We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant

Save
Traveller (108)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (18)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good16%
  • Average5%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“dorm room”(7 reviews)
“bunk beds”(6 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
142
29
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
142
29
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdorm roombunk bedsprivacy curtainsshared balconybuffalo chickenlockable storagerestaurant and bar downstairssleeping maskthin crustprivate rooms aregreat pizzabring earplugspizza specialgreat location on the beachwifi signalfridge and microwaveair conditioning
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At first when I arrived (on a Saturday), I thought i'd be in for party hostel vibes (given there was karaoke going on next door & folks drinking downstairs) , which I wasn't looking for but I was pleased to find the dorm rooms were...More

Thank Courtney W
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

My friend and I arrived without a reservation because our other accommodation didn't work out and they were so helpful. We only stayed here 2 nights, but kept coming back to hang out for our whole month in San Pedro. I was really excited to...More

1  Thank Rina F
Reviewed 30 April 2018

My buddies and I were doing Belize on a budget, so cheap accommodations were a must. We managed to get a private room in Sandbar for less than $100USD per night, so when you divide that up amongst 3 guys that's pretty cheap! We stayed...More

3  Thank RogueSix
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

I can honestly say that I have never had a bad meal here. It's a great place to spend the day on the water or stop in for a bite, a chat or a cold one. While there are many items on the menu to...More

Thank AFearneyhough
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Really nice hostel, we have been here for 5 days to dive. Good athmosphere and clean nice rooms. Personell is friendly and helpfull. We loved it. Ecologic diving recommended Sandbar and we are happy about that

Thank trippman83
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Ambergris Caye
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$17 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$17 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (108)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (18)
Pool & Beach (11)
Amenities (17)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Caitlin W
25 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from atshore14 | Reviewed this property |
Belize City is undoubtedly a dangerous place. That being said, it's not so dangerous that you can't use it as a transit point to go on to other places in the country; I just wouldn't stay there. Not that it is the most... More
0
Votes
Tracey P
18 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Captain_Random | Reviewed this property |
It isn't that noisy IMO. as long as you have a private room it will be fine.
1
Vote
awick989
4 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Captain_Random | Reviewed this property |
No. But they did have an awesome private room with balcony for about $80/nt.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"mixed dorm room was comfortable for a solo female!"
Read review
"Crocodile Room is great for 3 people or a couple and 2 kids as it has 1 queen bed and a bunk bed. Also has a..."
Read review
"be prepared for a hike from the water taxi stop"
Read review
"We did not stay her, we ate at the restaurant."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing