We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant

181 reviews
Save
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (18)
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good16%
  • Average3%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bunk beds”(7 reviews)
“dorm room”(7 reviews)
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (181)Write a Review
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
132
27
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
132
27
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedsdorm roomprivacy curtainsshared balconysleeping maskthe brick oven pizzabuffalo chickenlockable storagerestaurant and bar downstairsexceptional locationthin crusthappy hour specialsbring earplugsair conpizza specialhot waterprivate bath
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Love the setting.. swings as you eat your dinner. I had fresh lobster which was perfect. Rum Punch a must. My Grandson first asked why we were on the sand. We explained to him that this is Island life. Sweet and no rush.. Staff was...More

Thank blancakelle
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a private room and we really enjoyed our stay. This hostel is clean and offers really great amenities. The showers are nice and hot and the private rooms are very roomy. We had our own mini fridge and coffee...More

Thank cutelittlemonsta
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked 2 nights through Hostelworldwhich overbooked the place due to an internal mistake. So, there were no room for us when we arrived as he hostel never received our final booking. The hostel find us a solution, gave us a place to sleep and...More

Thank Gwendoline G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a single, traveling female, I was offered a room with 4 men! NOT a good idea. the female dorm and private rooms were full. Not a good idea for women traveling alone!

Thank lifeincolor2011
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had a great time during my stay at the Sandbar Hostel. They have the perfect, central location- walking distance to everything you need (restaurants, bars, markets). They have their own dock with lounge chairs, which were never too crowded. The common area has plenty...More

1  Thank Scarlett R
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345634
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$18 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$18 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (18)
Pool & Beach (11)
Amenities (17)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Caitlin W
25 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from atshore14 | Reviewed this property |
Belize City is undoubtedly a dangerous place. That being said, it's not so dangerous that you can't use it as a transit point to go on to other places in the country; I just wouldn't stay there. Not that it is the most... More
0
Votes
Tracey P
18 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Captain_Random | Reviewed this property |
It isn't that noisy IMO. as long as you have a private room it will be fine.
1
Vote
awick989
4 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Captain_Random | Reviewed this property |
No. But they did have an awesome private room with balcony for about $80/nt.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12345
Room Tips
"We did not stay her, we ate at the restaurant."
Read review
"Seaview Rooms are the best!"
Read review
"book in advise is highly acclaimed"
Read review
"Ask for the private rooms with shower and AC"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing