The Gold Bank Hotel

The Gold Bank Hotel

Opletalova 40 Praha 1, Prague 110 00 Czech Republic
Traveller (112)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#364 of 655 hotels in Prague
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Gold Bank hotel is a stylish design hotel located in the heart of Prague with plenty of restaurants, bars, cafes and shops in the surrounding area. Many popular historical monuments like the National Museum, Municipal House or the Old Town Hall can be easily reached by foot. Prague Central Train station is also with walking distance. Formerly being a bank, the building has been recently transformed into a modern hotel which offers 134 stylish rooms on seven floors. The original entrance to the bank vault has been preserved up to day and leads to a spacious breakfast area where guests can enjoy their first meal of the day. All rooms are equipped with design furniture and modern bathrooms, which are mostly fitted with a shower or a bathtub. In each room guests can enjoy Smart TV, air-conditioning or a minibar. Valuable items can be stored in built in safety deposit boxes. Complimentary amenities include toiletries and tea or coffee making facilities. Highspeed wireless internet connection is avaialable in all areas of the hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Car hire
Taxi service
Umbrella
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Czech

Location

Opletalova 40 Praha 1, Prague 110 00 Czech Republic
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Prague-Ruzyne Airport
12.2 km
See all flights
Republic square
4 minPrague Metro
Florence
5 minPrague Metro
78Reviews2Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 24
  • 8
  • 2
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Alan wrote a review Jan 2022
West Calder, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I always like to start a review by stressing that you should take most reviews with a pinch of salt - as things like customer service, cleanliness, food, and location are all based on each person's personal opinions - and we all have different standards and expectations.

Hotel

The hotel is brand new and is immaculate. It was only around £15 a night so is really good value for money. We arrived around noon and had to wait to get our room keys which was a little disappointing as this was in September with COVID preventing people from traveling, there must have been plenty of rooms available.

Rooms

The only slight issue I had with our room was there there were no USB charging sockets. Most modern hotels have them now and considering everything in this hotel was new I was surprised they never had any. The room had a small fridge in it which was very good.

Location

The hotel is situated less than 5 minutes away from the train station and is around 30 minutes drive from the airport. I would say it is a good 10/15 minute walk from the main bar and club scene in Prague.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hamiczech wrote a review Dec 2022
Ostrava, Czech Republic
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Newly renovated 4* hotel about 5 minutes' walk from the Main Railway Station in Prague, where there is also a metro, a tram is a 2-minute walk away. Beautiful lobby and impressive corridors. Our Standard room was very small, there was no table or chair, so if you need to work, take a Superior room, some rooms have a table there. There is therefore nothing here to store things, a small armchair would be useful. There was a fridge, but no minibar, and a kettle with a selection of teas and coffees. Unfortunately, there is no coat rack here, you have to hang everything in the closet. The bathroom had soap, shower gel and shampoo (you have to bring your own conditioner and vanity kit), there was also a hairdryer, tissues, a safe and air conditioning. The TV is big, but we haven't figured out how to tune in Czech channels, there are no instructions, and we weren't really interested in Arabic or news channels.
If you need a good night's sleep near the station, then ok, I wouldn't want to stay in such a small room for a week, and I know better located hotels more in the center, but this one is at a decent price and it's about a 10-15 minute walk to Wenceslaw square. From my point of view, the hotel is more suitable for quick business trips.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Myles C wrote a review Jan 2022
Crewe, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here for one night after a train trip from across the border in Bratislava. The location of the hotel is excellent, just a short walk from Prague’s main railway station, and a ten-minute walk to the Old Town. The hotel itself is a beautiful old building, sympathetically renovated to be ultra modern and elegant, whilst still retaining all of the period features of the architecture. Our room was a good size, elegant and very comfortable with a supersized tv, kettle with tea and coffee provided, a small fridge and comfortable large bed. The bathroom was well appointed and well lit. Breakfast is served in an underground basement which again has been superbly renovated. There was plenty to choose from, both hot and cold food of good quality. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ioan C wrote a review Apr 2023
Romania
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst hotel I ever stayed in. They robed me blind. Tip: insist that an employee takes you to your room. They will have all kind of excuses not to do so. But you should insist. If you go into the room by yourself, every single pre-exsiting scratch becomes your problem and they will charge you 50x the cost of that scratch. They will even make fun of you while robbing you - since they took the precaution to write in the fine print that they are allowed to grossly over-charge you for everything wrong with the room.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ondrej Opletal, General Manager at The Gold Bank Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2023
Dear Ioan Thank you for your review. Even though I have to admit that it is a big surprise for us. During your first stay in our hotel the bathroom door in your room was damaged. We have discussed this with you and tried to find a win-win solution how to solve this damage. We agreed that you pay for the damage and can use this money as a credit for your next stays in our hotel. You stayed with us again later and fully used the credit you had with us, so at the end you did not pay anything to cover the damage caused during your first stay. I am convinced that we have done our best to solve the situation and given the fact that you did not pay anything at the end I do not understand your disappointment. Luckily, there is not so many damages hapening in our hotel, but every time something happens and the client is fair enough to inform us, we do our best to find a solution that will not hurt anybody. Regards Ondrej
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
erra 222 wrote a review Aug 2022
Jakarta, Indonesia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in this hotel at the end of July 2022. The hotel was very clean and unique cos it is built with bank building design. I dunno if the building probably previously was a bank? But they have modern design, elegant, and the paper money framed on the wall adds some more aesthetics atmosphere. I love the wide space for their lobby, I love the food for breakfast, and also the quiet ambience. The front office lady talked very professionally, no smile but ok. One other staff, an older lady from staff room (seemed like she was the supervisor) came with more smile. I was very satisfied with the room and cleanliness. I give 5 stars out of 5 and 9/10. You must try this hotel once you came to Prague 1. Very recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Gold Bank Hotel, General Manager at The Gold Bank Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Dear Erra222, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and for sharing this valuable feedback. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Kind regards, Jana from The Gold Bank Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erik wrote a review Nov 2021
Slovakia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has nice architecture, you feel luxurious yet you know you’re staying at a city hotel. I like the location, it is pretty much central and the main railway station is just around the corner. The negative for me was the staff - they barely spoke czech despite operating in Czech Republic, all of them were ukrainian or russian to my guess. We were sent to a room where somebody was staying in - not very pleasant but mistakes happen. The rooms were quite small, at least the one we got. However, breakfast was great. I was expecting some continental choices, but it pleasantly surprised me. Selection was wide and you will definitely not leave hungry.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yvonne L wrote a review Oct 2022
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went to Prague on the 4th of October, staying somewhere else on the 5th and returning back on the 6th, (two nights in total in the God Bank hotel)
We travelled over for a football match out-with Prague. We had left match tickets you mistake in the hotel, we didn’t have enough time to return to Prague to collect the tickets.
After contacting the staff at the Gold Bank, they came to our rescue by sending individual pictures of all the tickets, this allowed us to get them reprinted at the football stadium. We are very grateful.
The staff were courteous and professional from the moment arrived, we all enjoyed our stay.
I would definitely recommend this Hotel, it’s only a short walk to the train station, bus station, bars and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Bus services, tram and trains are all within easy walking distances from this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rabbit12 wrote a review Dec 2022
Singapore, Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was clean and hotel is located within 5 minutes walk from the Central train station. Walking to the old town was easy and the tram also stops nearby. Hotel offers a buffet breakfast for 10 euros and it was value for money!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Request for rooms away from the street.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rolli81 wrote a review Sept 2021
Bratislava, Slovakia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was nice but not fully finished; the minibar was missing, it was a big surprise! The worst experience was the breakfast. Very basic, staff was not present, coffee was not a real coffee, tables were not ready for breakfast... Horrible!!!!!

I was excited to come and stay at this hotel, but after one night, I'm happy to leave!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Gold Bank Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gold Bank Hotel
Responded 18 Sept 2021
Dear Traveller Rolli 81, First of all I would like to thank you for selecting The Gold Bank for your stay in Prague. It's very sad to hear that you were not satisfied with our facilities since all the rooms are equipped with a minibar fridge. If there is a problem in the room, we're always ready to solve it as soon as we are informed about it. As for the breakfast, it offers a standard wide buffet selection and our kitchen staff does their best to make sure there is always plenty to choose from. I'm sorry that the coffee was not to your taste and that your overall experience was disappointing. Despite your first experience we would be happy to get a second chance to make up for the first impression. We hope to see you soon. Kind Regards, Nikola Filipová Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon P wrote a review Oct 2022
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So nice a place and so convenient being a short walk of literally 5 minutes from either Praha Hlavni Nadrazi or Praha Masarykovo railway stations and also there are trams from literally the end of the road into the centre of Prague. Breakfast in a room downstairs and was good and a fair choice too. I have stayed there in March, July and September of 2022 so gets the thumbs up from me.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Ondrej O
Prague, Czech Republic
yes, this is no problem, just ask the front desk. Ondrej
Answer from Ondrej O
Prague, Czech Republic
Good morning, the area around our hotel is fine and safe. The main train station is roughly 500m from our hotel, so it does not influence our hotel. I would say that even the area around the main train station is safe, but I agree that it might not be pleasant to walk around homeless people sitting around. The Czech police is very well aware of the situation at the Main Train Station and there is many officers there, so afterall it is and feels safe.
Ranjit Singh M wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"AVOID: THE RECEPTION STAFF ARE SO RUDE (not all tho).......!!!!!! It's as if they are doing you a favour...it beggars believe. This place c"
Read full review
Jon B wrote a tip Apr 2024
86 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pleasently supprised top hotel "
Read full review
Danielle Reid wrote a tip Nov 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom216 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid booking taxi from the reception, much cheaper booking Bolt or Uber."
Read full review
Gary R wrote a tip Nov 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom394 contributions48 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use uber or bolt for taxis "
Read full review
NewRio B wrote a tip Aug 2023
Pitts2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you do decide to stay at the hotel, be prepared for a less than welcoming reception or assistance."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Prague area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$586 - HK$1,101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Czech RepublicBohemiaPraguePraha 1 (City Center) / Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GOLD BANK HOTEL HK$531 (H̶K̶$̶7̶7̶3̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Gold Bank Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Gold Bank Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bohemian Alternative Bar Tours (0.3 km), Jerusalem Synagogue (0.4 km), and PRAGUE BEER BUS (0.03 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Gold Bank Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at The Gold Bank Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Gold Bank Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Gold Bank Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Gold Bank Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include ZEM Prague, Portfolio Restaurant, and Le Grill Restaurant.
Does The Gold Bank Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Gold Bank Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Gold Bank Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Gold Bank Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to The Gold Bank Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Town Hall with Astronomical Clock (1.1 km), Vysehrad National Cultural Monument (2.8 km), and Lobkowicz Palace (2.3 km).
All Prague HotelsPrague Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PragueHotels near The Gold Bank Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire