We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
775 12th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Marriott Hotels
US$206
View deal
Expedia
FindHotel
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (297)
Room & Suite (158)
Dining (29)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 04/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Updated 04/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#65 of 155 hotels in Washington DC
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Washington Marriott at Metro Center features convenient access to the best attractions and shopping and dining in the nation's capital. Our downtown Washington, D.C. hotel offers a premier location near the metro, giving guests easy access to the National Mall, Smithsonian Institution, CityCenterDC, Spy Museum and the National Portrait Gallery. Located within blocks of the Capital One Arena, our hotel offers stylish surroundings for guests attending conferences, sporting events or concerts. Washington Marriott at Metro Center's engaging environment and Starbucks Café makes us a great choice for business and leisure travelers. Meeting planners can explore the possibilities with over 14,000 sq. Ft. of event space and 15 breakout rooms, perfect for hosting a variety of gatherings and events. With access to the region's major airports, Union Station and the Convention Center, Washington Marriott at Metro Center is a top choice for travelers to D.C.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Bowling offsite
Tennis court offsite
Car hire
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Walking tours
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
221Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
39Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1399Reviews45Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 658
  • 545
  • 145
  • 32
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alicia wrote a review Yesterday
11 contributions
The location of the property is great. Walking distance to many tourist attraction such as the Smithsonian museums andWhite House. The hotel is close to the metro to take you to other location. Lots of great restaurants and kid friendly restaurants near hotel. Now about the hotel. Our flight was eventually cancelled and rebooked for the following morning, tried to call the hotel so they would keep my reservation and not cancel it, and no one picked up the phone at 2 am when the flight was finally cancelled. Sent chat message no response. Had to call the Marriott main number for assistance. When got to hotel in the morning, no acknowledgement of platinum member. The room had pull out sofa which was the worst sofa bed I have seen in any Marriott property. There was no conditioner in the bathroom. Each day has to call for conditioner. After 2nd day they brought the big bottle of conditioner, the problem is then they took out the shampoo bottle. Got tired if complaining just bought shampoo at Walgreens at the corner. So no one acknowledges you when you come back into the hotel. There is valet staff who stand and practically block door but do not offer toooen the door. I should say that only the handicap door works so there is only one door in and out. I didn’t feel like I was at a Marriott. Felt like cheap motel. The loung breakfast staff was the only people that acknowledges you I wouldn’t stay here again. Next time I’ll just stay at the Jw
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jonathan S wrote a review Jul 2022
Santa Ana, CA85 contributions95 helpful votes
only one person working the desk which made check in slow. very long line. property needs updating. corridors old, wallcovering peeling. bathroom not good. was cheap to stay here on points which is how we ended up here. location is good and you can walk to a lot of things around. would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jonathan S, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are passionate about imagining new possibilities and seek to provide every guest with inspiring hospitality to ensure we exceed their expectations. Therefore, we regret not meeting your expectations. The revitalization of our property is essential to our devotion to enriching experiences and sophisticated spaces. We will use your comments as a guide for future improvements and take steps to enhance our hospitality. Thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed our dynamic location. We certainly appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott brand, and we would love to have you return so we can show you the fulfilling and refreshing stay you deserve. Kindest Regards, Melissagale Lechelt General Manager
Read more
ElizaebethB wrote a review Jul 2022
Princeton, New Jersey90 contributions84 helpful votes
I try to stay at Marriott for consistency and because it is easy. I got to this hotel pretty late on a business trip. Because I was going to arrive after 9 p.m., I opted for a "concierge level" room. I figured I would just grab something small to eat--in the concierge lounge, since they offer this-- after arriving from a 3-hour trip at 9 p.m. I got the hotel just after 9 p.m. and had trouble checking on line. I reserved a king room with a sofa in the room (I was looking forward to spreading out), but, when I went to the desk, they didn't have any king rooms so I said ok to two doubles. When I got to the "high" floor and my room, the floor looked just like every other one and I had no idea where the "concierge lounge" was, there was no signage and the person who checked me in did not say (so I assumed it was on the same floor as my room). My room was uninspiring. The view was the side of the building next door. I couldn't find anything in the room that indicated where the lounge was so I called the front desk on the room phone. Mind you, the person who answered the phone could see who I was because I was calling from my hotel room and I asked him where the lounge was. He said it is on the 2nd floor but it is only available to platinum level members “and you are at the silver level.” I told the guy at the desk that I had paid a higher rate to be able to use the lounge and he said, "your key should work in getting in there if you have access with your room." I am not sure if it did because someone on the way out held the door for me. What I found in the lounge was a refrigerator with a lot of soft drinks, some apples and pears, a few brownies, chocolate chip cookies, several little plastic cups of mixed nuts, wine and beer (the bottles of wine were nearly empty and they had a card indicating price next to the bottles--would I have to pay for a glass of warm white wine?) At 9:10 p.m. the very kind lady cleaning the room was already vacuuming and picking up trash. The room closed at 10 p.m. I was not excited about sitting there, having a few nuts and maybe a bottle of water and listening to the vacuum cleaner, etc.; not her fault, I understand, so I left. I went to the hotel restaurant which had a very limited menu, one of whose specials was an "autumn rice bowl" (in July?). The waitress took my order and the salad was very good, but then after they had delivered the food, no one came to check on me and see if I wanted dessert. I waited for a while, then had to go up to the bar and ask for my bill--it is possible that this is the way it worked, but the waitress took my order at the table, so I was confused about how to handle leaving -- and I probably would have ordered dessert but by the time it was definitely time to leave, it was too late. I do not carry moisturizing cream with me because the hotels always have it and it is one more thing to pack, but the toiletries in the room were two tubes of shower gel and a tiny bar of soap. I don’t mind the soap—a lot of hotels provide large bars of soap, which is a huge waste. The shower gel was there because there are stationary wall-mounted containers of shampoo and conditioner in the shower, and the mounting strip for shower gel was empty. The conditioner was mounted but that bottle was empty when I tried to use it. There was no lotion to be seen. Business is stressful and a hotel with good customer service and a few perks is a little bit of a compensation. This hotel didn’t provide any of that. It is summer and maybe there are a lot of people on vacation and I know there are staffing issues and inflation is very hard, but the cost of the room at this hotel on a Wednesday night in July in DC, before taxes was $420. Marriott should do better than this in general and definitely at that price. Wish I could be more positive, I try to make my reviews as upbeat as possible, but this was a disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello EDwood191, We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your visit to Washington, D.C. We agree Business travel can be be very stressful. We are passionate about imagining new possibilities and seek to provide every guest with inspiring hospitality to ensure we exceed their expectations. Therefore, we regret not meeting your anticipations. We hope you will give us another chance to deliver the enhanced stay we are known for providing. Kindest Regards, Melissagale Lechelt General Manager
Read more
ehiggin wrote a review Jun 2022
Wilmington, Delaware13 contributions4 helpful votes
I went to DC to witness a film about Wilma Mankiller and see the launching of her quarter. I picked the Washington Marriott at Metro Center because it was close to the Martin Luther King Jr. Library where the event took place. I did not realize it was so close to other venues of interest. The staff were helpful. I used to visit the city frequently, but after COVID I have to relearn my way around. So help was appreciated. The room was comfortable and well appointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I had a high floor, but look at roof. Not sure where you get a good view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott , Guest Services / Front Office at Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Responded 1 Jul 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and had a warm welcome from our staff who made it easier to relearn your way around our great city. It sounds like you were treated to a great show while in town and we welcome you to check out some of the other great theater options walkable from our location or just a few stops away from Metro Center just outside our door. We know you have a lot of options and do appreciate you choosing our location. We thank you for your loyalty and hope that we are able to welcome you to our hotel again soon.
Read more
Vadim wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
As my wife already submitted her first impression review for this hotel I want to update it with sharing our next day experience. That day we left our room at 11 am and came back at 8:45 pm. THE ROOM WASN’T CLEANED, NO FRESH TOWELS, BED WASN’T MADE. I’m not mentioning that when we came to the room on the first day of our visit the refrigerator was empty—no drinks, no snacks. The description of this hotel is very misleading. On all websites it mentions restaurant which actually doesn’t exist. Only something like a diner which works just for breakfast and then opens again at 5pm. To be fair I want to say that the hotel staff is very nice—especially Kelly who definitely tried to fix the situation. Unfortunately, there was not much they could do. BAD MANAGEMENT!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Ortner, Owner at Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Responded 2 Jun 2022
Dear Vvd1992, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the Housekeeping leadership team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent these issues from occurring in the future. Our restaurant, Fire and Sage, is open for both breakfast and dinner but does close for a few hours in between. We are glad to hear that Kelly was able to assist you and we hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Read more
Ellados wrote a review May 2022
New York City, New York29 contributions32 helpful votes
My husband snd I came here yesterday (May 29th) around 3pm. First impression: no restaurant or bar or cafe in the hotel. Just closed. The only one opened was Starbuck in the lobby. Dirty carpet in the lobby near elevator. Nobody to help with the luggage. They claim they provide complementary water for tea and coffee but in reality two small (10oz) bottles in the room and practically impossible to get more—takes hours and five calls to eventually get it. We’re leaving tomorrow. WE HAVE NEVER SEEN MARRIOTT AS BAD AS THIS ONE!!! I gave it one star but it is actually zero
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Ortner, Owner at Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Responded 31 May 2022
Dear Ellados, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the leadership team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent these issues from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Read more
Rhapsodyinblue wrote a review May 2022
Albany, New York997 contributions270 helpful votes
Very conveniently located in Northwest DC. Not as much character as the JW nearby. The lobby is small, the room was average in size and amenities. Refrigerator in the room was a nice plus. Their concierge lounge is closed and breakfast in the restaurant is difficult. You need to order with a single cashier, the menu is somewhat limited and they deliver the food to you. Lot of time and lot of standing. Overall meets expectations but not beyond. Shout out to JoJo the doorman who did a lot to please and amuse.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LvK888 wrote a review Apr 2022
South San Francisco, California37 contributions11 helpful votes
I stayed here four years ago and we are titanium member. I am disappointed to find out this hotel’s M Club is still closed. They offered two breakfast With very limited menu and with $39 total value. That’s just enough for two breakfast with no drink or one drink. We stayed in the Bay Area late March, the Marriott there had full service at the M Club as it was before COVID. When the US is back to normal now a days I don’t understand why this Marriott is not opening up to their full capacity. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott , Guest Services / Front Office at Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Responded 22 Apr 2022
On behalf of our team, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the issues that you encountered during your recent stay with us. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. All your concerns are valid ones and while we certainly wish you had a better experience, we do appreciate your perspective as it will help us to improve. We are transitioning our food service and you can expect to see more options and extended hours in the future. This includes our M Club that is planned to open once again later this spring. We know you have a lot of options and do appreciate you choosing our location and for being a loyal Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Member. We thank you for your loyalty and hope that we are able to welcome you to our hotel again.
Read more
Sue E wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Beds very clean and comfortable. Room temp great. View not good, but you are in the city center so not much they can do about that. Pool room clean and at a comfortable temp. Room clean. Surprising lack of amenities, such as no microwave in room, very basic hotel TV (more like hospital channels than full cable). The hotel restaurant had a limited menu which did not appeal to children, and the childrens' choices were limited. There is a Starbucks on site, but it closes VERY early, and there are limited evening options for snacks. Would be a good choice for business travelers, but for families, not so much. Staff was amazing, very responsive and very welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team M, Guest Relations Manager at Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and had a warm welcome from our staff. It is also very nice to hear how much you enjoyed the pool and our center city location. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we are sorry that we failed to meet some of your expectations. All your concerns are valid ones and while we certainly wish you had an ideal experience, we do appreciate your perspective as it will help us to improve. We are transitioning our food service and you can expect to see more options and extended hours in the future. We know you have a lot of options and do appreciate you choosing our location. We thank you for your loyalty and hope that we are able to welcome you to our hotel again.
Read more
ANNE B wrote a review Apr 2022
Deep Gap, North Carolina95 contributions19 helpful votes
This was a highly anticipated "sisters weekend" trip, so the overall experience was great. That said, here are some of the low points. After you pay the exorbitant room rate, you find that it costs $54/night to park at the motel. This is more than I pay for an actual motel room when I'm traveling and just need a few hours' sleep. A staff member took pity on my sister and clued her in to the fact that there was a parking garage a few blocks away which only charged $22/night. There was a refrigerator in the room for our wine and leftovers, but NO microwave! Also, no breakfast of any kind, unless you went down to Starbucks and paid more for their limited food. In-room coffee was provided, but no CREAM! There are no showers in the vicinity of the very nice pool, even though there was a sign that cautioned that guests should shower before using the pool. No little bottles of shampoo, conditioner in the bathroom, but there were wall-mounted bottles in the shower. But no little soaps and no lotion at all. I have stayed at Super 8s and similar motels for $80/night, which had free parking, free breakfast, a selection of miniature toiletries, and a fridge and microwave in every room. In closing, let me say that the staff were very courteous and helpful, and the location could not have been better. I realize DC is a very expensive place to visit, but come on, can't Marriott provide the little amenities we take for granted in much less expensive motels?
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Randy Goldman, Marketing at Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Responded 12 Apr 2022
Dear ANNE B, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Your experience as you described is below our standard. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority, and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We have shared your feedback with our leadership team especially as it relates to your experience with our parking, desire for a microwave and toiletries. We hope you will give us another chance during your next visit to our nation’s capital. Regards, Marriott at Metro Center
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$216 - US$298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
washington marriott at metro hotel washington dc, marriott washington dc, washington dc marriott, marriott metro center
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCUpper Northwest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
459
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Washington Marriott at Metro Center
Which popular attractions are close to Washington Marriott at Metro Center?
Nearby attractions include National Portrait Gallery (0.4 km), Smithsonian American Art Museum (0.4 km), and National Museum of Women in the Arts (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Washington Marriott at Metro Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Washington Marriott at Metro Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Washington Marriott at Metro Center?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Washington Marriott at Metro Center?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Washington Marriott at Metro Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante TOSCA, Zaytinya by José Andrés, and Pi Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Washington Marriott at Metro Center?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Washington Marriott at Metro Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Washington Marriott at Metro Center?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (4.2 km), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (5.4 km), and Georgetown University (3.9 km).
Is Washington Marriott at Metro Center accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.