Belize
El Rey Hotel
70Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 20
  • 5
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Debra C wrote a review Feb 2019
7 contributions1 helpful vote
The room was very dated, very tiny for two beds and the beds very lumpy. No hot water for showering. Breakfast was soooo bad. Coffee took 45 min. The cream was sour ( solid chunks) and the coffeemate was so old/stale is was a solid lump and would not dissolve in the coffee. Over easy eggs were raw, slight whiteness of the egg white, everything came cold, toast, eggs, ham. The breakfast took 68 min to arrive. I could not eat anything, the waitress saw it untouched but did not ask any questions about why.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: look elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager7ElRey, Front Office Manager at El Rey Hotel
Responded 19 Feb 2019
We apologize if this was so, we did have temp cook for staff on vacation. But it is hard to track since your name does not match any guests who stayed with us during that time. If this was indeed that person, I truly wish for your sake you had said something to front desk as there is no way this should have been. In all our 7 years our breakfasts have been the highest praise we have received. Sadly I know when people are upset, they tend to be dissatisfied with everything and everyone as well. I've seen this in every hotel I have worked. So i will hold back on my rebuttal but I absolutely must say that we have hot water in every single one of our rooms and have a very large heater that has always done the job perfectly. Perhaps you did not know how to turn it on. And again you did not say anything to front desk. They are there to help, dont be shy to ask or speak up when things go wrong at any hotel you stay at. All hoteliers really appreciate that you leave happy or say something so they can help.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jay P wrote a review Apr 2018
Sarasota, Florida73 contributions113 helpful votes
It is worth about $25.00 .Don't stay there if you are American. Their employees don't like Americans. There are other places where you can be respected and feel safe. If you stay there make sure you are with someone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager7ElRey, Manager at El Rey Hotel
Responded 14 May 2018
It is so disappointing that an unsubstantiated review like this would be allowed even though it was reported as a threat. The guest shortly after arrival asked to make a phone call and front desk gave him the rates, he said he wanted it free and front explained that internet was free and suggested using wts/app .However, he immediately started shouting at her and threatened to give a bad review saying we do not like Americans if she did not give him the calls for free. And so said , so done. If we did not like and welcome ALL people we would not be in tourism. We enjoy what we do.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cnoakes2017 wrote a review Feb 2018
Banff, Canada16 contributions3 helpful votes
This is a great place to stay on a budget. The rooms are small but cheerful and clean. It is located in a residential neighbourhood within walking distance of restaurants and grocery stores. We had breakfast here, which was nothing special but reasonably priced. They do offer a great variety of coffees. As with many budget hotel options in Belize, earplugs are always a good idea if you don't like listening to dogs barking.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Greg C wrote a review Jan 2018
Calgary, Canada10 contributions3 helpful votes
Budget rooms are too small for 2 people w luggage, upgrade one level. A bit run down and noisy. The Peruvian coffee is amazing and $6bz/cup ($3US). It's in a residential neighbourhood and their seems to be alot of dogs barking one night and not at all the second night. Staff are amazing and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
audreybeaudet wrote a review Nov 2017
Montreal, Canada2 contributions
The hotel was great and located in a residential sector. There was plenty of facilities walking distance (grocery store, very good restaurant, etc.). The hotel is really clean and confortable. We had air conditioning in our room and that can be quite handy when it is really hot outside! The staff is friendly and very helping! Breakfeast at the hotel was very good and the coffee choices was amazing! The owners were so helpful that I never could thank them enough for all the good advices and services they offered!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Rooms
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanilla_Custard, Manager at El Rey Hotel
Responded 24 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we were really happy that you enjoyed your few days in Belmopan. It's reassuring to know that we are a great jump off place for the tours that you were able to do - ATM caves and St Hermans Cave. We truly appreciate you being our guest, thank you and we would love to see you back in Belize at some time in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CBrandt77 wrote a review Jun 2017
Vero Beach, Florida203 contributions189 helpful votes
I paid about $60/night, which qualifies as being overpriced. Credit cards accepted. Room was perfectly fine, clean and comfortable. Good strong A/C. Shower OK--no shortage of hot water. Located in a residential neighborhood about five minutes' walk from some markets and an incongruously good American-style delicatessen. Breakfast served for a small fee at the hotel. Drinks and snacks sold at the front desk. It's a completely decent place where you'll be safe and secure, but the Hotel Hibiscus is way more conveniently located and better value for money...
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
James wrote a review May 2017
238 contributions105 helpful votes
A reasonably nice hotel with good aircon and clean rooms. The laundry and rooms I felt were a bit overpriced however was the cheapest place in Belmopan! Would avoid belmopan if travelling through as there is nothing to do!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanilla_Custard, Manager at El Rey Hotel
Responded 1 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your candid thoughts, we certainly appreciate each and every reaction even if they are not always glowing or about loving our "diminuative City" which is just over 35 years old and only came into existence in the late 70's. Regarding laundry, We charge US$ 7.50 for a full machine load for washing and drying as a service to guests while laundrets in Belmopan charge US$ 25 - we offer this low cost to help travellers stay fresh on their journeys by simply covering the cost of the: water, electrics, staff and machine repairs, sorry if you felt this was rather high. If coming from Guatemala everyone finds Belize more expensive since our on costs are much higher. Glad you enjoyed your brief stay and yes we are the most economical hotel in the city for rooms with A/C and centrally located and a 10 minute walk from the bus depot - we also have more fancy schmancy rooms too with added comforts for your next visit to Belmopan. We often hear guests maligning that there is "not much to do" in Belmopan, but in reality the city is offering more to its visitors every year as it continues to develop - presently there are almost 50 different dinging options, a vibrant farmers market, entertainment spots, a nightclub, family friendly parks and open spaces, two very well presented museums, banks, retail stores, Government buildings, embassies, football fields, tennis courts, basketball courts and plenty of other retail and outdoor facilities. For a small city of a tad over 12,000, (20,000 if taking in the surrounding 5 communities) similar to a small village in USA or Europe, there is enough to keep us residents busy. For our visitors there is a national Park on the outskirts of the city (Guancaste) and within a 45 minute drive some of the most amazing tour options in Central America, which is why many of our guests choose to stay 3 or more days to be able to venture out in each direction daily for a new adventure. Sorry Belmopan did not totally meet your expectations and hope you will give the city another consideration on your next pass through. Happy to explain in detail all the close by tour options in person. Again thanks for being a kind patron and safe travels within the country.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patrice T wrote a review May 2017
San Diego4 contributions3 helpful votes
We were 3 couples traveling from Belize City down to Placencia, and wanted to spend a couple days in the Blue Hole National Park area. Belmopan was right on the way, and the El Rey Hotel was just what we wanted. It was in a local area which was nice to walk around and there were shops just a couple blocks away, as my friend forgot his flip flops! In the morning, the choice of world coffees was fun and delicious, as was breakfast. The rooms were basic, but very clean and nice, and all the hotel staff was great!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanilla_Custard, Manager at El Rey Hotel
Responded 21 May 2017
Thank you so much for your comments Patrice, we were thrilled to have you and your friends stay with us the night, and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Belize adventure. I am on the way back from a meeting in Honduras in the next few days and loaded up with some really amazing new regional coffees, will save some for you on your next trip through Belmopan!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cmi5840 wrote a review Apr 2017
Colorado8 contributions1 helpful vote
We chose this hotel so we had a launch and landing for an inland tour. Super friendly staff. Nick, the owner was great, as well as the night time desk receptionist. Both owner and front desk staff were very helpful with other areas of Belize and transportation. Clean rooms with private bathrooms were just fine! Great affordable place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms further back are quieter.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanilla_Custard, Manager at El Rey Hotel
Responded 28 Apr 2017
Thank you very much. My wife and I try hard to provide clean affordable spaces for a short or prolonged stay in the City. You hit the nail on the head with your comment about Belmopan being a great base for exploring West, South or East with much to do near Belmopan. Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure to meet you and we do appreciate your business very much. Trust you had a fabulous continuation of your Belize vacation to the coast.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Javier W wrote a review Feb 2017
1 contribution
Had a wonderful stay with my family. The room had its charm. It's warm and welcoming hospitality. The staff from we entered came out to assist with our bags. In my daughters words a quaint and beautiful hotel. My favorite was having the option of choosing your coffee of the day depending on what region of the world you felt that morning. For a different stay and not just a basic, same room. This is your stay. Thanks El Rey Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanilla_Custard, Manager at El Rey Hotel
Responded 29 Apr 2017
Thank you for your comments, we were thrilled to have been able to host you. As I travel around the world and as friends come to visit, there is always a bag of new and exciting coffee in the plan! Glad you enjoyed our big and varied selection, it remains one of our very unique little guest attractions. Thanks for your positive remarks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Belmopan area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$868 - HK$2,918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BelizeCayoBelmopan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EL REY HOTEL - Prices & Inn Reviews (Belmopan, Belize)

Frequently Asked Questions about El Rey Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to El Rey Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Belize Inland Adventures (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at El Rey Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at El Rey Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at El Rey Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Rey Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Everest Indian Restaurant, Caladium Restaurant, and Corkers.
Does El Rey Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, El Rey Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is El Rey Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Belmopan.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at El Rey Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is El Rey Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.