We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
1501 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Lowest prices for your stay
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
ExpediaUS$139
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (314)
360
Panoramas (20)
Room & Suite (256)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#84 of 155 hotels in Washington DC
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Downtown Washington DC, Near Attractions and METRO! The Holiday Inn Central White House is located in Downtown Washington, DC within walking distance of two METRO stations at Dupont Circle and McPherson Square, plus many Attractions, Embassies, and Government offices. Visit one of the many Smithsonian Museums including the Air and Space Museum, the Museum of Natural History, the Museum of American History, the Museum of African American History, the Museum of the American Indian, or the National Zoo. Visit the White House, US Capitol Building, Washington Monument, the Memorials to Jefferson, Lincoln, and Martin Luther King Jr, plus the Korean, Vietnam, and World War II Veterans Memorials. Ask our staff about various city tour options at the Front Desk. We offer packages that include METRO passes. The Washington Convention Center is within walking distance of the hotel. Use METRO to attend an event at Nationals Park, Audi Field, or Capitol One Arena.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
108Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
31Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1717Reviews68Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 656
  • 694
  • 272
  • 55
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Winston M wrote a review 5 Aug
New Bern, North Carolina33 contributions38 helpful votes
Stayed here in July and what a disappointment.Front desk staff were the only good thing about this place.\,as I entered the lobby a guest was arguing with staff for over 20 minutes causing a log jam to check in.My room smelled like cigarettes and the sheets had black specs of something and filled with small black hairs.The pillow cases and sheets were stained with yellow blobs and did not smell clean.Please do youself a favor and find another place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for expressing your concerns to us. We apologize wholeheartedly for accommodations that weren't in proper condition for occupancy. Our housekeeping team will address the issues you mentioned, and we'll also work to enforce our non-smoking policy properly. That being said, it's good to know that our front desk attendants were the bright spot of your visit. We value your comments and wish you safe and pleasant travels.
Read more
Margit K wrote a review 3 Aug
Seljord Municipality, Norway158 contributions72 helpful votes
The reason I even give two points was because of the comfortable beds and because all the men that worked there were kind and helpful. Our trip was marred due to the angry and rude woman in reception. She was rude to other people when I was there and was rude to me. This is NOT a person that should be working in the service industry. Otherwise, the rooms were of adequate size, but were “tired” and smelled of old cigarette smoke. We had an issue with a hole in the ceiling of our bathroom that got worse during our stay. It looked like water damage that needed repair.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
We're saddened to learn you did not enjoy your stay. Please accept our apologies for any confusion about parking as well as for any issues with the elevator and AC. We'll pass your comments along to our staff for further review, and we hope you'll consider staying with us again should you be back in the area.
Read more
lish9782 wrote a review Jul 2022
East Peoria, Illinois68 contributions6 helpful votes
What an affordable hotel. Located in a neighborhood that is always moving. The rooftop pool is a bonus. The onsite free laundry is amazing. The only complaint is no breakfast. Have to use coupons at local restaurants. Also parking is an extra charge.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Lish, It's a pleasure to know that our wonderful facilities impressed you at Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House and that our amenities were perfect for your needs. Please come back to stay with us again the next time you're in the area.
Read more
erainge wrote a review Jul 2022
Boston, Massachusetts27 contributions4 helpful votes
Clean modern hotel rooms with a roof top pool. The location is good. Both restaurants and a Whole Foods are nearby. We’re giving this hotel 5 stars because it’s very good and they also gave us adjoining rooms for our group, which made it extra special.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Jul 2022
Dear Erainge, What a pleasure to read your outstanding review of your recent experience at Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House. We're so pleased to know our accommodations exceeded your expectations. Your compliments made our day and will be shared with our staff. Should your travels bring you back to the area, we hope you choose us for your stay again.
Read more
jacob a wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The policy of the hotel is to clean your room only after 4 days, *unless* requested. This was not communicated to us and we only found out after inquiring why the room wasn't clean. This feels like one of those policies that started because of Covid but is really no longer relevant, however has been continued because it is obviously convenient for the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Dear Jacob, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is fantastic to see you found our location convenient for enjoying the local area. Please know at this time our housekeeping service is upon request and our front desk team is happy to provide you with any items you may require during your visit; we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We are closely monitoring the COVID-19 situation and will continue to update our cleaning and safety protocols as mandated by local, state, and federal government agencies. Thank you for your feedback and we wish you pleasant future travels.
Read more
Steph B wrote a review Jun 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania6 contributions4 helpful votes
I had stayed here for a quick family trip to explore the national monuments. Prior to check-out, we had left our souvenir food in the hotel and taken our bags down to the garage. After eating breakfast, we came back to find housekeeping took it upon themselves to throw out all our leftover belongings BEFORE we officially checked out. Norid from housekeeping could only apologize on behalf of the cleaner’s mistake but the issue is the principle as I had not checked out yet! Although the hotel issued a credit for this mistake, I still left my trip without my souvenir food that I waited over an hour for. As for the hotel itself, it is located in a good location, very accessible to travel the city. The room was decently clean despite a small stain and fabric pilling on my fitted sheet of bed. The toilet in our room leaked after flushes at times leaving decent size puddles. The hotel was probably already aware of it as you can see the excess amount of grout surrounding the base of the toilet. Overall, the housekeeper’s mistake ruined my experience at this hotel and I don’t recommend if you want to keep your belongings prior to checking out.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Dear Steph, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are so sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience and that our service did not meet your expectations. Your comments allow us the opportunity to do better. We are looking into the issue and hope to resolve it promptly. Please do not allow this isolated incident to stop you from giving us another chance.
Read more
BrummieMoneypenny wrote a review Jun 2022
Birmingham192 contributions112 helpful votes
I arrived on the day the hotel reopened. I won’t lie, I was a little nervous. But I really didn’t need to be. I had a warm welcome from reception. They admitted they were a little rusty after being away for over a year. Reception has been renovated and bedrooms also renovated. I was delighted to find a spacious double room that was fresh and bright. After being awake for almost 20 hours i was ready for sleep. My bed was the most comfortable I’ve have ever slept in. The mattress, topper and sheets and two choices of soft or hard pillows gave me the most amazing nights sleep. I’m currently into night 4 of 5 and my sleep has been unusually comfortable given I’m not in my own bed. It’s giving my own bed a run for it’s money. My room is overlooking the main road across from the Hungarian Embassy, so some noise is expected. I think a firehouse is close as there are “regular” fire engine sirens. If I have the air con running there is come noise in the room. I’m a person who likes a quiet room, however I’ve had no issues sleeping. I rarely hear any other rooms, just a gentle noise from outside. The double room is spacious, the bathroom could be seen a small yet it’s got ample counter space and a great natural light mirror and the new shower works perfectly. Towels are white, soft and fluffy. Housekeeping is only on asking. I personally prefer not to have a regular housekeeper as I like to keep the same bedding each night. It amuses me anyone who insists on fresh towels each day. There the towels you’ve used. Go figure. The room also has a fridge and microwave, which has been great, as after a full day of site-seeing, I’ve been able to warm food I’ve purchased from Whole Foods. On floor four there is a vending machine and working ice machine. My only disappointment is that the advertised on site laundry is no longer available. I’d packed accordingly given the on-site laundry so do bear that in mind and hopefully the laundry details are removed from their website. Location is brilliant. Walk out of the reception and walk straight m for 15 minutes and you hit the White House. McPherson is the best Metro as it has more lines than Farragut. Turn left out the hotel and take first right you’ll find Whole Foods and Cvs. Take a left at the end of that street and you’ll find a busy area for food and drink. Logan circle has a lovely feel to it, as a solo female traveller I’ve felt incredibly safe in this neighbourhood. Overall, I’ve been delighted with my stay. I’ve slept well, had no issues with my room and felt very safe. It’s not a central location but if you walk out of your hotel and walk a block or so, you’ll see the White House. What’s not to love about that location. I’d heartily recommend this hotel to my friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Jun 2022
It was a privilege to host you at Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House. Thank you for sharing this incredible review of your stay, and we're elated that we exceeded your expectations with our cozy beds and spacious accommodations! However, we apologize for the disappointment with our laundry facilities being closed, and we'll pass along your comment to the appropriate team. Despite this, we're thrilled our convenient location was perfectly suited for your needs. You pay us the greatest compliment by recommending us to your family and friends, and we're looking forward to serving you again.
Read more
Jennifer D wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
1. First and foremost, although signs are posted for guest to wear mask in public area, NO ONE had a mask on. Even staff didn't have mask on. 2. Toilet in my room had to be repaired 3 times. First for not flushing. Then for not enough pressure. Then because tank would not fill with water. 3. Of a 4 day stay, I recieved room cleaning once. Even though I requested it on 3 different occasions. 4. Only one vending machine worked and the drinks where HOT. Also only ice machines on floors 2, 3. And 9 worked. 5. Doors of the building were locked on Friday night. Key card did not work for entry so everything you went out to smoke you had to wait to be buzzed in. 6. Ran out of towels by day 2. Requested more and was told no maid staff on site (even though I requested towels at 9 am before I left for the day). 7. Due to construction within the building, there were two mice in my room! My neighbor was nice enough to get them out of my room amd into the hallway. 8. Mini fridge did not work * With all that being said, staff was kind and courteous; even tho most seemed poorly trained. Staff shortage was obvious. The room rate was very high and therefore the issues faced should not have been present. Staff accounted the issues to "hotel recently just reopening after a prolonged time". This was obviously false seeing as how recent reviews are being posted from Jan 22- present time. STAY AWAY from this hotel!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Jun 2022
Dear Jennifer, We have recently reopened at the beginning of this month. However, we are committed to providing a clean and comfortable experience, but it appears we fell short. For that, we apologize. As we get back in the swing of things, guest feedback is important to us. You can be confident that our team will discuss these matters to ensure that our accommodations are in tip-top shape. We know that we can do better and welcome another chance to prove this.
Read more
pawlover wrote a review Apr 2020
North Carolina1608 contributions106 helpful votes
+1
small bathroom I liked that it wasn't super far from everything. We could walk a few blocks or we could Uber and the Uber wasn't super expensive (under $10). I liked that it has a secure parking lot so random people off the street could not enter it. I liked the security for the elevators - they were the same way. You had to use your hotel card to get in the elevators and also the bathrooms on the first floor. The bed in our hotel room was comfortable. The hotel was quiet. We didn't hear traffic or outside noises. It was great for sleeping. Our view wasn't too bad. I loved that the room had plenty of storage space to keep luggage out of the walkway. I liked the sofa that pulled out into an extra bed. It was comfortable. I liked that the room had a microwave, extra sink, and mini-fridge. I liked that it had an extra blanket and pillow as well. The hotel staff was very friendly too. There is a 7 Eleven and Whole Foods not far from the hotel which are great options for snacks, etc. It seemed pretty safe in our hotel and surrounding area. Our stay preferences we had picked out on the app were granted. Also, since we were a gold member we got the option of two amenities (drink or points) which was nice. what do you think would make your stay better? I would have liked for the bathrooms to be bigger. The couch wasn't super comfortable to sit on nor was the chair (non office one). There was an extra blanket in the room but I would have liked to have a thicker blanket already on the bed. The sheet and comforter were super thin. The price to park the car each day was $47 dollars which is pricey to me compared to paying $0 in 95% of other places we visit. We would have liked to have had a free breakfast as we have had in other Holiday Inn's. Parking spots are definitely small.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 21 Apr 2020
Guest insights like yours are invaluable to our team. It's wonderful to hear that you rested well on our cozy beds and that our location was just what you were looking for. We know that our team will be delighted to hear you appreciated their warm hospitality. Thank you for the suggestion regarding the bedding. We will keep this in mind when making future improvements. It's our pleasure to offer secure parking here in the city. We do our best to keep our rates competitive for the area as it can be difficult to come by and at a premium rate. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House. It would be an honor to host you again in the future.
Read more
Tamira wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The fridge didn't work and you had to pay for parking other than that it was a pretty good stay. They was quick when I asked for more washcloths. They even had travel toothbrushes and toothpaste free of charge.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Responded 13 Apr 2020
Dear Tamiratee, Your feedback is much appreciated! We're so happy our team was quick to serve your needs and provide the essentials that you needed. Our apologies, however, that your fridge wasn't working properly. Maintenance is following up now. Also, parking does come at quite a premium in the area, and we like to make sure that our guests do have a guaranteed place for parking if they need it. Thank you for being a guest of ours, and we wish you safe and happy travels ahead!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$161 - US$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn washington - central / white house hotel washington dc, holiday inn washington dc, washington dc holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCUpper Northwest / Dupont Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
212
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Barbie Pond on Avenue Q (0.3 km), National Geographic Museum (0.4 km), and The Studio Theatre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Commissary, Quill, and The Pig.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Washington-Central/White House, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (4.4 km), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (4.2 km), and Georgetown University (3.2 km).