We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1914 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5705
Lowest prices for your stay
US$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
Trip.com
SuperTravel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (379)
Room & Suite (215)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

About

#18 of 156 hotels in Washington DC
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Conveniently located in the Nation's Capital with easy access to various dining options and must-see attractions, Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row offers charm and elegance with luxurious accommodations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 5 more

Location

Full view
92Great for walkers
Grade: 92 out of 100
58Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
18Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1726Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 932
  • 532
  • 138
  • 61
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mark m wrote a review 25 Nov
+1
I stayed at the hotel in September for the price of $250+ per night, it is the dirtiest and filled-with-holes room I have ever stayed in. When I walked into a room at 10pm, the binds were wide opened facing garbage can in the back alley. The room is in full view of all passerby (which there were), but this is just the beginning of a very uncomfortable night. First scary thing is that the door's peek hole is A HOLE stuffed with tissue paper. Anyone from outside could pull out the tissue paper and look inside the room. Can the hotel not able to afford a complete door? Apparently they can't afford walls neither. There are more holes right on the wall just outside the washroom, I can hear people on the other side, how am I suppose to feel safe? Then the washroom, first it's the door (yes another door) has no lock and barely a handle, which is not a surprise since this sliding door does not a sit on a track nor does it shuts against the wall. It seems like they've built the washroom without thinking of a need for a door, then just added a lid over the opening. Then whoever comes up with the idea to put the shower head and shampoo on opposite side, should never experience warm water for life. Trying to find shampoo behind me with water in my face is an unnecessary awkward arrangement that I didn't ask for. Then everything just got worse. The towels were sitting right below a vent filled with years of dust. I am not sure if the vent is working or not, but I didn't bet and used my own towel. But I have to dry my hair somehow, so I went for the hair dryer, that was a mistake. The hair dryer bag was stained, I don't want to know with what, but it's filthy. But I stilled wanted dry hair for sleeping so I braved it. Yet, the hair dryer was sticky, I mean, have to wash my hands with soap type of stickiness. I just gave up and decided it wet hair was not that bad after all. As I pulled back the blanket on the bed, shells (of uneaten nuts) came out. At this point I am speechless. I slept on the chair for the night, with creaking sound of the floor board going on all night. You might wonder why I didn't complaint to the front desk right away. Well, that's because the front desk person was rude and unhelpful from the start. When I was at the check in, the person had trouble finding my reservation although I have booked and prepaid. Then when he found my reservation, he insisted that I put down deposit for incidentals, although I had previously confirmed that was unnecessary. When I tried to talked some sense into him, I just got a broken record of this is the policy and if I didn't like it I could cancel. I had an early flight to catch and I don't think the front desk is capable of offering any help. I stayed there because I heard that it was a nice a heritage hotel. In reality, I have had better room at Motel 6. There are many nice hotels around the area of comparable price. Please don't stay there if you want a comfortable shower or sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Folly, Guest Services / Front Office at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row
Responded yesterday
Thank you markmY153ZD for your review and comments. We appreciate your feedback and we welcome all feedback to learn where it is we can improve. I apologize that you did not have the best experience while you were with us. We do have rooms from 2nd floor to the 9th and I am sorry that you were not place on a higher floor. We will look into your comments and address any, if not all, as best as possible to avoid another experience that you have had. I hope that you give us another opportunity to make up for your last visit. Please feel free to contact me for assistance with your next reservation. gerardfolly@remingtonhotels.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MSANewJersey wrote a review 24 Nov
New Jersey45 contributions32 helpful votes
The room was very clean and spacious. The front desk was very helpful as always. The location is excellent! You can walk down Connecticut Avenue and you are close to everything. We have stayed here a few times and they never disappoint. We look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Folly, Guest Services / Front Office at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row
Responded yesterday
Good Afternoon and Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and survey. Thank you for highlighting the area surrounding the hotel, metro and restaurants. We'll see you on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Max wrote a review 17 Nov
Copenhagen, Denmark47 contributions60 helpful votes
I just stayed 5 nights in The Churchill Hotel. It was an absolutely great experience. From check in with Mr. Gerard which was very informative and super friendly. He had already taken notice of my requests and my room was ready. Historical hotel, very beautiful and very nice rooms with good aircon, coffeemaking facilities, fridge, iron etc. The hotel is in a perfect location for walking to all restaurants, sightseeing etc. Metro station is near and also the hop on hop off bus if you like to use that. Everything went smooth and all employees were very helpfull. I will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Leah H wrote a review 15 Nov
Colville, Washington308 contributions119 helpful votes
We had a need to upgrade our room last minute and they were extremely helpful. Additionally, our room was clean, elegant and comfortable. Our neighborhood was safe & we had easy access to good food and nightlife. We have a few more trips ahead of us going to DC and we plan on booking our stay there if possible.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Folly, Guest Services / Front Office at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row
Responded 1 week ago
Good Afternoon 463leahh, We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and plan on returning to stay with us again. I am very lucky to work with a team that is ready to assist and accommodate guests like you and show them what Churchill hospitality means. thank you for sharing your review and rating with us and others.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven wrote a review 15 Nov
1 contribution
Second time at this Hotel. Room was very nice and l and large. I would have given it 4 stars but for the size of the bathroom. I had a junior suite and the description of the bathroom is not accurate. It is very small. Other than that a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Folly, Guest Services / Front Office at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Stefano for sharing your experience with us. we appreciate you taking the time to complete a review about us. Please come back and visit us again as the Holidays approach us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chantal L wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
The staff is ultra friendly & helpful. Sereke is a gem! Irma is lovely and the others who’s names I didn’t get were equally nice. It has a family feel and luckily it’s not a standard hotel. I had a fabulous time. The only thing I would have changed is a kettle in the room instead of a coffee maker. I’m a tea drinker & coffee flavour in tea is yucky.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Folly, Guest Services / Front Office at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row
Responded 14 Oct 2022
Good Morning Chantal L, We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and others of your stay at the #Churchill Hotel. I will share your comments with Sereke, Ima and our team members, they will be so proud to know that they had an impact on your stay. Come back to visit soon, the Holidays approach.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christopher K wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
This hotel exceeded my expectations and location is great near embassies and Georgetown. Fitsum, Herly and Dolores went above and beyond during check-out! I would wholeheartedly recommend it to others
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Folly, Guest Services / Front Office at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row
Responded 1 Oct 2022
Good Morning, Thank you for sharing your review and rating with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us while in Washington, DC. I am proud to work with our team members and happy to see you acknowledge some of them. I will certainly share with them your feedback and appreciation of their professionalism. We hope to see you again with us soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JohnFromBrazil wrote a review Sep 2022
Rio de Janeiro, RJ4778 contributions118 helpful votes
+1
Great value. Excellent location just a few blocks from Dupont metro. Good dining options around. Stayed for one night 21/22 September. If you have business in Georgetown to do, that's a way better area to stay in. I wish there were coffee machines in rooms but other than that, I love the kitschy but fancy decor! Spacious room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Folly, Guest Services / Front Office at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row
Responded 23 Sep 2022
Good evening John, Thank you for your review and rating of the #ChurchillHotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and others. I will share your comments with our team members, as well. Our Rooms do have coffee machines and I will share with our team to make sure that if missing we make sure to replace ASAP. Everyone needs coffee for a good start of the day, that is why we also offer Complimentary coffee on the Lobby every morning from 7am - 10am for some of our guests that are the go. Please come back to visit us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
520r1ver wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
This was a really well run hotel with lovely staff. Decor is tasteful, and everything seemed to just work. Location is great with loads of restaurants, shops and the metro within easy walking distance, and the zoo is practically over the road. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Folly, Guest Services / Front Office at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row
Responded 19 Sep 2022
Good Morning, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us at the Churchill Hotel. Highlighting our location and local attractions are just one of the added features we are pleased add extra value to your experience. Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RandS_TX wrote a review Sep 2022
houston313 contributions91 helpful votes
I am not a super picky customer. I like to have a clean room, comfortable bed, reasonable pillows that is quiet. This exceeded all of my expectations. It is located between Woodley Park and Dupont Circle METRO stations. You can walk to several trendy neighborhoods with great restaurants. I had a Junior suite. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. My room was very quiet without any road noise. The service was friendly. My only minor issue is the coffee down in the lobby
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerard Folly, Guest Services / Front Office at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row
Responded 19 Sep 2022
Than you for your detailed review and rating of the Churchill Hotel. The team works so hard to make sure that we prepare for guests like you and welcome into a clean and secure environment. We hope that you will come visit us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$137 - US$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the churchill hotel washington dc, churchill hotel washington dc, churchill washington dc
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCUpper Northwest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
173
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CHURCHILL HOTEL NEAR EMBASSY ROW - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews (Washington DC)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row
Which popular attractions are close to The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row?
Nearby attractions include The Great Escape Room (0.3 km), The Board Room DC (0.3 km), and The Chocolate House (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jack Rose Dining Saloon, La Tomate, and Sette Osteria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Russian, Chinese, Hindi, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (4.6 km), Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens (3.1 km), and Georgetown University (2.3 km).
Is The Churchill Hotel near Embassy Row accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.