We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant

Save
Share
Traveller (110)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (18)
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good16%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“dorm room”(6 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
2 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
149
31
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
149
31
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivacy curtainsdorm roomlockable storagesleeping maskprivate rooms areentire bargreat pizzabring earplugspizza specialsand barlocals and touristsair conditioningstayed here for three nightsfridge and microwaveplace to stayhot watersecret beach
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Very convenient fro the water taxi..$5 us for a cab.. No need to tip, its included. Or walk along the beach to get there easily. The staff was great, food was great.. Th place was spotless, comfortablle bedswith your own light and electrical outlet. AC...More

Thank josbon617
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights to start off our honeymoon, and we loved it here. We made a mistake with the room booking so they upgraded us to a private 4 person room, for free! The room was awesome too/ super...More

Thank Mirandaisgreat
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Sandbar in August (low season) and I found the 4 room dorm to be very clean and the room had air con. I enjoyed having the restaurant (amazing pizza) in the lobby as it was the main area for travellers to mingle....More

Thank Julia G
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We recently stayed four nights in the Gibnut room, private double with access to a shared balcony. It was a nice room with A/C, mini-fridge and coffee maker; and having the balcony to step out on in the morning was great. Our room overlooked the...More

Thank James S
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Beds were comfortable and had a privacy curtain. Bathrooms were shared by usually empty and always clean. AC was powerful. Wifi was decent but not great.

2  Thank annmrt
View more reviews
About
Description
Sandbar Restaurant, Bar and Hostel is a thrifty traveler’s/backpacker’s dream come true. Located in San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, we are on the water and priced for even the most budget conscious. Dormitory ...More style sleeping arrangements with Air Conditioning or Private Rooms with optional AC. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Air Conditioning
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Pool
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Photos
Traveller (110)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (18)
Pool & Beach (11)
Amenities (17)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Caitlin W
25 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from atshore14 | Reviewed this property |
Belize City is undoubtedly a dangerous place. That being said, it's not so dangerous that you can't use it as a transit point to go on to other places in the country; I just wouldn't stay there. Not that it is the most... More
0
Votes
Tracey P
18 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Captain_Random | Reviewed this property |
It isn't that noisy IMO. as long as you have a private room it will be fine.
1
Vote
awick989
4 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Captain_Random | Reviewed this property |
No. But they did have an awesome private room with balcony for about $80/nt.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"mixed dorm room was comfortable for a solo female!"
Read review
"Crocodile Room is great for 3 people or a couple and 2 kids as it has 1 queen bed and a bunk bed. Also has a..."
Read review
"be prepared for a hike from the water taxi stop"
Read review
"We did not stay her, we ate at the restaurant."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing